Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Because not all of us can be skinny man-children of the radical 1980s....
Who doesn't love the man-child that is Pee Wee Herman? This is THE movie that made Pee Wee Herman a household name and it is brought brilliantly and theatrically to life by the genius of Tim Burton's direction. Want to see a thirty-something man who acts like a 12 year old boy polish his prized bike in the early morning sunlight of a 1985 spring (even though you'll sense...
Published 15 days ago by Lara "Lex" Kinast

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT Film, But A Bit of a Disappointing DVD...
Tim Burton's directoral debut is so chock full of interesting bits and vision that a running commentary by Burton and creator/star Paul Reubens should have resulted in one of the best alternate tracks available on DVD. Unfortunately, their commentary becomes instead The Mutual Admiration Society, with long stories about how they came across each other, how great each...
Published on May 8 2000 by Brian Jay Jones


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Because not all of us can be skinny man-children of the radical 1980s...., Sept. 6 2014
By 
Lara "Lex" Kinast (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pee-Wee's Big Adventure [Import] (DVD)
Who doesn't love the man-child that is Pee Wee Herman? This is THE movie that made Pee Wee Herman a household name and it is brought brilliantly and theatrically to life by the genius of Tim Burton's direction. Want to see a thirty-something man who acts like a 12 year old boy polish his prized bike in the early morning sunlight of a 1985 spring (even though you'll sense evil on the horizon... )? Want to see Pee-Wee's insane, goof-ball house? See him fight with the tubby Francis (who is also in his thirties and lives with a 60-something father who treats both men like children as they squabble)? See Pee Wee waste food and do a Mr. T impression as he pours obsolete cereal all over his pancakes (and then, doesn't eat a damn thing)? How about a fun bar scene where Pee Wee gets into it with bikers, and doesn't have the sense to know he is about to get his skinny butt kicked? Want to see a crazy trucker lady named Large Marge scare the poop out of Pee Wee in the middle of the night? It's all HERE! This is a fun, lighthearted romp through the colorful insanity of a socially awkward bow-tie-wearing FREAK and it is glorious! I only wish it was longer... or had a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loveable, Dec 7 2003
By 
This review is from: Pee-Wees Big Adv. (VHS Tape)
Hilarious and visually imaginative, PWBA is a definite candidate for one of the most loveable movies ever made. Pee-Wee Herman isn't exactly playing a part, or acting; he has become his role of the perpetually cheerful 20-something man-child with curiously red lips and aerial voice. The movie, simply, is about how Pee-Wee tries desperately to find his stolen bike. In an effort to make the movie appear deeper than it doesn't want to be, this man-child's sweaty pursuit of his vintage 50's styled bike could be construed as a metaphor for Pee-Wee's continued avoidance of the adult lifestyle; he's chasing down his youth, just as Charles Foster Kane was struggling to find the rosebud of his childhood. But it isn't just Pee-Wee's bicycle that's vintage, it is also his haircut and suit. Ironically, Pee-Wee lives alone in his own home, instead of in the basement of his parents'. It's the sort of gadget drunk fun house that MTV Cribs was born to document. One of the perks of his home is that he has a machine to make breakfast for him (cereal atop pancakes, bacon, etc). But does Pee-Wee have a job? ... According to the movie, No. Does Pee-Wee have a girlfriend? Well, now, you all know that boys at a very young age aren't into the cootie girls. In Pee-Wee's hunt for his bike, does he come of age? No. Does he find his bike? Well, yeah... Duh! Does he eventually get a job? Well, kind of. Hollywood producers learn of his race across the world to find his bicycle and decide to make it into a movie. And does he eventually accept his once platonic girlfriend into his life? Sure, but their union probably won't lead to anything... maybe one step at a time, though. He'll lose his virginity at 50, I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back to my childhood days, Oct. 27 2003
By 
Darian Dennison (Walla Walla, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pee-Wee's Big Adventure (DVD)
Man this movie is hilarious and it takes me back to my early childhood days when I used to beg my mother to let me watch it and I remember that we rented this movie at least 10 times and I would watch it constantly, and my cousin uses to love it too, she would watch it so much that my aunt actually taped over it, well anyways this movie is about a man who has a mind and personality like a 10 year old and his name is Pee Wee Herman and I when he is about to take off with his unusual looking bike, his snotty neighbor Francis catches him and askes him how his morning is going and they get into an argument, 'I know what you are, but what am I?' That part is hilarious and Francis wants to have Pee Wee's bike, later on he decides to go shopping and when he is done shopping his bike is stolen and he calls the police and he thinks that Francis has something to do with it, later on he talks to a gypsy and askes her where his bike is and she tells Pee Wee that his bike is at the Alamo and he thanks her and hitchhikes his way to the Alamo and an escaped convict picks him up, later on when he arrives at the Alamo, he finds out that his bike wasn't there. I'm not going to talk too much about the movie and if you haven't seen it, stop right there and go to your local video store and rent it and if you a little boy or girl, drive your parents nuts with it.
Will Pee Wee Herman ever find his bike, will Pee Wee ever make it back home, in order to find out watch Pee Wee's Big Adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Rider For The Eighties, Aug. 17 2003
By 
Michael King "Mike" (Taunton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pee-Wee's Big Adventure (DVD)
Pee-wee Herman's search for his stolen bicycle is really an allegory of a man's search for self-discovery. Dottie, an attractive young woman who works at the bicycle store, has a big crush on Pee-wee. He is oblivious to her charms and spurns her advances. A rich neighborhood kid, who envies Pee-wee's bike, pays someone to steal the bike for him. Poor Pee-wee leaves
his safe, idealized home and ventures forth into the real, gritty world to recover his beloved bicycle. He first encounters a fake fortune teller, named Madam Ruby, who tells him that his bike is in the basement of the Alamo. While he stares into her crystal ball, she steals Pee-wee's wallet with all of his cash in it. Thus, much as Jack Kerouac did on the road, Pee-wee hitches rides and works odd jobs to get to the Alamo in Texas. Along the way he meets an escaped convict named Mickey, the ghost of a trucker named Large Marge, and an amorous waitress named Simone. Barely escaping the wrath of Simone's jealous boyfriend, Pee-wee hops on a moving train in the classic tradition of the traveling hobo. Imagine Pee-wee's disappointment when the finally gets to the Alamo, takes the tour, and discovers that there is no basement!
Dejected, his travels take him to a biker bar. He attempts to make a phone call in the noisy bar, and yells at everyone to keep the noise down. Promptly being shown the door, Pee-wee accidentally knocks over all their motorcycles, enraging the bikers. They discuss the best ways to kill him. A biker chick, played by Cassandra Peterson (better known as Elvira), grabs Pee-wee and demands, "I say you let me have him first!" Being quick on his feet, Pee-wee asks for a last request. As the jukebox blasts the song "Tequila," Pee-wee does an amazing dance, which immediately wins over the biker gang. In addition, his inspired dance has gone on to achieve iconic status as one of the greatest scenes ever committed to film.
After a motorcycle accident and a brief hospital stay, Pee-wee discovers that his missing bike is in the hands of a spoiled brat of a movie star on the Warner Brothers movie lot. Posing as one of Milton Berle's posse, Pee-wee sneaks into the lot. He finds out where the movie, featuring his bike in a crucial scene, is being filmed. Disguised as a nun to blend in with the scene, Pee-wee grabs his bike and rides off with it. As the security guards chase him in their golf carts, Pee-wee rides through a series of buildings where different movies are being made. It's one of the most hilarious and clever chase scenes ever filmed. When he spots a fire in a pet store, Pee-wee stops to save all the animals, is caught and arrested. Rather than press charges, the head of the movie studio wants to turn Pee-wee's big adventure into a movie!
In an obvious homage to Francois Truffaut, the last scene of the film takes place at a drive-in theater, where the fictitious film "Pee-wee's Big Adventure" is playing. Of course, in the Hollywood version, the bicycle is a motorbike, Dottie is played by the gorgeous Morgan Fairchild, and James Brolin plays a spy know as P.W. Herman. With a tip of the hat to Alfred Hitchcock, Pee-wee has a cameo as a bellhop in the movie within a movie! Pee-wee, sitting atop his beloved bike, urges Dottie to ride her bicycle out of the drive-in while the movie is still playing. She can't believe he wants to leave before they find out how the film ends. "I don't have to see it, Dottie. I lived it!" Thus, the carefree man-child we see at the beginning of the movie has changed into a mature adult, riding off to new adventures with his girlfriend. "Pee-wee's Big Adventure" will surely go down in history as one of the greatest movies of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pee-wee's Big Adventure DVD ~ Paul Reubens, Feb. 2 2003
By 
Goldenroom (Amherst, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pee-Wee's Big Adventure (DVD)
One of the "best comedies of the 80's" and "far ahead of its time" is what I think of when it comes to PeeWees big adventure. This film still makes me laugh and smile today and it has excellent repley value(you can watch it again and again). The premise of PeeWee is amazing. He is an adult who lives in a child like world. He wakes up and has no cares and rides his bike around town visiting other adults who are all like kids of the neiborhood. This film is done in such a cute and wonderful way. This was Tim Burtons first film that he directed and he did an excellent job. Everything from the strange props to the strange red lighting is trademarks of Tim Burton and the genius of this film. Tim Burton was able to capture the world of PeeWee better then ever(better then pee wees playhouse).
the DVD extras in this film are great too! I love the commentary by Paul Ruebans"pee wee" and director "Tim Burton". Also the DVD contains some great scenes that were cut from the final film. There is a child still within me; if your the same get this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars la la la!, Nov. 27 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Pee-Wees Big Adv. (VHS Tape)
Pee Wee's Big Adventure rocks! Why? Because it's about nothing more than a funny overgrown child recovering his stolen bike and having a plethora of adventures on the way. Forget convoluted storylines --- all Pee Wee has to do is travel to the Alamo (as advised by a fortune teller) and get the bike.
This movie is renown for great humor as Pee Wee travels across the country. Some of the best:
*Hitch-hiking with the dead trucker Large Marge.
*Dancing to "Tequila" on a bar after bikers force him to.
"Dressing as a girl to get out of a speeding ticket.
*Proving he is in Texas to Dottie on a payphone by singing "The stars at night! Are big and bright!" Whereupon all passers-by stop, clap and sing "Deep in the heart of Texas!"
*The great bike chase across several movie lots.
And let's not forget such classic lines as:
There's no basement in the Alamo! (I guess it's just one of those things they don't teach you in school, you have to find out for yourself.)
I know you are but what am I?
Francis is taking his bath. Oh yeah? Where are they hosing him down?
Take a picture! It will last longer!
SHHHHH! I'm trying to use the phone!
I meant to do that.
This movie is 17 years old but the humor is classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pee-Wee is Pure Fun!, Sept. 12 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Pee-Wee's Big Adventure (DVD)
Pee- Wee Herman is a grown man, who acts like a young boy. He has the bunny slippers- the Bambi carpet, the toy cars and trucks and he even has Mr. Potatoe Head! He lives in a charming little house (much like a doll house) with his cute little dog, Speck. And- oh! I almost forgot! His bike! The one reason for Pee- Wee's existence! His marvelous bike! The story is about when innocent little Pee- Wee Herman's bike gets stolen, and he will stop at nothing to get it back. Even if it means traveling to the "basement" of the Alamo! He encounters many hilarious characters along the way, like Mickey the criminal, Francis the fat bully, a crew of bikers, LARGE MARGE, a hobo named Jack, Madame Ruby the fortune teller, plus many more! If you are trying to decide whether you should get this movie or not, let me give it to you straight- if you're the kind of person that enjoys a good laugh, and a nice portion of silliness, then you'll fall in love with this movie! Also, if you have kids, they will enjoy it, too! I guarentee you that Pee- Wee will make the adults and the kids laugh till they tear in the eyes! Oh, yeah, one more thing- I think this movie is rated PG cuz of the LARGE MARGE scene (which is all clay-mated!), or one of Pee- Wee's VERY MILD nightmares. (they aren't scary at all!) So all in all, Pee- Wee's Big Adventure is a very funny, charming and cute film for the whole family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "I'm a loner Dottie. A rebel!", Aug. 22 2002
By 
"patrick_mcknight" (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pee-Wee's Big Adventure (DVD)
This hilarious cult classic stars Paul Reubens as Pee-Wee Herman, a child-like living in an exagerated Frank Capra-ish town. Pee-Wee lives in a bizarre, childlike house populated with manequins, props, and other contraptions. He also has a bunch of Rube Goldberg-esque machines that makes breakfast for him. Wait till you see just how he eats his breakfast!
Pee-Wee has one love of his life, his bicycle. He loves it even more than the girl at the bike shop who is sweet on him and sells him his horn. And he won't sell it even for a hundred, million, trillion dollars. Therefore he is devastated when his bicycle is stolen.
Thus begins Pee-Wee's desperate cross country journey to retrieve his bicycle. Along the way he will meet such memorable characters as a deceased truck driver (Large Marge), an annoying folk song singing hobo, an escaped convict (he cut the tag off a mattress), and a biker gang. His journey will be filled with trials and tribulations. But not to worry, Pee-Wee has been assured by a fortune teller that his bicycle is safe and awaits him at the Alamo. In the basement
Unfortunately, the Alamo doesn't have a basement...
"Pee-Wee's Big Adventure" is one of the most original comedies ever made. Tim Burton's direction is truly inspired. This was his first feature film, and one can easily see why he went on to a successful career, making such films as "Beetlejuice", "Batman", and "Edward Scissorhands". Like those films, PWBA concerns a misunderstood loner existing in a bizarre, sometimes hostile world. Tim Burton and Paul Reubens were a perfect match as they seem to share the same sense of humor. Danny Elfman's score is the icing on the cake.
Interestingly, some of the shots early on bring to mind that Italian film "The Bicycle Thief". It makes me wonder if Tim Burton saw that film and used it as inspiration.
Pee-Wee Herman is now an almost forgotten 80s icon. It's really sad to think that people have allowed their personal feelings about Paul Reubens get in the way of enjoying a great comic creation. I sure hope parents won't think that this film will be a bad influence on their kids, as PWBA is a delightful and quite innocent film. After all, anyone who will risk his life to save a bunch of cute pets from a fire can't be all bad.
I also hope parents don't think that this film is only for kids. Much of the humor is aimed at adults. While I had memories of seeing this film on video as a kid, I didn't realize just how funny it was until I saw it on TV a few months ago. Now I own the DVD.
PWGA is great entertainment for anyone with a quirky sense of humor. Like me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny Movie!!, Aug. 19 2002
By 
"jem-aja" (Kingston, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pee-Wee's Big Adventure (DVD)
I *LOVE* this movie. I love the part with Large Marge. She is so cool. Paul Reubens is brilliant as nerdy Pee-Wee Herman. This movie is one of my all time favorites. I have the movie on VHS and the soundtrack on CD. But I am wanting to get the movie on DVD it is that good. If you haven't seen "Pee-Wee's Big Adventure" I suggest giving it a try, because you won't be disapointed. I also suggest trying "Big Top Pee-Wee" and "Pee-Wee's Playhouse." I have loved "Pee-Wee's Big Adventure" for over ten years.
Music composer Danny Elfman composed the perfect music. The circus like music is perfect for this movie. Danny Elfman is one of my favorite composers. He always composes great music. Danny Elfman has also composed music for the 1989 "Batman" movie, "Batman Returns" and "Beetlejuice."
Tim Burton did a fantastic job at directing this laugh out loud comedy. Tim Burton also directed the 1989 "Batman" movie, "Batman Returns" and "Beetlejuice."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Ha-ha! Heheheheheheh...", July 7 2002
This review is from: Pee-Wee's Big Adventure (DVD)
Pee-Wee's famous laugh still manages to crack me up more than most things which people consider to be funny. Before the whole scandal surrounding Paul Reubens' public... err, display, he was entertaining kids all around the globe with his saturday morning show, "Pee-Wee's Playhouse." That show was a gem in it's own right, but this is Pee-Wee at his most childish, naive best.
The plot is as follows - a weird man-boy loses his bike and goes on a cross country road trip desperately trying to recover it. It's dumb, but it works. This is a simple movie which finds enough room for outrageous situations (the most crazy one being the studio lot chase). I mean, where else are you going to see Godzilla ride in a sleigh with Santa Claus? From start to finish, the film is quite a kick and can be enjoyed by anyone of any age. By never taking itself seriously, it does what it's supposed to do: entetain.
This was Tim Burton's debut studio film. While not quite as dark as his later efforts, he still manages to include some pretty bizarre and scary sequences (Large Marge and Pee-Wee's nightmares about his bike). But in some ways, this is an ultimate Burton flick. There are colorful backdrops which coincide with Danny Elfman's weird scoring, like Edward Scissorhands, and it blends splendidly. And, like Edward Scissorhands or Beetlejuice, no matter how dark it gets, you still get the impression that it's a very high-spirited movie. I don't know about the rest of you, but I think this is one of Tim Burton's crowning achievments.
The DVD is also pretty good, considering it was distributed by Warner Bros. If you've never seen "Pee-Wee's Big Adventure" before, you know you're in for some madcap antics once the main menu pops up and you witness Pee-Wee fly back and fourth on his bike, laughing hysterically. Special features include two commentaries, deleted scenes, storyboards, cast & crew bios and a theatrical trailer. This is a great DVD to buy, and if you grew up with Pee-Wee, get ready to be magically whisked back to your childhood. I had a smile on my face for the entire length of the movie.
"I pity the fool who doesn't eat my cereal! Ha-ha! Heheheheheh..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pee-Wee's Big Adventure [Import]
Pee-Wee's Big Adventure [Import] by Tim Burton (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 6.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews