Customer Reviews


198 Reviews
5 star:
 (174)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aaron Sorkin TV show - expect something good!
Sports night is a TV show written by Aaron Sorkin (West Wing, Studio 60). As all his other TV shows, this one is smart, satirical, fast-talking, fast-paced, character-driven, and excellent. It takes place in a sports tv newsroom, and it follows the trials and tribulations of the two news writers/anchors and their team. It's extremely well acted (you'll recognize actors...
Published on July 15 2009 by Zepherine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show, bad discs
I would argue to my dying breath that this was the most intelligently written half-hour show that has been on television since M*A*S*H. If you loved it before, you will fall in love with it all over again when you realize just how much you missed it.
Having said that, the peple that brought it to DVD should be publicly flogged. The laugh track is annoying (I don't...
Published on Dec 31 2002 by R. Dignan


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aaron Sorkin TV show - expect something good!, July 15 2009
By 
Zepherine "zepherine" (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sports Night: The Complete Series (10th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
Sports night is a TV show written by Aaron Sorkin (West Wing, Studio 60). As all his other TV shows, this one is smart, satirical, fast-talking, fast-paced, character-driven, and excellent. It takes place in a sports tv newsroom, and it follows the trials and tribulations of the two news writers/anchors and their team. It's extremely well acted (you'll recognize actors from Sorkin's other TV shows), and highly recommended.
Slim packaging makes the re-release of this TV show on DVD even more appealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On time and in great condition, Jan. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Night: The Complete Series (10th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
I ordered this DVD for a Christmas present and it arrived on time and in excellent condition. The show is fantastic and has become a huge hit in my house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sports Night, the complete series - 10th anniversary edition, Dec 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Night: The Complete Series (10th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
I only wish I knew about this show when it was on TV - a friend recommended it (as we were talking about Aaron Sorkin & he asked me if I'd ever watched it. He lent me his copy and i JUST HAD TO HAVE IT.
Once you get past about the first 4 or so episodes with the phoney laugh track (I hate laugh tracks - if it's funny, I'll laugh) - it's WONDERFUL. Very funny & very well written!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Father's Day Gift, July 20 2009
By 
A. Templeman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sports Night: The Complete Series (10th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
My dad and I used to watch this show together the first season it was on. I thought it would be an excellent father's day gift this year - and it was. He LOVED it. I'm looking forward to sitting down to watch it with him again soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great TV, April 26 2006
By A Customer
It's a shame this show only lasted two seasons. I can't understand why - Sorkin's is the smartest, snappiest, funniest stuff on TV.
As an aside - the laugh track has regrettably always been part of the show, but only for season one. They dropped it for season two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Only one flaw, July 5 2004
By 
T. Spackman (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The show was wonderful and I still mourn its cancellation. It is great to finally have the DVDs so I can get my _Sports Night_ fix anytime. The only complaint I have is that the DVDs contain the versions with the laugh track. When the show was originally shown, it was without a laugh track. This was good. I hate laugh tracks, and especially when this show isn't quite a sitcom, it just really grates. When the show was rerun, some idiot thought adding a laugh track would dumb it down enough that it might do better in the rating. That person was wrong. Very, very wrong. Unfortunately, like I said, the laugh track version is the version they chose to put on the DVDs. I wish they'd not done that.
With that complaint, I give it 4 stars. The DVDs are otherwise excellent, just as the show is excellent. If they hadn't had the laugh track or had the option of with or without, I would give it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, but it wasn't around long enough, June 22 2004
By 
T. Bratz "gwfeds0" (Beaverton, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Before West Wing Aaron Sorkin brought us this great show about a group of people putting on a sports news show for a fictional cable network.
Unfortunately, too many people thought it was a show about sports and never gave it a chance. The characters were all interesting, the show was well-written, the acting was excellent and the stories were funny.
If you enjoyed the writing on West Wing for the first few seasons, but are not a big sports fan buy this collection anyway. You really don't have to be a sports fan to enjoy this show, because it's more about the people who make the show than it is about the content of the show they are making. You will also notice quite a few similarities between the two shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best series ever!, June 19 2004
By 
Writer/creator Aaron Sorkin and director Thomas Schlamme went on to develop NBC's "The West Wing" during the second season of this wonderful series.
From the beginning, ABC had no clue of how to handle this show. First, they insisted that the producers ad a laugh track, because you don't know when to laugh. Then, they started to promote it like a soap opera, because it had serious issues to deal with at times.
Ultimately, the quality of the show came through. A fabulous cast provided excellent performances. Josh Charles ("A Few Good Men") and Sabrina Lloyd ("Sliders") are the MVPs here, consistently giving the show it's heart. Peter Krause ("Six Feet Under"), initially stiff in his "on air" role as Casey McCall, settled in well mid-first season.
The real gem here is Robert Guilamme ("Benson"), his Issac Jaffe is an excellent character brought to life with his gentle touch. Guilamme's real-life stroke was written into the series, and when he returned in the second season made for some wonderful moments and sly dialogue delivered by the veteran actor.
If you've not yet experienced this series, you may want to catch a rerun on late night Comedy Central. But, I whole-heartedly endorse adding this DVD set to your personal collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sports Night, June 15 2004
One of the best shows you never watched. Unfortunately, Aaron Sorkin's mix of witty dialogue and endearing characters did not catch on with the viewing public. Maybe it was because it wasn't placed in a consistent time slot, maybe the viewing public isn't that savvy and sophisticated. Anyway, this show was as funny, touching, and poignant as MASH. Give it a chance, get to know the characters, Dan and Casey, the on-air talent, Jeremy, the stats guy, Dana, the savvy producer, Natalie, her competent assistant (my crush), and Issac, the seasoned executive producer. The episodes guest staring William H. Macy, the ratings consultant, have some of the best scenes in television history. The genius of Sorkin's dialogue is communicating what is not said.
The only warning that I have for those of you who haven't experienced Sports Night...is be prepared to be disappointed in the final episode because that is when the show was just getting its legs. It's a shame that this show got cut down in the prime of its life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best shows ever, June 12 2004
By 
M. R. Chateauvert (Canton, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I do not own the DVD boxed set but caught as many episodes as i could during a bout of insomnia when it was aired on Comedy Central. I must admit here however, that i only watch 2 of the 4 major sports on TV (football and hockey... basically the more injured someone can get, the more entertaining it is). Given thati usually only watch the finals of each series. I was just too lazy to change the channel when Sports Night came on though, and i am glad.
The characters and humor were wonderful. I wondered why i couldn't see it anymore. I think, if ABC screwed it up, and comedy central showed it too late, perhaps NBC should pick it up in their Thursday night line-up. The plot was easy to see, but the characters were the driving force. Heck, i started seeing it as "Friends" but with a studio instead of a Coffee Shop.
A wonderful show that never deserved to die. Any way to bring this back???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9edbfc9c)

This product

Sports Night: The Complete Series (10th Anniversary Edition)
CDN$ 69.95 CDN$ 53.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews