Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Switching to Blu-Ray For.
This full frame-by-frame restoration is beautiful. A damaged master copy had been the main culprit of a poor transfer to DVD/video originally. This transfer is not just a digitally cleaned up version of that master, but in some cases they used a better quality negative. The old version had murky dark scenes and washed-out bright scenes like the opening wedding scene. It...
Published on Dec 2 2008 by Ryan M

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh, Those Corleones...
No American filmmaker has had a more disappointing trajectory to his film career than Francis Ford Coppola. To have directed four of the most influential films of the 70's (the first two "Godfather" films, "The Conversation," and "Apocalypse Now") and then to spend the last two decades churning out one stinky product after another...
Published on Aug. 18 2003 by brewster22


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Switching to Blu-Ray For., Dec 2 2008
This review is from: The Godfather Collection: The Coppola Restoration [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This full frame-by-frame restoration is beautiful. A damaged master copy had been the main culprit of a poor transfer to DVD/video originally. This transfer is not just a digitally cleaned up version of that master, but in some cases they used a better quality negative. The old version had murky dark scenes and washed-out bright scenes like the opening wedding scene. It was terrible. This version fixes all that and is just beautiful in HD. The Godfather the way it was meant to be seen.

Read this for more info:
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coppola's legacy enclosed with others, July 18 2004
By 
A. Fondacaro "NiaTonyF" (Silverdale, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While the original film ranked #2 on the AFI's list of 100 Greatest Movies (#1 being Citizen Kane), many film buffs, afficionados, and audiences believed that the first Godfather film deserves that #1 spot. How many people do you know who know some of those famous quotes like, "I'm gonna' make him an offer he can't refuse," or "Never take sides against the family again, ever..." A few maybe? Or perhaps you grew up in an Italian family like mine and your father can translate the Italian for you while you watch? Now how many people can quote Citizen Kane beyond, "Rooooosebuuuud...."
Despite the excellence of the first film, it is my opinion that Godfather part 2 delves deeper into the family, more into the two-toned life that Michael Corleone orchestrates between the family business and his family. Nowhere is this more apparent than with the relationship he cultivates between himself and Hyman Roth (wonderful performance by Lee Strasberg), cementing the old adage that you keep your friends close and your enemies closer. On the surface they are friends, behind closed doors they are co-conspirators, between each other they are close friends and confidants. Beneath it all, in the depths of each man's heart, they are mortal enemies, Corleone ultimately the victor. The whole movie is a mounting tension between the two, reaching heights as when Hyman fumes over the death of a great man, Mo Green, whom Corleone had killed in the first film. In the end, Hyman becomes just another victim, mowed down by a Corleone footman.
The court proceedings are shot in a way that transmits the claustrophobia and morose tedium of the justice system back in the days of McCarthyism (the eras align somewhat, both post-war 1950's). The court is crowded, people line the walls, journalists write furiously in the heat of the courtroom, in the background, people walk in and out of the proceedings like is was a Wal-Mart. People speak into microphones, their voices drone in the hollow, sparse room.
And then Michael Corleone has his own brother killed. Many would say this is when Michael gives himself over fully to the title "Godfather." This is actually one of the central themes of the first film, when exactly does Michael become Godfather? The first film has a wonderful moment where, in the family office (the predominant colors are brown and orange), Brando gets out of his chair, moves over to the side of the office, Michael gets up from the couch on the other side, moves to the desk, and sits in his fathers chair. This is when Michael becomes Godfather in my opinion, but Coppola is good enough to give us more moments that question exactly, "When?"
Coppola's film legacy lies within this box set, as does Pacino's, Brando's, Caan's, and Duvall's. DeNiro managed to go off and do other things, his legacy lies somewhere else, but to the aforementioned actors, they have never done another film or role as well as what they did in the Godfather films. You don't realize it until you pop in the bonus disc, but composer's Nino Rota and Carmine Coppola also put their legacy into this film with the music. Who can forget Rota's seven-note theme that opens and closes the film? Carmine Coppola adds a more Italiano flavor to the music in the flashback scenes featuring DeNiro as a young Vito Andolini (a.k.a. Don Corleone in the first film).
There's so much to go over, the least of which is film #3. But the contents of the other three discs justifies the cost, which could actually be higher. But really, this collection is an offer you can't refuse, or do I have to put a gun to your head??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Superb!, March 11 2011
By 
Maxine (Vancouver,BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So many years ago I read Mario Puzo's book and of course went to see the movies. I just knew this collection was going to be great and it was, especially the extra discs showing how the movie was made. The Godfather is my all time favourite movie. You won't be disappointed! Even though Godfather I was the more acclaimed one - I love all 3, yes even 3! I yearn for another one to be made, but know that won't happen. Years ago I never would have thought that "mob movies" would be amongst my must haves, but now on certain ones, I'm hooked. The direction, the haunting music and of course five-star acting by my favourite actors, especially Al Pacino. Carlita's Way, Scarface and of course the fabulous Goodfellas with the great Ray Liotta...they are all classics in my book. I'd also recommend the audio CD Godfather Part 11. Can you believe I even watch them when they are on TV also?! Yes. I admit it.....I'm totally addicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to your Blu-ray collection, Oct. 19 2008
By 
This review is from: The Godfather Collection: The Coppola Restoration [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I had no problems playing these discs on my PS3.Blu-ray discs are a bit odd as they are more scratch resistant than regular DVDs but sometimes if there is a fingerprint on the disc they will not play.
The picture quality in these movies while not razor sharp has warm rich collours.In Godfather 2 the Picture quality is very good when the movie shows how the Godfather started out at the beginning of the century and sepia tones are added to create atmosphere.
I think this is a fine collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coppola Restoration, Feb. 14 2009
By 
M. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought this a month ago and it was everything I wanted...
Includes all 3 of the Godfather movies, plus a supplement dvd with extra features such as additional scenes and the making of the Godfather..
Worth the price for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godfather DVD review, Jan. 26 2004
By 
The Godfather series have long been heralded among the greatest pieces of american cinema. First reviews of the films:
1.) Godfather: (11 out of 10). A classic of cinema and #3 on the AFI's 100 greatest movies list. It's also my favorite movie of all time. Marlon Brando gives a legendary performance as Don Vito Corleone, the head of the Corleone mafia family. From his hoarse, mumbling voice to his cheeky face, Brando created one of the most famous and often parodied charcters in film history. Another special contribution this film gave to pop culture was introducing Al Pacino. Pacino is great in his signature role as the Don's son, Michael. He shows in his portrayl the transformation of Michael from a war hero into a ruthless mobster. The supporting cast are all fantastic as well. James Caan as the hot-tempered Sonny, Robert Duvall as consigliere Tom Hagen, Diane Keaton as Michael's wife, Kay Adams and the late John Cazale as Fredo Corleone to name a few. The Godfather had many memorable scenes such as the horses's head lying in a man's bed, the shootout at the restaurant or the massacre of Sonny Corleone. And who could forget Marlon Brando's famous line : I'll make him an offer he can't refuse.This movie also gave the audience insight into family life inside the mob and how these people stay close to one another despite being low life criminals.
2.) The Godfather part 2: (10 out of 10). Brilliant sequel which is equal to the original in it's epic scope. This movie tells two stories. The sequel part shows us Michael moving his newly established crime organization and family to Lake Tahoe. The prequel part takes us back in time to when the young Vito Corleone (played brilliantly by Robert De Niro) rose to power in the slums of New York. Al Pacino gives another great performance as Michael, as does Diane Keaton as his now-suffering wife Kay and Robert De Niro manages to channel Marlon Brando with his own portrayl of the Don. John Cazale manages to make the audience feel sympathetic as Michael's pathetic brother, Fredo who pays the price for betraying his brother.
3.) The Godfather part 3: ( 8 1/2 out of 10). 16 years later, Francis Ford Coppola and author, Mario Puzo returned to conclude the story of the Corleones. The film did not do so well at the box office or at the Oscars despite being nominated. It also became the butt to several jokes and the target of constant bashing from movie buffs. While the film isn't an oscar caliber masterpiece like the first two, it's not as bad as people make it out to be. The film's main flaw is the meandering plot and the numerous sub-plots going on at once. Robert Duvall's absence hurts the film as the Tom Hagen character was so prominent in the first two. The film concerns Michael's decison to become a legitimate businessman by entering into a deal with the Vatican bank to keep them from becoming bankrupt. He finds that the church is just as corrupt as the mafia. Al Pacino is once again great as an eldery Don, and Diane Keaton returns as his now estranged wife. Andy Garcia is great as Sonny's illegitimate son, Vincent who becomes the new Don Corleone. Sofia Coppola, while not great as Mary, doesnt ruin the movie like so many critics and reviewers make it to be. The Godfather part 3 needs to be seen with knowledge of the first two films to make sense. Even though it didn't live up to the first two, it was still a worthy conclusion.
Bonus Material: This disc has a lot of great stuff on it. From the many deleted scenes to the making of documentaries, this disc is a great addition to the movies themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Godfather trilogy Blue Ray, March 25 2010
By 
R. Corbeil (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Godfather Collection: The Coppola Restoration [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I just received the trilogy on Blue Ray. It's just amazing compared to the DVD version I had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Movie of all time, Sept. 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I watched this movie same day I received it from Amazon. I couldn't stop watching it, so ended up finishing all parts (Godfather I, II, III) same day. I will have to watch it again sometime soon. And hey I enjoyed the 4th DVD, director's review and how it's made. It's surprisingly amazing. Again it's one of the best movies I have for my collection. It's worth the price. And delivery was next day with super saving shipping, i.e. no extra fee. Next, I have on my wish list to get Christopher Nolan's collection.
Sweet...! Enjoy this movie.
ash
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece 10 stars * * * * * * * * * *, Jan. 6 2004
By 
Marta Maslowska "HeavenSent" (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What could I say about the Godfather movies? MASTERPIECE
I wore out my box VHS set so of course I bought the DVD's as soon as they came out. I think those $80 bucks were well spent.
The Godfather trilogy should be viewed by everyone at least once in their lifetime. Its a piece of American Culture.
Brando, Pacino, DeNiro, Keaton, Duvall and Caan are amazing in The Godfather movies. Plus the other cast are great.
The movie is about the Corleone Mafia family, their rise and movement, their involvement with other crime families in New York, their bussinesses etc.
The movie is a classic and produces some of the most famous movie lines in the cinema history...
"I'll make him an offer he can't refuse"
So dont refuse to make this great purchase, if you're a fan of mafia or any of the cast it is a must have, it makes a wonderful gift.
In addition to the movies you'll get an extra disc with hours of extra features (p.s. click on the bunny and see The Sopranos watching The Godfather)
extra features include interviews with cast and directors, Copollas strive to make the movie, you can see Mario Puzo working on the scripts, and look at the Corleone family tree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon makes an "Offer you can't refuse", Dec 15 2003
By 
Bendr1985 (State College, PA) - See all my reviews
The Godfather trilogy, I supposed that if you were to buy the Godfather you might as well buy the whole trilogy. I thought that the sequels were not necessary. The first one was incredible, a great plot, great actors, great decade to make it in. The second movie was great also, it had somethings that made it memorable, quotes, the plot was still the same which made pretty good. The third one had to come, only because it would've been really [incomplete]... without the third one. It was a wise move.
The first godfather was mostly about the leader of a mafia, and he was passing it down to his son. His son on the other hand was trying to keep out of the family business so that he could start a new life. But after the father dies the son has no choice but to assume the role as the Godfather. Al Pacino kicks ass!
The second godfather was about how Michael keeps the family striving, it also shows a little bit about his father, played by Robert DeNiro. The legendary brother kiss is the only reason this movie made anything. Its what put it on the map.
I dont know much about the third one, I have seen bits and pieces but it looks pretty stupid. I guess if your a godfather fan it would be useful to watch it.
Well thats pretty much it... Have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Godfather Collection: The Coppola Restoration [Blu-ray]
The Godfather Collection: The Coppola Restoration [Blu-ray] by Francis Ford Coppola (Blu-ray - 2008)
CDN$ 68.99 CDN$ 33.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews