Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ready for a horror - ific night?
This DVD is the first of the Child Play series and is by far the best. Chucky, a sadistic, smart and persuasive doll who has been possessed by the ghost of Charles Lee Ray is the star and is actually a pretty freaky looking doll. The young boy Chucky needs to hurt/kill in order to obtain his body is played by a wonderful (young at the time) actor Alex Vincent, a very...
Published on July 13 2004 by Laura

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very displeased
Although I have seen the first, second and third Child's Play movies, I find them as horrible as if I did not care about these movies. Why would I want to watch this movie and their sequels? Other than that, I will not bother watching the first, second and third Child's Play movies.
Published 13 months ago by Kevin Barton


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ready for a horror - ific night?, July 13 2004
By 
This review is from: Child's Play (Full Screen) (DVD)
This DVD is the first of the Child Play series and is by far the best. Chucky, a sadistic, smart and persuasive doll who has been possessed by the ghost of Charles Lee Ray is the star and is actually a pretty freaky looking doll. The young boy Chucky needs to hurt/kill in order to obtain his body is played by a wonderful (young at the time) actor Alex Vincent, a very intelligent first move.
There are a few good scares in this first one, unpredictable since it's the first, a good start and a must see for horror fans. Chucky will sure be a classic of our times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, July 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Childs Play (Chucky's 20th Birthday Edition) (DVD)
Great to have for my Child's Play/Chucky Collection. I have all the movies now and loved watching them before Halloween and on Halloween night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Child`s Play, July 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Childs Play (Chucky's 20th Birthday Edition) (DVD)
The movie was a bit suspenceful and Chucky although sinister had a bit of jocularity about him.Worth seeing, just for the special effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very displeased, June 1 2013
By 
Kevin Barton (Whitby, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Childs Play (Chucky's 20th Birthday Edition) (DVD)
Although I have seen the first, second and third Child's Play movies, I find them as horrible as if I did not care about these movies. Why would I want to watch this movie and their sequels? Other than that, I will not bother watching the first, second and third Child's Play movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES!, May 8 2013
By 
KO-- - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Childs Play (Chucky's 20th Birthday Edition) (DVD)
This is a classic, I love this movie. This will never get boring and I will watch it a thousand times over.
I recommend it to everyone... NO COMPLAINTS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my brother loved this movie, Dec 10 2009
Allthough I came to know and appreciate the films of Hitchcock and Cameron and Scott well into and beyond my adolescence, I was first a stolid virgin for Carpenter.
I rate 'Child's Play' with four stars only because my bother loves chuckie. He is younger and does not have the same appreciation for films...as I do..but taste you know...is in the eye...of the film goer...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good attempt..., July 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Child's Play (Full Screen) (DVD)
This is pretty good. I mean, it sets a good scene, and the suspense when it finally picks up is good. The downside is the pacing. The movie goes along very slowly and of the playing time of around 90 minutes, I'd say 65 or so was dry, boring moments. That aside, the acting is pretty lame -- Catherine Hicks and Alex Vincent are the exceptions. But Maggie's fall out of the window looks particuarly fake.
All that aside, the movie is good. I mean for a late 80's flick, the SFX deliver pretty well. Chucky looks a little less realistic than in the next couple, but he really is spooky. The movie was a good concept.
A good starter to a great series. Yes, you should rent or buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Guy or Killer?, July 5 2004
By 
Robin M Goffinet (Richmond, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Child's Play (Full Screen) (DVD)
When young Andy finally gets the doll of his dreams for his birthday, he doesn't know that his mother bought the doll from a peddler in the alley behind the department store where she worked. His mother didn't realize that the doll came from a burned down toy store where the notorious Lake Shore Stranger Charles Lee Ray was gunned down.
When Andy is left with his mother's friend Maggie, she is mysteriously thrown out of the apartment window to her death. No one believes Andy when he tells them the truth: "Chucky did it" Andy's doll turns out to be Charles Lee Ray, who moments before he died transferred his soul to the doll using voodoo.
When Chucky finds out he has been in the doll too long and is now turning human, he is told the only way to get out of the doll is to transfer his soul to the first person he told his true identity to, who is, you guessed it, Andy.
Now Andy and his mother must stop the notorious killer before he takes Andy's soul forever.
An edge of the seat thriller! This is the best one of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars i saw one of the Chucky movies out on cable ..., July 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i saw one of the Chucky movies out on cable TV and thought that i should order the original. this movie is worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!!!!, May 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Childs Play (Chucky's 20th Birthday Edition) (DVD)
I absolutely LOVE THIS...so much more material that makes this worth buying. I LOVED the audio commentary and special features, especially the behind-the-scenes footage and interviews. The commentary of Brad Dourif being in character for Chucky was just completely amusing! Big Chucky fans will get a kick out of this for sure. So worth being part of the Chucky collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Childs Play (Chucky's 20th Birthday Edition)
Childs Play (Chucky's 20th Birthday Edition) by Catherine Hicks (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 15.98 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews