Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome!
I remember watching this classic every US Thanksgiving on TBS. That was then, this is now, and when i saw that you had this classic on DVD, i wanted it right away. I watch it both in B/W and in Technicolor, which thanks to DVD quality, it's a whole lot better than before. A true classic that is now mine to own, thank you.
Published 19 months ago by Anthony

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice 3D Conversion
If you're a fan of 1930s Hollywood flicks and 3D this is a pretty good combination. It is both colorized and converted to stereoscopic 3D. The colorization is about like most other colorized movies, a bit on the pale side. The 3D conversion is good. The film transfer, however, is a bit soft; it looks more like standard definition video than HD. This could be a result of...
Published 15 months ago by John K. Young


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Nice 3D Conversion, April 22 2013
By 
John K. Young - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you're a fan of 1930s Hollywood flicks and 3D this is a pretty good combination. It is both colorized and converted to stereoscopic 3D. The colorization is about like most other colorized movies, a bit on the pale side. The 3D conversion is good. The film transfer, however, is a bit soft; it looks more like standard definition video than HD. This could be a result of the condition of the original film, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome!, Dec 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I remember watching this classic every US Thanksgiving on TBS. That was then, this is now, and when i saw that you had this classic on DVD, i wanted it right away. I watch it both in B/W and in Technicolor, which thanks to DVD quality, it's a whole lot better than before. A true classic that is now mine to own, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend edition wins hands down, Nov. 21 2006
By 
I. Sherman (NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
March of the Wooden Soldiers has always been a holiday favorite of mine and thus I was saddened when the local NY stations stopped featuring the film on Thanksgiving. Interested in obtaining the best available version of the film, I first purchased the recommended Goodtimes and Passport reissues of the film. A few days later I came upon the most recently released Legend edition. On Sunday I compared the three DVDs.

No question, while I at one time might have agreed with earlier reviews claiming the Passport B&W version as the most accurate representation of the film, and the Goodtimes version as the best of the color incarnations, they both have now been blown out of the water with this latest Legend package. First, the Legend package includes both restored B&W and colorized versions of the film. In both cases the transfers are crisper, brighter, present higher detail resolution and are cleaner overall. In B&W the detail of Barnaby's coat, Stannie's legging patches and all graphics have been enhanced. The compromise might be the bit of edginess that goes along with such detail enhancement but overall its a small price to pay. As for the colorization, the detail resolution will have you marveling at a nuance in new color detail not even remotely evident in the Goodtimes edition. Second, well a better deal is just a better deal!

In short, Legend lives up to its name here. Anyone interested in slightly used Goodtimes and Passport DVDs? Please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE-This is NOT a complete print.....and more!, Sept. 17 2007
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read the all the glowing reviews of this DVD recently and thought for the modest price this might be something worth trying.Who knows,I thought,maybe someone has got it right finally.Well dear readers they have NOT got it right.It is not as bad as it might be but the over-glowing hype and deception of the previous reviews leads me to think that 1)they are not as informed as they should be about the product they are reviewing and 2)one or more might be getting paid by the company who produced this DVD.
Whatever the case is,here is the TRUTH about this release.
The prints used in this DVD is the COLOURIZED /91 Goldwyn print that we all remember.It says so,clearly at the end of the B&W version!! "Genius",the outfit who brings us this "marvel" in restoration has just remastered that colourized Goldwyn print and simply turned "off" the colours for its' B&W offering here!! The colourized version in turn has again been remastered and the washed out look that was extant on the original version print has just been cleaned up.The colours look clearer...that's all.It is still colourized and LOOKS it.
As far as completeness goes it isn't technically complete nor in its' original form.The original film opened with the music and a motion picture producers production code logo at the beginning.This is NOT here.Instead we are seeing the DVD companies' logo instead.On both versions.
There is a now famous frame jump in the sequence in the cave where the Boys and Bopeep and Tom-Tom are hiding from the Bogeymen.When the bogeymen pass the frame jumps quickly to them leaving their hiding spot.It is extant in BOTH versions so you know it's the exact same print they are using.At the end of the B&W version they at least leave in the Goldwyn credits but because this company did their own little "bit" in fiddling with the colour they left them out in the colourized version,making it seem like it's a new print.
What the company DID do is 1).Restore the original "Babes in Toyland" logo at the beginning.I hadn't seen this for years and it is a welcome sight.
and 2) Did some minor clean up on the Goldwyn print so in B&W it does look alot crisper.
But that's it folks,that's all.Nothing really new and improved here.You really do get what you pay for and at this price(and what they were including with it)the old alarm bells were going off big time in my head.But as I said I was at least willing to try,considering the glowing reviews I had read.
There are alot of little extras that come with this DVD.An animated Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer story(cheap),some vintage TV commercials and newsreel shorts(interesting),a not bad print of "Tree in the Test Tube"(their /43 colour war short),and some more slight tidbits.
Just to recap.
The prints on this DVD are the original Goldwyn colourized prints...just prettied up some.The colourized version has been worked on and isn't as bad as its' parent print(remember that awful washed out colour?) but it is still NOTHING to write home about.Someone will have to do ALOT better than this to convince me about the colourization process.Until then leave these movies as they were meant to be seen...please! The B&W version here is the colour version,with the colour off!!
Remember what a "restored,original version" is.It should start with the company credits in the pre-movie stage,not superimposed over or replacing the original opening credits of the movie itself.The movie should run in toto.After the end credits are finished(with NO superimposed or replaced company credits) THEN but only then should any thing else be seen.The movie itself from start to finish is on its' own...period.But that's not how this and so many other cheap companies such as this one present their product.
Also the jacket on this DVD like so many,many other jackets use those neat sounding words like "remastered","high definition","original","rare",etc,etc.It's becoming a favourite trick of alot of these cheap outfits who will try anything short of outright lying to get your hard earned money.Don't be fooled and read between the lines.And while I rarely comment on previous reviews,I'd just like to say shame on them for also being a part of this deception,willingly or otherwise.
This company "Genius", should try and get some.Couldn't hurt.
The Boys and we deserve alot better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Babes in Toyland" FINALLY comes to DVD!!, March 5 2009
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: March of the Wooden Soldiers (DVD)
It is sad that Laurel and Hardy fans in North America have been given the short end of the stick for so many years.The rights to all of their shorts(both silent and sound)and their movies(specifically the Hal Roach catalogue)have changed hands more times than I would care to count.It is a sorry legacy of greed,neglect and indifference.Well,I'm happy to report that we finally have something good to celebrate for a change!
MGM studios has taken the proverbial bull by the horns and have elected to release their own print of "Babes in Toyland".Yes you heard me,NOT "March of the Wooden Soldiers"(the slip case cover title) but "Babes in Toyland".This release has the original opening and closing titles;and it is marvellous to look at.
It is a beautiful print and the best looking release of the movie I have seen.There have been alot of pretenders to the throne over the last while,some pretty pathetic ones at that,but finally we get to see the film as close to its' original release state as we can get.The original was 90 minutes long and while seen only occasionally in the early TV years it was eventually pared down to the length we have here,about 78 minutes.And that is the version we have had unfortunately for decades.
MGM caught me totally off guard with this one,but I won't complain in the least because I'm just so happy to finally see it out there.I AM worried a little though that by putting "March of the Wooden Soldiers" on the cover that many fans may give it a pass by thinking it is just another version among many of that film.
It begs the question though,how many more Laurel and Hardy features do MGM hold?They were the distributor for Hal Roach and if they have this movie in their archives it makes some sense that they would possibly have the original full length version and many others,if not all their movies AND shorts.Unfortunately,not holding the rights to their films,there is little MGM can do but sit tight.
Whatever the answers,we must thank MGM studios for taking the initiative and releasing this charming film,for all the Laurel and Hardy fans here in North America and in the best condition I've seen.Let us give MGM the "Laurels" they deserve and our "Hardy" endorsement by buying the most definitive version to date
of the Laurel and Hardy classic "Babes in Toyland".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RESTORED TO ABSOLUTE PERFECTION, Dec 22 2006
By 
The Critic "Movie Maniac" (Windsor, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Without a doubt Legend Films/Genius Entertainment has given us the best DVD version of "March of The Wooden Soldiers" I've ever seen. The newly restored black and white version is truly amazing and the picture quality is spectacular. The restored black and white version is why I bought this DVD from Legend Films. I've never been in favor of colorizing a classic movie like "March of the Wooden Soldiers" but after watching it in color all I can say is wow! The colors are positively vibrant and they add a new dimension to the overall viewing experience. Legends black & white DVD version beats Passport's version hands down and blows Goodtimes version out of the water. This DVD version is packed with tons of extra's.

DVD Features :

-Original theatrical trailer
-Christmas trailer gallery
-Bonus animated movie: rudolph the red-nosed reindeer
-Rare laurel & hardy short film
-The ultimate holiday bonus package including: Christmas toyshop, 'twas the Night before Christmas, Merry Christmas cartoon, classic toy commercials, vintage holiday film rarities
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "March of the Wooden Soldiers (1934) ... Laurel & Hardy ... Legend Films (2006)", Sept. 8 2007
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Legend Films presents "MARCH OF THE WOODEN SOLDIERS" (Released 14 December 1934) (77 mins) (Fully Restored/Dolby Digitally Remastered) --- now in COLOR and Glorious Black and White --- Babes in Toyland (re-released in 1948 as March of the Wooden Soldiers, alternative titles Laurel and Hardy in Toyland, Revenge Is Sweet, Wooden Soldiers) is a 1934 musical comedy film starring Laurel and Hardy. Based on Victor Herbert's popular 1903 operetta Babes in Toyland, the film was produced by Hal Roach, directed by Charley Rogers and Gus Meins, and released to theatres on November 12, 1934 by Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.

Under Gus Meins (Director), Charles Rogers (Director), Hal Roach (Producer), Frank R. Butler (Screenwriter), Nick Grinde (Screenwriter), Francis Corby (Cinematographer), Art Lloyd (Cinematographer), Victor Herbert (From Musical by), Harry Jackson (Musical Direction/Supervision), Howard Jackson (Musical Direction/Supervision), Glen MacDonough (Songwriter), Bert Jordan (Editor), William Terhune (Editor) - - - - The 1934 version likewise features most of the characters in the stage version, but, again, an entirely new plot --- The film featured only five musical numbers from the enormous stage score, though that was plenty for a musical with only a 78-minute running time. Included in the film, in the order in which they were performed, were "Toyland", "Never Mind Bo-Peep", "Castle in Spain", "Go To Sleep (Slumber Deep)", and "March of the Toys", an instrumental piece and perhaps the most famous number in the score --- Almost all of the songs were performed by Bo Peep and Tom-Tom and none of them were performed by Laurel and/or Hardy (though they briefly danced/marched to "March of the Toys") --- the performances still hold up well in this day and age.

the cast includes:
Stan Laurel ... Stannie Dum
Oliver Hardy ... Ollie Dee
Charlotte Henry ... Little Bo-Peep
Felix Knight ... Tom-Tom Piper
Henry Brandon ... Silas Barnaby (as Harry Kleinbach)
Florence Roberts ... Mother Widow Peep
Virginia Karns ... Mother Goose
Marie Wilson ... Mary Quite Contrary
Johnny Downs ... Little Boy Blue
Richard Alexander ... King's Guard

BIOS
1. Stan Laurel (aka: Arthur Stanley Jefferson)
Date of Birth: 16 June 1890 - Ulverston, Cumbria, England, UK
Date of Death: 23 February 1965 - Santa Monica, California

2. Oliver Hardy (aka: Oliver Norvell Hardy)
Date of Birth: 18 January 1892 - Harlem, Georgia
Date of Death: 7 August 1957 - North Hollywood, California

In 2006, the complete print was restored and colorized by Legend Films, using the latest technology --- Although the Legend Films release was advertised under its reissue title, both the color and black and white prints featured the original title and opening credits --- Both colorized versions correctly depict Stan's hair as being auburn, not medium brown as it appears in other colorized Laurel and Hardy movies.

Laurel and Hardy were an American-based comedy duo who became famous during the early half of the 20th century for their work in motion pictures --- The members of the duo were the thin British-born-and-reared Stan Laurel and his heavier American partner from the state of Georgia, Oliver Hardy --- The pair are considered among the most famous and finest double acts in cinema history --- Each brought talents from his solo career to the team.

The two comedians worked together briefly in 1919 on The Lucky Dog released in 1921 --- After a period appearing separately in several short films for the Hal Roach studio during the 1920s, they began appearing in movie shorts together in 1926, and Laurel and Hardy officially became a team in 1927 --- They became Hal Roach's most famous and lucrative stars --- Among their most popular and successful films were the features Sons of the Desert (1933), Way Out West (1937), and Block-Heads (1938); and the shorts Big Business (1929), Helpmates (1932), and their Academy Award-winning short, The Music Box (1932).

The pair left the Roach studio in 1940, then appeared in eight low-budget comedies for 20th Century Fox and Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer --- From 1945 to 1950, they did not appear on film and concentrated on their stage show --- They made their last film, Atoll K, in France in 1950 and 1951 before retiring from the screen --- In total, they appeared together in 106 films --- They starred in 40 short sound films, 32 short silent films and 23 feature films, and in the remaining 11 films, had a guest or cameo appearance. (From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)

Legend Films can restore, colorize and release many of the classic earliest black and white films --- a patented coloring and remastering process makes each film picture perfect plus more vivd than ever --- no one can resist collecting every title that Legend Films releases.

Hats off and thanks to Barry B. Sandrew Ph.D. (Founder, COO & CTO) and his Legend Films Staff --- looking forward to more high quality releases from the vintage era of the '20s, '30s & '40s --- order your copy now from Amazon where there are plenty of copies available on DVD --- if you enjoyed this title, why not check out Legend Films where they are experts in releasing long forgotten films and treasures to the collector.

Total Time: 77 mins on DVD ~ Legend Films. ~ (11/07/2006)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Dec 27 2010
Excellent film, my Dad was extremely happy when he got it, brings back memories he said. I recommend this film for the young and old. The service and delivery was fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great holiday movie, May 26 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Some like it colored and some don't. Ether way this based on a 1903 Victor Herbert operetta, film released in 1934 as "Babes in Toyland," and is still fun to watch.

Now the basic plot is to keep Mother Peep's (Florence Roberts) shoe from being foreclosed on by the evil landlord Silas Barnaby (Henry Brandon) when this fails Bo Peep has to marry Barnaby to keep the shoe. Now to keep Little Bo Peep from having to marry Barnaby, it involves Barnaby being tricked into marrying Stanley Dum dressed up as Bo in Bo Peep's place. Naturally Barnaby can not be fooled long and must have his revenge by letting lose the bogeymen from their caverns to destroy Toyland.

Does he succeed in his evil ways?

Who can stop him and how?

All in all it is a must to complete the holiday collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "I Don't Love 'im!", April 8 2004
By A Customer
What a pleasure to find March of the Wooden Soldiers in glorious black & white! This Passport Video release (listed by Amazon as Koch Entertainment for some unfathomable reason) presumably contains the full-length version (77+ minutes) and is of very high quality. Audio is nice clear mono, and the video is just fine--flicker occurs occasionally, but nothing major and the images are sharp with good contrast. One is easily able to navigate the chapters and can scan in either direction and pause, which sometimes isn't the case with budget DVD's. It would be nice if subtitles were available (I have foreign-born friends who like to "see" and hear English simultaneously), as well as a printed list of chapters, but these are minor quibbles. A bonus short of the boys' first screen appearance together is also included and is lots of fun.
As much as I detest colorization of black & white classics, both in principle and for aesthetic reasons, I've read so many favorable reviews of the colorized version of this film that I'd be willing to give it a shot, especially considering its price. One reviewer wrote that she remembers seeing a hand-tinted print of this film at the movies when she was a child in the 50's, so clearly there's precedent. It would be nice to get a choice of both on one disk--maybe something along this line will turn up eventually. In the meantime, my recommendation is that first-time viewers see it the way audiences in 1934 saw it and then move on to "color" if so inclined. Either way, this is a fabulous film--it's about time justice was done to it, but better late than never. Thank goodness I no longer have to depend on the whims of local TV stations with their edits and commercials to watch one of my holiday favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

March of the Wooden Soldiers
March of the Wooden Soldiers by Stan Laurel (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 15.98 CDN$ 12.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews