Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breville Kettle
Over the years, I have gone through quite a number of kettles, electric or no and quite frankly, the new Breville is ans will be hard to beat. Love the variable temperature ratings that take the guess work out of boiling and I am delighted with how quiet the product is. Thumbs up all the way !!!
Published on April 26 2012 by Tony

versus
70 of 82 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The viewing window and lid contain BPA
First, this kettle is gorgeous! I bought it for it's beauty and easy to use variable temperature and the fact it had a viewing window to easily see how much water was inside. Before I used it, I emailed Breville to find out what type of plastic the viewing window was made from. The response I received was a defensive email about how polycarbonate and BPA are safe for food...
Published on Jan. 9 2010 by Mama G


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breville Kettle, April 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breville 1.8L Variable Temperature Kettle BKE820XL (Kitchen)
Over the years, I have gone through quite a number of kettles, electric or no and quite frankly, the new Breville is ans will be hard to beat. Love the variable temperature ratings that take the guess work out of boiling and I am delighted with how quiet the product is. Thumbs up all the way !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars almost perfect, Feb. 21 2012
This review is from: Breville 1.8L Variable Temperature Kettle BKE820XL (Kitchen)
Positives:
amazing build quality
Heats up fast
Warms to set temperature to avoid boiling
Has hold button to keep tempurature

Negatives:
Once kettle is removed from base hold button is released, it should remain on for short time.
For pour over it should have goose neck spout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 82 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The viewing window and lid contain BPA, Jan. 9 2010
By 
This review is from: Breville 1.8L Variable Temperature Kettle BKE820XL (Kitchen)
First, this kettle is gorgeous! I bought it for it's beauty and easy to use variable temperature and the fact it had a viewing window to easily see how much water was inside. Before I used it, I emailed Breville to find out what type of plastic the viewing window was made from. The response I received was a defensive email about how polycarbonate and BPA are safe for food contact and this kettle is safe. I've been reading the research on BPA and polycarbonate for years, so they didn't share anything new with me. I would have preferred their response to simply state "polycarbonate" and then offer to provide me with more information if I had any concerns.

Regardless, they weren't going to change my mind. I don't feel comfortable with polycarbonate around my boiling (or close to boiling) water and in this day and age where BPA is a huge uproar, I am super surprised that Breville came out with a brand new kettle containing polycarbonate. I would have loved to see this kettle have a glass viewing window and lid, that would have been super! Especially with the price point they are selling this at. Having it be a "toxin free" kettle with no plastic would have been a great marketing move.

I did reply and thank them for the information and politely told them I would be returning it due to the polycarbonate, but that if they came out with a version that had glass instead of polycarbonate, I'd snap it up in a second. I received no further reply from Breville.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kettle Stand Remains Hot Even When Not In Use, March 4 2012
This review is from: Breville 1.8L Variable Temperature Kettle BKE820XL (Kitchen)
The kettle features were what I hoped: individual temperature settings. However, the stand was very hot even when not in use. I contacted the Breville customer line. They told me that they were aware of this and advised me to always unplug the kettle when not in use. Unfortunately, I am not the only person using the kettle and so I will not use it for fire safety concerns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, Dec 16 2009
By 
Alan W. Scobie (Ottawa, ON CAN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breville 1.8L Variable Temperature Kettle BKE820XL (Kitchen)
We have had this product for over 6 months now and are very happy with it. Why? It boils very quickly, temperature at all settings is very accurate (I tested it with highly accurate thermopen)and of course they are right about having separate temp's for different teas. They even have a unique plug that is easier to remove from the socket. Highly recommended.

Update: Over one year now and still very happy with this kettle. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, May 30 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breville 1.8L Variable Temperature Kettle BKE820XL (Kitchen)
Been using this non-stop since I got it. Makes a few concerning noises when it first starts to heat up, but no problems with it so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great product!, April 15 2013
By 
C. Ellis (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breville 1.8L Variable Temperature Kettle BKE820XL (Kitchen)
My daughter and myself are experimenting with all types of teas. It is very convenient having the different temperature settings as having invested money in premium teas, this enables us to brew these teas for optimum flavour without burning them.

Although this kettle is a little more expensive than others, it is totally worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Would have loved it, but BPA in the viewing window, Feb. 6 2013
By 
Dave R (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Breville 1.8L Variable Temperature Kettle BKE820XL (Kitchen)
As others have highlighted this has the potential to be a great kettle, but with the BPA in the viewing window, I feel it's unsafe for my family. I appreciate Breville in its honesty confirming previous reviewers' claims that is is true (it is), I would hope that they listen to the consumers and change the window to a safer material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, May 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breville 1.8L Variable Temperature Kettle BKE820XL (Kitchen)
This is a great kettle, well built, reasonable price.

Now i don't burn green tea! Tastes a lot better that way;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BREVILLE 1.8L KETTLE, May 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breville 1.8L Variable Temperature Kettle BKE820XL (Kitchen)
Works very well and it looks great, well designed. Once again, Bravo Breville for having another great product. I personally like the choice of temperature it offers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breville 1.8L Variable Temperature Kettle BKE820XL
CDN$ 169.99 CDN$ 119.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews