Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Peanuts CLASSIC
For anyone who watched the classics over and over and over again growing up - this is a MUST see and MUST own collection!

Who doesn't remember looking forward to the annual airing of It's the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown?

I bought this at Christmas time with the intention of saving the episodes to match the holidays, but my kid wanted to see them all...
Published on Feb. 17 2009 by Dara Eklove

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite what i ordered
this compilation is wonderful. the three major peanuts greats (in both blu ray and dvd) - thanksgiving, great pumpkin and charlie brown christmas. i was happy except that it listed a sno-globe and window clings. the window clings came but no snow globe. oh well.
Published on Oct. 14 2011 by yesh


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Peanuts CLASSIC, Feb. 17 2009
By 
Dara Eklove (Montreal, Quebec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peanuts Holiday Collection (DVD)
For anyone who watched the classics over and over and over again growing up - this is a MUST see and MUST own collection!

Who doesn't remember looking forward to the annual airing of It's the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown?

I bought this at Christmas time with the intention of saving the episodes to match the holidays, but my kid wanted to see them all. He's watched them over and over again. It was well worth the money to bring up a new generation watching good, wholesome cartoons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great DVD, Dec 5 2011
This review is from: Peanuts Holiday Collection (DVD)
got this for my husband and he couldn't wait for it to arrive. watched it as soon as it came and has watched with the kids almost every night since! thanks so much! great packaging, arrived on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holiday hijinks, May 1 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Peanuts Holiday Collection (DVD)
The Peanuts holiday tales are timeless holiday traditions, and just about everybody has fond memories of watching our favorite round-headed kid as he and his friends struggle through Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas. "The Peanuts Holiday Collection" brings together three beautifully remastered, beloved holiday tales, accompanied by three other bonus stories to complement them.

"It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown" when Linus decides to spend Halloween night sitting in the pumpkin patch, hoping for the Great Pumpkin to appear. While he and the besotted Sally are out there, Charlie Brown and the others are off trick-or-treating and going to a party, even as the World War I flying ace (aka Snoopy) is shot down behind enemy lines. Will the Great Pumpkin appear, or is Linus' pumpkin patch not sincere enough? And if he doesn't appear, what is Sally going to do?

Then in "A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving," Charlie Brown is planning to go with his family to his grandmother's house. But then Peppermint Patty calls him, and ends up inviting herself, Marcie, and Franklin to a Thanksgiving dinner... at HIS house. Charlie Brown's friends agree to help out with dinner -- but with a ping-pong dinner table and a main course cooked by a dog and a bird, is there any chance of this being a satisfying Thanksgiving?

Finally it's "A Charlie Brown Christmas," with poor Charlie Brown feeling depressed just before the holidays. Lucy comes up with the idea of having him direct the Christmas play... which turns out to be a disaster, since everybody is too busy dancing. And when he's sent off to buy a Christmas tree, Charlie Brown ends up buying a scrawny little thing that keeps shedding needles. It's up to Linus to remind everyone of the true meaning of Christmas.

There's also a bonus special accompanying each of these classic episodes: "It's Magic, Charlie Brown," in which Snoopy's dabblings in magic render Charlie Brown invisible, which has some unexpected drawbacks and benefits; "The Mayflower Voyagers," the story of how the Pilgrims came to the US, and is acted by the Peanuts gang; and "It's Christmastime Again, Charlie Brown," a series of goofy, kooky yuletide adventures for the Peanuts gang, including a disastrous pageant, mittens, and Charlie Brown's ceaseless attempts to sell a Christmas wreath.

Every one of these holiday stories has that simple, down-to-earth magic that Charles Schulz managed to create for several decades -- there's nothing cutesy or twee about these stories. Just lots of understated humor ("What did you expect, a turkey card?"), running jokes, and poor Charlie Brown flailing around trying to stay afloat during the holidays.

But there are some powerful moments as well, such as Linus solemnly reciting the story of Christ's birth during the Christmas episode, or telling them about the origins of Thanksgiving. He's less inspiring when going off about the Great Pumpkin, though.

The characters are the really endearing part of it, mainly because they don't come across as snotty/cutesy caricatures of children -- they're more like everyday kids with an adult twist (Lucy rambling about Christmas being run by a syndicate). Charlie Brown is depressed by every holiday and struggles to make everybody happy, while Linus is wise and sensible (except on Halloween). And there's the feisty Peppermint Patty, grumpy Lucy, and of course Snoopy (who lives in his own little world).

An added note about the remastered editions -- not only do they have lots of lovely interviews, behind-the-scenes stuff, and of course the bonus specials, but they are BEAUTIFUL. Every story has been lovingly cleaned-up, so that the colors are bright and the animation is crisp.

Assuming you don't already have these stories, "The Peanuts Holiday Collection" is a must-buy for anyone who has ever hummed along to the jazzy piano theme, or suffered through some holiday pangs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peanuts Holiday Collection (DVD)
Kids will love this old style stuff at the holidays
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Holiday tradition, June 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peanuts Holiday Collection (DVD)
Nothing is better than Peanuts during the holidays (or anytime for that matter!!) It brings back memories for me and now I get to share them with my kids :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Peanuts, March 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peanuts Holiday Collection (DVD)
It's nice to have a collection like this. One to watch at each holiday. Great for kids and adults. We have watched them many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I always like Peanuts, Feb. 28 2013
By 
katharos (Surrey, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peanuts Holiday Collection (DVD)
I'm prejudiced! My very favourite is A Charlie Brown Christmas. I love the message. The other three are bonuses to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful., Dec 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peanuts Holiday Collection (DVD)
My daughter can't seem to watch it enough. :) she loves it! I did however think I was ordering 4 movies the DVD box is a little misleading with the 4 pictures on it. As there is only 3 movies. I though it was a little pricey but worth the look on my daughter face when she opened it christmas morning. :) fantastic delivery time to. It only took 2 days to arrive. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie for holidays, Dec 17 2012
By 
jcrosb "JC" (Toronto, On Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These movie are clear and colorful. They help make the holidays great. I would recommend these movies if your looking to give a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not quite what i ordered, Oct. 14 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this compilation is wonderful. the three major peanuts greats (in both blu ray and dvd) - thanksgiving, great pumpkin and charlie brown christmas. i was happy except that it listed a sno-globe and window clings. the window clings came but no snow globe. oh well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peanuts Holiday Collection
CDN$ 34.98 CDN$ 19.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews