Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Moment I Saw Her Smile... The Girl Next Door
Great for your car and for soothing your nerves in traffic jam. This is music to make you feel good!
Published on July 11 2004 by mari6868

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the same
I think Stacy Kent has real talent, (and her husband sax player Jim Tomlinson has even more) she can put a kittenish sexy twist on songs. Washington Post called her voice "adult sexuality". She's a big hit in England.
At first she's a revelation. But...There's a problem. She is like a three speed bike, she has three deliveries, slow, moderate and fast. She has a...
Published on July 12 2004 by rash67


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the same, July 12 2004
This review is from: Boy Next Door (Audio CD)
I think Stacy Kent has real talent, (and her husband sax player Jim Tomlinson has even more) she can put a kittenish sexy twist on songs. Washington Post called her voice "adult sexuality". She's a big hit in England.
At first she's a revelation. But...There's a problem. She is like a three speed bike, she has three deliveries, slow, moderate and fast. She has a handful of albums out. But the more you listen, the more the songs all sound the same, same inflection, same arrangement, same timing, regardless of which song she is singing.
What she need's is to sing with dynamic range and to get some new arrangements, put more of herself, more feeling in the music, instead of making more coy cookie-cutter albums.
And maybe give Tomlinson and his Stan-Getz sax tone more space.
Her Richard Rodger's album remains her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Moment I Saw Her Smile... The Girl Next Door, July 11 2004
This review is from: Boy Next Door (Audio CD)
Great for your car and for soothing your nerves in traffic jam. This is music to make you feel good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST YET!, July 11 2004
By 
This review is from: Boy Next Door (Audio CD)
I'm a huge Stacey Kent fan, just saw her live in Oyster Bay, which was such a treat, and got the new album, which is her best yet. Do not miss out on this engaging voice with a smile and such delightful timing. You can't help but hang onto each and every word!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The inevitable bad review....., May 13 2004
By 
Steven Guy (Croydon, South Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boy Next Door (Audio CD)
Sorry to be the party pooper, but I have spent a week in my workplace listening to Ms Kent's album. The best thing I can say about it is that at least she isn't Norah Jones!
The voice of Ms Kent is slight and her timbre seems to exhibit little depth. Her vocal mannerisms are well studied, but that is what they are - studied mannerisms. Songs like 'What the world needs now' border on out-and-out kitsch. Some of the other songs have the feel of quality background music about them. One could imagine that this CD might be played in cafés, bistos and bars as background music.
After listening to the woeful efforts of Norah Jones, Stacey Kent does sound like a real singer and someone who at least has some talent. However, I found this album extremely 'twee' and 'nice'. There is little depth of feeling here and the voice isn't tested by any of this music.
As I said, apart from being superior 'wall-paper music' it would be hard to describe this album as anything other than 'ultra-lite' entertainment. You couldn't dance to the music on this disc, it doesn't explore the depths of the soul, the singer doesn't have a god-like voice and the songs themselves are pretty bland.
Music to listen to when you'd rather not listen to music?
Or music to hear rather than listen to.... ?
Music for 13 year old girls bored with posing pounting Pop 'princesses'??? ("Mum! Guess what!? I've bought an album you and dad will like!")
Beats me!?
Better luck next time, Ms Kent! And sorry, there are always a few miserable gits like me out there who will never be pleased by the sort of album you've given us this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T MISS THIS ONE!, April 28 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Boy Next Door (Audio CD)
I'M 72, STRAIGHT AHEAD JAZZ FAN AND...
STACY KENT, RIGHT BETWEEN DORIS DAY AND BLOSSOM DEARIE
YOU CAN'T ASK FOR MORE IN ONE ALBUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Silky smooth original vocal caviar!, April 9 2004
By 
This review is from: Boy Next Door (Audio CD)
If you like Diana Krall and Norah Jones but haven't heard Stacey Kent, you're in for a treat. She does not have the level of success or fame of those other two, but she's got a voice that just brings you in to the music. She's got the slightest accent to her singing, which adds to the appeal. This album is a good place to start with Stacey Kent, with "In Love Again" as another strong choice. This is one of those albums that is well recorded and engineered to the point that audiophiles will put it on to demonstrate their sound systems, but it's not just about the quality of the sound, its about the quality of the music. Highly reccommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than romantic., Feb. 12 2004
By 
R. Flemate (Los Altos, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boy Next Door (Audio CD)
When it's mentioned that this recording is easy listening, music to "space out" by is not what's meant. IMHO, it's a refernce to the listener wanting to take this music in. I find her singing clear with a quality of head voice I just don't seem to tire of, accompanied by musicians doing more than playing notes well. Both voice and band opperate in the truer sense of the word "ensemble" and push the title past being just another cover "album". Melencholy songs feel that way. Upbeat songs swing and celebrate where you'll be hard pressed to keep yourself still. Additionally, there are some solo instrumental gems to listen for too.
Just 1 song played on the local 24hr. jazz station found me adding her latest 4 releases to my CD library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Love This CD!, Jan. 28 2004
This review is from: Boy Next Door (Audio CD)
This is one of those CD's that gets better with every listen and you never get sick of hearing it. I've played it at work with the repeat switched on and it never gets old. Everyone at work loves it and they are all in their early twenties. The music and arrangements are truly timeless. This is her best since, "Let Yourself Go". Also, if you like this, please check out Jessica Molaskey's two CD's. They are just as good. I marvel at all the great music out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Standard for Sunday Newspaper Reading, Jan. 21 2004
By 
M. D. Oakley Jr. "Wickedteercroquet" (Woodford, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boy Next Door (Audio CD)
Oh, my! Winter Sundays spent with The New York Times have a new standard. Get out of bed, you sloths, brew the Kona, spread out the paper and put those walnut waffles on the iron! Now, slowly put The Boy Next Door in your player. Life will nevah be the same! Better than the piano of Lecuona for setting Sunday morning mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is Great; I Don't Care What They Say, Jan. 14 2004
This review is from: Boy Next Door (Audio CD)
Neither Down Beat nor Jazz Times was particularly kind to this album. I dissent. Any album that can bring back Dino's "All I Do Is Dream of You," Nat King Cole's "'Tis Autumn" (all the great NKC songs out there, and she picks this one! And it's great!!) and Burt Bacharach's "What The World Needs Now (Is Love)", and do them all tastefully and swingingly, as here, has my vote. This album is exquisitely done throughout, and should be in the sound system of every pretentious coffee house in the country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boy Next Door (Coll Ed)
Boy Next Door (Coll Ed) by Stacey Kent (Audio CD - 2009)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews