Customer Reviews


257 Reviews
5 star:
 (208)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When does love turn into obsession ???
Scotty (James Stewart) is a retired policeman with a big handicap, vertigo. He simply cannot stand heights, something that he didn't know until the moment when he was unable to help a fellow officer in danger. His vertigo paralyzed him, and as a result the other policeman died. Traumatized, he retired and decided to take up a job as a detective.

His first task...
Published on Jan. 10 2007 by M. B. Alcat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wait for the Anamorphic Widescreen (5-star Movie 1-star DVD)
A new "Vertigo" DVD should be released on September 7,2004. This one should have the anamorphic widescreen version of the film, not the inferior letterbox version of the Hitchcock series.
Published on July 8 2004 by Ardeal


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When does love turn into obsession ???, Jan. 10 2007
By 
M. B. Alcat "Curiosity killed the cat, but sa... (Los Angeles, California) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vertigo (Widescreen) (DVD)
Scotty (James Stewart) is a retired policeman with a big handicap, vertigo. He simply cannot stand heights, something that he didn't know until the moment when he was unable to help a fellow officer in danger. His vertigo paralyzed him, and as a result the other policeman died. Traumatized, he retired and decided to take up a job as a detective.

His first task in his new job is following the rich wife of an old acquaintance, Madeline (Kim Novak). Madeline is a beautiful and very rich woman, who supposedly has suicidal tendencies that trouble his husband. The problem is that after some time Scottie starts to fall in love with the enigmatic Madeline. Strangely enough, the same thing seems to happen to her when they meet. But will both live long enough to enjoy their love, or is someone bent on a dark scheme that will inevitably end in death?. What does Scotty's vertigo has to do with those plans?. How far do lies go in this whole story ?. And when does love turn into obsession?.

The answer to all these questions, and many more, can be found in this 1958 Hitchcock's classic. Someone told me that some films are called classics for a good reason. I think "Vertigo" is one of them. If you haven't seen it, please do. I think you won't regret doing that, and that you will pleasantly surprised by all the twists in this strange plot. Strongly recommended!!!.

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A haunting and beautiful classic., Sept. 15 2000
By 
This review is from: Vertigo (VHS Tape)
Vertigo is a true classic from the Master, Alfred Hitchcock. Upon its release, Vertigo was not well received by the public or the critics. Since that time it has rightfully started to garner the attention and respect it deserves.
The story is good, incorporating drama, suspense, and romance. Vertigo has one of the finest, most gripping, finales I have come across in any motion picture. Even after repeated viewings, the ending still manages to send shivers up my spine.
The acting is good all the way around. Jimmy Stewart delivers an absolutely wonderful performance as the slightly disturbed John 'Scottie' Ferguson, a man with a strong fear of heights and an obsession with the mysterious Mrs. Madeleine Elster. Madeleine is played to a cool, smooth perfection by the talented Kim Novak.
Robert Burks brings a lot of atmosphere to Vertigo through his cinematography. The colors are vibrant and glowing, giving the film a haunting aura.
Bernard Herrmann is at his best, delivering an absolutely riveting and disorienting musical score. The effects for the opening title sequence combined with Herrmann's score really set the tone of the film.
Hitchcock's direction is fantastic as always. For this film, he created the infamous "dizzy effect" shot by simultaneously zooming forward and reverse tracking with the camera. This shot has been imitated by many but rarely has it been as effective as it is here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hitchcock at his best.., April 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A troubled James Stewart and a breath-takingly belle Kim Novak make for a great classic. Great plot & acting, well-designed by Hitchcock. Tragic non-feel-good-at-the-end plot (thank goodness). In a New York minute (ohh-oo-oo, everything can change...)..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old time family entertainment., Nov. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vertigo (1958) (DVD)
Keeps you interested. Acting is good. No boring gunfire, explosions, car racing, or gross violence. Worth the price for an evening's entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sur toute la ligne !, Feb. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vertigo (Widescreen) (DVD)
Le produit m'a été livré dans le délai prévu. La qualité mentionnée était exacte. Je suis très satisfait et je recommande fortement ce vendeur. Excellent sur toute la ligne !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Hitchcock or mysteries, Vertigo is a must, March 30 2012
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vertigo (Universal Legacy Series) (DVD)
**MINOR SPOILERS WITHIN**

If you ask movie fans to name their favorite Hitchcock titles, you'll get a lot of different answers. Some would mention Psycho or Rear Window, while others might mention Dial M for Murder, The Birds, Notorious or The 39 Steps. There are probably at least 20 strong candidates. My own favorite is Vertigo because the mystery element appeals to me and James Stewart is involved.

Mulholland Dr. is my favorite film and David Lynch has mentioned how much he likes Vertigo and Rear Window because of the mood each creates. I can see why. Vertigo's mood never reaches the darker depths that Lynch's work inhabits, but there are similarities.

Vertigo begins with a rooftop chase in which Scottie Ferguson is left clinging to the guttering. When a cop tries to save him, Ferguson sees him slip and fall to his death. The traumatic experience leaves Ferguson mentally scarred and he quits his job as a detective. He's hired as a private detective by Gavin Elster (Tom Helmore), who claims that his wife, Madeleine (Novak), wanders off at random and doesn't remember where she's been. He thinks she might be possessed.

While that sounds unlikely, Hitchcock gives us reason to think that Madeleine really might be possessed as her husband suggests. Ferguson follows her all day. She takes flowers to a gravestone and stares at it as if she is somewhere else. The name on the grave is Carlotta Valdes. Madeleine also spends time in an art gallery staring at a picture, Portrait of Carlotta. The woman in the painting wears the same necklace and has the same hairstyle as Madeleine.

The following day, Ferguson follows Madeleine again. This time she drives to the Golden Gate Bridge and jumps into the bay. Ferguson manages to save her and ask her about her behavior. She doesn't even remember jumping into the bay. We find out that she's the same age Carlotta was when the woman committed suicide. Is the spirit of Carlotta making Madeleine do these things? Is it safe to leave her on her own?

That's the setup and I hope that I've managed to describe the unsettling atmosphere that Hitchcock creates. The plot is more complex than most of his films. Some of the twists are so surprising that I can't bring myself to reveal them here. If you haven't seen Vertigo, you deserve to discover those things for yourself.

The film uses a lot of red and green filters and you'll see the color green featured throughout. Whether it's Madeleine's dress, her car, or a neon sign, you won't be permitted to forget that color. There's an impressive effect created every time Ferguson looks down from a great height. It was achieved by zooming in and moving the camera away from the image at the same time.

Vertigo is sometimes criticized for being boring. I understand why some people might think that, but it's not a view I share. Ferguson spends a lot of time following Madeleine and most of those scenes require us to watch the events unfolding without the use of dialogue. Yes, this is a film that allows you to form your own opinion about what you are seeing. That said, the resolution reveals all of the mysteries. You won't be left to figure out what just happened. The beauty of the film is the way in which the revelations make sense of all the events which preceded them.

I'm always impressed when I look at the list of actors that Hitchcock worked with. James Stewart teamed up with Hitchcock in Rope, Rear Window and The Man Who Knew Too Much and all of those are worth your time. Stewart was very effective as Ferguson, particularly in the final 30 minutes of the film when he confronted his fear and obsession. Kim Novak also did a good job in a demanding role.

I've mentioned David Lynch, Madeleine and Ferguson in this review. I finally understand why Lynch named a character Maddy Ferguson in Twin Peaks.

The film was restored in 1996. I have seen the recent Blu-ray release and the film looks so much better than it ever has. Some titles in the Masterpiece Collection have not been restored well, but Vertigo looks good throughout. The most problematic part is the dream sequence, but it doesn't look too bad. The DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 mix is another important addition, and everything sounds great. I would definitely look to upgrade when the titles are released on Blu-ray individually, unless you already own the full collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fallen upon evil times, Sept. 22 2002
By 
Charles L. Fontenay (st. petersburg, fl United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vertigo (VHS Tape)
I can't agree that this is the absolute top of Hitchcock's form, when compared to PSYCHO, FRENZY et als, but it's a good movie. I'd prefer a slightly different ending, but that's a matter of taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely the best film Hitchcock ever made, March 17 2001
This review is from: Vertigo (Widescreen) (DVD)
Everybody's got a favorite Alfred Hitchcock movie. Mine is VERTIGO. Everything about this movie is more than perfect. The performances from Kim Novak, James Stewart and Barbara Bel Geddes- beyond Oscar quality. The film is a masterpiece. There are multiple themes that are repeated throughout the movie, which make it subject to many repeated viewings. I've seen it many times, and I could see it all the time. Every time I see it, I find out something new. When you see John "Scottie" Fergeson going over the top, you'll have a hard time believing that it's Jimmy Stewart up on screen. Kim Novak is a beautiful, shimmering brilliance in her two- actually THREE roles (Madeline, Carlotta Valdes, Judy). And I found it hard not to sympathize with Barbara Bel Gedde's Midge. Alfred Hitchcock's meticulous direction pays off more than ever. The ending delievered such an emotional, psychological shock that I couldn't stop thinking about it. My advice to you: stop reading, go out and see VERTIGO. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Universal Legacy: Not quite the definitive edition, Oct. 18 2008
This review is from: Vertigo (Universal Legacy Series) (DVD)
The merits of the movie itself are debated enough in other posts. I will limit myself to pointing out that as attractive as the October 2008 reissue is, there is one singular flaw, namely in the audio tracks.

True, the new extra features and the marginally better quality image as compared to the previous anamorphic version in the Hitchcock Masterpiece box set are probably enough for a die hard fan of this masterpiece to shell out for still another version of the DVD. Even the Friedkin commentary is quite enjoyable and offers some useful insights, contrary to his somewhat spotty reputation as to his commentary talents.

However, the two audio tracks are replicas of the attempt at modernizing it in the 90s by making a stereo version. The absence of the original sound effects track led to some tinkering and yielded certain strange results, most notably the double gunshots during the initial rooftop chase and a generally less-detailed aural picture. Strange that the edition in the boxset did include the original mono mix, but Universal dropped it in 2008. For those who insist on purchasing only the most perfect edition, this is not quite it then. It was not enough to stop me, but I do notice that the sound experience is slightly less interesting with this edition.

As for the improvement in image quality, it may not be visible on all systems. I did the comparison on two other systems and in one case the improvement was also noticeable, the image being sharper and the colors more vivid, while on the other one my friend and I saw no difference.

In conclusion, perhaps a Blu-Ray edition will one day bring it all together, correcting the audio deficiencies and adding HD quality, should it appear one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Surreal Film of Genius, Jan. 6 2011
By 
Moodywoody (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Vertigo (Universal Legacy Series) (DVD)
Arguably Alfred Hitchcock's greatest film, though my personal favourite is still North by Northwest, Vertigo is a surreal film of genius that was way ahead of its time. Nothing like it had ever been done before in such surreal splendor, and rarely since. This film is one of the finest examples of cinema as high art.

There are many aspects of this film that make it uniquely special. Obviously, the direction and vision of Hitchcock is pure genius. The way the camera works in this film is magical, the lighting setting a surreal mood of wonder and awe, highlighted by its creation of the haunting beauty of Kim Novak. No woman has ever looked more beautiful than Kim Novak in this film.

The film score by Bernard Herrmann is the greatest of his career, and probably one of the greatest in film history. Along with the great animation in the opening credits, it augers well to warn the viewer that they are about to witness something very special in cinema.

The work of James Stewart and Kim Novak are exceptional, but this film really is all about the genius of Alfred Hitchcock, and his collaboration with Bernard Herrmann.

What more can be said? It is unquestionably one of the greatest films ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2306e04)

This product

Vertigo (Universal Legacy Series)
Vertigo (Universal Legacy Series) by Alfred Hitchcock (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 61.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews