countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
17
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 17, 2016
good songs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2015
Thank you for sending this CD when indicated! This being the last "studio recording" of Whitney Houston is both sad and also contained some amazing vocals from this talented artist. You can tell on some of the cuts, that she was indeed having vocal issues. My favourite cuts are " Million Dollar Bill, I Didn't Know My Own Strength, For the Lovers and I Look to You"...lots of good listening in this CD. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2014
Its ok I just bought it for 3 songs that are on it that I love
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2013
A nice way to remember a great artist, a very tragic end to a young life,
it arrived on time and in perfect shape
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2010
I love Whitney Houston's new cd; it's very powerful and inspiring. However, I should raise a flag for this cd. There are technical problems with some tracks. In my experience with two of " I Look to You" cds, there are interruptions with tracks 1 and 3 during play. I still continue to find a perfect functioning cd!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2009
Musically speaking, this is Whitney's most solid album yet. Every song is good, in fact, each song can be released as a single. Vocally, Whitney sounds great, however she doesn't do vocal acrobatics like she used to. She sounds strong and beautiful, but she doesn't oversing. This could be seen as a good thing, but for some Whitney fans who love her for her huge notes, power and range, they might be disappointed. Not me, I love this album and I can't stop playing it. This is a great mature pop/r&b album and every song is unique. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2009
When one reviews a new release from Whitney, one has to remove the ARTIST PERSONA from the product.

Whitney is amongst the rarest of recording artists who elegantly acquired a long career in the music industry solely based upon her natural talent to interpret lyrics and a melody line.

As opposed to her personal life wavering out of control in the public eye, she never once orchestrated artistic controversy to promote and hype her musical products.
There has never been any gimmicks surrounding Whitney - simply her vocals, the songs and her sheer artistry to deliver lyrical content.

It has been 22 years since Arista first released her second CD, "WHITNEY".
In 1987, a youthful Whitney was vocally ascending toward the top of her game as an artist.
It is now unfair of the public & physically impossible for the artist to accomplish the indistinguishable performance level she achieved in the past.

As a genuine belter, she no longer sustains the vocal dynamics and range she once effortlessly achieved yet she can still manipulate lyrics and transmit raw emotion to her public - one has to only run through "I LOOK TO YOU" to attest to this reality.

In 2009, one must audition & review Whitney's new release on the basis of the work presented upon the compilation.

The bulk of the material on "I LOOK TO YOU" is intentionally manoeuvred toward the past.

The production attempts to hopefully reconnect Whitney with her public.
Tracks have been commissioned to remain on safe ground and therefore sound non contemporary by the standards of current TOP 40 radio in 2009.

The fact this diva now possesses a warm lower register, as demonstrated throughout this release, may impact the overall level of appreciation from fans anticipating to hear Whitney perform with the same angelic tones of the bygone "I will always Love You" era.

The main issue that I have to gripe about with this release is CLIVE DAVIS.
He remains at the head of production on this CD and has a dated vision of his artist, Whitney.

To best orchestrate a Whitney comeback, one should adventurously challenge the talented vocalist & seek out new creative inspiration from new sources - a newer generation of producers that currently impact the sound at TOP 40 radio.
*** A good option to produce Whitney could have been enlisting the services of TIMBALAND who produced massive hits for NELLY FURTADO, JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE etc.

~> Her track "LIKE I NEVER LEFT" with AKON misfires despite the fact that AKON is currently one of the hottest recording artists on the planet. The production of the song was unfortunately done "safe and predictable".

~> MILLION DOLLAR BILL is a great urban pop track composed by Alicia Keys however there is not enough of the same included on this CD to forge and establish a new identity and signal a true comeback for the artist.

Sure it's pleasant to once again hear David Foster produce a Diane Warren track "I DIDN'T KNOW MY OWN STRENGHT" - while a powerful track to showcase live it's highly doubtful this track could currently acquire interest from Top 40 radio.

Fans of WHITNEY should purchase this CD with some reservation as they have to accept the reality of time, life and age finally catching up with their diva.

The best hope for generating serious interest from Top-40;

* FOR THE LOVERS
* NOTHING BUT LOVE
* MILLION DOLLAR BILL
* SALUTE (note: this track screams to be remixed ~ and not by CLIVE DAVIS)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2009
And that problem is Arista overlord Clive Davis. Ms. Houston SHOULD have let Davis sit this one out so she could make an edgier, more honest record out of her well-publicized troubles, but instead she plays it safe, belting out cliche after cliche and adhering to the standard Davis playbook every step of the way. Still, "Million Dollar Bill," "Nothin' But Love," and the bitchy closer, "Salute," have just enough spice to justify a purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2009
Definately not the old Whitney Houston, didn't like it her singing isn't anywhere near as good as she used to be
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items