Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild, Wild Ride
If you're a Baby Boomer, you'll remember this amazing series. If you're a Gen-Xer, you remember MacGiver. And if you're a Gen-Y-er, you've probably encountered the poor film version and you deserve to treat yourself to the genuine article. Before MacG there was Jim West, a handsome lady's man with tight pants and a weapon in his...boot. His sidekick, Artemus Gordon,...
Published on June 7 2011 by DJinTO

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible packaging of DVD's. Could have been done with some thought in design.
A lot of people say that on Amazon that reviews are for the show itself and not the product. I disagree. If you buy a pair of gloves you review the product. That is what I am doing here. The absolute worst DVD holder, most insane, ridiculous, what were they thinking box set probably of all time. The DVD's are in extremely flimsy cardboard holders that if you want to...
Published 4 months ago by scrappy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild, Wild Ride, June 7 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wild Wild West: The Complete TV Series (DVD)
If you're a Baby Boomer, you'll remember this amazing series. If you're a Gen-Xer, you remember MacGiver. And if you're a Gen-Y-er, you've probably encountered the poor film version and you deserve to treat yourself to the genuine article. Before MacG there was Jim West, a handsome lady's man with tight pants and a weapon in his...boot. His sidekick, Artemus Gordon, was a master of disguise, and together they fought the forces of evil on behalf of the Union under Ulysseus S. Grant. I loved everything about this series, the villains, the action, the plot twists, the last minute heroics. And this beautiful production brought it all back to me. Everything about it, from the packaging to the picture quality to the liner notes, is top-notch, and it's practically a gift--the entire series for an extremely low price! This is one of the best purchases I've made from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the wild wild west:the complete series, Aug. 30 2011
This review is from: The Wild Wild West: The Complete TV Series (DVD)
the series was great the first time i saw it when i was a kid and still is.robert conrad's commentary was great,although it would have been better if he had carried it on past the first volume.i bought the sets 1 at a time as they came out and i'm a little upset that i can't get the 2 tv movies that come in the complete set.i hope they make them available soon so i can complete my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible packaging of DVD's. Could have been done with some thought in design., March 28 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wild Wild West: The Complete TV Series (DVD)
A lot of people say that on Amazon that reviews are for the show itself and not the product. I disagree. If you buy a pair of gloves you review the product. That is what I am doing here. The absolute worst DVD holder, most insane, ridiculous, what were they thinking box set probably of all time. The DVD's are in extremely flimsy cardboard holders that if you want to access any of the DVD's, you literally have to dump them all out. All the DVD's were scratched as they were rubbing against each other. And I wanted this series so bad. There is a new box set coming out this year. Let's hope someone was thinking on the new one. But, no movies with the new set. The set I am returning is worth no more than $20.00 in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among the Very Best Television Ever Produced, July 22 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wild Wild West: The Complete TV Series (DVD)
Timeless. Immortal. From the inimitable theme song when theme songs were frequently better than the shows and an artform all by themselves - Hawaii 5.0, Gilligan's Island, Star Trek, Mary Tyler Moore, Mission Impossible - to the neato panels for commercial breaks, this show was brilliant: writing, directing, acting, stage design and even the stunts. Never took itself seriously but everyone involved obviously took the production seriously. There isn't a bad episode in all of these, and you have Robert Conrad offering commentary. It's all fun. Don't think McGiver, think Dr Who with better set design, casting, and no cheesy costumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy to have pre-ordered! Got mine on Thursday May 14th, May 15 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great packaging on the May 12 2015 reprint (or unlimited edition as it is listed at tvshowdvd.com), nice, tight and compact for 26 discs including all 4 seasons. The slip box contains to plastic DVD holders. In one is seasons 1-3 at 20 discs, and season 4 has its own DVD holder with 6 discs. Track listing is on the discs and in the cover sheet for each holder. As is typical with the CBS complete series cases, there are no episode guide booklets, although the design on the package is great and embossed!

The reality of the show being amazingly remastered, with cleaned up picture and sound from what I imagine were the original film print masters, makes the quality of show on a HD upconverting DVD player a beauty!

Having come from an age after the show was originally aired, I found the oddball stories clear and refreshing, with excellent actors in the guest roles. As a film and TV historian, I enjoy playing who's who with this show, and the 60s TV era it came from.

Robert Conrad, the production's lead actor, as James t. West, is arguably the inspiration for Star Trek's Captain James t. Kirk. Fans of either character should instantly identify with the lead as a true 60s invention: Rogue, persuader, charmer, hero.

The female guest actors are great! Their casting director really went to town to make this show stylish.

All in all, I would say that this show is a great priced purchased or any winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild Wild Ride, Jan. 3 2013
By 
Andre - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wild Wild West: The Complete TV Series (DVD)
This was one of my favorite show as a kid, I was shocked to see that they were in colour after the second season, but then again we had a black and white TV when I was growing op. :)
The show is just as fun to re-watch, I only vaguely remember the episodes here and there so it's almost all new to me and still holds up today. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worst disc holder I've ever come across, May 10 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wild Wild West: The Complete TV Series (DVD)
I found some of the episodes grainy. They really need to change how the discs are packaged. I found it very awkward getting discs in and out of the sleeve. Worst disc holder I've ever come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good transaction. Thanks, May 15 2015
By 
Clive Edwards "pegasus1" (Dalkeith, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wild Wild West: The Complete TV Series (DVD)
Item as described. Fast shipping. Good transaction. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wild Wild West: The Complete TV Series, Aug. 18 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wild Wild West: The Complete TV Series (DVD)
I LOVED THIS SERIES WHEN IT FIRST CAME OUT AS THE WEEKLY SERIES ON TV, SO WHEN I SAW IT AVAILABLE ON AMAZON I SENT FOR IT RIGHT AWAY. I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED.
I LIKED THE INVENTIONS THEY CAME UP WITH TO FIGHT THE VILLAINS. EACH STORY IS WELL WRITTEN AND SEEMS PLAUSIBLE. OF COURSE THEIR PRIVATE CAR ON THE TRAIN IS
CERTAINLY A PLUS. IT ALSO HAS IT'S OWN LITTLE INVENTIONS. ANOTHER REAL PLUS FOR ME IS THE LACK OF SWEARING. I THINK THIS SERIES WILL APPEAL TO THE OLDER
GENERATION. IT TAKES ONE BACK TO AN ERA WHEN LIFE WAS DIFFERENT THAN IT IS TODAY. THE CHARACTER JAMES WEST IS LIKE A WESTERN JAMES BOND.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like the brief audio introduction (by Robert Conrad) before each ..., Nov. 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wild Wild West: The Complete TV Series (DVD)
This is an enjoyable programme, the stars are almost equal in importance. I like the brief audio introduction (by Robert Conrad) before each episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wild Wild West: The Complete TV Series
The Wild Wild West: The Complete TV Series by Robert Conrad (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 122.99 CDN$ 71.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews