Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Collection of Cash
If you're either not familiar with Johnny Cash or are "going back to the basics", this is a good to start out with, especially if you do not have any Johnny Cash in your music collection. This album spotlights his most known songs from his earlier years, including classics such as "I Walk The Line", "Daddy Sang Bass", "Boy Named...
Published on Sept. 16 2003 by maziris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Cash
These all may be hits but it depends how many Johnny Cash songs you can take, the collection of songs takes you through the 50's and 60's and 70's career of Johnny Cash. All of the songs are all hits but that does not mean you will like them all, A boy named sue is classic and many others but this is old style classic country music from Cash you hear this kind of stuff...
Published on Jan. 4 2001 by Roy Levins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars the man the legend, Oct. 8 2003
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
Jonny Cash lyrics will never be forgotten he always speaks from the heart. You can always tell what the man went through in his life by his music. He is the orginator of country music and this box cd set proves that. It is amazing and evey fan should own one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Collection of Cash, Sept. 16 2003
By 
"maziris" (Columbus, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
If you're either not familiar with Johnny Cash or are "going back to the basics", this is a good to start out with, especially if you do not have any Johnny Cash in your music collection. This album spotlights his most known songs from his earlier years, including classics such as "I Walk The Line", "Daddy Sang Bass", "Boy Named Sue", and "Ring of Fire". This is a good collection and I find myself putting this in the CD player when I want to hear good, classic Cash. 40 years later, the classics still sound as good as yesterday and hearing this CD reminds me why I've always loved his music. The legend will not be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Coming of Age, Jan. 6 2003
By 
"cmmonty" (Tempe, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
For all of you who are familiar with Cash, what follows is nothing new. However, for those of you who haven't heard of Johnny, read carefully. Johnny Cash is a lyrical genius---albeit a very politically incorrect one. Anyone who hasn't listened to this legend chime off about women, booze, and all other things country/folk is missing out on a musical experience. Throughout the album Cash blends a tone of voice and song to bring his lyrics to life. I hate typical country but this is well beyond anything you'll hear played on country radio stations. I strongly encourage you to sample "A Boy Named Sue"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every human should own this collection, Aug. 22 2002
By 
Samuel Krikorian (Charlotte, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
Honestly, this is the only country I have, and I listen to it regularly. Johnny Cash has an amazing voice. I own lots of headbanging music and Spanish pop, sprinkled with an eclectic bunch of classics like Cat Stevens, The Beatles, Simon and Garfunkel, Boy Dylan and of course the good old 80's like Duran Duran, The Police, Journey and so on, but this album is a nice change of pace. It is jammed with stuff you've heard snippets of in movies, radio or just pop culture in general. With "Ring of Fire", "Ghost Riders in the Sky", "Folsom Prison Blues", "Man in Black", "John Henry's Hammer", and "A Boy Named Sue" you get the huge hits that almost anyone can hum, even the non-country listener like me. I was surprised I liked the other ten tracks as well. "Don't Take Your Guns to Town", "Ira Hayes" and "Sunday Morning Coming Down" will put a lump in your throat in good country music style. Get this album, you won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cash, June 18 2002
By 
Chad Hicks (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
A well rounded collection of classic Johnny Cash. If you're looking for the hits, you'll find a good number of them here! This is one of the first Johnny Cash albums that I bought, and I still enjoy listening to it today.
Personal Favorite: "One Peice at a time"
Buy and Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Johnny, Oct. 4 2001
By 
Avalon Don "Avalon Don" (Huntington Beach, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
This is as good as any single disc out there for people wanting only one Johnny Cash hits collection. ( Sorry, you can't put almost fifty years of recordings on one album or box set. ) This cd covers his early period, the live prison songs and the rest of the best. Much has been said about "The Man In Black", for me my favorite part of his music is how well he does train songs, which are found on "Get Rhythm/Story Of Trains And Rivers". He's also one of the best concert performers I've ever seen. Every fan of music needs one Cash album. So, start here and follow up after hearing the various tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For those who need an introduction to Johnny Cash, Aug. 27 2001
By 
Neal C. Reynolds (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
This is probably the most comprehensive single CD of Johnny Cash's best, and is for those who aren't ready to invest in the more intensive boxed set, "The Essential Johnny Cash". If you're impressed, then go to the boxed set, or to "Ring of Fire" which focusses on the earlier part of his career. The only cut likely to be of interest to those more familiar with the singer is Cash's rendition of Jimmie Rodgers' "In the Jailhouse Now."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Hard Cash, July 7 2001
By 
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
The selections on this CD, both title and era, are what I remember as Johnny Cash at his best. If you wanted one album to represent his work, this one will do well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Hard Cash, July 7 2001
By 
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
The selections on this album, both title and era, are what I remember as Johnny Cash at his best. If you were looking for one album to represent his work, this one will do well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Cash, Jan. 4 2001
By 
Roy Levins (san antonio, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V1 16 Biggest Hits (Audio CD)
These all may be hits but it depends how many Johnny Cash songs you can take, the collection of songs takes you through the 50's and 60's and 70's career of Johnny Cash. All of the songs are all hits but that does not mean you will like them all, A boy named sue is classic and many others but this is old style classic country music from Cash you hear this kind of stuff anymore but I think this is a must for any Johnny Cash fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

16 Biggest Hits (Vinyl)
16 Biggest Hits (Vinyl) by Johnny Cash (LP Record - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews