Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars I Look To Yoiu
A nice way to remember a great artist, a very tragic end to a young life,
it arrived on time and in perfect shape
Published 5 months ago by jbrookes

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Houston, we have a problem..."
And that problem is Arista overlord Clive Davis. Ms. Houston SHOULD have let Davis sit this one out so she could make an edgier, more honest record out of her well-publicized troubles, but instead she plays it safe, belting out cliche after cliche and adhering to the standard Davis playbook every step of the way. Still, "Million Dollar Bill," "Nothin' But Love," and the...
Published on Oct. 12 2009 by LP Quagmire


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars I Look To Yoiu, Nov. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
A nice way to remember a great artist, a very tragic end to a young life,
it arrived on time and in perfect shape
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Diva, Aug. 28 2009
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
Considering all that she's been through over the past decade, the fact that she's pulled herself together and released any music at all would have likely been significant enough to merit a "comeback". However, this album is not just any music - this is Whitney at her diva best. For fans of her critically acclaimed "My Love Is Your Love" album, this will be welcomed into your collection with enthusiasm.

Whitney Houston, at one time, possessed the most incomprehensibly astonishing voice in modern pop history. She could belt and trill and riff and run with such ease that it, at times, could seem otherworldly. Countless popstars would be influenced by her style, from Mariah Carey to Beyonce, to Alicia Keys, Jennifer Hudson, etc ad nauseum. She is a singular force in pop music when it comes to THAT VOICE.

What I always thought was her greatest strength, however, was not that she could hold a note for 20 seconds or skip up to her highest falsetto without the slightest effort. No, I have always believed that Whitney's greatest strength lied in her phrasing, her lyrical interpretation, her choices regarding when and how she would use that marvelous voice. She never delivered a vocal run simply for the sake of doing it - it was done with purpose; no doubt a trait she learned from her accomplished mother, Cissy, or from her god-mother, Aretha Franklin.

And so while I'm sure many reviews will note the dramatic change in Whitney's voice on this album - I'm not bothered at all. Sure, she may not hit the notes with the same ease as she did 20 years ago ... and sure, she sounds a bit rough 'round the edges at times. But her phrasing and interpretation are Classic Whitney, and the more-personal-than-ever-before lyrics let Whitney pour her heart and soul out.

Just listen to the songs. Whether it's a tale about picking yourself up after going through some may-juh drama on "I Didn't Know My Strength", to a Zen-moment of letting the hate roll on by with "Nothin' But Love" to the final kiss-off of an old flame gone out on "Salute" - this album is essentially Whitney Houston telling us a story. Not just any story - but her own story. She's looking to us for support, for acceptance, for love, for a second chance at re-claiming her rightful place as the Queen of modern Pop/Soul music.

After listening to the songs on this album - everyone one of them single worthy - I will look back at Whitney and say, "I'll Always Love You".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whitney Houston is back!!, Jan. 5 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
I love Whitney Houston's new cd; it's very powerful and inspiring. However, I should raise a flag for this cd. There are technical problems with some tracks. In my experience with two of " I Look to You" cds, there are interruptions with tracks 1 and 3 during play. I still continue to find a perfect functioning cd!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her most solid cd, Dec 17 2009
By 
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
Musically speaking, this is Whitney's most solid album yet. Every song is good, in fact, each song can be released as a single. Vocally, Whitney sounds great, however she doesn't do vocal acrobatics like she used to. She sounds strong and beautiful, but she doesn't oversing. This could be seen as a good thing, but for some Whitney fans who love her for her huge notes, power and range, they might be disappointed. Not me, I love this album and I can't stop playing it. This is a great mature pop/r&b album and every song is unique. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Note to TIMBALAND: Next time WHITNEY should LOOK TO YOU as her producer!, Dec 12 2009
By 
Frederic White "FredEric White" (Montreal, QC.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
When one reviews a new release from Whitney, one has to remove the ARTIST PERSONA from the product.

Whitney is amongst the rarest of recording artists who elegantly acquired a long career in the music industry solely based upon her natural talent to interpret lyrics and a melody line.

As opposed to her personal life wavering out of control in the public eye, she never once orchestrated artistic controversy to promote and hype her musical products.
There has never been any gimmicks surrounding Whitney - simply her vocals, the songs and her sheer artistry to deliver lyrical content.

It has been 22 years since Arista first released her second CD, "WHITNEY".
In 1987, a youthful Whitney was vocally ascending toward the top of her game as an artist.
It is now unfair of the public & physically impossible for the artist to accomplish the indistinguishable performance level she achieved in the past.

As a genuine belter, she no longer sustains the vocal dynamics and range she once effortlessly achieved yet she can still manipulate lyrics and transmit raw emotion to her public - one has to only run through "I LOOK TO YOU" to attest to this reality.

In 2009, one must audition & review Whitney's new release on the basis of the work presented upon the compilation.

The bulk of the material on "I LOOK TO YOU" is intentionally manoeuvred toward the past.

The production attempts to hopefully reconnect Whitney with her public.
Tracks have been commissioned to remain on safe ground and therefore sound non contemporary by the standards of current TOP 40 radio in 2009.

The fact this diva now possesses a warm lower register, as demonstrated throughout this release, may impact the overall level of appreciation from fans anticipating to hear Whitney perform with the same angelic tones of the bygone "I will always Love You" era.

The main issue that I have to gripe about with this release is CLIVE DAVIS.
He remains at the head of production on this CD and has a dated vision of his artist, Whitney.

To best orchestrate a Whitney comeback, one should adventurously challenge the talented vocalist & seek out new creative inspiration from new sources - a newer generation of producers that currently impact the sound at TOP 40 radio.
*** A good option to produce Whitney could have been enlisting the services of TIMBALAND who produced massive hits for NELLY FURTADO, JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE etc.

~> Her track "LIKE I NEVER LEFT" with AKON misfires despite the fact that AKON is currently one of the hottest recording artists on the planet. The production of the song was unfortunately done "safe and predictable".

~> MILLION DOLLAR BILL is a great urban pop track composed by Alicia Keys however there is not enough of the same included on this CD to forge and establish a new identity and signal a true comeback for the artist.

Sure it's pleasant to once again hear David Foster produce a Diane Warren track "I DIDN'T KNOW MY OWN STRENGHT" - while a powerful track to showcase live it's highly doubtful this track could currently acquire interest from Top 40 radio.

Fans of WHITNEY should purchase this CD with some reservation as they have to accept the reality of time, life and age finally catching up with their diva.

The best hope for generating serious interest from Top-40;

* FOR THE LOVERS
* NOTHING BUT LOVE
* MILLION DOLLAR BILL
* SALUTE (note: this track screams to be remixed ~ and not by CLIVE DAVIS)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my long wait is over, Aug. 12 2009
By 
Philip Santiano "p2thej" (Toronto, On) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
I'm so rooting for this album. Can't stop playing Million Dollar Bill and I Look to You while driving!!! I'm totally going nutz about this album!! LOL Welcome back Whitney -the voice!

xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome album, Aug. 27 2009
By 
Nicholas Koykka "L8er Dayz" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
This album is so great. The songs are amazing and Ms.Houston sounds great. This is a new Whitney, and she a force. welcome back, it was worth the wait. OMG I can't stop playing this album!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Houston, we have a problem...", Oct. 12 2009
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
And that problem is Arista overlord Clive Davis. Ms. Houston SHOULD have let Davis sit this one out so she could make an edgier, more honest record out of her well-publicized troubles, but instead she plays it safe, belting out cliche after cliche and adhering to the standard Davis playbook every step of the way. Still, "Million Dollar Bill," "Nothin' But Love," and the bitchy closer, "Salute," have just enough spice to justify a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Her Voice Pays A Heavy Price, Sept. 23 2009
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
Miss Houston has paid a heavy price for her life style. As is evident to many that wonderful voice has been abused to the point that on this recording her voice is broken, off key, out of breath and volume. Yes, we can all cheer that she is brave to try a comeback - but at what price. I would rather remember the voice of the early 90s.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Thank goodness for auto tune and other technology, Sept. 10 2009
This review is from: I Look To You (Audio CD)
A nice try by Whitney, but her voice is a thing of the past. Just witness her recent disastrous performance in Central Park where she blamed Oprah for her poor singing voice!

This CD is filled with pleasant, but forgettable music. It unfortunately serves as a reminder of the talent she used to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x102369c0)

This product

I Look To You
I Look To You by Whitney Houston (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews