Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gdansk - A Landmark for Many Reasons
This latest offering from David Gilmour has Richard Wright's death just after its release, the location and the marking of the historical anniversary of the event add up to make this a landmark in both a wonderful and an uncanny way.

That aside, this is one really impressive live album, the kind you wish had been made for some of Pink Floyd's greatest tours. (...
Published on Sept. 27 2008 by Richard S. Warner

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD has only 15 tracks :(
I got the 3 Disc Edition today, great i thought, but the DVD has only 15 tracks, not as shown 41. The DVD itself seems short, just an added bonus to the two CDs.
Published on Sept. 24 2008 by John B


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gdansk - A Landmark for Many Reasons, Sept. 27 2008
By 
Richard S. Warner "Saraswati-Son" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This latest offering from David Gilmour has Richard Wright's death just after its release, the location and the marking of the historical anniversary of the event add up to make this a landmark in both a wonderful and an uncanny way.

That aside, this is one really impressive live album, the kind you wish had been made for some of Pink Floyd's greatest tours. ( '73, '75 & '77 specifically ) The sound is sharp and clear, with a very wide range of highs and lows. But what else would you expect from a Pink Floyd alumnus? Floyd's tours were always amazing for their sheer size and spectacle, the breathtaking lights, screen projections, fireworks and effects but also largely because of a quality of sound that no one has been able to equal since. With their massive quad sound system they could turn the largest stadium into a behemoth set of headphones, often achieving a production sound that even surpassed their immactulately recorded albums.

"Live in Gdansk" seems to follow in the tradition royally.

While the set list is almost the same as heard at the Albert Hall for "Remember That Night", there are some really lovely and jaw-dropping re-workings of certain numbers and a few new treats that make "Gdansk" a MUST for the devoted. The addition of the Baltic Philharmonic Symphony on stage both fleshes out and uplifts Gilmour's newest work as well as spicing up some of the Floyd faves as well.

David Crosby and Graham Nash are NOT in attendance at this event and it takes a while to get used to their absence at certain points. But the band's vocalists, which is everyone save for Dick Parry, do a beautiful job of it regardless. Where Messrs Crosby and Nash really are missed is on "Shine on You Crazy Diamond", where the addition of their harmonies to Gilmour's new arrangement at the Royal Albert Hall took the classic song into sublimity.

Well worth watching is the "Gdansk Diary", a documentary of the event marking of the creation of "Solidarity" by Lech Walesa in the Gdansk shipyards. Gilmour plays down his role and wonders himself why he was asked to be the musician invited to mark the occasion. There is one very telling and powerful moment when he is being interviewed by the Polish media. He sits patiently while questions are first posed in the native tongue and are them translated for him. During one such question you hear a few lines of Polish being spoken while Gilmour patientlly waits for the ensuing translation. Popping almost sharply out of the unfamiliar stream of the Slavic language comes two words that change Gilmour's facial expression - "Roger Waters". Almost instantaneously he recovers, blinks once and smiles, looks toward the camera and says. "Oh, was that the time? Is it time now?". Interview over.

"Gdansk" is well worth the purchase, whether it be just the 2-disc audio only set, the 2-disc, 1 DVD set or the full on four disc, 2 CD, 2 DVD set. The band is very comfortably experienced with the material and it shows, Gilmour having retained them from their world tour. They have all the many nuances of the music down and are able to stretch out with it while maintaining its essential integrity. "On an Island" is beautifully represented here and the Floyd material contains some of the best versions ever recorded.

"Astronomy Domine" is barely contained and fiercely intense, played with total committment and belief. An old psychedelic chestnut perhaps but here it feels briskly and electrically new, almost frighteningly wild.

"Echoes", on "Gdansk", is hands down, the greatest version ever recorded. It is so intensely powerful, so articulately played and inventively treated that nothing else ever released comes close. It clocks in at a massive 25 minutes. Each of it's 3 instrumental sections are expanded to the point of amazement and excitement, but never reaching the point of indulgence. It takes mastery and experience to take a large and hugely adored classic like "Echoes" and breathe such new fire and thunder into it. It reminds one that it was songs like "Echoes" that truly made Pink Floyd great. Gilmour and Wright are ON FIRE here!

Nevermind "Money" and "Another Brick in the Wall", "Echoes" is what those of us who came on board with Floyd pre-"Dark Side" were so rapturous about. Here, on this release, it is given a volcanically powerful new life. Gilmour and Wright's antiphonal "outro" is delicate and exquisite, so tasteful and bluesy that you want it to go on and on. Now with Wright's passing it takes on a kind of sweet sadness and poignancy that reminds us of Wright's own, largely unacknowledged, high level of musicianship. Pink Floyd could not have achieved their greatness without him.

On the concert DVD we see Wright receive a wildly enthusiastic standing ovation, which, it was since said by Gilmour, surprised him nightly. The irony was that to Gilmour and the other band members it was no surprise at all. Of Wright he said in his statement after his long-time friend's death, "Where would "Dark Side of the Moon" be without "The Great Gig in the Sky" and "Us and Them"?, both songs composed by Wright. Gilmour felt that all of Floyd's greatest moments where "when Richard was in full flow". On "Gdansk", which turned out to be Wright's epitaph, he is indeed in full flow, full flight. It his heartening to think that at the end of his, sometimes very sad, life Richard Wright, unrelentingly backed and loved by Gilmour, achieved himself and his full talent again.

Truly a landmark for it's occasion but also for the strange irony of the end of the truly most musical half of Pink Floyd ( Gilmour and Wright ) as well as it's sheer monumental musicality. "Gdansk" is already a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Oct. 26 2010
This, limited five disc (three CDs + two DVDs) edition is great for those who just want to enjoy the music, but even better for those who have a great collection of music concerts. In the box you will find a poster, some photos, sticker, a ticket for the show...
What to say about David, about the show? You always get what you expect, even more. This is no exception. Definitely one of the best concerts I have ever seen in my life, and I've seen a lot.
A must for everyone who loves Pink Floyd and David Gilmour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still Have Problem With Disc 3, March 15 2009
By 
Yves Parmentier (Montreal-North,Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Gilmour is Hot The Show is Great The Extra Are Wonderful
But The Problem is With The Fabrication Of These DVD's
For The Third Time I Receive It In Good Condition But The Disc 3
is Still Freezing We Can See The Defect on The Disc Still
I Don't Want To Return It A Third Time I'm Keepin It Anyway
That Show You How Great Is This DVD Gilmour is The Best Guitar
Player It's My Opinion and I Shared It With You.
A Must See Concert and the CD's are Great Too !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review, Jan. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My order was shipped on Dec. 4 ,2013, and arrived Dec. 30 ,2013. The DVD disc had some scratches, and I was concerned that it wouldn't work, or freeze part way through. I was relieved that there were no issues viewing the DVD which we enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars live in gdansk, Dec 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
david gilmour live in gdansk with the baltic philharmonic symphony orchestra two cd 22 songs very good album great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars live in Poland -Gdansk, Jan. 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you love the floyd you will love this DVD ,it also has the best rendishion of c-num that i have ever herd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Set, Sept. 23 2008
By 
Stephen Bieth (Mississauga/ Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mine came in the mail this morning and what a great package. The DVD with the concert is in 5.1 and does have some song changes from "Remember That Night". It comes with a 45 min. Doc and ton's of extra tracks. The best thing is the DTS 5.1 remix of the studio CD "On An Island" It has much warmer sound then the CD and the mix is perfect. I know this is pricy but i really think it is worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD has only 15 tracks :(, Sept. 24 2008
By 
I got the 3 Disc Edition today, great i thought, but the DVD has only 15 tracks, not as shown 41. The DVD itself seems short, just an added bonus to the two CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talent to the core, April 24 2009
Anyone who likes Pink Floyd, David Gilmour, Richard Wright...is in for a treat. This live performance really showcases the ability of some of rock's most talented musicians. The 4 disc version is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good show, Bad sound, Oct. 6 2008
I bought the deluxe package including 2CD + 2DVD. The good part of it, the entire performance of the show are top quality. Gilmour give one of is best performance of "Comfortably Numb", unfortunately Richard Wright are not the right person to replace Roger Water's part. The VERY BAD side of that show, is the sound recording. Not a question of the DTS 5.1 full spectrum sound, but the compression of the sound. Just use a set of headphone and you wont believe it, so many drop outs of level, like on "High Hope" and "Echoes", more the music is getting louder, more it's going away. At the end it's sound like a bunch of bread. I have also noticed this problem on "Remember that night" DVD, but it is less perceptive than this one. I don't know who mixed that show, but surely the engineer must sleeped on the mixing board. Why the sound compression are perfect on the "Live 8" performance or on "In the flesh" concert by Roger Water? Theses DVDs has been released few years before the Gdansk concert. Logically, the technology must go better and better, on this DVD it's a total regression...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live In Gdansk
Live In Gdansk by David Gilmour (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews