Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It WORKS at -30 C (-22F)
I was a little dubious that this would work in the real cold, and about its range through walls, but it works great. This might be because I used premium Li batteries in the remove sensor. It has been -30 C for quite a few mights lately and this thermometer has not had a problem. With regard to range, the thermometer is about 35' from the base unit and the signal must...
Published 14 months ago by nishi

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Readings way off
After a few months of comparing the reported temperatures of this unit with that of two other thermometers and the TV weather, this device is consistently three to five degrees over what any other source reports for the outdoor temperature. I've seen it as much as 7 degrees above the others. Totally useless for this reason. Both the remote sensor outdoors and the base...
Published 2 months ago by Outlander


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It WORKS at -30 C (-22F), Jan. 7 2014
By 
nishi - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology WS-9160U-IT Digital Thermometer with Indoor/Outdoor Temperature (Kitchen)
I was a little dubious that this would work in the real cold, and about its range through walls, but it works great. This might be because I used premium Li batteries in the remove sensor. It has been -30 C for quite a few mights lately and this thermometer has not had a problem. With regard to range, the thermometer is about 35' from the base unit and the signal must go through through an outside wall and a garage wall. No problem even on the cold nights. Be aware that this unit displays a 12-hour clock and Fahrenheit, or a 24-hour clock and Celsius. Since I prefer the 24 hour clock and Celsius, that was fine for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOve it, Oct. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology WS-9160U-IT Digital Thermometer with Indoor/Outdoor Temperature (Kitchen)
Left a la crosse digital thermometer in my last home that was just sold. Missed knowing the outside temperature. This one is considerably better than the last one as the numbers are more than twice as big. Great for old tired eyes..lol...thanks for reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars perfect, Oct. 18 2011
This review is from: La Crosse Technology WS-9160U-IT Digital Thermometer with Indoor/Outdoor Temperature (Kitchen)
Perfect is the right title. Cheap, easy to install,works like a charm. I have had it for 2 months an I do not know how long the batteries last yet. Talking about batteries, it may be a small inconvenience. You need to go buy 2 different type of alkaline batteries (2xAA and 2 X AAA) to make it work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Readings way off, Jan. 21 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology WS-9160U-IT Digital Thermometer with Indoor/Outdoor Temperature (Kitchen)
After a few months of comparing the reported temperatures of this unit with that of two other thermometers and the TV weather, this device is consistently three to five degrees over what any other source reports for the outdoor temperature. I've seen it as much as 7 degrees above the others. Totally useless for this reason. Both the remote sensor outdoors and the base station indoors are off, the remote being off by a larger amount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Terrible customer service from La Crosse Tech, product seems O.K., Feb. 25 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology WS-9160U-IT Digital Thermometer with Indoor/Outdoor Temperature (Kitchen)
Unclear set up instructions so picked up the phone as advised on the leaflet. No 800 number, so it is a long distance call to the U.S. Auto message comes on, mumbles for a while and I get disconnected. I dial again, get through the same recording, pick the right option out of many, a short wait and I hear some noises, no greeting, just noises. It sounds like someone got caught off guard and is just setting up his headset. So I call out repeatedly through the noises. Finally, a male voice comes on and asks me for my phone number. I have to repeat the number three times. Then, he needs to know my first name and last name so he can set up a case. Fancy customer service software, I suppose. Too bad it isn't matched by the same quality of manpower. Then, I need to tell him how long I have owned the product. In the end, I got my answer. This whole unpleasant incident could have been avoided if someone put one extra word ("release") in the set up instructions. I have put the batteries and attached the outside sensor. So far, the device seems to be working well. It's been half an hour already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work in the cold, Sept. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology WS-9160U-IT Digital Thermometer with Indoor/Outdoor Temperature (Kitchen)
This unit has a nice big display and gives accurate temperature between the inside and outside unit when they are at room temperature. I set up the remote unit outside and it worked fine until the temperature went near freezing. The sensor temperature would read higher and higher temperatures until it would show OF even though there was frost on the ground. I changed to brand new batteries and reset the unit with the same results. It is also disappointing that the unit will only read Celsius with the 24 hour time set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Great, Feb. 21 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology WS-9160U-IT Digital Thermometer with Indoor/Outdoor Temperature (Kitchen)
I bought it to monitor my indoor temperature and it does an admirable job. I would heartily recommend this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice big display, Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology WS-9160U-IT Digital Thermometer with Indoor/Outdoor Temperature (Kitchen)
This does everything that I want, nice big display. I have had it for 6 months now and still going strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, April 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology WS-9160U-IT Digital Thermometer with Indoor/Outdoor Temperature (Kitchen)
It does a great job with the temperature. You have to select a (24 hour clock & Celsius) or (12 hour clock & Fahrenheit). You must put the batteries in the sensor first otherwise it will not work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPER EASY READIND, April 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Crosse Technology WS-9160U-IT Digital Thermometer with Indoor/Outdoor Temperature (Kitchen)
Excellent easy to read with big numbers. Works even in extreme temperatures! I love it and I highly reccommemd it. Excellent deal for the price and super fast shipping with Amazon.!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

La Crosse Technology WS-9160U-IT Digital Thermometer with Indoor/Outdoor Temperature
CDN$ 63.40 CDN$ 38.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews