Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars40
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 33 reviews(5 star).Show all reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on September 18, 2008
I own both the first and second season of avatar and watched the third season in its entirety on TV and I loved every minute of it. This is a show that any child should be able to enjoy. It has comedy, action, suspense and great characters, both male and female. Its also a show I think most adults should give a chance. I find most cartoons these days only appeal to small children and not adults, but parents should be able to enjoy shows with their kids, and this is one of those shows. I say buyers should check out the first season and if they like it, which I know they will, definitely pick up the second and third seasons. Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on September 4, 2009
Great series. Most animated series on Saturday mornings with a few exceptions have been targeted for young audiences except this one. The story line and character development is very gradual and gets more detailed as you get into the series. The script is well written and logical and the animated artwork is very superb for a weekly television based series. You don't have to see all episodes in order for things to make sense; however, you will want to see all the episodes once you are I own all 3 books.
A great buy and a wonderful series for the whole family to watch together.


0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 17, 2013
Though there's the odd weak episode, the bar is still kept high. All the characters continue their surprisingly, consistently, compelling story arcs. Though a little predictable & schmaltzy at times, the story still has it's surprises and keeps us smiling and grimacing. Like the other seasons, this one is balanced with lightness. For me, the final 2 episodes alone are almost worth the price of this season. I was taken by the feature film-like soundscape, visuals and emotions evoked. It was rewarding to hear in the commentary that that was exactly what the creators intended. For that reason, those final eps would look fantastic on a big screen with a good sound system. Like the other seasons, it's obvious how much love was put in to this season and the final episodes. Fans will not be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 13, 2009
This is by far, one of the greatest animated series I've seen on TV. There is comedy, action, drama, suspense, charm, and wit dripping from every scene of this "kid's" show. My wife and I adore this series, and so does every person we've recommended it to so far. The Book 3 Collection has the most intensity of all the seasons of the show, and brings it all to a climactic and satisfying end. Fans of the series will not be disappointed, and those new to the show will want to go back and watch all the episodes they missed. Watch it, watch it, WATCH IT! It's not just any animated series. It's one of the best made to date.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2014
I said it already. Twice. Yes, I'm a grown adult, and yet Avatar: The Last Airbender is one of my favorite series ever.

Season 3 is different from Season 1 and 2, on many aspects. It's a bit darker. Not only because of the more serious storyline, as Aang is getting closer to his confrontation with Firelord Ozai, but the images and the music are also darker as well. And yet, the humor isn't gone, quite the opposite. It takes a slightly darker tone at times, but overall, it remains pretty much the same, with great lines delivered almost perfectly.

The action is more abundant, but the themes are now more serious, as if the characters were understanding the easy-going days were now behind them. There is a more urgent tone in Season 3, which fits the context admirably. The story is very well structured in Season 3, leaving behind the more episodic form Season 2 and especially Season 1 had us used to. The animation is also improving over previous seasons.

The relationship between characters gets deeper as well, which makes Season 3 a perfect final season, one that matured very well and as expected.

Don't miss out on this great show!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2011
The main characters in Complete Books 1 and 2 of Avatar, The Last Air Bender, were treated with great respect by the artists who took them very seriously. However, with Complete Book 3, either their attitude has changed or another set of artists has been given the job, because in my opinion, the drawings just barely escape being cartoons. Compared with the earlier works, this detracts from the illusion of reality that was a strong point.
But, having said that and judging by the enthusiasic involvment of my several grandchildren, whose ages range from 8 to 14 years, girls and boys,the latest Book is another highly entertaining episode in the struggle between good and evil, the small and weak against the overwhelmingly strong; a situation they easily identify with and react to on the side of the good. Although the story revolves around violence, there is nothing in the Books to which one can take exception and I think my money was well spent on the three of them.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2010
Ever since I completed this series I knew that I would be purchasing it for rewatching purposes. This series has amazingly fleshed out characters with believable motivations who evolve believably throughout the series, is brilliant and introducing natural moments of humor and most importantly has continuity that builds on itself and really sets this universe apart even among other well written shows (comparably in my mind to Terry Pratchett's Discworld.)

The final book takes everything that was introduced before and speeds it to a logical and satisfying conclusion. Every character gets a role to play and the motivations for their actions make logical sense. The arcs in this series are amazing, and I am happy to have the opportunity to watch them again and again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2013
i have not watched this item
yet so i can't say what the qualities is
but it arrived in good time and good shape
i will let you know later
but i have seen this series before
and it was terrifice, a friend loaned me her copies
and i watched them back to back in about a week
that would be the 3 season. if you like a great story
and great animation do not hesitate, get this
the whole family can watch this and love it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2010
The final in the series, The Book of Fire rounds out the show with interesting and intense battle scenes as well as comedy and drama.
The writers of the show have really mastered their craft with this season. After watching this season, every other show I watch now has
a high standard to live up to. The consistencies within the characters, storyline and animation are unmatched by anything that I've seen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 24, 2010
Well we weren't disappointed. Book 3 was just great and completed the previous book collections. Great family entertainment.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

The Legend of Korra: Book One - Air
The Legend of Korra: Book One - Air by Janet Varney (DVD - 2013)
CDN$ 11.75