Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best in sci- fi TV
Fringe is a top notch sci fi show, great cast, lots of twists, and exceptional production quality. The first season isn't the best of the three(hopefully more), but it lays the necessary groundwork of an incredibly exciting saga. Fringe really raises the bar for a televisions series, you won't want to miss it.

This disc set includes a fair bit of extra content,...
Published on Jan. 4 2011 by JJZ

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't Like it Enough to Keep Watching
To give you an idea of my tastes, my top picks for TV in recent years have been: Dexter, Boston Legal, Big Bang Theory, Buffy & Angel, and Veronica Mars. A friend recommended Fringe to me, but unfortunately I didn't like it much. I'm a skeptic, so maybe that's part of the reason. Also, I found the female FBI protagonist quite bland. I did like the younger male...
Published on May 12 2011 by FictionLover


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best in sci- fi TV, Jan. 4 2011
Fringe is a top notch sci fi show, great cast, lots of twists, and exceptional production quality. The first season isn't the best of the three(hopefully more), but it lays the necessary groundwork of an incredibly exciting saga. Fringe really raises the bar for a televisions series, you won't want to miss it.

This disc set includes a fair bit of extra content, behind the scenes for every episode, breakdown of practical & special effects, as well as audio commentaries. Only knock against it is the user interface on the top menu. The episodes aren't directly selectable, only the bonus content. No scene selection either, so you have to jump chapters during playback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This can be the "Fringe" of something big., Oct. 6 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I came to this series just looking for a time filler. I found my time filler and more. They hit the deck running and pull no punches so it does not take long to realize if you want to watch the series or not.

We start out with an inexplicable and mysterious problem. The public can never know but there may be some sort of diabolical cabal behind this problem. FBI agent Olivia Dunham (Anna Torv) is recruited to help track down the culprits. She is out of her depth in the science behind the problem and needs the help of an extraordinary institutionalized scientist Dr. Walter Bishop (John Noble) to help decipher the problem. Unfortunately Walter is not allowed to go out by himself so Olivia must also recruit his son Peter Bishop (Joshua Jackson) who also helps her and us interpret Walter's thoughts and fringe technology.

"Fringe" uses the standard go on forever series formula. First there is the immediate episode problem it either starts out at the front end or gets built up very shortly then we have our antagonist(s) usually temporary for this episode. We usually find that he has a good excuse to be a bad guy and we can empathize but they have to clean up the situation and live happily ever after. Laid over this is the extended series problem we get everything from vague hints to gratuitous gore. The antagonists (some likably evil) for the series sections may or may not die can mysteriously be written to come back and whose purposes are never totally explained so that we must watch the rest of the series. The advantage of having a "Fringe" sci-fi theme is that when they paint themselves into a corner the next episode just rewrites from another angle as if the corner never existed; this way we have multiple seasons without any problem of having to tie up loose ends or lose main characters.

You can buy the season separate or in different bundles. Some people worry about the cost of doing it one way or the other. The reality is how fast you are going to look at this. Are you going to have a Fringe marathon till your eyes bug out or use it as an occasional night out? Do the times, do the cost, and do the math.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 of the best new tv shows, May 30 2010
By 
Rufus (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
very well developed 1st season. character relationships are interesting and action is well balanced. story is well written and, i'm looking forward to watching season 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Oct. 17 2010
This review is from: Fringe: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I love this show. It is like The X-Files without the aliens. Interesting and intriguing. Well worth a weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The programs are excellent. The case the discs were in was damaged, Oct. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fringe: The Complete First Season (DVD)
The programs are excellent.
The case the discs were in was damaged, even though it was sealed in plastic wrap.
The discs play OK, but it would be good to find a source for a replacement case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best sci-fi in a while, May 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fringe: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I love Fringe. I discovered it way late, after the series ended. Borrowed the DVDs from a coworker, fell in love, then ~HAD~ to get my own copy. Few are the tv shows I actually want to own, only 4 or 5 in all those I've watched, and this is one of them. Brilliant acting, clever writing, beautifully directed.

Anyway, many compare it to the X-Files. While I can see the link (both deal with FBI agents investigating the inexplicable), there are many key differences in what the shows talk about. X-Files revolves primarily around aliens and UFOs (not only that, but primarily), Fringe is about fringe science (telekinesis, parallel universes, telepathy, etc.) and there's a very deep plot line extending throughout all seasons.

While season 1 has more of a "Something happens. We investigate and solve the mystery. Case closed" feel to it, the further you progress in the season (and the seasons after that), the more the plot line of the series is continuous and link the episodes/seasons together... making it hard to talk about without giving any spoilers. So why not give it a try?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best TV series ever!, Nov. 15 2013
By 
Terry Proveau (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great opening season? Lots of suspense and thought provoking stories that get connected in future seasons! Way too bad it only went 5 seasons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not enough extras, Jan. 26 2013
By 
M. Fournier (Petit-Rocher, NB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love the show, but as usual it's missing a few extras and a few more commentaries. The show alone is worth it though. A must for any fans of Sci-Fy, great acting, and X-files like procedurals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good!, Sept. 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not the best Tv show out there but still, the moment I finished watching the first season I ordered the second one. If you love sic-fi you'll most likely like Fringe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great show!, June 19 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fringe: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Fringe is a show worthy of praise on many levels. Unlike other FBI/Sci-fi shows (X-files, for example), which were slow to develop, Fringe has an amazing cast, John Noble (Walter Bishop), Joshua Jackson (Peter Bishop), Anna Torv (Olivia Dunham), Lance Reddick (Phillip Broyles), and Jasika Nicole (Astrid Farnsworth), to name a few, who from the first episode of season one, showed their capacity to make the unbelievable stories credible. The emotional connection between Peter and Walter Bishop is palpable, and it develops incrementally as the season progresses, as Peter and Walter work through years of distrust, resentment, and disappointment. Fringe, in the best spirit of Sci-fi, is humourous, scary, poignant, and cutting edge. The show does not follow the usual pattern and takes many unexpected twists and turns, making it exciting to watch. The calibre of acting, the amazing special effects (which are cinema worthy), and the unpredictability of the show, makes it a great entertainment. Each season is more unexpected and gripping than the last. I highly recommend this show, not just for Sci-fi fans, but for anyone interested in dramatic, funny, and thrilling television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fringe: The Complete First Season
Fringe: The Complete First Season by Gwyneth Horder-Payton (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 49.70 CDN$ 12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews