Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The universal metalhead
A great dvd, as expected. This is the story of metal in places you would have never thought of and it clearly demonstrates the universality of the language of music and how the essence of freedom lies in yourself and not in the often restrictive, cultural laws.
The insight on how music and culture interact is brilliantly achieved through the interviews and the...
Published on Feb. 21 2009 by Anka A.

versus
1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars yellow press, sensationalist
I found that it was kind of interesting... but I didn't like the idea of calling a documentary "global metal" when it isn't, there where only shots made in places that you might call "weird countries" for your little minds. Why there is nothing about the us, uk, germany, etc and only places like the south of america, middle east and asia? what about france, spain,...
Published on March 6 2009 by Virginia Silva Munoz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The universal metalhead, Feb. 21 2009
By 
Anka A. (Vancouver BC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Global Metal / Global Métal v.f. (Bilingual) (DVD)
A great dvd, as expected. This is the story of metal in places you would have never thought of and it clearly demonstrates the universality of the language of music and how the essence of freedom lies in yourself and not in the often restrictive, cultural laws.
The insight on how music and culture interact is brilliantly achieved through the interviews and the testimonials of the fans. You're taken on a "metal" journey through Brazil, India, China, Israel, Indonesia and some Arab countries. If you are a metalhead, these are stories you'll empathize with. If you are a metalhead living in the "free" world, taking your favorite music for granted, you won't believe your eyes and ears.
One "stop" that is probably missing on the map of this world travel is Europe and its ex-communist countries where Metal has been and has increasingly become very popular among people of all ages. Looking forward to a new dvd from Sam and Scot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another good documentary, Dec 12 2008
By 
B. Pewo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Global Metal / Global Métal v.f. (Bilingual) (DVD)
i've been waiting for quit some time for Sam Dunn to do another documentary of metal. and being a metal fan of metal bands outside the states of america i was glad to see the documentary going across the globe. and of course i wish it would have been longer but hey, i enjoyed it anyway getting to know of bands i never heard about, like Melechesh. it's got great DVD extras. just awesome. Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even better second time around, Sept. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Global Metal / Global Métal v.f. (Bilingual) (DVD)
They did it again!! Only this time, they've introduced us to multiple cultures from around the world, and how rock music has been influential in their societies. I learned a lot from this film, its amazing how difficult it has been, and still is in some cases, in some parts of the world to get western music, metal in particular. Again, as in their first movie A Headbangers Journey, the interviews are excellent. Sam Dunn, being a long time banger himself, can totally identify with metal people, and they seem to feel free to talk to him about some intimate topics; they trust him, because he gets it, hes one of them. The interview with Sepultura's Max Cavalera, and with Bruce Dickinson are worth the price. Buts theres so much more. Its brilliant actually, and again, essential viewing for metal fans and curious onlookers alike. Absolutely beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Sequel Possible, May 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Global Metal / Global Métal v.f. (Bilingual) (DVD)
I absolutely loved the first film and Global Metal does not disappoint. I had no idea how far metal had spread and it makes me proud to be a Metalhead. Yet another perfect and needed addition to any Metalhead's collection.

I must add a comment as I did see this in other reviews, "This isn't really global". As Dunn said himself, other than North America and Europe, you don't really think metal has made it in other places. Showing off the Middle East, South America, and Asia is a huge eye-opener and by definition makes Metal a global genre. Ignore these people and enjoy the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Present, March 3 2013
By 
Maureen Moore (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Global Metal / Global Métal v.f. (Bilingual) (DVD)
This was a present for my grandson who really loved it.
He said it opened him up to lots of new ideas and bands
and inspired him on his journey into music.
Extremely interesting viewpoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Dec 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Global Metal / Global Métal v.f. (Bilingual) (DVD)
Prompt and precise service very pleased thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars yellow press, sensationalist, March 6 2009
By 
Virginia Silva Munoz (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Global Metal / Global Métal v.f. (Bilingual) (DVD)
I found that it was kind of interesting... but I didn't like the idea of calling a documentary "global metal" when it isn't, there where only shots made in places that you might call "weird countries" for your little minds. Why there is nothing about the us, uk, germany, etc and only places like the south of america, middle east and asia? what about france, spain, canada?
I don't undestand that... this documentary is not well done. A headbangers journey I really enjoyed it but this one pissed me off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Global Metal / Global Métal v.f. (Bilingual)
CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews