Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Science Fiction Classic
This is an absolutely brilliant cult classic movie featuring a very young Leslie Nielsen. It is light-years ahead of its time, well made, highly watchable and definitely one for any sci-fi buff's movie collection.

Now, sure, these days we have CGI and all that good bananas, so you have to remember that this was made nearly sixty years ago and, yes, it looks...
Published 19 months ago by Captain Canada

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should be re-released as a two disk set.
I was not happy with how Warner's treated this classic in the current cheap made DVD with no bonus features to go with it. Forbidden Planet was one of the best science fiction/Star Trek genre films made, and it's success certainly asks that Warners re-release it as a two disk set with bonus features on how this movie was made and it's lasting effects on film making that...
Published on Jan. 15 2004


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Science Fiction Classic, Jan. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an absolutely brilliant cult classic movie featuring a very young Leslie Nielsen. It is light-years ahead of its time, well made, highly watchable and definitely one for any sci-fi buff's movie collection.

Now, sure, these days we have CGI and all that good bananas, so you have to remember that this was made nearly sixty years ago and, yes, it looks like it. But considering the technical limitations that they had to struggle with, it's a bloody masterpiece! Seriously, I can't believe they were doing effects work like it then and clearly these pioneering boys blazed the trail for Jurassic Park's digital dinos, Gollum, Avatar and so on that we enjoy today.

Story-wise, it's a kinda riff on Shakespeare's 'The Tempest' and Walter Pidgeon turns in a very solid performance as the main antagonist (even if subconsciously) notwithstanding the fact that the script—and his character in particular—seems to spend the time over-explaining stuff. But it's nonetheless highly watchable and an enjoyable ride.

I should point out that Forbidden Planet is not a restored version like the *superb* recent Jaws or slightly less jaw-dropping Lawrence of Arabia, but the image quality on Blu-Ray is very good nonetheless and the colors are pleasingly vibrant. Also, the disc contains a bunch of special features including deleted and lost footage, documentary material and a couple of additional Robby The Robot flicks, bringing good value to the package.

If you love movies, sci-fi, filmaking or man-in-suit robots, this movie is a must have. Highly recommended, add to cart. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sci-Fi, July 4 2004
By 
Stephen Kaczmarek "Educator, Writer, Consultant" (Columbus, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like all good film science fiction, "Forbidden Planet" keeps its concepts simple but their ramifications grand, which is just one of the reasons it is a timeless classic. Made at a time when sci-fi was the junk that kept restless kids in theater seats on Saturday afternoons, this ambitious take on Shakespeare's "The Tempest" nonetheless also aims for adults that grew up on the pulp fiction of the 1920s and 30s. (Its delightful production design is a seamless mix of colors, forms, and shapes familiar from those imaginative magazine covers.) The premise is Star Trek a decade before Star Trek, as a military cruiser commanded by the hard-nosed but humane J.J. Adams (Leslie Nielsen doing an effective melodramatic turn) visits a world populated by a secretive scholar (a wonderful Walter Pidgeon), his curious daughter (a sometimes grating Ann Francis), their robot butler (the epitome of mechanical men) and a mostly unseen terror (illustrated by topnotch Disney animators). Beyond great special effects and an innovative musical score, the film also engages a firm--if now familiar--science fiction plot, unlike so many of the noisy and expensive but ultimately overwrought and empty-headed sci-fi movies of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sci fi as mainstream movies, April 1 2013
By 
Anthony Marinelli "marilread" (toronto on canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There were many science fiction films and they all seem to spring up like the new saeson's grass during the 50's? What caused the advent of science fiction which although there were a few in the 30's well received like the Invisible man Island of LOst Souls and Shelley's Frankenstein series(I recall seeing all these films as a kid). However it wasnt until the 50's with Rocketship X_M War of the Worlds(which alfred hitchcock was not given rights to produce as well as being refused Our Man iN Havana books written in his own country)The Thing and many low budget films. Many of them especially given the lacklustre special effects (George Lucas really made special effects an industry in hollywood and changed the nature of filmmaking and the visual process of films whether you like it or not. It became a more visual experience and stress was emphasized in that dimension of the viewing process. We had special effects and often secondarily a story built around the special effects, and when I see a film this is very much a strong part of the viewing of a film, although there's no reason a strong story can not complement the experience. Practice makes perfect..and thats the idea of this film. Its origins lie in a fragment of Shakespeare's the Tempest his last play although he did later collaborate and come out of retirement to write with john fletcher(The two noble kinsman, parts of henry 8?). The film also includes some freudian psychology of his idea of the perfecting of people, I stress that not all agree. MGM is proud they made this film and it has a great reputation as a sci fi film breaking through into the mainstream and only the greatest of sci fi films or writers can say this about their product. The studio has issued a booklet describing the film and the special effects are ok given the time it was produced and it works in a few ways. The females are different, they appear like the character number 1
in Roddenberry's early jerome hunter star trek..which NBC said they didnt like and was shelved. They are intellectual artistic like someone who read the volumes of PLato..and the males are typical males and there is this fun part of the script in which the males try to engage females who cant be aroused..a cas.. type experience. Although the film is slow moving it deals with a father who dotes on his daughter like the Tempest and thats the only part of the play recreated the most NOBLE part of the play as in Kinsmen. The play by the way is also about kings and brigands and the rivalry between the cities of Milan and Naples. The ancient world a complex piece of writitng. Are there any Calibans? What is a film without a bad person here in this unified world of the far future(like STar TRek also) who are the antagonists? The antagonists are within the id the destructive and violent parts within which cause destruction here projected as a hostile force on the attack? I wont spoil it further this is a genre of filmmaking i enjoy and how film makling and the experience has changed..George LUcas love him or hate him..special effects often are so much of some film's success not much time or industry is given to writing or its scamped..not up to the high levels or expense it was given in the past? There are also many industries all over california specializing in special effects it is a growth industry many jobs and good jobs..and I dont wan tto say too much since these are very talented people..the problem often lies with producers who at times have gargantuan budgets great special effects but cardboard characters, stereotyped situations and climaxes and nothing original..like frank gorshin's copycats? Is there anyone more inventive than this little known character..here the special effects are passable and the film story complements what we see and story and special effects and all
visuals are of the same value..noble
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Great Release, Feb. 16 2013
By 
Theo (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Forbidden Planet is perhaps the pre-eminent work of 1950s science fantasy. It is not by any stretch of the imagination hard science fiction, but it is a thoughtful and intelligent offering in its own way.

Famously (but very loosely) based on Shakespeare's "The Tempest", this is a movie where there are as many potential layers of meaning as you want to find. With Morbius cast as Prospero, and Prospero in turn very likely based on the Elizabethan magus Dr. John Dee, co-creator of the Enochian magical language, is it really a co-incidence that Morbius is himself a linguist?

There is much more that I'd like to say here, but I'm holding back for the sake of those who are not already familiar with the film. I don't want to give away any spoilers. For those who have seen the film, and who feel inclined towards such exercises, I'll just ask this: to whom - or what - would you assign the respective roles of Ariel and Caliban? How would you fit your answers in with the film's wider themes? And what do your answers suggest about how matter and spirit were respectively conceived in the minds of the Elizabethans versus the Americans of the 1950s? Just something to think about.

For those who haven't yet seen Forbidden Planet, I'd say first and foremost that this is a wonderful film that works perfectly well on the level of a straightforward adventure that a 10 year old could enjoy. As a piece of science fiction, I'd only stress that such depths as you will find are of philosophy more than science; although the classic technological themes of 1950s science fiction are played out in metaphorical form. Happily though, the reds under the bed/saucers in the sky metaphor that became such a cliché in so much of the science fiction of the day is nowhere to be found.

One thing I do want to add before moving on is that this movie is well worth seeing just for the set design alone. Whether you consider it classic or dated is up to you; but for myself I will simply say that never have I seen the visual lexicon of 1950s science fiction expressed more completely.

Okay then: so much for the film. How about the DVD? Well, I'm happy to say it's awesome! Picture quality is beautiful, and there are LOADS of extras, and really good ones too. We get heaps of period promotional material, including in depth behind the scenes stuff and even an extra bonus kids' movie that also used Robbie the Robot as a prop. Incidentally, because I have seen some reviews that I've written appear for editions or releases other than the one I originally wrote them for, let me stress that I'm writing all this about Forbidden Planet (Two-Disc Special Edition).

If you check out my reviewer profile, you'll see that I'm not one of those reviewers who hands out five star raves like candy. But if you have any interest at all in classic science fiction, this is a film that you MUST see. And if you're looking for the finest possible DVD release, to the best of my knowledge this is it.

Theo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I saw it again after buying it recently and was not disappointed. The special effects are so primitive that they ..., July 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I saw this film as a child and remembered it with fondness and scary recollections. I saw it again after buying it recently and was not disappointed.
The special effects are so primitive that they cannot compare to today's Sci-Fi movies. However, the premise of a civilization that develops that much power and then disappears along with some interesting scenes makes this film enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic SF movie, May 31 2014
By 
Rosanne Levi (Woodstock, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've always loved Forbidden Planet from the first time I saw it on television.

By today's standards, the pacing is slow, the fx are a little silly looking, and there's a certain amount of sexism inherent in the culture of the day.

That said, the story, loosely based on Shakespeare's play "The Tempest" is marvelous. Set in the 2200s, a group of space explorers goes looking for the remains of the crew of the Belerophon, an exploration science vessel lost 20 years previous. When the crew arrive on the planet, they are warned away by Morpheus, the only survivor of a cataclysmic event that killed of the rest of the crew of the expedition. Due to the insistence of the commanding officer J.J. Adams played by Leslie Neilson (in the unfamiliar role of a serious leading man) the ship lands. We then meet Robbie the Robot in his first appearance ever, who takes the commander, his second in command and medical officer to meet Morpheus (played by Walter Pidgeon).

As the story unfolds, we find out about the Krell, a benevolent race that lived a 1000 years ago, that mysteriously vanished 200 centuries ago. We also meet Altaira, Morpheus' daughter, who (naturally) falls in love with the dashing commander. Forces that killed off the Krell, and the crew of the Belerephon start to go after Adams crew as well. Without spoiling the ending, Morpheus sacrifices himself and the ship, with Altaira aboard take off, to see the planet with all the knowledge of the Krell explode into nothingness.

It was filmed and treated as an A quality fim, and influenced many of the great science fiction brought to the big and small screens. I highly recommend this for a quite movie night in with the lights low, the phones turned off and a big bowl of hot buttery popcorn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, May 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Planet [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The colour and clarity in the tranfer to blu ray is one of the best i have ever seen.A must have for the sci-fi lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great movie, March 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Planet [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was looking for this one to fill out my collection. a little cheezie but I knew this going in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but a Goodie, March 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was purchased for a friend who enjoys sci-fi movies & was very happy to know I had found this particular movie for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Forbidden Planet, Feb. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I rated this movie 4 because this movie had me watch and interested what would happen next, I enjoy the actors in this movie, Walter Pidgeon Leslie Nielsen to great actors who play in this sci-fi movie. When I was a kid the robot to me was just amazing, I bought this movie and watch many time and will watch for many years to come. If you like the movie in the 50's you will enjoy this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forbidden Planet [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 23.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews