Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A towering film noir!
Body heat meant the reinassance of the film noir in the eighties. Kasdan made his best picture to date. He's a very intelligemt film maker ; and employed the craft of one of the two greatest sex symbols of the eighties the talented and beauty Kathleen Turner who altogether with Theresa Russell completed the sexy duo.
Turner made reached the peak of the perfection the...
Published on July 5 2004 by Hiram Gomez Pardo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back
Almost porn , but everybody keeps their clothes on Sparks fly. An old movie that my wife and I first watched 30 years ago. It was fun to see it again. I got up to rewind the movie lol
Published 14 months ago by Shaun Courtney


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back, Feb. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Almost porn , but everybody keeps their clothes on Sparks fly. An old movie that my wife and I first watched 30 years ago. It was fun to see it again. I got up to rewind the movie lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A towering film noir!, July 5 2004
By 
Hiram Gomez Pardo (Valencia, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Body heat meant the reinassance of the film noir in the eighties. Kasdan made his best picture to date. He's a very intelligemt film maker ; and employed the craft of one of the two greatest sex symbols of the eighties the talented and beauty Kathleen Turner who altogether with Theresa Russell completed the sexy duo.
Turner made reached the peak of the perfection the role of femme fatale ; the spider woman , who cleverly makes her web , waiting for a private eye who falls in love with her.
She's married and as you well suppose is very unhappy with her husband (Richard Crenna) ; the plot is superbly built from start to finnish ; the locations the heat we can feel it even outside the screen . The art direction ; the sliding camera and the enlightment are first rate. Search for Mickey Rourke in a cameo.
If you ask me about the best film noir of this decade ; this would head the list ; the others would be in order of importance : The postman rings always twice , Blood simple , Bad timing and the Black widow.
A must in your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish mystery; with excellent acting, and a hot Turner., May 24 2004
By 
M. Chlanda "Miguelito" (Saint Louis, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body Heat [Import] (VHS Tape)
This movie, which follows the relationship between a lawyer (William Hurt) and a sultry woman (Kathleen Turner) provides a stylish mix, of sex, mystery, and relationships. With excellent performances throughout; and a very hot (at that time) Ms. Turner, it's a fairly good movie. Nice "jazzy" soundtrack, with the exception of one Bob Seger song (also cool). Kathleen Turner is one cool lady, as she seeks to knock off her husband (Richard Crenna), and later; when she gets greedy, her lover (Mr. Hurt). The sex was fairly steamy, given that it was an "R" movie, and she can convey more eroticism; with her facial expressions than some women could with their entire (nude) bodies. And speaking of bodies, while Ms. Turner isn't the most (physically) endowed woman, she does manage to use what she has to advantage. Sex aside, some interesting supporting performance by Ted Danson and Mickey Rourke too. Worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Beware!, May 23 2004
Don't get me wrong because I love this movie but I got it with a few extras that I didn't expect. First I thought it was a little tacky that there was a price tag on the DVD that was $3 less then what I paid for it. Paying a little extra money wasn't what really made me mad because I still got a pretty good deal for the DVD, what made me angry was the fact that the DVD arrived with little insects crawling on it! I think that the DVD came from a warehouse in Illinois so watch out! My package arrived sealed with my DVD and compementary insects inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Steamy Film Noir, May 1 2004
By 
H. F. Corbin "Foster Corbin" (ATLANTA, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body Heat [Import] (VHS Tape)
Ned Racine (William Hurt) is a Florida lawyer (apparently not a very good one) who meets Matty Walker, (Kathleen Turner) the sexy, beautiful wife of a rich husband she wants eliminate for obvious reasons-- she wants his money. Racine falls into Matty's bed and her clutches in this little gem of a movie. In the beginning, this couple mostly just takes their clothes off as they are embroiled in passion; but the plot "heats" up" quickly. I don't want to give the byzantine story away to first-time viewers, but there's not a dull frame in this film.
What makes this movie so successful is two first class performances by Hurt (I think one of our best actors) and Turner in what was her first major film role. Additionally the atmosphere is stunning. You can literally feel the heat, both from the sex and the termperature as read on the thermometer in this movie. The bedroom scenes are as hot as I have seen and not at all gratuitous here. The characters are drenched in sweat most of the time and there are fans and air conditioners everywhere running overtime. This would be a great movie to watch in the dead of winter.
This movie co-stars Richard Crenna, Ted Danson and Mickey Rourke. Danson is a vision in a dark wig and Sammy Davis Junior glasses as a local district attorney. I could never decide if he was miscast or not, but everyone else is quite spendid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars about the movie body heat......., Jan. 27 2004
This story is basically about muder case in the ned where the body of the murdered person is being burnt by arson(need to know more can easily make your purchase here...not going to review everything which makes the story uninteresting). There are not many sex scenes in this movie but there are lots of sentences that review the word sex. There is one ver short sex scene inside where the actress in moaning with her face on the bed during the sex. I saw this movie, killing me softly as well as color of night from the pirated DVD disc made in Malaysia. For those whom are interested to buy this genre of movie, this is a ***recommended purchase***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zowie, Dec 9 2003
By 
Peggy Vincent "author and reader" (Oakland, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body Heat (VHS Tape)
This classic example of film noir is the one. Lawrence Kasdan scored big in this one, his directorial debut. Kathleen Turner plays a spider spinning a very complex web of deceit, and William Hurt plays a Florida lawyer led astray by desire, sex, steam heat, and the sneakiest plot of duplicity you could possibly imagine. Released in 1981, the movie caused quite an uproar with its sex scenes; the pairing of Hurt and Turner turned out to be cinema magic.
Be sure to watch it with someone you want to spend the night with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars RIVETING MURDER/ROMANCE/MYSTERY YARN, Nov. 22 2003
By 
Shashank Tripathi (Gadabout) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A noirish mystery from the time when William Hurt was an icon of you-know-what, and soon after, Kate Turner was too? I've never been that impressed by her acting ability, but here her limitations map perfectly onto the role of an insincere woman who pretends to be in love merely to entrap William Hurt into her scheme.
From the captivating eroticism, oops romance, to the windchimes, to the sultry background score, to the water condensed on the side of the tub, to every detail of the plot, this film is picture perfect.
But the main draw to the film is easily the terrific writing, it actually has a plot (a respite in itself!) and the final few scenes of the movie weave an intriguing web for all the loose ends of the movie. Five minutes before the credits, we're sure the story is over and we're into the wrapup -- after all, we've seen movies like this before -- but then, in one final killer twist, everything is upended, and we see that the there is much more to this plot than we had realized. The clues had been there, but in the end, we discover that we've been as gullible as William Hurt's character, and we're bowled over by the truth that's finally revealed.
Very well-thought-out scheme that'll leave you thinking for a while. Get it if you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's getting hot in here., Nov. 3 2003
By 
Vagabond77 (Tennessee, USA) - See all my reviews
Ned (William Hurt) is a second rate lawyer and a fisrt rate womanizer. One night he runs into Mattie Walker (Katheen Turner) and they begin a red hot affair. Eventually the kill Mattie's husban to collect the insurence, and then it seems she's set him up for the crime. This is a throw back to the old '40's film noir where the men are bad and the women are worse. Turner and Hurt have a chimistry most couples could only dream of, that part comes off right. It's some of the plot twists I thought was silly. The husband is suppose to be some kind of real shark, but he dosen't seem that bad. Also the ending twist seems a little out there (the cops should have thought of that too). Ted Danson and Mickey Rourke do pretty good, Danson being the better of the two because he had more screen time. They are both tring to keep Hurt out of trouble, but he dson't listen. This movie was pretty good, though it bares too much of a resembelence to "Double Indemdey", which was the same basic thing. Not to bad, but I wish it could have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest of All Film Noirs, Oct. 11 2003
By 
The "total package" in "Body Heat" makes it the best film noir ever made. No other movie, even the great film noirs like "Double Indemnity" or "Out of the Past" (an overlooked gem starring Robert Mitchum and the wonderful Jane Greer), fall short of this movie's combination of great characters, a sly script with a terrific twist, real sexual heat that makes the murder plot not only plausible, but inevitable, and a haunting score by John Barry. Yes, the script owes something to "Double Indemnity," but the enforced chasity of Hollywood movies in the Forties diminished the power of Barbara Stanwyck as that femme fatale. Greed seemed an equal motive with lust because we never got to see the lust working on screen. In "Body Heat," you know that Matty Ross can and will manipulate Ned Racine in and out of the bedroom. She is smarter, tougher, and way ahead of him every step of the way. He is so distracted by sex that he cannot see beyond her thighs, and she is smart enough to always let him think that he is in control. What a great movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbc37cf6c)

This product

Body Heat [Blu-ray] [Import]
Body Heat [Blu-ray] [Import] by Lawrence Kasdan (Blu-ray - 2008)
CDN$ 31.99 CDN$ 19.57
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews