Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars THE MUSIC MAN [1961] [Blu-ray] [US Import]
THE MUSIC MAN [1961] [Blu-ray] [US Import] In Razzling-Dazzling Hi-Def Comes “Hollywood’s Show magic At Its Best!

This joyful film of the 1,375-performance Broadway smash hit, remains an irresistible sky burst of American musical hero Robert Preston, who recreates his Tony® Award winning Broadway triumph, as con artist Harold Hill. Arriving in River...
Published 1 month ago by Andrew C. Miller

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Never again for me!
I had to watch this all week in my college Theatre class, and I wanted to blow my brains out. Yes it's THAT annoying. Don't get me wrong, Robert Preston's role was incredibly challenging and I don't see how he didn't constantly get tongue-tied....Maybe it's not fair that we previously watched such greats as "Summer and Smoke" and "To Kill a Mockingbird", after those...
Published on April 24 2002


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars THE MUSIC MAN [1961] [Blu-ray] [US Import], Oct. 20 2014
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Music Man, The (BD) [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres franais) (Blu-ray)
THE MUSIC MAN [1961] [Blu-ray] [US Import] In Razzling-Dazzling Hi-Def Comes “Hollywood’s Show magic At Its Best!

This joyful film of the 1,375-performance Broadway smash hit, remains an irresistible sky burst of American musical hero Robert Preston, who recreates his Tony® Award winning Broadway triumph, as con artist Harold Hill. Arriving in River City, IOWA, to form a boys band, much to the disapproval – and later delight – of town librarian Marion Paroo [Academy Award® winner Shirley Jones]. Buddy Hackett, Hermione Gingold, Paul Ford and 7-year old Ron Howard co-star. With Meredith Wilson’s beloved score – featuring the unforgettable “Seventy-Six Trombones” and “Till There Was You” among other marvellous melodies – is orchestrated to brilliant Oscar® winning effect by Ray Heindorf.

FILM FACT: The film won one Academy Award and was nominated for five more. Won: Best Musical Score (adaptation or treatment) for Ray Heindorf. Nominations: Best Picture for Morton DaCosta. Best Costume (color) for Dorothy Jeakins. Best Art Direction (color) for Paul Groesse and George James Hopkins. Best Film Editing for William H. Ziegler. Best Sound for George Groves.

Cast: Robert Preston, Shirley Jones, Buddy Hackett, Paul Ford, Hermione Gingold, Pert Kelton, Ron [Ronny] Howard, Susan Luckey, Timmy Everett, Bill Spangenberg, Wayne Ward, Al Shea, Vern Reed, Harry Hickox, Charles Lane, Mary Wickes, Peggy Mondo, Sara Seegar, Adnia Rice, Jesslyn Fax, Monique Vermont, Ronnie Dapo, Percy Helton and Max Showalter

Director: Morton DaCosta

Producers: Morton DaCosta

Screenplay: Marion Hargrove

Composer: Meredith Willson

Cinematography: Robert Burks

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio and Spanish: Dolby Digital Mono

Subtitles: English, French and Spanish

Running Time: 151 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Warner Home Video

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: In the annals of musical theatre, a handful of roles have become so closely identified with the actors who originated them, it's almost impossible to imagine any other performer in the part. Yul Brynner as the stubborn Siamese ruler in 'The King and I' is one; Rex Harrison as insufferable elocution expert Henry Higgins in 'My Fair Lady' is another. There's also Mary Martin as the cherubic 'Peter Pan,' and of course Robert Preston as that unflappable con artist "Professor" Harold Hill in Meredith Willson's sprightly salute to small town America, 'The Music Man.' Mention the song "76 Trombones" and no one except the energetic Robert Preston – marching and strutting down the street, waving a baton and leading a legion of loyal followers – springs to mind. Though contemporary viewers may only remember him as Julie Andrews' drag queen mentor in 'Victor Victoria' or as the alien who whisks Lance Guest to an intergalactic battleground in 'The Last Starfighter,' it was 'The Music Man' that cemented Robert Preston's reputation and gave him the role of a lifetime.

Riding on the coattails of a series of Rodgers and Hammerstein film adaptations, 'The Music Man' helped usher in the era of the colossal Hollywood musical; films so big and brassy, they provided audiences with the kind of large-scale entertainment television variety shows couldn't. 'West Side Story,' 'Gypsy,' 'My Fair Lady,' and 'The Sound of Music' would also wow wide-eyed viewers during this period, but 'The Music Man' possesses the kind of homespun charm that appeals to a vast range of ages and backgrounds. Meredith Willson's musical is family entertainment with a capital F, and with an array of infectious and rhythmically inventive melodies – almost all of which are classics – Morton DaCosta's 151-minute extravaganza survives some sluggish dramatic stretches to emerge as one of Hollywood's most faithful and beloved stage-to-screen adaptations.

This homage to Meredith Willson's formative years in IOWA, 'The Music Man' depicts how traditional American values, love, and devotion can tame even the most cynical and hardened human specimens. Harold Hill is a first-rate swindler, traveling the country in the hope of defrauding unsuspecting, upstanding townspeople out of their hard-earned money by promising to organise and train an all-boys band that will put River City's recalcitrant youth on a straight-and-narrow path and unify a splintering community. To achieve such middle-American nirvana, the residents simply need to pay for instruments and uniforms, and Harold will do the rest…which in this case means absconding with the proceeds before anyone's the wiser. Yet, succumbing to the fresh-faced allure of the suspicious Marion Paroo [Shirley Jones], the local librarian who falls for Harold against her better judgment, isn't part of the scheme.

Call me unpatriotic, but despite its warmth and vigor (not to mention its excellent score), 'The Music Man' has always failed to capture my imagination. While I can appreciate its merits and applaud its message of unity and redemption, I've never been able to invest myself in the show's down-home characters or nostalgic story. For me, the songs save the day, and luckily there are enough of them – and almost all are gems – to both maintain my interest and fuel my sincere admiration for the talent and verve on display. A course in Musical Theatre 101 must surely include Preston spitting out the tongue-twisting, rapid-fire "Trouble," which defines composer Meredith Willson's innovative lyrical patter – a style that continues in such other recognisable tunes as "Pick a Little, Talk a Little" and "Gary, Indiana" (reprised by an adorable, lisping, seven-year-old Ron – billed here as Ron [Ronny] Howard, who very nearly steals the show), as well as the opening number, "Rock Island," which could be classified as "early rap." Though Meredith Willson is a master at rousing choral numbers like "The Wells Fargo Wagon," he's no slouch in the romantic ballad department either, with "Goodnight, My Someone" and "Till There Was You" beautifully showcasing Jones' lilting soprano.

Morton DaCosta, who also directed the Broadway version, takes full command of the camera, filling the Technirama lens (a CinemaScope knock-off) with plenty of pageantry and atmosphere. While the film often flaunts a distinct backlot, soundstage feel, the artificiality complements the theatrical nature of the piece, as do some of Morton DaCosta's shot compositions and lighting effects. In all, 'The Music Man' received Six Academy Award nominations, including one for Best Picture (losing to 'Lawrence of Arabia'), and earned its sole Oscar for Best Adapted Scoring.

Though Robert Preston was ignored by the Academy, the film without question belongs to him. His indefatigable portrayal infuses this classic musical with such spirit and dynamism; it's easy to see why the residents of River City were so enamoured of Harold Hill. And you will be, too. 'The Music Man' may be far from my favourite musical, but because of Robert Preston I won't hesitate to visit it again. He is truly the leader of the band.

Blu-ray Video Quality – 'The Music Man' sports a vibrant, well-balanced transfer that adds plenty of visual vim and verve to this energetic musical. A natural grain structure lends the image a film-like texture, but never diminishes the crystal clarity that distinguishes the majority of this first-class effort. Though the opening train sequence looks a bit rough and noisy, due to heavy rear projection processing on the original print, the rest of the movie settles into a fine groove, with only a few errant white specks dotting the beautifully restored source material.

Blues and especially reds pop with lush saturation, and the overall palette exudes a slight faint warmth that subtly highlights the period atmosphere. Flesh tones are pleasing, and blacks are always inky, making Morton DaCosta's signature iris-in-iris-out effect (a modified blackout used for emphasis at the end of some scenes) especially striking. Close-ups flaunt plenty of marvellous detail, and background elements are easy to discern. No banding or edge enhancement could be detected either. The folks at Warner take great care in bringing their classics to Blu-ray, and 'The Music Man' is another fine example of their meticulous attention to detail and commitment to honouring the films of Hollywood's past.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – Ever since Warner (belatedly) embraced the audio on its high-definition releases, the studio has supported the 5.1 Dolby TrueHD surround sound platform. Well, 'The Music Man' is one of the first Warner Blu-ray disc to break that trend, and its 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio track punches up the vintage sound of this musical classic quite nicely, presumably helped by the original 4-track magnetic presentations.. Any age-related defects have been erased, and the resulting clear, crisp sound brings Meredith Willson's popular score to brilliant life. Jones' vocals possess a marvelous purity of tone, and even when she scales and sustains those high notes, there's no hint of distortion. Of course, the bigger the number, the wider the scope of the sound, and "76 Trombones" fill the room so completely; you can almost count every instrument. The song also pumps out some palpable bass, adding welcome weight to the music.

As one would guess for a 1962 film, most of the sonic action is anchored up front, but good stereo separation lends an expansive feel to the audio, and some faint bleeds into the surrounds during exterior sequences provide a bit of ambience. Dialogue is often spoken quickly, but it's always easy to understand, even during the tongue-twisting "Trouble" number. The mix is well balanced, too, so there's no need to fumble with volume levels when the principals burst into song. Though the audio can't quite eclipse the video, it's a solid effort and complements this classic well.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Introduction by Shirley Jones [SD] [2:00] The female star of 'The Music Man' talks about her attraction to the part of Marian Paroo and generally lauds the production in this brief lead-in to the film.

Feature: Right Here in River City: The Making of Meredith Willson's ‘The Music Man’ [SD] [22:00] Shirley Jones is back to host this interesting 1998 making-of feature, which chronicles the film's production through clips, stills, and anecdotes. The piece examines director Morton DaCosta's signature camera techniques, the recording sessions, choreography, rehearsals, the stop-action title sequence (quite innovative for its time), and the movie's gala Iowa premiere. We also learn the studio originally pushed to have Frank Sinatra play Harold Hill, and find out how Jones hid her pregnancy during shooting. Fans of film classics will certainly enjoy this well-produced piece.

Theatrical Trailer [SD] [1:00] A brief re-release trailer is more of a tease than a full-fledged preview.

Finally, with its wonderful melodic winning score and sprightly performances, 'The Music Man' remains one of the most popular Broadway musical adaptations, and this Blu-ray rendering from Warner grandly showcases it. High-quality video and audio transfers bring this nostalgic period piece to life and enhance the effervescence of Robert Preston's iconic portrayal. This is one the whole family can enjoy, and though it's not a personal favourite of mine, its myriad charms are undeniable. The Blu-ray is a beauty to look at and listen to, and it's the perfect family film for a rainy Sunday afternoon. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Musical, March 8 2003
By 
D. Allen "meeko_2003" (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Music Man (VHS Tape)
I must admit the first time I ever watched this version of the "Music Man", I wasn't exactly impressed. The music was great, the acting very good, but still something didn't seem right. After watching the version staring Matthew Broderick on ABC and loved it, I decided to give the original another try. I've come to the conclusion that the film's major flaw is its cinematography. The film never seems to break past being a Broadway show and most of the staging reflects that. Most of the action takes place just as it would on the stage with little creativity. Even with this flaw, the film is still a lot of fun. Robert Preston's Harold Hill, the traveling con man attempting to swindle the town of River City, is a remarkable performance. Herminie Granger and Susan Luckey also put in great performances as Mrs. Shinn, the mayor's wife, and her daughter Zaneeta respectively. Shirley Jones also stars as Marian, the town librarian and music teacher that Hill falls in love with. While the character has so much potential, Jones seems to play her somewhat flat and is also limited by not being able to act and sing at the same time. All in all, though, it's a fun film and recommended to any musical fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How could I NOT give it Five Stars?, Nov. 3 2002
By 
R. J Metz (Blacksburg, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music Man, the (VHS Tape)
I am a big fan of The Music Man. I own both soundtracks the one to the broadway production and the one to the movie. Although I don't own the movie yet, I have rented it several times, and never wanted to take it back.
When I was a kid I used to love the songs from the show. I saw it on stage twice. And I have always wanted the part of Harold Hill. I'd have to say my favorite song from the show is "The Sadder But Wiser Girl For Me," which I used to think was "The Sadder Budweiser Girl,"
The cast in the movie consists of Robert Preston as Harold Hill (reprising his stage role) Shirley Jones as Marion Paroo, Hermione Gingold as Eulalie McKecknie Shinn, Paul Ford as Mayor Shinn, Pert Kelton as Mrs. Paroo (reprising her stage role) and I really liked Ronnie Howard from the Andy Griffith show cast as Opie.
For those of you who don't know, Shirley Jones was pregnant when she played the part of Marion. She sure didn't look it though. She did a great job. I hope this show keeps playing on both stage and screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great family movie, Oct. 7 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Music Man, the (VHS Tape)
From the time I was 5 years old, I loved to listen to the "Music Man" soundtrack, and I hadn't even seen the movie yet--in fact, I was 10 before I actually saw it.
Well, we rented it...and bought it almost immediately afterwards. Why don't they make movies like this any more? Why is it that most kids my age don't think a movie isn't interesting unless it has someone blowing their brains out or constantly swearing???
Well, my mom and I do a great imatation of Mrs. Paroo (Pert Kelton) and Marian Paroo (Shirley Jones) during their number about the stranger with the suitcase--"who may be your very last chance."
This is a hilarious movie, where all the characters are good-hearted but have their particular little quirks...for instance, the Mayor's wife, Eulalie McKecknie Shinn, who heads all the social functions and organizes a woman's Grecien dance group, and struts into the Library with decided indignance, announcing, "What sort of book is this that you give my daughter to read--it's dirty Persian poetry!" Then there's her husband, Mayor Shinn, who is forever trying to make a good speech but hopelessly bumbles his phrases--"Not one more poop out of you." Not to mention Tommy Gilas, who is always getting into trouble, for example, setting off fireworks during Mrs. Shinn's act in the Fourth of July celebration.
Oh, we must not forget Winthrop, the shy kid with the lisp (played by Ronnie Howard)...or Emerilas, who secretly adores Winthrop, but is constantly teasing him for his lisp.
I could go on and on...but you just have to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 76 Trombones Blazed the Way, June 30 2002
By 
"incritic" (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Music Man (DVD)
Out of all the musicals I've seen, the Music Man is by far my most favorite of them all. After seeing this DVD version, I'll have to say that this is one of my favorite movies of all time as well. The very good chemistry between Robert Preston [Prof. Harold Hill] and Shirley Jones [Marian Paroo] was great. The addition of Buddy Hacket as the Professor's old partner Marcellus Washburn added to the friendliness of the movie. The Buffalo Bills also really spark up the music with their barber shop quartet ensambles.
The Music Man is a musical about this traveling salesman named Professor Harold Hill[Preston], who promises to give every town he visits a "boys' band," yet he just takes the money and runs. He is so hated by the other traveling salesmen. After arriving in Rivercity Iowa, he is reaquainted with his old partner Marcellus Washburn [Hacket] and begins to work his magic and deception. He soon finds himself traped in a world full of adventure, deciet, and love as he begins to fall for the town librarian Marian Paroo [Jones].
A lot of the music [written by Meredith Wilson] are very memorable such as the famous "Till There Was You" made famous by the Beatles a few years after this was written, and "76 Trombones" and "Lida Rose", with some special old-time salesmen rap such as "Rock Island" and "Ya Got Trouble."
I give this movie 5 stars and would recomend this movie to any families and musical lovers out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music Man: The Sounds of the ages, June 30 2002
By 
"incritic" (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Music Man (DVD)
Out of all the musicals I've seen, the Music Man is by far my most favorite of them all. After seeing this DVD version, I'll have to say that this is one of my favorite movies of all time as well. The very good chemistry between Robert Preston [Prof. Harold Hill] and Shirley Jones [Marian Paroo] was great. The addition of Buddy Hacket as the Professor's old partner Marcellus Washburn added to the friendliness of the movie. The Buffalo Bills also really spark up the music with their barber shop quartet ensambles.
The Music Man is a musical about this traveling salesman named Professor Harold Hill[Preston], who promises to give every town he visits a "boys' band," yet he just takes the money and runs. He is so hated by the other traveling salesmen. After arriving in Rivercity Iowa, he is reaquainted with his old partner Marcellus Washburn [Hacket] and begins to work his magic and deception. He soon finds himself traped in a world full of adventure, deciet, and love as he begins to fall for the town librarian Marian Paroo [Jones].
A lot of the music [written by Meredith Wilson] are very memorable such as the famous "Till There Was You" made famous by the Beatles a few years after this was written, and "76 Trombones" and "Lida Rose", with some special old-time salesmen rap such as "Rock Island" and "Ya Got Trouble."
I give this movie 5 stars and would recomend this movie to any families and musical lovers out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As Good As It Gets, May 16 2002
By 
Duane Spencer (Prescott, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Music Man (DVD)
I am a child (total misnomer) of the 60's. Growing up and being devoted to the rock music of the late '50 and beyond. Having said that, I am still trying to figure out why "The Music Man" is my all time favorite movie.
I remember when the movie came out and my parents and grandparents tried to get me to go see it. Of course I refused. I discovered this movie on VHS in the mid '80s and have become totally enthralled.
Hollywood musicals have never been my cup of tea, but this....oh my this movie is WONDERFUL.
The incomparable Robert Preston is totally enthralling as Professor Harold Hill, a con man par excellance. A young and very beautiful Shirley Jones is Marion the Librarian. Add in Buddy Hacket, Hermione Gingold, Paul Ford, and a 7 year old red headed kid named Ron Howard and you get a cast from heaven.
The sets and costumes recreate a circa 1910 Iowa perfectly, the story moves along seamlessly, and the score is superb. Movie magick at its best.
The chemistry between Robert Preston and Shirley Jones is perfect, the inter-action of the other characters is very well done. The score by Meredith Wilson is pure musical heaven.
Buy it, watch it, watch it again. You will love it. Guaranteed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Honk! It's the Music Man!, May 13 2002
By 
GLENN WHELAN (Winter Park, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Music Man (DVD)
You ever hear about a fellah named Hill? He's a music man... At least that's what he'd have you believe. He's also the subject of this charming movie musical from 1962. And when THE MUSIC MAN trumpets onto your screen, you are taken back to when musicals where the rage.
Robert Preston reprises his Broadway role as Henry Hill, a salesman with very questionable intentions. And when the town of River City is taken in by his charms, the levelheaded librarian Marian (played by a pregnant Shirley Jones) calls his bluff. But, when his bluff puts smiles on everyone's face, even she questions herself... the River City-zians are a pleasure to watch. Leading the town is Mayor Shinn and his wife, played by the comic geniuses, Paul Ford and Hermione Gingold. We can't forget their daughter Zaneeta (Susan Luckey). Eee-gawds! Marian Paroo's mother is the scene stealing Pert Kelton and Marian's little brother Winthrop is the Oscar Winning director of A BEAUTIFUL MIND, Ronny Howard... err... with a lot more hair. Just to keep the comedy flowing, Buddy Hackett plays Hill's shill, Marcellus.
The show is filled with unique musical composition: From the syncopated opening with only a train for underscoring to an argument where the underscoring is provided by a young girl's piano lessons. Other great numbers include the whisper filled dance number in the library and the rabble-rousing talk song, Trouble. The film is often choreographed as if it was on stage and even the lighting design supports that. Occasionally, the background will fade to black leaving the singer alone in a spotlight.
The DVD is nicely presented. The Technicolor video transfer is sharp and pleasant. The audio sounds great, but the 5.1 at times can be taxing to your sound system. There is also a brief making of documentary called "Right Here in River City" that offers some cute tidbits and is introduced by a still beautiful Shirley Jones. Watch for Ron Howard's Dad, Rance in a small role!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Wells Fargo Wagon and Little Ronnie Howard!, April 28 2002
This review is from: Music Man, the (VHS Tape)
Meredith Willson's "The Music Man" was a phenomenal success on Broadway (1957) before it came to Hollywood. At this point in time, in Hollywood musical history, studios wanted to be certain that they had a "sure thing" before they expended any amount of money on the musical. Consequently, most of the musicals being made in Hollywood had previously been successful on Broadway. The same principle applied to "The Music Man."
Director Morton DaCosta and choreographer Onna White also handled the Broadway production and several of the original Broadway cast members were featured in the movie including Pert Kelton, The Buffalo Bills singing quartet and last but not least Robert Preston. Even though Preston portrayed the dynamic Professor Hill on Broadway, he was awarded the starring role in the movie only after Cary Grant turned down the studio. Preston's enthusiastic character in the movie, his style, his charm and his personality reflected in Professor Hill are the qualities that went on to make the movie as successful as the Broadway play. According to Ted Sennett in his book 'Hollywood Musicals,' "His performance is a miracle of energy and drive, perfectly in key to the style and intention of the film."
"The Music Man" centers on down home America, Iowa style, circa 1912. The crux of the plot involves a fast-talking, good looking, and smooth kind of guy called Professor Harold Hill. In actuality, he's a con man who goes from small town to small town, making a fast buck. However, when he arrives in River City, he doesn't realize that he has met his Waterloo. He proceeds in trying to convince these small town folks that there's 'trouble right here in River City,' referring to the young people who are hanging around with nothing to do. He puts himself across as a music teacher and tries to get all of the parents to buy band instruments and uniforms in order to form a band that he can instruct. Wanting to do the best for their children, parents go along with his suggestion, not realizing that he knows nothing about music, bands or band instruments. Marian (Shirley Jones), the town's librarian sees through his façade but also at the same time, falls in love with him. The movie ends with the famous song '76 trombones.'
The songs in this movie flowed smoothly with the storyline and there was something for everyone. The production number "The Wells Fargo Wagon" involved members of the whole town, looking and waiting for the Wells Fargo Wagon to deliver all the things that were ordered from the catalogue. Children and adults alike were all excited about the arrival, which was a big happening in this little town. Robert Preston's rendition of 'Trouble' set the tone for the movie and showed, in music, how he could incite the townspeople and get just what he wanted. Shirley Jones and Robert Preston vocalizing on 'Till There Was You' made it very clear that they cared deeply for one another and the audience knew, at that point, that he wasn't going to leave River City. The grand finale, with the marching band playing '76 Trombones' was really the high point of the movie and "...the musical's biggest hit song...which Preston makes virtually his own with every confident stride and strut" (Ted Sennett, "Hollywood Musicals"). It's a song in the movie where you just had to join in with the music.
"The Music Man" is two and a half hours of sheer pleasure. Yes, it was corny, but so were a lot of other musicals. Maybe that's what made it so appealing. If it didn't have the staying power it wouldn't be around today, being shown repeatedly on television and being sold on videocassette and DVD. Robert Preston and Shirley Jones will always be fondly remembered for their excellent portrayals in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Broadway Movie Masterpiece, Jan. 6 2002
By 
"incritic" (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Music Man (DVD)
The Music Man is one of my fav. musicals of all time...and I have to say that the movie version of this musical is very well made...The DVD itself is also helpful in learning about some of the big actors and actresses in the movie...I would really like to see if there's another production of The Music Man which can top this one...
This is a story about a thimble-riggin', cheatin' salesman Professor Harold Hill (Preston) who comes into Rivercity Iowa to try to sell the idea of startin' up a band in this small town and take their money and leave. What he doesn't expect is that he bumps into Marian Paroo, the librarian (Jones) who stops at nothing to prove that he's a fake...They eventually fall in love, but with crazy Mayor Shinn trying to find out about the Professor, the School Board singing as a barber shop quartet, and a jealous salesman who has the proof that the Professor's a fake, this rollercoaster ride of a musical brings a lot of fun and excitement to it's audiences with such songs as "Till There Was You" [made famous by the Beetles], "Seventy Six Trombones", "Rock Island", and "Lida Rose"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music Man, The (BD) [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres franais)
Music Man, The (BD) [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres franais) by Morton Da Costa (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 15.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews