Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still brings tears to your eyes!
A TRUE Christmas classic. There are lots of great Christmas movies and TV shows that are fun to watch each year, from CHRISTMAS VACATION to THE GRINCH. But there is something special about Charlie Brown's take.
First of all, it's the only mainstream Christmas classic that actually DARES to bring the story of the birth of Jesus to front and center!! When Linus takes...
Published on Dec 2 2003 by RMurray847

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just a 30 Minute Cartoon, Or More?
Well, I was never really a big Peanuts fan. But, this deserves special attention. From the start, Charlie grabs us. The truth is that many people get depressed around Christmas; and since Charlie feels that no one likes him, he especially gets depressed. (Holidays always seem to rub it in if we feel alone.) Also, he is disturbed at the huge commercial aspects of...
Published on Dec 3 2000 by Sean Ares Hirsch


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still brings tears to your eyes!, Dec 2 2003
By 
RMurray847 (Albuquerque, NM United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (DVD)
A TRUE Christmas classic. There are lots of great Christmas movies and TV shows that are fun to watch each year, from CHRISTMAS VACATION to THE GRINCH. But there is something special about Charlie Brown's take.
First of all, it's the only mainstream Christmas classic that actually DARES to bring the story of the birth of Jesus to front and center!! When Linus takes centerstage and quotes the bible for us, you can almost feel the air suck out of the room. It's a moment of simple drama that can really bring a tear to your eye. Linus, without saying a harsh word, essentially tells everyone to "shut up and remember the meaning of this holiday!" It's a beautiful moment.
There's plenty of amusing stuff too. The pitiful tree...Snoopy's hijinks, etc. It's not laugh out loud funny, of course, but sweet and innocent. These are kids who live in a world without adults...and don't seem to need them either! It's always a nice 22 minute trip down memory lane. Every adult should own this...if only to take minute to journey back to childhood. And kids need to keep seeing this. I'm glad it has remained a classic.
The animation is no great shakes, of course, but the style is executed marvelously. The voice acting, on the other hand, leaves nothing to be desired. The kids involved have done a terrific job. The music, ever present, is great, as we've come to expect from any Peanuts special. All in all, this is a MUST OWN DVD.
(I do wish there were more extras available. Other than a 2nd Christmas special...it's okay, but no classic...there is nothing. Can't believe there isn't some little documentary or something out there.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Dvd, but 1960's Collection a better deal..., Aug. 18 2010
By 
S. Lennox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (Remastered Deluxe Edition) (DVD)
I bought this dvd years ago and considered it an absolute essential cartoon to own. However since then the boxed set Peanuts 1960s Collection was released which not only contains the Christmas special but also 5 other Peanuts cartoons from the 1960's (including the Great Pumpkin episode, another classic), and being only a few bucks more than this it is a far better deal. The boxed set doesn't have the other Christmas cartoon on this dvd, the 90's-era "It's Christmastime Again" (which was ok) but in all honesty it's not really missed. I still think this is an excellent dvd to own, but if you want a little more bang for your buck go for the boxed set and you'll really have a good Charlie Brown collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just a 30 Minute Cartoon, Or More?, Dec 3 2000
Well, I was never really a big Peanuts fan. But, this deserves special attention. From the start, Charlie grabs us. The truth is that many people get depressed around Christmas; and since Charlie feels that no one likes him, he especially gets depressed. (Holidays always seem to rub it in if we feel alone.) Also, he is disturbed at the huge commercial aspects of Christmas. Charlie is then called upon to direct a Christmas play and get a tree for the play. It is clear that the other children are distant from Charlie, and it is also clear that they expect a tree that will reflect the commercialized aspect of Christmas. He takes a stand and buys the tree that seems to need a friend. Linus' role is very well done here. Notice he does not criticize the tree itself or Charlie's intentions! But he is concerned that Charlie will be taunted for this. The next scene is done well. Charlie tried (even if unkowingly) to bring the true meaning of Christmas into a crowd that concentrated on the commercial aspects. As Linus fears, Charlie was in fact taunted and mocked for carrying the true meaning of Christmas in a commercial society. When Charlie is mocked, Linus (who also seemed to be carrying the true meaning of Christmas) shows bravery and confronts everyone with the true meaning of Christmas. It is almost as if he carried it, but was afraid to unleash it; and when he saw Charlie show bravery that he would be mocked for, he felt he had an obligation to act. Through this, the mood of the children change. So, Charlie and Linus carry the true meaning of Christmas in a society that does not; Charlie is mocked and taunted; Linus feels compelled to step in; the mood of the whole gang changes for the better. Even if you don't really care for The Peanuts, you should watch this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not Christmas without Charlie Brown, Dec 15 2001
By 
L. Bolland "Movie Lover" (Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well let me tell you I am a big fan of A Charlie Brown Christmas! It just puts you in such a good mood! Charlie Brown the loser we all love to love teaches us the real meaning of Christmas with the help of Snoopy, Lucy and all the gang. This just sums up the happiness that Christmas brings to me... And contains the very cool Snoopy Dance! Check it out to help you get in touch with your inner child and find that holiday spirit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I grew up watching this each year., Feb. 14 2002
By 
Mike Hurley (Lansing, MI, USA) - See all my reviews
This was my first exposure to Charlie Brown outside the comic strip. I was no older than C.B. himself at the time, I've grown older Charlie Brown is still a kid and he's still searching for the meaning of Christmas. And with a little help from his friend Linus Van Pelt and a lot of help from St.Luke he succeeds. I won this in a holiday contest but if I had the money, I'd gladly go out & buy it, this is one of those videos that's too good to just rent, you gotta have it to keep. The label says it all "a Peanuts© classic" and it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Christmas special, Jan. 14 2004
By 
Joe Sherry (Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (DVD)
I realize that I am writing this several weeks after Christmas, and this is a Christmas DVD, but this is the first year that I missed watching "A Charlie Brown Christmas" on television, so I rented the DVD. Ever since I was a little boy, this has been my favorite Christmas special, and one that I always looked forward to watching every year. I grew up reading the Peanuts comic strips and I grew up watching the Peanuts Christmas special.
Charlie Brown is depressed. He can't seem to get himself into the Christmas spirit. He doesn't like the commercialism of Christmas and scarcely knows the true meaning of Christmas. Lucy selects Charlie Brown to be the director of their Christmas play and he decides to get a Christmas tree for the production. The other kids tell him to get a "nice shiny aluminum tree, maybe a pink one", but Charlie Brown and Linus bring back a sad looking real tree. Charlie Brown is almost laughed out of the auditorium, but when he asks if anyone knows what Christmas is all about, Linus has the answer. Linus recites a passage from the Bible telling of the birth of Jesus. Charlie Brown is cheered and leaves with the tree. He tries to decorate the little tree, but even that is ruined. Linus and the gang follow behind, fix up the tree, and at the end, they show the true spirit of Christmas.
It is a sweet little Christmas special, filled with memorable moments that will always make me smile. The one thing that amazes me is that Charles Schulz was able to include Linus's speech near the end about the birth of Jesus. I don't imagine that would have been able to be included today, but I think the special is all the stronger for it. I have a hard time imagining that any new Christmas show will ever hold as special a place in my heart as "A Charlie Brown Christmas".
This DVD also includes "It's Christmastime Again, Charlie Brown" (1992). This Christmas feature is lacking the overall charm and emotion of the older special, but it has a lot more humor. It is also different from the first Christmas special in that this one is more a series of vignettes (perhaps based on Schulz's comic strips) than a complete story. There are sequences with Charlie Brown trying to sell Christmas wreaths before Thanksgiving, and of Sally rehearsing for a Christmas play. Sally's sole line is "Hark!", though I think she missed the rest of her lines where the herald angels sing. It is a cute cartoon, but ultimately it does not quite live up to "A Charlie Brown Christmas", but it my mind, nothing can live up to that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Classic, Jan. 14 2004
By 
Erika Sorocco (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Christmastime is officially here, and while everyone is having fun decorating, and putting together their Christmas wish lists, Charlie Brown is having doubts about the whole holiday. He seems to be having trouble finding the true meaning of Christmas, so he visits Psychiatrist Lucy who presents him with one solution to his problem. Be the director of the Christmas play! Charlie Brown happily accepts the job, but when he sets out to find the perfect Christmas tree to use as a stage prop, everyone is disappointed in his decision. As the tree is small, and scraggly. But this one little tree is exactly what Charlie Brown and everyone else needed, to realize what the true meaning of Christmas is. After all, it's a beautiful tree who just needs a little love.
Fans of Charlie Brown will relish in this holiday tale that will help anyone, even the most grinchiest of people, find the true meaning of Christmas, and realize that the holiday doesn't have to be so commercial. With beautiful animation, and a wonderfully inspirational storyline, A CHARLIE BROWN CHRISTMAS, is a must-see for all fans, young and old.
Erika Sorocco
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why? Why? Why?, Dec 9 2002
By 
Stephen Verhaeren (Palos Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (DVD)
Almost every peanuts special or movie has Charlie Brown in the title (to many to name). But here are a few, It's the Great Pumkin Charlie Brown, A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving, Your not elected Charlie Brown, A Charlie Brown Valentine, and Bon Vage Charlie Brown (and don't come back). The only peanuts mvoie or special without Charlie Brown in the title is Snoppy, Come Home. Well, I guess it is better than calling Charlie Brown Come Home. But Charlie Brown is not the only peanuts character, there are Linus, Lucy Van Pelt, Sally Brown, Snoopy (Charlie Brwon's dog), and Woodstock. This time around Charlie Brown (Peter Robbins) doesn't understand Christmas. So he has a little talk with Lucy at her doctor stand (Which she charges everybody 5 cents for her adivce). So anyway Lucy hires Charlie Brown to direct the Chirstmas play. But most of the cast including Snoopy are upset by Charlie Brown directing the play. So I'll leave it up to you (if you want to find out what happens next). It just seems like to me that Charlie Brown is the star and everybody else is a wall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie Brown's Christmas, June 11 2002
By 
Stephen Breuer (Minot, North Dakota) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (DVD)
Charlie Brown's Christmas is truly one of the most memorable of any christmas specials. Christmas, in fact the entire month of December is my favorite time of the year. The music is excellent as are the script, voices, and the artwork. The plot is excellent too. Charlie Brown( a kid most people can identify with) is feeling depressed by the commercialization of Christmas. So to try to rectify the problem , and at the advice of Lucy he directs the schools Christmas play which all of the peanuts main characters are involved in. However the task is too difficult when the rest of the kids fail to cooperate. So he sets off to find a Christmas tree for the play. He sees a lone, small, an scraggely tree. He decides to take that one. The rest of the kids amke fun of him when they see it. However with the help of Linus he learns the truem meaning of Christmas. The DVD however was lacking they tried to remove the static white noise in the background and instead it seems to lose all sound in between
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Peanuts Gang and the True Meaning of Christmas, Dec 13 2001
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This was the first Peanuts special and while the animation techniques have certainly improved over the years "A Charlie Brown Christmas" remains the best of the bunch because it has so much heart. For that matter, there might be other animated Christmas shows that are as good, but none of them are any better than this one, and that includes the Grinch. Okay, everybody tick off their favorite parts from this Holiday classic along with me and feel free to use your toes once you have used all your fingers: the kids skating on the pond, Snoopy skating on the pond, Lucy explaining how Christmas is run by a big eastern syndicate, Schroeder playing Jingle Bells on his toy piano, Charlie Brown finding a Christmas tree, Snoopy winning the decorating contest, and even above and beyond Vince Guaraldi's beloved musical score, there is Linus' explanation of what Christmas is all about. What other Christmas special is as explicit as "A Charlie Brown Christmas" of the true meaning of December 25th? You know, ever year when I watch this, I even sort of miss the commercial for Dolly Madison that were built into the show. I also think that the voices of the Peanuts gang, especially Peter Robbins as Charlie Brown and Christopher Shea as Linus, have never been as perfect as they are in this first outing. This is one of those rare videos that brings back your childhood in a rush of vibrant memories and feelings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Charlie Brown Christmas (Remastered Deluxe Edition)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 7.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews