Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually Arresting!
A movie stuntman (Lee Pace from "Miss Pettigrew Lives For A Day") in early 1920's Los Angeles is laid-up from a serious fall and is suicidal. An inquisitive little girl (amazingly cute Catinca Untaru) begins asking him questions and before anyone realizes it, he begins to tell her fanciful stories. Director Tarsem Singh channels Spielberg with his amazing and enormously...
Published on Sept. 29 2008 by Martin A Hogan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weird
This movie is just plain weird. Maybe I didn't understand it (I didn't) but then I found it very confusing
Published 2 months ago by THOMAS J GOWDYK


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually Arresting!, Sept. 29 2008
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fall (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
A movie stuntman (Lee Pace from "Miss Pettigrew Lives For A Day") in early 1920's Los Angeles is laid-up from a serious fall and is suicidal. An inquisitive little girl (amazingly cute Catinca Untaru) begins asking him questions and before anyone realizes it, he begins to tell her fanciful stories. Director Tarsem Singh channels Spielberg with his amazing and enormously grand cinematography. The loosely told love story with wild adventurers, heroes and princesses is shown in colorfully large scale in dramatic places. From crystal clear waters of an ocean reef to sand deserts and the Taj Mahal, the look is nothing short of mesmerizing (ever seen an elephant swim in a lush reef filmed from underneath?) The despondent stuntman tells the story in hopes of getting the young girl to procure him a bottle of lethal morphine. In the process, his story grows and progresses into wild and visually arresting backdrops. Costumes and characters are played out in over twenty countries with no CGI effects - all the visuals were done with thousands of extras and enormous outdoor sets. The story of the stuntman and the little girl takes on its own life and the two intertwine with dramatic and endearing results. The ending is rich, clever and more than satisfying. This is a film that has to be seen to be believed. They just don't make them like this anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular visuals., July 26 2010
By 
Shawn (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent film for anyone interested in phenomenal cinematography, dazzling shots taken at real locations across the globe (none of the locations are enhanced or created by CGI), and a curious little tale that a newly paraplegic stuntman tells a young girl with a broken arm at the hospital about 5 men who have sworn revenge on the evil governor Odious.

The visuals in the film are worth spending the extra cash on Blu-Ray over the DVD version, especially if you have a fairly up-to-date television with 1080p. A fairly good home theater system would also be recommended as some of the film's music really takes you into the film. Tarsem has created (a little self-indulgent and pretentious, perhaps) such a visual masterpiece that Roger Ebert has put it best: "You might want to see for no other reason than because it exists. There will never be another like it."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie is a gem, Jan. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of those gems-of-a-movie that hardly anyone has heard about! Everybody needs to see this. I discovered it on YouTube and it was my go-to thing whenever I was going through a difficult time in my life. The acting is superb, the scenery is spectacular, and the story is timeless.

It was shipped to me in a matter of 3 days, the product was in amazing condition, and is now in my basement next to the TV, just waiting to be watched!! I'm so glad I own it now so that I can watch it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visually stunning, Jan. 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First of all, the films was shot across the globe at many scenic locations. Camera work was sharp and precise. So while you may find the plot/story a tad childish, the visual aspect, just from the Blu-ray disc I have, more than compensates for this shortfall. The little child actress that played the inquisitive 5-year-old girl was wonderful. That's another bonus. So if you are in the mood for escapism and fantasy, get this disc for multiple, future viewings. It has been a great investment for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the purchase, Dec 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of my favourite movies and it is certainly the one most worth having in blu-ray. Amazing images and the extras on the dvds are definitely a nice bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magnifique!, Oct. 7 2013
By 
Ghislain Bédard (Québec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fall (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Ce film à la photographie superbe raconte une histoire des plus touchantes. J'ai vu et revu ce film que je classe parmi les meilleurs films de ma collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Fall Review, March 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fall (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
The non-CGI scenery and the acting of the child antagonist make it worth a watch. The interweaving of the "fairy-tale" story line and the "real life" characters has been done before, but it works here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A FEAST FOR THE SENSES, Feb. 8 2014
This review is from: The Fall (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
It is film is really beautiful, a real masterpiece.
One of those few movies that get you into the mind, heart and soul.
It is impossible not to love this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Cinematography, Sept. 20 2009
By 
Charlene M. (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fall (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Alexandria (played by Catinca Untaru) is a precocious 6-year-old girl who has broken her arm and must remain in hospital. But she doesn't spend much time in bed, and instead explores the people and rooms of the hospital until she befriends stunt actor Roy (Lee Pace from "Pushing Daisies"), who is bedridden after a bad stunt accident. Roy enchants Alexandria with stories about bandits, princesses, and Indians. This is where director Tarsem ("The Cell") weaves in fantasy sequences, and creates a visual masterpiece with brilliant colours and surreal landscapes of epic proportions. The acting is great - Catinca is genuine and charmingly sweet, and Lee is perfect as the broken anti-hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weird, Feb. 6 2014
By 
THOMAS J GOWDYK - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fall (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
This movie is just plain weird. Maybe I didn't understand it (I didn't) but then I found it very confusing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xba0e4114)

This product

The Fall (Sous-titres français)
The Fall (Sous-titres français) by Tarsem Singh (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 16.35
Usually ships in 3 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews