Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Every human should own this collection
Honestly, this is the only country I have, and I listen to it regularly. Johnny Cash has an amazing voice. I own lots of headbanging music and Spanish pop, sprinkled with an eclectic bunch of classics like Cat Stevens, The Beatles, Simon and Garfunkel, Boy Dylan and of course the good old 80's like Duran Duran, The Police, Journey and so on, but this album is a nice...
Published on Aug. 22 2002 by Samuel Krikorian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Cash
These all may be hits but it depends how many Johnny Cash songs you can take, the collection of songs takes you through the 50's and 60's and 70's career of Johnny Cash. All of the songs are all hits but that does not mean you will like them all, A boy named sue is classic and many others but this is old style classic country music from Cash you hear this kind of stuff...
Published on Jan. 4 2001 by Roy Levins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Every human should own this collection, Aug. 22 2002
By 
Samuel Krikorian (Charlotte, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
Honestly, this is the only country I have, and I listen to it regularly. Johnny Cash has an amazing voice. I own lots of headbanging music and Spanish pop, sprinkled with an eclectic bunch of classics like Cat Stevens, The Beatles, Simon and Garfunkel, Boy Dylan and of course the good old 80's like Duran Duran, The Police, Journey and so on, but this album is a nice change of pace. It is jammed with stuff you've heard snippets of in movies, radio or just pop culture in general. With "Ring of Fire", "Ghost Riders in the Sky", "Folsom Prison Blues", "Man in Black", "John Henry's Hammer", and "A Boy Named Sue" you get the huge hits that almost anyone can hum, even the non-country listener like me. I was surprised I liked the other ten tracks as well. "Don't Take Your Guns to Town", "Ira Hayes" and "Sunday Morning Coming Down" will put a lump in your throat in good country music style. Get this album, you won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars is not enough for the greatest man in country music, Feb. 11 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
I have trouble describing the importance of these songs and their artist's greatness with words. The simplicity to his songs is the essence of his legend! He created sounds and rhythms that will always be "IN". He came from a time of other great musicians like Elvis, and Jerry Lee Lewis and stood fast with his own style. Just like the labor, hard and brutal, sung his songs he forged a foundation to become one of the greatest musicians of not just country music, but of all time. His music is immortal. I strongly recommend this album or any other CASH album, especially the "Essentail Johnny Cash". In closing I just wish I had the chance to thank Johnny Cash in person for his work and his legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 16 tunes you need to have, May 31 2000
By 
J. Rossi (Downers Grove, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
While the Amazon review was correct in asserting that 16 songs hardly does justice to the legacy of Johnny Cash, this is still a fine starting point showcasing the lyrical pinache that has made Cash endure for decades. Everybody knows "Ring of Fire" and "A Boy Named Sue," but don't forget "The Legend of John Henry's Hammer," "Daddy Sang Bass," "One Piece at a Time," "The Ballad of Ira Hayes" and the other 10 songs here. Every song is a story detailing the lives of the neighbors you never had in Nebraska. Everyone will like Johnny Cash at some point in their lives so do yourself a favor: buy this and begin the journey down the road with the Man in Black.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Collection of Cash, Sept. 16 2003
By 
"maziris" (Columbus, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
If you're either not familiar with Johnny Cash or are "going back to the basics", this is a good to start out with, especially if you do not have any Johnny Cash in your music collection. This album spotlights his most known songs from his earlier years, including classics such as "I Walk The Line", "Daddy Sang Bass", "Boy Named Sue", and "Ring of Fire". This is a good collection and I find myself putting this in the CD player when I want to hear good, classic Cash. 40 years later, the classics still sound as good as yesterday and hearing this CD reminds me why I've always loved his music. The legend will not be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Johnny, Oct. 4 2001
By 
Avalon Don "Avalon Don" (Huntington Beach, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
This is as good as any single disc out there for people wanting only one Johnny Cash hits collection. ( Sorry, you can't put almost fifty years of recordings on one album or box set. ) This cd covers his early period, the live prison songs and the rest of the best. Much has been said about "The Man In Black", for me my favorite part of his music is how well he does train songs, which are found on "Get Rhythm/Story Of Trains And Rivers". He's also one of the best concert performers I've ever seen. Every fan of music needs one Cash album. So, start here and follow up after hearing the various tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Coming of Age, Jan. 6 2003
By 
"cmmonty" (Tempe, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
For all of you who are familiar with Cash, what follows is nothing new. However, for those of you who haven't heard of Johnny, read carefully. Johnny Cash is a lyrical genius---albeit a very politically incorrect one. Anyone who hasn't listened to this legend chime off about women, booze, and all other things country/folk is missing out on a musical experience. Throughout the album Cash blends a tone of voice and song to bring his lyrics to life. I hate typical country but this is well beyond anything you'll hear played on country radio stations. I strongly encourage you to sample "A Boy Named Sue"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For those who need an introduction to Johnny Cash, Aug. 27 2001
By 
Neal Reynolds (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
This is probably the most comprehensive single CD of Johnny Cash's best, and is for those who aren't ready to invest in the more intensive boxed set, "The Essential Johnny Cash". If you're impressed, then go to the boxed set, or to "Ring of Fire" which focusses on the earlier part of his career. The only cut likely to be of interest to those more familiar with the singer is Cash's rendition of Jimmie Rodgers' "In the Jailhouse Now."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anything Cash deserves 5 stars, April 30 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
While I agree with some other reviewers that many Cash greats are not on this CD, all 16 songs represented here are simply awsome. Maybe this should have been titled: "16 Biggest Hits Volume One". Cash has been essential and necessary to country music and American music in general since 1955. Anybody who buys this CD will love it. Without a doubt Johnny Cash is the greatest country singer of the 20th, and quite possibly the 21st, Century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Cash, Jan. 4 2001
By 
Roy Levins (san antonio, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
These all may be hits but it depends how many Johnny Cash songs you can take, the collection of songs takes you through the 50's and 60's and 70's career of Johnny Cash. All of the songs are all hits but that does not mean you will like them all, A boy named sue is classic and many others but this is old style classic country music from Cash you hear this kind of stuff anymore but I think this is a must for any Johnny Cash fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Monotonous, Feb. 9 1999
By 
Babytoxie (Dallas, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
16 songs, and the majority have the same plodding tempo and vocal phrasings. I bought this mainly for the 6 songs that have some hint of originality (Walk the Line, Ring of Fire, FP Blues, Daddy Sang Bass, Boy Named Sue, and Riders in the Sky). The rest, I'm sorry to say, are disposable. It's really sad, because this is my first time to sample Cash's work. I just wasn't impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

16 Biggest Hits (Vinyl)
16 Biggest Hits (Vinyl) by Johnny Cash (LP Record - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews