Customer Reviews


505 Reviews
5 star:
 (383)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Switching to Blu-Ray For.
This full frame-by-frame restoration is beautiful. A damaged master copy had been the main culprit of a poor transfer to DVD/video originally. This transfer is not just a digitally cleaned up version of that master, but in some cases they used a better quality negative. The old version had murky dark scenes and washed-out bright scenes like the opening wedding scene. It...
Published on Dec 2 2008 by Ryan M

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor quality
the quality of the images are very dark, disappointing, specifically being a blu-ray, did not meet my expectations, expected a lot better
Published 5 months ago by Tony


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Switching to Blu-Ray For., Dec 2 2008
This review is from: The Godfather Collection: The Coppola Restoration / Le Parrain : La Restauration de Coppola (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This full frame-by-frame restoration is beautiful. A damaged master copy had been the main culprit of a poor transfer to DVD/video originally. This transfer is not just a digitally cleaned up version of that master, but in some cases they used a better quality negative. The old version had murky dark scenes and washed-out bright scenes like the opening wedding scene. It was terrible. This version fixes all that and is just beautiful in HD. The Godfather the way it was meant to be seen.

Read this for more info:
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coppola's legacy enclosed with others, July 18 2004
By 
A. Fondacaro "NiaTonyF" (Silverdale, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While the original film ranked #2 on the AFI's list of 100 Greatest Movies (#1 being Citizen Kane), many film buffs, afficionados, and audiences believed that the first Godfather film deserves that #1 spot. How many people do you know who know some of those famous quotes like, "I'm gonna' make him an offer he can't refuse," or "Never take sides against the family again, ever..." A few maybe? Or perhaps you grew up in an Italian family like mine and your father can translate the Italian for you while you watch? Now how many people can quote Citizen Kane beyond, "Rooooosebuuuud...."
Despite the excellence of the first film, it is my opinion that Godfather part 2 delves deeper into the family, more into the two-toned life that Michael Corleone orchestrates between the family business and his family. Nowhere is this more apparent than with the relationship he cultivates between himself and Hyman Roth (wonderful performance by Lee Strasberg), cementing the old adage that you keep your friends close and your enemies closer. On the surface they are friends, behind closed doors they are co-conspirators, between each other they are close friends and confidants. Beneath it all, in the depths of each man's heart, they are mortal enemies, Corleone ultimately the victor. The whole movie is a mounting tension between the two, reaching heights as when Hyman fumes over the death of a great man, Mo Green, whom Corleone had killed in the first film. In the end, Hyman becomes just another victim, mowed down by a Corleone footman.
The court proceedings are shot in a way that transmits the claustrophobia and morose tedium of the justice system back in the days of McCarthyism (the eras align somewhat, both post-war 1950's). The court is crowded, people line the walls, journalists write furiously in the heat of the courtroom, in the background, people walk in and out of the proceedings like is was a Wal-Mart. People speak into microphones, their voices drone in the hollow, sparse room.
And then Michael Corleone has his own brother killed. Many would say this is when Michael gives himself over fully to the title "Godfather." This is actually one of the central themes of the first film, when exactly does Michael become Godfather? The first film has a wonderful moment where, in the family office (the predominant colors are brown and orange), Brando gets out of his chair, moves over to the side of the office, Michael gets up from the couch on the other side, moves to the desk, and sits in his fathers chair. This is when Michael becomes Godfather in my opinion, but Coppola is good enough to give us more moments that question exactly, "When?"
Coppola's film legacy lies within this box set, as does Pacino's, Brando's, Caan's, and Duvall's. DeNiro managed to go off and do other things, his legacy lies somewhere else, but to the aforementioned actors, they have never done another film or role as well as what they did in the Godfather films. You don't realize it until you pop in the bonus disc, but composer's Nino Rota and Carmine Coppola also put their legacy into this film with the music. Who can forget Rota's seven-note theme that opens and closes the film? Carmine Coppola adds a more Italiano flavor to the music in the flashback scenes featuring DeNiro as a young Vito Andolini (a.k.a. Don Corleone in the first film).
There's so much to go over, the least of which is film #3. But the contents of the other three discs justifies the cost, which could actually be higher. But really, this collection is an offer you can't refuse, or do I have to put a gun to your head??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Godfather trilogy Blue Ray, March 25 2010
By 
R. Corbeil (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Godfather Collection: The Coppola Restoration / Le Parrain : La Restauration de Coppola (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I just received the trilogy on Blue Ray. It's just amazing compared to the DVD version I had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to your Blu-ray collection, Oct. 19 2008
By 
This review is from: The Godfather Collection: The Coppola Restoration / Le Parrain : La Restauration de Coppola (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I had no problems playing these discs on my PS3.Blu-ray discs are a bit odd as they are more scratch resistant than regular DVDs but sometimes if there is a fingerprint on the disc they will not play.
The picture quality in these movies while not razor sharp has warm rich collours.In Godfather 2 the Picture quality is very good when the movie shows how the Godfather started out at the beginning of the century and sepia tones are added to create atmosphere.
I think this is a fine collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless filmmaking*, July 23 2005
By 
Jaime (Saskatchewan, Canada) - See all my reviews
I'm not quite sure if it's possible to surpass THE GODFATHER series in terms of pure artistic beauty. The imagery is wrought with the emotions of the film and the characters, the Italian-language moments are scripted well and interjected at the best times, and the acting (among other things such as the directing and cinematography) is superb. It's a travesty, it really is, that Al Pacino never won an Oscar for these films. The extras, including commentaries, are very well done and don't ruin the integrity of the film, as so many DVD extras often seem to do.
I've loved these films since I was a little girl; even then, I was able to discern the circumstances and fabulousness of the characters. This is due to Francis Ford Coppola's unceasing vision. Although Part III is clearly the least of the trio, it is the necessary conclusion that the series needs. Perhaps if it had been brought to the screen sooner after Part II, the vision would have been less interrupted. However, all three are remarkably well done -- I hate to repeat myself, but nothing surpasses THE GODFATHER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "this my friend, is an offer you can't refuse!", Oct. 13 2001
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
If you were sitting in a dark room, could not see a thing and "THE GODFATHER-WALTZ" started to play, you would immediately associate this with this collection, and you'd by correct...probably one of the most recognizable themes ever written...not to mention the "LOVE THEME FROM THE GODFATHER", so beautiful and haunting had universal appeal, our composer Nino Rota most certainly outdid himself with this score.
Director Francis Ford Coppola's delivers a masterpiece, based on Mario Puzo's best selling book...an outstanding cast even more realized today than then ~ Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, Robert DeNiro, Robert Duvall, James Caan, Diane Keaton, Talia Shire, Richard Castellano, John Cazle, Lee Strasberg, Eli Wallach and Sterling Hayden embroiled within "The Godfather Saga", dramatic acting at it's best.
The full-length Audio Commentary by Francis Ford Coppola, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround, Widescreen Enhanced for 16:9 TVs, Closed Captioned, and that's on just the first four discs...on the final disc (Disc 5), "The Godfather Bonus Material" with over three hours of exclusive features highlighting the many Cast Rehersals, Additional Scenes, Documentary on the Making of the Godfather, The Music of the Godfather (featuring Nino Rota and Carmine Coppola) plus other extra's to numerous to mention...but you get the general idea, this is a "film-buffs-treasure"...something that only comes along once in a lifetime, do me a favor...don't pass this up...this DVD Collection is in a CLASS BY ITSELF!
You might want to pick up "The Godfather Trilogy" (SSD-1121) on the Silva America label, would make an excellent companion for your "Godfather DVD Collection", please check out my reviews on amazon.com/music.
Total 5-DVD-Set ~ Paramount Pictures 15647 ~ (2001)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor quality, Oct. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
the quality of the images are very dark, disappointing, specifically being a blu-ray, did not meet my expectations, expected a lot better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Movie of all time, Sept. 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I watched this movie same day I received it from Amazon. I couldn't stop watching it, so ended up finishing all parts (Godfather I, II, III) same day. I will have to watch it again sometime soon. And hey I enjoyed the 4th DVD, director's review and how it's made. It's surprisingly amazing. Again it's one of the best movies I have for my collection. It's worth the price. And delivery was next day with super saving shipping, i.e. no extra fee. Next, I have on my wish list to get Christopher Nolan's collection.
Sweet...! Enjoy this movie.
ash
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good deal, Aug. 2 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered this set of DVDs on a whim because the movies had not been on TV for a while and certainly not three in a row. They arrived in a few days with an extra feature DVD. It was fabulous to watch the Carleone family from beginning to end. What a great series of films. I found it was a very good deal. Worth every penny of the purchase price and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnifique restauration, Feb. 23 2012
This review is from: The Godfather Collection: The Coppola Restoration / Le Parrain : La Restauration de Coppola (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
J'ai redécouvert la trilogie du parrain en Blu-ray. Les images sont magnifiques, quel changement avec l'édition originale qui était plus sombre. Vraiment, je suggère cet achat à tout ceux qui apprécient les classiques du cinéma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2dcde10)

This product

Only search this product's reviews