Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starlost, but found again
Wow;

Thought this show was gone and long forgotten Great to be able to watch 1973 Canadian Sci Fi again. Hard to believe this show is now 36 years old.

Comes in a nice box set with a glossy informational insert about the series. The prints are in reasonable shape and are as good as can be expected from a show shot in 1973 with video tape. Even looks...
Published on Feb. 7 2009 by Doppleganger

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed..
Although electronically enhanced, the chroma key seems to be more obvious than remembered... It is true that it has now been over 40 years, so maybe my memory fails me... Brings me back to earlier years... Really enjoyed... Many thanks...
Published 1 month ago by Gilles Bois


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starlost, but found again, Feb. 7 2009
This review is from: The Starlost - The Complete Series (1973) [Import] (DVD)
Wow;

Thought this show was gone and long forgotten Great to be able to watch 1973 Canadian Sci Fi again. Hard to believe this show is now 36 years old.

Comes in a nice box set with a glossy informational insert about the series. The prints are in reasonable shape and are as good as can be expected from a show shot in 1973 with video tape. Even looks quite good on the big screen TV.

A must for anyone who enjoyed watching this show back in the good old days. Some of the guest stars are well known from other sci fi series. (Barry Morse, space 1999 and John Calicos, Battlestar Galactica)

A cult classic worth picking up..enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Canadian Sci-fi classic, Sept. 27 2009
This review is from: The Starlost - The Complete Series (1973) [Import] (DVD)
While the stories of how the creater of the show thought it was SO bad that he would only allow a Pen Name to be used in the Credits; the show is actually not that bad; and the theme is still kinda catchy today. It boasts a number of actors from other Sci-fi series (Walter Koenig & John Colicos from Star Trek; Barry Morse from Space 1999) and Canadian actors (Llyod Bochner & Trudy young) to name a few. The series made a wonderful transfer to DVD in both sound and picture (unlike the reviews of the VHS episodes). It's well worth the price for the nostalgic Sci-fi buffs. The ARK was somwhat inspired from the models used in Silent Running. Silent Running (Widescreen)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Classic SciFi, July 12 2009
By 
Dr. Keith W. Wilson (New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Starlost - The Complete Series (1973) [Import] (DVD)
Totally missed this from my childhood: was delighted to finally see it released on DVD. Some very familiar actors on the show will be known to this generation. The quality is really quite good given the age of the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soo low budget, Such high ideals, Feb. 17 2012
This review is from: The Starlost - The Complete Series (1973) [Import] (DVD)
Ok, so a rebel, a pretty girl and an Amish guy run off in the night.
Oh wait. They`re all Amish. On a spaceship. With green foam accents *everywhere* (it must have been on sale).

I watched this as a kid and remember wishing it was made better because the storylines and concepts were so good.
I sat down to watch them as an adult and was pleasantly surprised. Yeah, the production is cheesy (did I mention the green foam) but it was really an enjoyable watch. The worst thing I can say is that it gets a little draggy in places because they didn`t seem to understand the concepts of space-adventure or action-sequence very well. The concepts behind the stories, and some of the special effects even, were really interesting. I spotted plotlines and even a few set designs that were lifted and used by later sci-fi series.
If you remember this one fondly at all, or are interested in early sci-fi,
I`d recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed.., July 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Starlost - The Complete Series (1973) [Import] (DVD)
Although electronically enhanced, the chroma key seems to be more obvious than remembered... It is true that it has now been over 40 years, so maybe my memory fails me... Brings me back to earlier years... Really enjoyed... Many thanks...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was a great "B" level series with an excellent story plot, July 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Starlost - The Complete Series (1973) [Import] (DVD)
This was a great "B" level series with an excellent story plot. I love this classic and would like to see it re-made with all the bells and whistles. Only one season made as I believe it wasn't intended to be successful by the producers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Sci-Fi Buffs, July 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Starlost - The Complete Series (1973) [Import] (DVD)
This series features lots of Canadian actors in their early days. My husband and I watch a couple of episodes every weekend, and we find it so entertaining. It's a bit quirky in places, but lots of fun to watch. Some of the special effects and scientific concepts are ahead of their time. I think it's a must-have for sci-fi buffs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, June 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Starlost - The Complete Series (1973) [Import] (DVD)
I thought i would sit back and watch a campy 70s show but it still had an appeal that I didn't expect. The premise and story lines were still compelling and held my intrest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Canadian Sci Fi Favourite., Dec 19 2013
By 
William A. Stonier "Reader of many" (In a raindrop B.C.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Starlost - The Complete Series (1973) [Import] (DVD)
This Canadian made sci fi series Starring Keir Dullea was a favourite of mine in the 1970's. Author Harlan Ellison wrote the original screenplay but would only allow his alias Corwainer Bird to appear in the credits after withdrawing from the project.. Plagued by budgetary and technical difficulties this tv series still managed to have many famous Canadian and US actors playing roles. Sadly it only went on for two seasons. Rumours abound about the story being turned into a movie. Sony Pictures was apparently the last to option the film rights but there has been no word since. With the 2 extras, a short making of piece starring Dullea and Douglas Trumbu of Silent Running fame and a 16mm shot promo piece this is a must have for any Starlost fan. I think it really is time for a Canadian remake but this time with proper scripts and a decent budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy., Nov. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Starlost - The Complete Series (1973) [Import] (DVD)
Surprisingly good for a 1970's Canadian TV production. The show is an obvious Silent Running rip off(used the same models). The quality of the DVD is very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Starlost - The Complete Series (1973) [Import]
CDN$ 32.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews