Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and engaging, if costly, addition to the Wii library
For those of you who don't want to read this lengthy review: the game is terrific, the minigames are outstanding, but if you want to play this with two or more people, you'll need to shell out quite a bit of money for additional MotionPlus addons.

Wii Sports Resort (hereafter WSR) takes the Wii Sports (WS) franchise to the next logical level. Whereas WS has...
Published on July 28 2009 by Alan Friesen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A party game only.
I bought this game for the more precise controls, since that aspect of wii sports really frustrated me. While it has superior controls and more games, I didn't really get any more enjoyment out of it than wii sports, which wasn't much. I don't know why this game is popular, I would only recommend it if you know you will have people to play with.
Published 11 months ago by Joseph Affleck


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and engaging, if costly, addition to the Wii library, July 28 2009
By 
Alan Friesen (Rural Alberta) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wii Sports Resort w/ MotionPlus (Video Game)
For those of you who don't want to read this lengthy review: the game is terrific, the minigames are outstanding, but if you want to play this with two or more people, you'll need to shell out quite a bit of money for additional MotionPlus addons.

Wii Sports Resort (hereafter WSR) takes the Wii Sports (WS) franchise to the next logical level. Whereas WS has five games, WSR has 12. Moreover, there are different modes in each of these twelve games. For example, the first game on the menu, Sword Play, there are three modes: a one-on-one spar against an opponent; a competition to slice various objects quicker than your opponent; and an all-out rampage against twenty or so opponents across ten different levels. So while Sword Play is ostensibly only one game, in reality there are three different things you can do with this single game.

Now, take that and extend it to the other games in the package. The Frisbee game has both Frisbee catch with a dog and Frisbee Golf. WSR Golf has eighteen holes, as opposed to WS's version with only nine holes. Include with these archery, kayaking, a new version of bowling, and a half-dozen more, and you've got a lot of games for the whole family.

One of the neat additions to the WSR version of Bowling is that it no longer requires holding down the B button in order to throw the ball. My three-year-old daughter struggles a lot with this in the original version, and this tiny little addition has really opened up the entire game for her. She'll be able to handle the coordination of swinging the Wii Remote and releasing the B button at the right time, but for now she's having *fun* -- and isn't that what the Wii is all about?

The game is completely appropriate for all ages. Sword Play, the most "violent" game of the bunch, has absolutely no blood and features players decked out in protective gear. Think competitive kendo instead of Kill Bill. Not only is there no violence, but these games are approachable for players of all ages, from preschool up.

With all of this fun, however, comes a cost -- literally. The Wii system comes with one remote and one nunchuk. Wii Sports Resort comes with one MotionPlus accessory, required for the game. If that's all you have, you'll have a great time by yourself. For each additional player that wants to play the game, you'll need an additional Wii Remote and MotionPlus accessory, plus a Nunchuk for some of the games. The cost per player is fairly high, unless you already have a set of Wii Remotes and Nunchuks.

Is it worth it? For me and my family, it was worth buying an additional MotionPlus addon so that two of us could play at the same time. Honestly, two players at the same time is more than enough; you can share remotes in some games (bowling, golf, archery), and some of the better games only support two simultaneous players (table tennis and sword play come to mind).

In short: Wii Sports Resort is a fun game for the whole family and well worth your time. However, watch out for those extra costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wuhu Island Paradise!, July 30 2009
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wii Sports Resort w/ MotionPlus (Video Game)
They call the resort island "Wuhu." Say it out loud. Woo Hoo!! That's what this game is. Woo Hoo fun! The water sports make you feel like you're actually out in the drink. Water droplets even splash back against the "camera" during the events. The characters feel weighted and true when bobbing over the waves. The flyover makes your stomach drop, as if you're truly performing stunts in a plane. Love the 100 pin bowling. I was not expecting to get into Frisbee Golf, but it's very addictive! Go down the list of games. Everything about it is absolutely enjoyable, and there's something for everyone, every skill level.

Only a couple of gripes. One - some events are not available unless you have two players, and two controllers (each with a Motion Plus dongle), and Two - that Motion Plus dongle is not compatible with wireless nunchuks. There are little plastic foot-nodes on the bottom of the device that will not allow for the clipping on of a wireless nunchuk dongle. I suppose one could file the nodes down flat to make space for it, but then you're damaging the thing. If it stopped working, they'd surely say it was because you filed off the plastic nodes. The only saving grace is that the sports that use the nunchuk do not require such elaborate hand motions as to suffer with the old fashioned wired nunchuk.

I give this one a 9.5. An outstanding entry in the Wii catalogue library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun game with the kids, Jan. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wii Sports Resort w/ MotionPlus (Video Game)
This is one of the Wii games which is a lot of fun. This game is worth the money today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delivery and ease of receiving from Orion Express - Excellent, Dec 15 2013
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wii Sports Resort w/ MotionPlus (Video Game)
Haven't had the opportunity to play this game quite yet, as it is a gift for my kids for Christmas - but I've heard it's awesome...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A party game only., April 30 2013
By 
Joseph Affleck (New Westminster, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wii Sports Resort w/ MotionPlus (Video Game)
I bought this game for the more precise controls, since that aspect of wii sports really frustrated me. While it has superior controls and more games, I didn't really get any more enjoyment out of it than wii sports, which wasn't much. I don't know why this game is popular, I would only recommend it if you know you will have people to play with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Enjoyable, Jan. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wii Sports Resort w/ MotionPlus (Video Game)
We have enjoyed playing with Wii Sports Resort. Most of the adults visiting our home enjoy playing Wii games and all of our grand children love to play Wii games. An excellent choice for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wii Sports Resort, Dec 10 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wii Sports Resort w/ MotionPlus (Video Game)
J ai bien aimé ce jeu , je l aime encore et le recommendrais a toutes les personnes qui veulent s amuser en groupe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Whole Family Loves This Game, Aug. 11 2009
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wii Sports Resort w/ MotionPlus (Video Game)
This is one of those games that the kids (ages 5 and 6) love and can play at a level that is challenging for them without getting too frustrated and that the parents actually want to play with them. My 5 year old was thrilled when he shot all of my balloons in the dog fight game! I've even pulled out Wii Sports Resort after the kids go to bed and played without them a few nights.
My only complaint is that some of the games require you to buy an additional motion plus add on. I do actually notice that the remotes are a lot more accurate with them, but it is an added expense that I wasn't anticipating when I pre-ordered the game. Overall I'd say the whole family is definately getting enough play out of the game to justify the purchase though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Wii Games In My Opinion, May 6 2010
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wii Sports Resort w/ MotionPlus (Video Game)
Wii Sports as you probably know is the game that comes with the Nintendo Wii console when you buy it, seeing how much people enjoyed playing Wii sports Nintendo wanted to capitalize on its success by releasing another Wii Sports game. There`s certainly nothing wrong with that approach because this new Wii Sports Resort improves on the original game in more ways than one. In Resort you can select from 12 sports games to play, including 10 new games like Basketball and Frisbee or the improved Bowling and Golfing games. You also get a Wii-MotionPlus that goes on your Wiimote with the game, you will probably want to pick up another or a few more depending on how many Wiimotes you have but I`ll tell you right away you can`t play the game without it. If you think you`ve played this game before because you played Wii Sports think again, it`s not the same as you play different sports and each game has different controls and there are more games here than Wii Sports had.

The new games are Table Tennis, Cycling, Sky-Diving, Basketball, Canoeing, Frisbee, Swordplay, Archery, Wakeboard and power cruising. All make great use of the MotionPlus on the Wiimote which is a good thing, you don`t feel like you paid for something extra that won`t get used with this game. My favorites out of these mini-games as I call them are Basketball, Bowling, Swordplay and Cycling, there are so great games and some so-so games but everyone has their favorites out of the selection. I spent many hours playing Wii Sports Resort and it`s always a challenge to me! One thing I really liked is that in this Wii Sports once you`ve played each games you can unlock other categories for the same game ex; after playing bowling you unlock the 100 pins bowling and so on, there is a lot to unlock for these 12 game they will keep you busy for a while before you complete everything.

The MotionPlus was first introduced with Wii Sports Resort, I have to say it works very well and it does make the Wiimote a more precise controller and it`s very interesting. My only problem with it is that they get you to buy this great game with the MotionPlus, you are likely to get more of those for your controllers at around $20 each only to realize that you can only use MotionPlus for a few games including Wii Sports Resort. I wish that more Wii games could make use of it because unless I play Resort or one of the very few games (which are mostly sports) using the MotionPlus it`s practically collecting dust. MotionPlus is definitely fun so it`s unfortunate that there are not many games supporting it.

There are many great Wii games out there (even if there are many not so great games as well!) and I feel that this is one of those great games. Is it better than the original? Well I kinda miss boxing and tennis from Wii Sports to be honest (they will keep me playing this game) and wish that Nintendo would have come up with improved version like they did for bowling on Wii Sports Resort but overall I think it`s a better game than Wii Sports is. It`s another hit for Nintendo`s Wii, another great game that can be played by the whole family that is non-violent, entertaining an provides exercise (some game make you work more than others but it`s not as intense as one of the fitness game for the Wii but it still makes you move!) what more could you ask? I would say it`s an improvement on the original though there wasn`t much to improve in the first place, if you have a Wii strongly consider getting this for your game collection it will be worth it and hours will be spent playing it which is not a bad thing because of the exercise it gives you! 5 stars all the way!
Comment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware Buying Used...Mine Arrived scratched, March 14 2010
By 
N. Chan (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wii Sports Resort w/ MotionPlus (Video Game)
I'm new to Wii. It never occurred to me that the discs could get scratched and become non playable. Luckily, I took this disc to my local Nintendo office...they examined it declared it unplayable and GAVE me a new copy. Buyers beware of buying games used. Nintendo customer service was excellent. The game itself is tons of fun for adults and children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3fa4e7c)

This product

Wii Sports Resort w/ MotionPlus
Wii Sports Resort w/ MotionPlus by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
CDN$ 59.99 CDN$ 58.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews