march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars367
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 234 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on February 25, 2016
Great movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
Great movie and a great DVD edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2015
Excellent movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2015
It was a gift. My brother loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2015
Movie ratings are a matter of taste, of course, but I loved this movie. Visually beautiful and deserving of viewing projected onto a large screen. Kept my attention throughout without the use of sensationalistic gimmicks. Beautifully moody filmography. Audio excellent, dialogue easy to hear, music didn't overwhelm dialogue and visuals. Great fun -- could easily re-watch this repeatedly.
As far as the media itself is concerned, it offers a choice of either playing the theatrical or director's cut, with or without commentaries. There are extra documentaries included, some of which are quite extensive (one is 1 1/2 hrs by itself). The quality of the video encoding is superb. I've seen plenty of blu-rays which produced easily visible video artifacts when projected -- not this one: even projected on a screen larger than 4 X 7 feet, no video artifacts visible -- one could practically reach out and feel the texture of the tiles in the opening bathroom scene. Disk quality: meh. Arrived with two small scratches on it. Luckily, it didn't interfere with playback or result in any picture defects, but blu-rays should not be sent from the factory with scratches -- not impressive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2014
A "matrix" like movie before it's time, really enjoyed it when it got out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A man wakes up in a bathroom. There are signs of a struggle around him, a dead body, and a broken syringe. His instincts scream at him to run. But why? He doesn't remember much, fleeting images only. The police are after him, but if he doesn't remember the crime, how can he be a murderer? Hiding in the city, dark, immense and cold, is easy, until he starts to notice incongruities, and foreboding strangers try to catch him. He must escape. but doing so means unraveling the secrets of the Dark City.

First off, this film plays as a hybrid between a film noir, and sci-fi. Both elements might seem to clash, but they are each done well and perfectly dosed so they mingle well. The attention to detail and atmosphere is impressive. The visuals are stunning but they're not just eye candy, they add to the story, they fuel our unconscious understanding of the existence of the characters inside the city. The characters themselves are great proxies for us to experience the story for ourselves. More than that, they seem to lend a humanistic insight to the harsh metaphor that are presented to us. It is difficult to praise the movie as much as it should be without including spoilers, but this is a movie that bears watching many times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2013
I liked very much the idea of the experimental world and how and why the extra terrestrials manipulate the humans. It's so utopic, but still logical in its own way. The actors and the characters are OK, the tempo of the movie is appropriate as of the secrets you learn when you follow the poor guy that doesn't know who he is, what is his past and how he can use his new powers. He must figure out everything with so little help. Very captivating and if you let the idea in your mind, you begin to understand how desperate those people are and there is obviously no solution to their trouble. One thing is sure is that they are humans, still hoping for something (what?) and are certainly unwilling to be told what to do or even think by those that captured them and make experiments on them. I really like that kind of pure fiction. Well done. p.s. what exactly is the idea behind the little bad boy dressed like an adult that follows the killers all the time: he is completely meaningless... Still give it a five stars anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2013
this is one amazing movie. i would recommened this to everyone and i was shocked how fast it arrived at my home,.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
Dark City is a 1998 film which I never saw in the theatres but grew to love on television. Next to Blade Runner, Dark City is my favourite science fiction flim. It looks like it is part Blade Runner, part Metropolis and part Nosferatu all rolled into one. From an artistic point of view, the sets are simply incredible to look at. The limited lighting in this film is as important as the use of shadows to create a noir atmosphere which is perfectly suited to this story of a man who awakens not knowing who he is and finds his life constantly in peril. The acting is also first rate from every member of the cast. This Director's Cut contains an extra 15 minutes of footage not seen in the original DVD version and it makes the film even better. Almost all of the extra footage is extensions to present scenes and they all help the story. The special features could have been better with segments on the artwork and design and commentary from all of the actors in the film instead of just two. I found myself getting bored listening to the director, screenplay writer and Roger Ebert rambling on forever and sometimes it felt like they were trying to come up with things to say for the feature. If you haven't seen this movie I would definitely recommend it and if you already have the older version on DVD, like myself, it will not be a waste of money to buy this Director's Cut.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse