Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars107
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$11.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(4 star).Show all reviews
on December 7, 2003
Hilarious and visually imaginative, PWBA is a definite candidate for one of the most loveable movies ever made. Pee-Wee Herman isn't exactly playing a part, or acting; he has become his role of the perpetually cheerful 20-something man-child with curiously red lips and aerial voice. The movie, simply, is about how Pee-Wee tries desperately to find his stolen bike. In an effort to make the movie appear deeper than it doesn't want to be, this man-child's sweaty pursuit of his vintage 50's styled bike could be construed as a metaphor for Pee-Wee's continued avoidance of the adult lifestyle; he's chasing down his youth, just as Charles Foster Kane was struggling to find the rosebud of his childhood. But it isn't just Pee-Wee's bicycle that's vintage, it is also his haircut and suit. Ironically, Pee-Wee lives alone in his own home, instead of in the basement of his parents'. It's the sort of gadget drunk fun house that MTV Cribs was born to document. One of the perks of his home is that he has a machine to make breakfast for him (cereal atop pancakes, bacon, etc). But does Pee-Wee have a job? ... According to the movie, No. Does Pee-Wee have a girlfriend? Well, now, you all know that boys at a very young age aren't into the cootie girls. In Pee-Wee's hunt for his bike, does he come of age? No. Does he find his bike? Well, yeah... Duh! Does he eventually get a job? Well, kind of. Hollywood producers learn of his race across the world to find his bicycle and decide to make it into a movie. And does he eventually accept his once platonic girlfriend into his life? Sure, but their union probably won't lead to anything... maybe one step at a time, though. He'll lose his virginity at 50, I'm sure.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2000
Great movie if you like a movie you can't categorize- one of the few I'd recommend to all age groups. Anyway, the DVD is awesome, but like another fella noted- not all the DVD extras are included, unless they're hidden...and I mean, I WAS DYING to see the stuff that was left out. (Live Pee-Wee on stage and MTV after party left out) Very disappointing, but other than that- the commentaries are cool, (Tim Burton giggles insanely a lot, but he's interesting) and my favorite was Danny Elfman's comments on his music career and his brilliant music within the movie...he does an amusing take on Pee Wee's voice that I wasn't expecting too.
PLUS! We get to learn where in the hell Amazing Larry came from in a deleted scene and also a great sequence that was cut out of the grande finale chase scene- taking place in the old west.
check it out! great sound and picture quality! Lots of fun all the way.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2000
Pee-Wee's Big Adventure is sort of like the Holy Grail to Tim Burton fans. Released on July 19th 1985, mabye more like a set of commandments, handed down from the man himself. All historical value aside, I really love this moive. We follow the boy stuck in a man's body (Rubens) through what seems like an ordinary day (which is out of the ordinary in itself), until his beloved bike is stolen! Filled with revenge, Pee-Wee goes on a cross-country search for his missing bike, befriending with his endearing innocent charm an escaped convict, a biker gang, and falling in love with the local bike shop owner, Dottie. The camera angles and scenery, the sometimes philosophic (in a sarcastic undertone) dialogue all reek of Burton-ness. This is a movie that isn't afraid to mock itself. It's refreshing, quirky, and hey... it's Burton!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2001
For sheer inspired goofiness, one would be hard-pressed to find better than "Pee Wee's Big Adventure." Paul Reubens (a/k/a Pee Wee Herman) throws himself into his signature role with complete abandon, and, fueled by Tim Burton's cartoony direction and Danny Elfman's mischievious score, the movie just mows you down like Pee Wee on his beloved bike during the Tour de France! It's still as funny today as it was 16 years ago, and a great one to show to a mixed group, not to mention an excellent blues banisher. If you can listen to "Tequila" or see a picture of the Alamo and not laugh, you obviously have never seen this movie!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2001
Again, this could be a five-star movie, depending on your point of view. The whole movie is a comic masterpiece, using every kind of humor it can, from slapstick to social to just plain looney. Tim Burton's first film really captures his vision of surrealness. Paul Reubens gives a touching performance as Pee Wee. Aside from a couple scary moments, this is great for the wee kids and massive adults, too (and teenagers going through insecure rebelious feelings, like me). The only people who won't like this are those who need to lighten up. It's magical.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2010
I think this movie is a wonderful movie. That Pee Wee Herman is one humorous man. That movie made me laugh so much. The missing bike part gave me quite a shock when Pee Wee freaked out. What made me laugh the most is Pee Wee Herman tried to wrestle Mark Holden and said "Tell me where it is before I loose patience with you!" The trick gum part also made me laugh like crazy. Kids would love to watch such a movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2000
I saw this movie along time ago when I was little and I loved it. I use to watch it everyday and I still love it. I hated Big Top Pee-wee it wasn't a good sequel. But I hope they make more Pee-wee movies than these two. Did you know that Phil Hartman wrote the script to Pee-wee's Big Adenture? Pretty cool, huh?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2004
Pee-Wee Herman. He's a bit corny - but this movie is hilarious! Light hearted fun, with a plot just as goofy.
The one caution :: You can find this DVD new in many stores now for as little as $ don't pay too much!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2000
Tim Burton's first work as a director is this 1985 film where Paul Reubens goes looking for his missing bike. Odd story boasted by a lot of off the wall jokes, makes for a funny film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2002
Pee Wee's Big Adventure is goofy and it's silly to watch adults acting like children. BUT it is fun to watch. It's a good movie to put on, laugh, and forget your troubles for a while
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Tim Burton Collection (6 Dvd)
Tim Burton Collection (6 Dvd) by Helena Bonham Carter (DVD)
CDN$ 34.42