Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Science Fiction Classic
This is an absolutely brilliant cult classic movie featuring a very young Leslie Nielsen. It is light-years ahead of its time, well made, highly watchable and definitely one for any sci-fi buff's movie collection.

Now, sure, these days we have CGI and all that good bananas, so you have to remember that this was made nearly sixty years ago and, yes, it looks...
Published 18 months ago by Captain Canada

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should be re-released as a two disk set.
I was not happy with how Warner's treated this classic in the current cheap made DVD with no bonus features to go with it. Forbidden Planet was one of the best science fiction/Star Trek genre films made, and it's success certainly asks that Warners re-release it as a two disk set with bonus features on how this movie was made and it's lasting effects on film making that...
Published on Jan. 15 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and growndbreaking, Dec 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Saw this on late night tv when I was a kid. And researching now as an adult and film lover, you realize just how amazing this film is. Great transfer, great film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fordidden Planet, Dec 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just as I remembered it when I saw it for the first time years ago. Brought back memories. Very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic digitized copy of the original!, Oct. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Planet [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was expecting a copy that looked like an old movie. This Blu-ray copy made it seem (almost) like a contemporary film.
I saw the original when I was ten years old and it stirred my love for science fiction. It is difficult to believe this movie was made years before Star Trek and Star Wars. You can see the influence this movie had on those future films.
I was very pleased with the copy and the extra material. Well worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Forbidden Planet, March 3 2013
By 
Chari Reithmeier "Harlequin" (Collingwood, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Tied as one of my top two favorite fifties Sci-Fi movies (with the Day the Earth Stood Still, original). The actors are great, the DVD works well and the story is enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, Feb. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love everything about it. The packaging and content par to none and it was purchased for my collection of movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Forbidden Planet - The Id of Your Life, May 17 2012
By 
Peter Karsten "Osiris" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The 1950's was the golden age of science fiction, many great films were made, that even now influence our lives and thoughts today. One such film is Forbidden Planet, and for me. It is still one of the best films-and perhaps the only film that has a unique sound track which can not be beaten. Not only that but it introduced one of the best great robots of all time - Robby, this robot is so iconic, it-or he is instantly recognisable.

Before I go on, I just have to say that the music for the film was and still is ahead of its time, and if you watch the credits it comes under `Electronic Tonalities' by Louis and Bebe Barron, this inspiring couple used no musical instruments to compose the weird and wonderful music of Forbidden Planet; and if you look at the theatrical posters of the time, this couple's names are not mentioned - the Academy didn't even recognised the film score as music-how ignorant is that? Because no actual musical instruments were used, Louis and Bebe used tape and electronics to compose the now unforgettable haunting sound for the film. In my mind both Louise and Bebe Barron should receive honorary Oscars for original film score-its well overdue.

Now as for the acting skills of the performers, Walter Pidgeon is perfectly cast as Dr. Edward Morbius, you don't know wether to love him or pity him in his struggle with his Id, and over developed intellect. Then there's the lovely Anne Francis as Altaira, Morbius' daughter, beautiful, naïve, and bright. Leslie Nielsen as Commander J. J. Adams, strong and heroic. Warren Stevens as Dr. Ostrow-unusual name, wise, intelligent, a close friend of the commander. It seems there are shades of the Kirk and McCoy between these two men, as the characters/actors work well together. Jack Kelly as Lt. Jerry Farman, another friend of Adams, a likeable easy going guy, obviously a ladies man. Plus two other recognisable actors early in their careers are Richard Anderson (Six Million Dollar Man/Bionic Woman), as Chief Quinn, and Earl Holliman (Police Woman), as Cook, giving a light comedic touch to the film. A well balanced cast in my opinion.

Okay, let's look at this 50th Anniversary Edition of Forbidden Planet, first when it states that it is the Ultimate Collector's Edition, you must never use the word `Ultimate' because it implies it contains everything and anything-well this edition-doesn't-of course thus you'll end up scrutinising it no end-and yes you guess it, I'm going to do just that; let's have a look at what you get anyway:

1] Forbidden Planet (Widescreen)
2] The Invisible Boy (Widescreen-bonus movie feathering Robby)
3] 17 Lobby Cards (reproductions 5A size-approx of both films)
4] Forbidden Planet - Deleted Scenes and Lost Footage
5] Excerpts from `The MGM Parade' TV series with Walter Pidgeon
6] `Client' episode with Robby from the TV series `The Thin Man'
7] 3 Documentaries: `Amazing! Exploring the Far Reaches of Forbidden Planet', `Robby the Robot: Engineering a Sci-Fi Icon', and `TCM Original Watch the Skies!: Science Fiction, the 1950s and Us'
8] Science-Fiction Movie Trailer Gallery
9] 3.5" figure of Robby the Robot

All the above is presented to you in a tin case-which is itself worth getting.

Now in regards the Robby the Robot figure, which was one of the main reasons I got this DVD Edition. I am really disappointed because there is a little false advertising involved, if one looks at the back of the box, the figure of Robby is about 21cm tall, compared to the other merchandize shown, but in reality it is about 9cm (3.5" inches tall), even though it states in small print that the figure is 3.5" Actual Size. (Even on the Amazon website picture shows what I mean) It is obvious that the Marketing Department wanted to sucker us in-well it worked with me, and looking at the metal box it came in, you can easily fit a 6" inch Robby figure. So the point is don't be fooled-seeing is not believing.

So is this really the Ultimate Edition-well no, because there's no such thing, I mean if we are featuring Robby as a bonus in what he has done over the years, then two more acting skills should have been included in this 50th Anniversary Edition: 1] the Lost in Space episode, "The War of the Robots" and 2] the Ark II episode, "The Robot", (this episode showed Robby with a different look than what we are used too) and there are more, of course like than appearance in Wonder Woman for example.

Plus there are two other things I would like with this edition, a booklet, describing the movie, some production notes, cast & crew listing, and any trivia, as well as a CD of the original Film/Music sound track. Why is it that special, anniversary or collector editions don't have CD sound tracks, I'm sure the collector would like to hear the musical score-wouldn't you?

All in all this 50th Anniversary Edition of Forbidden Planet is cool, and the film is my third all-time favourite sci-fi film, and it's easy to see why. You can get just the double DVD without the Robby figure, but if you go that far-go the extra, you won't be disappointed.

One final point, Forbidden Planet is pure science fiction at it's best for the era, and it still hold up today, this is science fiction as it was meant to be, this film set standards for future films to follow. Today's science fiction is dead-film wise, there is no imagination left-ok-ok, what about Star Wars? What about it? Its in a different league of science fiction and it and it successors are really merchandize driven, (today's generation are of a different mind-set) as with all other sci-fi/fantasy films.

Thanks to [...] for additional information on the cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Hypnotic illusions don't tear people apart!!!", April 27 2004
By 
D. Knouse (vancouver, washington United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
4.5 stars. Nearly fifty years later it is truly amazing how fresh this movie still looks and feels. I have always believed the primary component of any lasting film is a great story. As a child I was as mesmerized by this film as much as I was with "Star Wars." The script is both highly intelligent and highly entertaining, with much more humor and believable horror than one would expect from a 1956 film. The direction is polished and inventive, with arcing tracking shots and clever editing techniques strewn throughout the picture. The acting here is very good, with a defining performance from Walter Pidgeon as Doctor Morbius, and a surprising dramatic turn from later-day comic actor Leslie Nielsen. The supporting cast all shine, each one containing more depth of character than is normally given to secondary roles. There is a tidy ending where a chain-reaction is started by merely turning a disc then throwing a switch, with irreversible effects. A Master Race of beings create a machine 20-miles-squared that can be destroyed that easily? Not likely. Regardless, this is still one of the best Sci-fi films from the 1950s. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review., April 26 2004
By 
Dhaval Vyas (Dallastown, PA U.S.A) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
'Forbidden Planet' is an enjoyable science fiction film, even though the graphic and acting may seem dated. As the film progresses, one will realize it is actually a study of human psychology. See if you can spot Leslie Neilson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "It will remind us...after all...that we are not God...", April 29 2002
By 
Chari Krishnan (Tango2200@Hotmail.Com) - See all my reviews
"It will remind us...after all...that we are not God..."

--Leslie Nielsen as Commander J.J. Adams in the final scene of FORBIDDEN PLANET.
SENSATIONAL SCREENPLAY!!! FANTASTIC MUSIC!!!
EXCELLENT ACTING!!! The producers of FORBIDDEN PLANET took Shakepeare's "The Tempest," teleported the play on the flying saucer C 57-D in the year 2200 AD past the speed of light to the planet Altair 4, threw in a mad scientist, Dr. Edward Morbius--veteran of 100 movies, Canadian Walter Pidgeon--played him opposite a young, rugged handsome space commander--another Canadian, Leslie Nielsen as J.J. Adams, an unusual blend of leading man, space captain, military man, and detective--gave the mad scientist a beautiful daughter named Altaira--21 year old beautiful blonde with a mole Anne Francis, the rumored model for the Barbie Doll--surrounded the leads with terrific character actors like Jack Kelly, Warren Stevens, Earl Holliman, and Richard Anderson (best known as THE SIX MILLION DOLLAR MAN's Oscar Goldman), and then created the GREATEST ROBOT EVER, Robby, master of "187 languages and a variety of subtongues" who serves Morbius and his daughter as security guard, chauffeur, chef, butler, and even occasional dressmaker!--lines by Marvin Miller, the classic voice for the 1950s tv show, "The Millionaire"--mixed in Freudian Psychology, a murder mystery, ray guns, THE HOUSE OF THE FUTURE, an invisible Monster From the Id, OUT OF THIS WORLD BACKGROUNDS, and the result is FORBIDDEN PLANET is a boy meets girl, boy loses girl, boy gets girl science fiction story with a white hot finish!
Or as Leslie Nielsen says in the final scene,
"It will remind us...after all...that we are not God..."
Chari Krishnan
RESEARCHKING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should be re-released as a two disk set., Jan. 15 2004
By A Customer
I was not happy with how Warner's treated this classic in the current cheap made DVD with no bonus features to go with it. Forbidden Planet was one of the best science fiction/Star Trek genre films made, and it's success certainly asks that Warners re-release it as a two disk set with bonus features on how this movie was made and it's lasting effects on film making that still go on today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forbidden Planet [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 23.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews