Customer Reviews


248 Reviews
5 star:
 (199)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All of its original magic has been fully restored
Note: The review that follows is of the Diamond Edition of Snow White that includes DVD and Blu-Ray in a "Combo Pack," accompanied by a wealth of special features that really are special. For reasons known only to Amazon, reviews of earlier versions -- those that are of significantly inferior quality in terms of production values -- are recycled for inclusion with reviews...
Published on Oct. 3 2009 by Robert Morris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent art-work, poor front page cover
Our family enjoyed watching this high quality art-work on a Blue-ray, really nice experience. However, one comment: the design for the cover page of disks is really bad, the witch is not actually the main character in the movie, and it gives the wrong impression of the content of the entire movie. I would replace the locations and proportions of Show White with the witch,...
Published on April 15 2010 by Vardan Hovhannisyan


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All of its original magic has been fully restored, Oct. 3 2009
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Note: The review that follows is of the Diamond Edition of Snow White that includes DVD and Blu-Ray in a "Combo Pack," accompanied by a wealth of special features that really are special. For reasons known only to Amazon, reviews of earlier versions -- those that are of significantly inferior quality in terms of production values -- are recycled for inclusion with reviews of the latest version. Note that most of the 227 Customer Reviews now featured are of earlier versions and were posted years ago.

* * *

I first saw this film in the Shore Theater in the Windsor Park area of South Chicago and have since seen it several dozen times in the VHS and subsequent DVD format. Snow White and Pinocchio are my favorite Disney feature animated films. I was delighted that Disney released the Two-Disc 70th Anniversary Platinum Edition of Pinocchio earlier this year and now we have the Diamond Edition of Snow White that includes DVD and Blue-Ray in a "Combo Pack," accompanied by a wealth of special features that really are special. As a result of all-new state-of-the-art digital restoration and Disney Enhanced High Definition sound, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs once again possesses all of the magic that previous versions of Disney's first animated feature film do not.

In an article about the Walt Disney Family Museum that appeared in The New York Times (October 1, 2009), Edward Rothstein observes: "By the time [Disney] created his first feature-length work, `Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs,' he had transformed the very notion of animation. Disney insisted that cartoons literally animate their world, bring it so thoroughly to life that even inanimate objects would react to events. He pushed his staff to strain for realism (and sponsored drawing classes in his studios). But he was interested in something more than reality; even tables and trees would display character. I include Rothstein's insightful comments because the animation of otherwise inanimate objects is brilliantly enhanced by all-new state-of-the-art digital restoration. In the Blu-Ray format, the images in Snow White seem even more vivid than I what I recall seeing in a theater and the songs are much more enjoyable because of their presentation in Disney Enhanced High Definition sound.

The plot is based on one of the fairy tales of the Brothers Grimm, Wilhelm and Jacob, and the songs were composed by Frank Churchill (who also wrote the music for "Dumbo" and "Bambi") and Larry Morey (who also wrote the lyrics for "Bambi.") Together they wrote over 25 songs for Snow White but (ironically) only seven were used. After the success of that film, Churchill was promoted to Supervisor of Music at the Disney Studios. There are several of Disney's core themes developed, notably the constant threat of evil and efforts to flee from it as well as the importance of trust and the power of faith. Moreover, whereas a castle or cottage is merely a residence, wherever one is able to be with loved ones is "home." Even the forest animals who live nearby become involved with household chores, soon after Snow White arrives at the dusty, disorganized sylvan "pad" shared by seven bachelors. Given the fact that they haul diamonds from the mine each day, you'd think they could afford a cook and maid. Apparently not.

Disney will offer this "combo Pack" for a limited time only and it really does offer significant value-added benefits that include an all new music video performed by Sonny with a Chance's Tiffany Thornton, an exclusive sneak preview of The Princess and the Frog, "What Do You See?" and "Jewel Jumble" game exercises, newly discovered storyboards for "Snow White Returns," a tour of Walt Disney's original Hyperion studios, and "Dopey's Wild Mine Ride" game. Even without any supplementary features such as these, however, this version (in either the DVD or Blu-Ray format) is, in my opinion, the most complete masterpiece of all the great feature-length animated films. None other combines as effectively his one does both drama and delight in terms of plot, character development, and music.

In a review of Snow White for The New York Times in 1938, Frank Nugent wrote, "Wars are being fought as the picture unreels; crimes are being committed; hatreds are being whetted; riots are being brewed. But the world fades away when M. Disney begins weaving his spell and enchantment takes hold." In his biography of Disney, published in 2006, Neal Gabler observes that other critics "cited the awesome power of the sheer technical achievement: the collaboration of the nearly six hundred employees who drew, inked, and painted the quarter-million drawings in what totaled two hundred years' worth of man-hours. While no animated cartoon had ever looked like Snow White, and certainly none had packed its emotional wallop, it was also true that in none would the investment of time, energy, and devotion be so palpable. In some respects it was the cinematic equivalent of a Gothic cathedral - only in this case all the man-hours were expended in service to one man's vision rather than God's glory."

Most of those who see this film could not care less about its cultural significance, nor about its seamless integration of theme with technology, of inspiration with execution. They will almost immediately be delighted by the lead characters and enchanted by the life they share. Now restored and enhanced, Snow White once again has the technical brilliance and emotional power that were premiered at the Cathay Circle Theater on the evening of December 21, 1937. According to one observer, Bill Peet, "everyone in that first Snow White audience could have predicted the enormous success of the film. They were carried away by the picture from the very beginning, and as it went along everyone was bubbling over with enthusiasm and frequently bursting into spontaneous applause." To the best of my knowledge, no other film made more than 70 years ago continues to have the same impact that it did when first released. If that isn't "magic," I really don't know what is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is good however you may want to consider DVD Platinum, Oct. 6 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Snow White [Import] (VHS Tape)
Same basics ad the DVD without the goodies. I will describe the DVD.

Before we go into any details, I suggest you put on your protective goggles, strap in and go for the main feature. Prepare to be dazzled with sharp images and excellent sound that stay true to the original film.

As with all Disney products there is a lot of schmaltz explaining to them selves of how great they are. In this case, I will have to agree with them. The platinum edition of "Snow White and the seven Dwarfs" makes it well worth trading in your old version or just retiring it. The two-disk edition has more information than can be absorbed in one sitting.

Amazon did a good job of defining all the DVD goodies. However I must mention a few. This takes advantage of your remote control for navigation. To help you decide you have the magic mirror as a guide through both disks and all the feature sections. The magic mirror reminds me of the morose robot in Douglas Adams' "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy."

The only negative comment I have is on the second disk as you navigate the menus do not highlight like they should and leave you guessing as to what you have selected until you press the OK button.

If I had looked at the features first I would have found a game. "Dopey's Wild Mine Ride", that required me to go back to the feature, as I could not remember all the details it asked about. Some of the feature information is redundant. Some will require reading. One of the posters that were displayed looked like an advertisement for "Campbell's Cream of Dwarfs Soup."

There is a Barbra Streisand version of "Some Day My Prince Will Come" which was distracting (no offence Barbra) and would have been much better left sounding like Janet McDonald.

The printed Grimm's version of Snow White story was an eye opener.

You know when things are not as good, exciting, or scary as you remember. Well surprise this movie is as good, as exciting as scary and many time down right hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 26 2014
By 
Artphoto (Quebec,Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A definite!, April 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A must for any Disney collector, superb bonuses and quality! 2 thumbs up! I never expected that you can improve upon perfection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Granddaughters Love it, April 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The original movie which I loved and now our granddaughters love to watch it. One of the all time best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, Feb. 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was great to see this movie again. I hadn't seen it since I was a kid, and my son just loved it. Good family bonding experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Commentaire, Feb. 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
J'ai été très satisfaite de ce DVD. Il était en deux langues et je n'ai eu aucune problème en l'écoutant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Disney, Feb. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Updating our family library from the previous VHS originals, so that we can now watch them with improved clarity and features with our grand-children. These classic Disney movies never get old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say, Jan. 1 2014
By 
Jennifer Wile (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's simply a classic! I bought it for my niece who has never seen it before and was great to watch it all over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Dec 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think I have always loved this movie ever since I first saw it. Its good conquers evil. The animation, the music , the story, all fresh and new even after so long. It definitely is a feel good movie. I watched it as a child, with my children and most recently with my grand children. Snow White is endearing and the dwarfs are adorable. It is timeless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (2-Discs)
Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (2-Discs) by William Cottrell (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 64.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews