Customer Reviews


256 Reviews
5 star:
 (206)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All of its original magic has been fully restored
Note: The review that follows is of the Diamond Edition of Snow White that includes DVD and Blu-Ray in a "Combo Pack," accompanied by a wealth of special features that really are special. For reasons known only to Amazon, reviews of earlier versions -- those that are of significantly inferior quality in terms of production values -- are recycled for inclusion with reviews...
Published on Oct. 3 2009 by Robert Morris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE! Not Compatible with MANY DVD PLAYERS & PC DVD-ROMs
Movie is EXCELLENT!
DVD is AWESOME!... when it works!
You can read most of the other reviews to get an idea on how great this DVD is, however, be aware that it might not work in your PC, XBOX or even your DVD Player!
We purchased this DVD and gathered everyone around the TV to see one of the best Disney movies ever. My kids were EXCITED however, when it...
Published on Dec 20 2001


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All of its original magic has been fully restored, Oct. 3 2009
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Note: The review that follows is of the Diamond Edition of Snow White that includes DVD and Blu-Ray in a "Combo Pack," accompanied by a wealth of special features that really are special. For reasons known only to Amazon, reviews of earlier versions -- those that are of significantly inferior quality in terms of production values -- are recycled for inclusion with reviews of the latest version. Note that most of the 227 Customer Reviews now featured are of earlier versions and were posted years ago.

* * *

I first saw this film in the Shore Theater in the Windsor Park area of South Chicago and have since seen it several dozen times in the VHS and subsequent DVD format. Snow White and Pinocchio are my favorite Disney feature animated films. I was delighted that Disney released the Two-Disc 70th Anniversary Platinum Edition of Pinocchio earlier this year and now we have the Diamond Edition of Snow White that includes DVD and Blue-Ray in a "Combo Pack," accompanied by a wealth of special features that really are special. As a result of all-new state-of-the-art digital restoration and Disney Enhanced High Definition sound, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs once again possesses all of the magic that previous versions of Disney's first animated feature film do not.

In an article about the Walt Disney Family Museum that appeared in The New York Times (October 1, 2009), Edward Rothstein observes: "By the time [Disney] created his first feature-length work, `Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs,' he had transformed the very notion of animation. Disney insisted that cartoons literally animate their world, bring it so thoroughly to life that even inanimate objects would react to events. He pushed his staff to strain for realism (and sponsored drawing classes in his studios). But he was interested in something more than reality; even tables and trees would display character. I include Rothstein's insightful comments because the animation of otherwise inanimate objects is brilliantly enhanced by all-new state-of-the-art digital restoration. In the Blu-Ray format, the images in Snow White seem even more vivid than I what I recall seeing in a theater and the songs are much more enjoyable because of their presentation in Disney Enhanced High Definition sound.

The plot is based on one of the fairy tales of the Brothers Grimm, Wilhelm and Jacob, and the songs were composed by Frank Churchill (who also wrote the music for "Dumbo" and "Bambi") and Larry Morey (who also wrote the lyrics for "Bambi.") Together they wrote over 25 songs for Snow White but (ironically) only seven were used. After the success of that film, Churchill was promoted to Supervisor of Music at the Disney Studios. There are several of Disney's core themes developed, notably the constant threat of evil and efforts to flee from it as well as the importance of trust and the power of faith. Moreover, whereas a castle or cottage is merely a residence, wherever one is able to be with loved ones is "home." Even the forest animals who live nearby become involved with household chores, soon after Snow White arrives at the dusty, disorganized sylvan "pad" shared by seven bachelors. Given the fact that they haul diamonds from the mine each day, you'd think they could afford a cook and maid. Apparently not.

Disney will offer this "combo Pack" for a limited time only and it really does offer significant value-added benefits that include an all new music video performed by Sonny with a Chance's Tiffany Thornton, an exclusive sneak preview of The Princess and the Frog, "What Do You See?" and "Jewel Jumble" game exercises, newly discovered storyboards for "Snow White Returns," a tour of Walt Disney's original Hyperion studios, and "Dopey's Wild Mine Ride" game. Even without any supplementary features such as these, however, this version (in either the DVD or Blu-Ray format) is, in my opinion, the most complete masterpiece of all the great feature-length animated films. None other combines as effectively his one does both drama and delight in terms of plot, character development, and music.

In a review of Snow White for The New York Times in 1938, Frank Nugent wrote, "Wars are being fought as the picture unreels; crimes are being committed; hatreds are being whetted; riots are being brewed. But the world fades away when M. Disney begins weaving his spell and enchantment takes hold." In his biography of Disney, published in 2006, Neal Gabler observes that other critics "cited the awesome power of the sheer technical achievement: the collaboration of the nearly six hundred employees who drew, inked, and painted the quarter-million drawings in what totaled two hundred years' worth of man-hours. While no animated cartoon had ever looked like Snow White, and certainly none had packed its emotional wallop, it was also true that in none would the investment of time, energy, and devotion be so palpable. In some respects it was the cinematic equivalent of a Gothic cathedral - only in this case all the man-hours were expended in service to one man's vision rather than God's glory."

Most of those who see this film could not care less about its cultural significance, nor about its seamless integration of theme with technology, of inspiration with execution. They will almost immediately be delighted by the lead characters and enchanted by the life they share. Now restored and enhanced, Snow White once again has the technical brilliance and emotional power that were premiered at the Cathay Circle Theater on the evening of December 21, 1937. According to one observer, Bill Peet, "everyone in that first Snow White audience could have predicted the enormous success of the film. They were carried away by the picture from the very beginning, and as it went along everyone was bubbling over with enthusiasm and frequently bursting into spontaneous applause." To the best of my knowledge, no other film made more than 70 years ago continues to have the same impact that it did when first released. If that isn't "magic," I really don't know what is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is good however you may want to consider DVD Platinum, Oct. 6 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Snow White [Import] (VHS Tape)
Same basics ad the DVD without the goodies. I will describe the DVD.

Before we go into any details, I suggest you put on your protective goggles, strap in and go for the main feature. Prepare to be dazzled with sharp images and excellent sound that stay true to the original film.

As with all Disney products there is a lot of schmaltz explaining to them selves of how great they are. In this case, I will have to agree with them. The platinum edition of "Snow White and the seven Dwarfs" makes it well worth trading in your old version or just retiring it. The two-disk edition has more information than can be absorbed in one sitting.

Amazon did a good job of defining all the DVD goodies. However I must mention a few. This takes advantage of your remote control for navigation. To help you decide you have the magic mirror as a guide through both disks and all the feature sections. The magic mirror reminds me of the morose robot in Douglas Adams' "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy."

The only negative comment I have is on the second disk as you navigate the menus do not highlight like they should and leave you guessing as to what you have selected until you press the OK button.

If I had looked at the features first I would have found a game. "Dopey's Wild Mine Ride", that required me to go back to the feature, as I could not remember all the details it asked about. Some of the feature information is redundant. Some will require reading. One of the posters that were displayed looked like an advertisement for "Campbell's Cream of Dwarfs Soup."

There is a Barbra Streisand version of "Some Day My Prince Will Come" which was distracting (no offence Barbra) and would have been much better left sounding like Janet McDonald.

The printed Grimm's version of Snow White story was an eye opener.

You know when things are not as good, exciting, or scary as you remember. Well surprise this movie is as good, as exciting as scary and many time down right hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost a century ahead of its time, April 29 2004
By 
eric_f (Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
Disney's "Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs" is one of those classic films that truly deserve the title of "classic." This is a true marvel of film-making, considering how long ago it was made, a time when animated technology was obviously still in its primitive stages. This is simply an astronomical accomplishment.
This Platinum Edition 2-disc DVD is what each and every fan of this movie has been dreaming about. Presentation is superb, both in terms of quality as well as bonus content. Sound and image have both been remastered and restored for an excellent viewing experience. And of course, the bonus features...so much of them that it can get overwhelming (not that I'm complaining!). I share the sentiments of some reviewers here who are upset about Disney discontinuing this title, but what's one to do. eBay is still the best place to buy a copy, if you don't mind paying quite a bit for it. I didn't buy myself a copy before it got discontinued but I found a brand new copy at a CVS/Pharmacy store (I kid you not) of all places. Yes, it is true. And what's even more unbelievable, I saw a copy for sale at another CVS store as well. And no, these are not pirated copies. I highly doubt every CVS will have one, but next time you're in there pay attention to their DVD stock. You might find yourself quite happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walt Disney's Masterpiece, March 4 2004
By A Customer
"Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs" is the movie 'that started it all', as they would tell you over and over. And being the huge sensation that it was, every animated film since has something derivated from it. The sappy hero/ione song, the impressively detailed animation, the memorable sidekicks (whether it's the dwarfs or the animals) - every subsequent Disney film ever since features some, if not all, of these elements. But of-course, it's nothing to whine about, since it's obviously a winning formula that still works, even if "Snow White", concept-wise, may look dated today to some. It's no wonder why this film was such a big deal back in 1937. Snow White is a pretty and lovable heroine; the dwarfs - great sidekicks, although I would have preferred less screen time for them; the wicked queen is probably one of the best Disney villains to grace the screen, she's strikingly beautiful yet can look so evil and ugly. The animation is top-notch. You really sense all the effort the animators put into it and the closing shot of Prince Charming's castle is breathtaking. The music in the film is magnificent, with such favorite tunes as "Someday My Prince Will Come" and "Heigh-Ho". "Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs" is regarded as one of the finest films ever made, and rightly so. With this brilliant DVD release, you can experience it like never before!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney's 1st Animated Masterpiece!, March 4 2004
Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs was the first full-lenght animated feature, being a true masterpiece considering the fact that it was the start to what become a line of unforgettable classics. Many of these artists, worked in the company until the making of The Rescuers, in which many of Walt Disney's original artists were retiring. Back to Snow White, the film tells the timeless story of the Evil Queen who wanted to kill her beautiful step-daughter because of her jealosy towards her enchanting beauty. The film is presented in beautiful colors, with many wonderful characters starting from the princess, Snow White to the 7 dwarfs, 7 funny and charming little men. The film has some dark and frightening scenes which some children might find a bit, just a bit scary, but still the movie is suitable for anyone.
The DVD is outstanding, probably the best DVD Disney has ever released. The DVD has two disks filled with wonderful bonus features and great film documentaries. I would recommend this DVD to anyone, it trully deserves 5 stars. A winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE ONE THAT STARTED IT ALL..., Jan. 27 2004
By 
Schuyler V. Johnson (Lake Worth, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Disney animators worked for years on the Silly Symphonies honing their skills, and Snow White is the result. The artwork, animation and background, are simply exquisite, and the colors are breathtaking. Every skill available at the time was lavished, lovingly, on every frame of the movie, and the first time a "cartoon" was evocative and actually affected people to the point where tears were shed over a character drawn by hand. The premiere was "star-studded" as they say, and Charlie Chaplin, John Barryomre and every celebrity of the day were in attendance, which says something about the respect and admiration inspired by the Disney name even then. It is said, in a Disney book, that when the Evil Queen was seen punting down the river, in the mist, Barrymore leaped in his seat from excitement; never had anything of this calibre been seen, and it was greatly appreciated and revered, as well it should be. There is a shot of a bar of soap (when Snow White states no dinner until they wash) that was painted in such rich detail it is astonishing, and there is a picture of this in one of the Disney animation books...extraordinary. Looks like you could pick it up, and it looks wet and worn. There was a problem with Snow White lookling too pale and washed out, and the ink and paint girls tried every shade of paint they had; but they were all too noticeable; a faint blush was what was wanted and the ink and paint girls rubbed real rouge onto the face of SW... the effect was perfect, but then Walt was concerned that they would not be able to place the blush where it should be frame to frame; they said "That's what we do!" and so, that is how Snow White got such a lovely, natural blush. The transformation of the Wicked Queen into the Wicked Witch is one of the most amazing effects ever put on screen and truly extraordinary for 1937. The Cottage of the Seven Dwarfs is just beautiful, placed in a glen in the forest, and the detail throughout the interior is astonishing; the stairs are carved, the organ is carved, and there are faces carved into almost everything in the cottage. The wood looks like wood; this "cartoon" has TEXTURE. At the end, after Snow White bites the poisoned apple and "dies", there isn't a "dry eye on the house", and when the Prince comes and wakes her and they ride off to his Castle in the sky, it is one of the most satisfying, moving moments in film. This one was, and is, the cornerstone of all Disney animation to come, and an absolute must for your DVD library.
SIDENOTE:When Snow White premiered in New York, for publicity, Disney hired seven dwarves to tromp around on top of the theater marquee...all went well until the afternoon when it got hot, the dwarves got bored and thirsty and had booze sent up; well, they all got staggering drunk, took all their clothes off (and relieved themselves over the side, much to the discomfort of hapless passersby) and started fighting...the police were called and hauled them all away in pillow cases...true story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic That Spawned A Legacy, Jan. 22 2004
"Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs" has been a huge success since its initial release in the 30's. As a kid, it was one of the few Disney movies that I hadn't seen, until its home video release in '94. It instantly became one of my favorite Disney films. This DVD release is amazing. There are so many special features and they are all interesting. My personal favorite is the commentary by Walt Disney himself. They edited together audio clips from different interviews and they are played during scenes that are relevant to what's going on in the film. As for the restoration, Disney touched it up so perfectly that it looks new. The audio sounds like it was recorded in the 30's, but has been restored so you never hear any pops and crackles. Whether you are a Disney fan, an animation or movie buff, or someone who is buying this for their kids, no DVD collection is complete without it. Since it is out of print, I recommend trying to track down a copy because it won't come back out of the vault for at least four years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Le Plus juste Toujours d'Eux Tous, Nov. 16 2003
By A Customer
Le Blanc de Neige Était Celui Qui L'a commencé Tout et Est Toujours
Tout Le Farest d'Eux. L'histoire est des tentatives jalouses d'une
reine de se débarasser de sa belle étape-fille, neigent le blanc,
qui prend le refuge avec sept nains dans leur maison de forêt. La
reine change en sorcière et tente le blanc de neige avec une pomme
empoisonnée qui la met dans un sommeil éternel, jusqu'à ce qu'un
prince la trouve dans un cercueil en verre et la réveille avec amour
d'abord embrassez. Plus de 6 Rééditions et Meilleur Childrens De
Vente La Vidéo N'a pas blessé Non plus.Le Blanc de Neige Était Celui Qui L'a commencé Tout et Est Toujours
Tout Le Farest d'Eux. L'histoire est des tentatives jalouses d'une
reine de se débarasser de sa belle étape-fille, neigent le blanc,
qui prend le refuge avec sept nains dans leur maison de forêt. La
reine change en sorcière et tente le blanc de neige avec une pomme
empoisonnée qui la met dans un sommeil éternel, jusqu'à ce qu'un
prince la trouve dans un cercueil en verre et la réveille avec amour
d'abord embrassez. Plus de 6 Rééditions et Meilleur Childrens De
Vente La Vidéo N'a pas blessé Non plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, Aug. 28 2003
By A Customer
I didn't see this film until I was an adult. So my perspective on this film is not due to fond memories from childhood. When I first saw this film about 8 years ago, I thought it was an excellent film. The film is a classic. Having viewed several of Disney's animated films, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs is one Disney's finest. The only Disney film that slightly edges out Snow White I feel would be Pinocchio. The colors and depth seem more intense in Pinocchio. Snow White is definitely a film for adults and their children. The 7 dwarfs provide different personalities that children can relate. This new set of Snow White offers a second DVD which provides the Snow White history and a game for children to play which is related to the story and the Dwarf's mine. The print is excellent. No flaws and colors are rich. Worth buying on DVD. A film that your children will watch dozen of times I'm sure. A true classic and is much better than many of the new run of the mill films that the Disney Company seems to be churning out these days. The Disney classics when Walt Disney was alive are the true classics that adults and their children can watch together (Snow White, Pinocchio, Peter Pan, Mr Toad, Alice In Wonderland etc...) I recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mirror mirror on the wall, which is the best Disney movie?, Aug. 10 2003
By 
JediMack (VALRICO, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Snow White (VHS Tape)
After much discussion our family ranked this Disney classic as their 6th favorite out of the 41 cartoon based movies we own. Of all the old classic cartoons, SWAT7D probably contributed for to the Walt Disney World theme park than any other movie. Snow White herself, the most evil bad guy, the step mother witch, the 7 dwarfs, the diamond mine, the poison apple and the mirror on the wall are all familiar pictures in the culture even today.
Some had said this is their favorite family movie and I can't blame them. We only gave 7 of the 41 a 5 star rating, what we called the magnificent 7. But, Mirror mirror on the wall, which is the best Disney movie of all? The debate was fun.
We had a lot of fun by gathering the family together to rank the 41 Disney movies we have that include some cartoon work. All the kids, ages 6 to 27, participated along with mother and dad. Peter Pan is no Codfish, we rank it #2. Lion King was selected number 1 of the 41 as the family favorite, but narrowly. Peter Pan was 2. Pete's Dragon 3, Beauty & the beast 4 and Sleeping Beauty 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (2-Disc Diamond Edition)
CDN$ 53.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews