Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best sci-fi in a while
I love Fringe. I discovered it way late, after the series ended. Borrowed the DVDs from a coworker, fell in love, then ~HAD~ to get my own copy. Few are the tv shows I actually want to own, only 4 or 5 in all those I've watched, and this is one of them. Brilliant acting, clever writing, beautifully directed.

Anyway, many compare it to the X-Files. While I can...
Published 11 months ago by Julie Gosselin

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't Like it Enough to Keep Watching
To give you an idea of my tastes, my top picks for TV in recent years have been: Dexter, Boston Legal, Big Bang Theory, Buffy & Angel, and Veronica Mars. A friend recommended Fringe to me, but unfortunately I didn't like it much. I'm a skeptic, so maybe that's part of the reason. Also, I found the female FBI protagonist quite bland. I did like the younger male...
Published on May 12 2011 by FictionLover


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best sci-fi in a while, May 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fringe: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I love Fringe. I discovered it way late, after the series ended. Borrowed the DVDs from a coworker, fell in love, then ~HAD~ to get my own copy. Few are the tv shows I actually want to own, only 4 or 5 in all those I've watched, and this is one of them. Brilliant acting, clever writing, beautifully directed.

Anyway, many compare it to the X-Files. While I can see the link (both deal with FBI agents investigating the inexplicable), there are many key differences in what the shows talk about. X-Files revolves primarily around aliens and UFOs (not only that, but primarily), Fringe is about fringe science (telekinesis, parallel universes, telepathy, etc.) and there's a very deep plot line extending throughout all seasons.

While season 1 has more of a "Something happens. We investigate and solve the mystery. Case closed" feel to it, the further you progress in the season (and the seasons after that), the more the plot line of the series is continuous and link the episodes/seasons together... making it hard to talk about without giving any spoilers. So why not give it a try?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Fantastic!', Aug. 18 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fringe: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Nothing negative to say, either about the superbly directed filming, the classy and intriguing packaging, or the service which promised delivery in three to five days and in fact delivered next day from three provinces away!

The series is well worth a look for those who love many different genres of TV- it melds perfectly the intrigue and mystery of sci-fi, the quirks and twists of interpersonal relationships, the drama of a medical series, and the inventiveness which has made such series as Star Trek so dearly beloved. Fringe has something for almost all tastes, and this beautifully packaged set stands alone as a great gift for others or oneself.

Raises the bar for all other tv series, long may it continue. 'Fantastic!' (Walter Bishop)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best in sci- fi TV, Jan. 4 2011
Fringe is a top notch sci fi show, great cast, lots of twists, and exceptional production quality. The first season isn't the best of the three(hopefully more), but it lays the necessary groundwork of an incredibly exciting saga. Fringe really raises the bar for a televisions series, you won't want to miss it.

This disc set includes a fair bit of extra content, behind the scenes for every episode, breakdown of practical & special effects, as well as audio commentaries. Only knock against it is the user interface on the top menu. The episodes aren't directly selectable, only the bonus content. No scene selection either, so you have to jump chapters during playback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great show!, June 19 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fringe: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Fringe is a show worthy of praise on many levels. Unlike other FBI/Sci-fi shows (X-files, for example), which were slow to develop, Fringe has an amazing cast, John Noble (Walter Bishop), Joshua Jackson (Peter Bishop), Anna Torv (Olivia Dunham), Lance Reddick (Phillip Broyles), and Jasika Nicole (Astrid Farnsworth), to name a few, who from the first episode of season one, showed their capacity to make the unbelievable stories credible. The emotional connection between Peter and Walter Bishop is palpable, and it develops incrementally as the season progresses, as Peter and Walter work through years of distrust, resentment, and disappointment. Fringe, in the best spirit of Sci-fi, is humourous, scary, poignant, and cutting edge. The show does not follow the usual pattern and takes many unexpected twists and turns, making it exciting to watch. The calibre of acting, the amazing special effects (which are cinema worthy), and the unpredictability of the show, makes it a great entertainment. Each season is more unexpected and gripping than the last. I highly recommend this show, not just for Sci-fi fans, but for anyone interested in dramatic, funny, and thrilling television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 of the best new tv shows, May 30 2010
By 
Rufus (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
very well developed 1st season. character relationships are interesting and action is well balanced. story is well written and, i'm looking forward to watching season 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Oct. 17 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fringe: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I love this show. It is like The X-Files without the aliens. Interesting and intriguing. Well worth a weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The programs are excellent. The case the discs were in was damaged, Oct. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fringe: The Complete First Season (DVD)
The programs are excellent.
The case the discs were in was damaged, even though it was sealed in plastic wrap.
The discs play OK, but it would be good to find a source for a replacement case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not enough extras, Jan. 26 2013
By 
M. Fournier (Petit-Rocher, NB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love the show, but as usual it's missing a few extras and a few more commentaries. The show alone is worth it though. A must for any fans of Sci-Fy, great acting, and X-files like procedurals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, well written and performed, March 1 2010
By 
Faegus Swartz "Faegus" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This series (includes pilot) is very well written and performed. Although fictional, has just enough scientific backing to appear plausible and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good!, Sept. 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not the best Tv show out there but still, the moment I finished watching the first season I ordered the second one. If you love sic-fi you'll most likely like Fringe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fringe: The Complete First Season
Fringe: The Complete First Season by Gwyneth Horder-Payton (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 49.70 CDN$ 16.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews