Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious
For those who like Judd Apatow produced movies (Superbad, Knocked Up, etc.)you will likely like this movie, if you don't you probably won't. Jason Segal really surprised me with his writing ability on this one, because I personally liked it better than the Seth Rogen penned Superbad, although it still used some of the similar gross out style jokes you can expect from any...
Published on April 19 2009 by Travis J. Clark

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Vulagar movies have no intrinsic value
Movies that are vulgar for shock effect are generally targeting ignorance rather than good acting and dialogue.
I try to avoid movies that have such a low level of quality
Published 22 days ago by D. Gail Toop


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, April 19 2009
By 
Travis J. Clark (Miniota, MB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forgetting Sarah Marshall (DVD)
For those who like Judd Apatow produced movies (Superbad, Knocked Up, etc.)you will likely like this movie, if you don't you probably won't. Jason Segal really surprised me with his writing ability on this one, because I personally liked it better than the Seth Rogen penned Superbad, although it still used some of the similar gross out style jokes you can expect from any Apatow movie. The difference is that this movie used a little more physical comedy, and larger jokes as opposed to your average comedy that tends to string together one liners so that they don't need to have a real plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgetting Ssrah Maeshall, Aug. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Enjoyed this movie very much.It had a good mixture of laughs but at the same time had a moral to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie and comes with Digital Copy!, Dec 10 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I find this movie hilarious but what was a nice surprise was that it came with all 3 (blu-ray, DVD and digital copy)! So this was a nice surprise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally, Apatow puts it all together, Sept. 9 2009
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forgetting Sarah Marshall (DVD)
Unlike Superbad or Knocked Up which are incredibly overrated and unfunny (yes, yes, I know they were huge hits and all but I just found they fell flat), Forgetting Sarah Marshall is note perfect.

The casting is superb especially Russell Brand who really steals the show. Throw in the bit parts from SNL's Bill Hader and Kirsten Wiig, 30 Rock's page Jack McBrayer, a Baldwin (William!) and a Barney Miller sighting in Steve Landesburg and we got an A&W level "2 for 4 Mama burgers" party.

Of the bit parts Paul Rudd stands out as a surfer dude without channeling a Spicoli. Thankfully, Apatow shoved the weakest link in Jonah Hill into a bit part in this movie because I'm sorry, the guy is should not be a leading actor as he is in other Apatow flicks.

Of the leads Mila Kunis is beyond perfect in the way she is the counterfoil to Kristen Bell. I would be remiss leaving out the man who brings new meaning to vampire puppet operas, Joel Segal.

The extras make it definitely worth picking up the DVDs. You get the usual director's/actors' commentary track, a gag reel, deleted scenes (some of which are gut-bustingly funny) as well as a line-o-rama that features the best lines from the movie. Also, there is an extended version of the movie as well as the actual one that was released in the theaters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Vulagar movies have no intrinsic value, June 30 2014
By 
D. Gail Toop "classic watcher" (New Denvwer , B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Movies that are vulgar for shock effect are generally targeting ignorance rather than good acting and dialogue.
I try to avoid movies that have such a low level of quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny comedy!, March 14 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very good, very funny movie. Haven't met anyone who didn't like this one. Plus Kristen bell in a binki in HD is worth it alone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny Movie, Dec 7 2008
By 
Sebastien Lessard (Richmond, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forgetting Sarah Marshall (DVD)
Forgetting Sarah Marshall was a very funny, raunchy and sweet movie. Jason Segel was a pleasant suprise in a leading role of Peter Bretter. Russel Brand has great comedic timing as the sleazy rocker. Mila Kunis was extremely charming and funny as Rachel the resort employee. Kristen Bell is funny and sometimes brutally honest as Peter's former girlfriend Sarah. The best scene of the movie is when the four main characters have dinner.

A good addition to any DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Comedy of the Year!, Oct. 14 2008
By 
Nick Slide (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Forgetting Sarah Marshall [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you're looking for the typical romantic comedy this is not it, this is more like an anti-romantic comedy! If you're looking for a silly comedy this is not it either. For anyone who's had their heart broken or has ever been in a relationship will be able to relate to this movie. It's the best comedy I watched this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dime a dozen, Oct. 12 2008
By 
Matthew King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forgetting Sarah Marshall (DVD)
Forgetting Sarah Marshall is a forgetful romantic comedy about a struggling musician who is dumped by his long-time girlfriend for a surly rock star. Post-breakup, their paths cross in Hawaii, and sparks start to fly.

This movie struggles from winy, unlikeable characters that are very hard to sympathize for and a host of implausible scenarios. There are a few good gags and lewd humour if you're into that sort of thing. The hawaii locales can make for a somewhat relaxing viewing experience but albeit not a memorable one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forgetting Sarah Marshall [Blu-ray]
Forgetting Sarah Marshall [Blu-ray] by Nicholas Stoller (Blu-ray - 2008)
CDN$ 15.99 CDN$ 11.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews