Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am Iron Man
Robert Downey Jnr is without a doubt one of the finest actors of this or any other generation. Problem is due to some personal problems in the past he wasn't getting the big roles anymore. The studio was reluctant to place him in the starring role of this movie... and then they saw his audition... HE IS IRON MAN!

Without a doubt no other actor could have played...
Published on Aug. 19 2008 by Lukey20

versus
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bang, whiz, laugh, and done
I'm a fan of Robert Downey Jr. - I thought he was brilliant in "Zodiac" - and he delivers exactly what he's supposed to here. He wisecracks, he delivers killer comments in a rapid-fire murmur, he plays irresponsible boy genius very well. So, well and good.

The effects are impressive - the suit looks like it jumped right out of the comics and into reality...
Published on Dec 12 2008 by Jack Blatant


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am Iron Man, Aug. 19 2008
By 
Robert Downey Jnr is without a doubt one of the finest actors of this or any other generation. Problem is due to some personal problems in the past he wasn't getting the big roles anymore. The studio was reluctant to place him in the starring role of this movie... and then they saw his audition... HE IS IRON MAN!

Without a doubt no other actor could have played Tony Stark better than Robert Downey Jnr and along with a very talented supporting cast (including Gweneth Paltrow, Terrance Howard and Jeff Bridges) plus a very talented director (Jon Favreau) this is Iron Man brought the life the right way!

An action packed thrill stacked ride that any fan is guarenteed to enjoy!

DVD Special Features include:

Deleted/Extended Scenes:

- Convoy Ambush

- Craps Table with Tony & Rhodey

- Tony & Rhodey on Stark Jet and Military Ceremony

- Rhodey and General Gabriel

- Tony Comes Home

- Tony Begins Mark II

- Dubai Party

- Pepper Discovers Tony as Iron Man

- Obadiah Addresses Scientists

- Rhodey Saves Iron Man on Freeway

- Rooftop Battle

Disc 2

I Am Iron Man - Making Of:

- The Journey Begins

- The Suit that Makes the Iron Man

- The Walk of Destruction

- Grounded In Reality

- Beneath the Armor

- It's All In The Details

- A Good Story, Well Told

The Invincible Iron Man - the History of the Character:

- Origins

- Friends & Foes

- The Definitive Iron Man

- Demon in a Bottle

- Extremis and Beyond

- Ultimate Iron Man

Wired: The Visual Effects of Iron Man

Robert Downey Jr. Screen Test

The Actor's Process - Rehearsal scene featuring the cast and director

The Onion Piece - "Wildly Popular Iron Man Trailer to be Adapted into Full Length Film"

Still Galleries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Downey Jr Shines, Oct. 5 2008
By 
Matthew King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Man (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
"Iron Man" is a comic book movie telling the story of billionaire arms and weaponry mastermind Tony Stark, who after being in the Lion's den of Afghanistan and realizing how much harm his weapons cause the world, quits the arms business, creating a costume and becoming an avenger.

Good special effects, fabulous performance by Robert Downey Jr., this movie is amongst the best super hero movies of recent times. It never really wavers during its 2-hour length time. There's a high degree of social conscience to this movie and the lead actor's emotional transformation is fascinating to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5--The truth is.......................Downey flies high!,, Sept. 10 2008
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Iron Man (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Seriously, thanks god for Robert Downey Jr., the actor was brilliant in the movie, after watching the movie i couldn't imagine any other actor portraying the role of Tony stark, the guys was simply brilliant. Robert Downey Jr. is one of those actors who can offer a lot more then he's given chances to prove himself. It's mostly because of his drug and alcohol problems but no one cannot deny that he's an outstanding actor who never acted in big budget movies. Not until now as Iron Man..

Jon Favreau was obviously given a lot of money and he invested it wisely and brought Comic successfully back to life. "Iron Man" has its holes, like not so convincing start but everything since the time Stark returned from his captivity is good and entertaining story. As I said before Downey Jr. is a thing this movie needs, just like always excellent Jeff Bridges in role of Obadiah Stane.

In this cast I didn't like Gwyneth Paltrow. She has some rough moments, and this definitely wasn't her best performance, but she didn't bring down the film by any means. Great supporting turns by Terence Howard as Tony's associate and erstwhile friend and Clark Gregg as a tight-lipped fed make director Jon Favreau's job helming this adaptation a HUGELY better result than the flavorless "DareDevil" from 2003.

So "Iron Man" is good for fun and as blockbuster that would fill cinemas, but for a place in 250 best movies, I think not. This is a satisfying film from at least three levels: for those who love superhero movies, it's great; for those who enjoy a good message movie, it's only BARELY preachy and always able to keep it frenetic and true; and as a summer film, it's large and captivating, never letting the viewer go till the credits (and perhaps even STILL during that)! While I cannot quite go all the way with 5 stars for this film, it's a very strong 4. A strong movie-going experience for most anyone who likes "Summer" films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2-Disc Set Does 'Iron Man' Justice, Jan. 6 2009
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
There is a lot to `give away' in describing "Iron Man', but suffice it to say that the creators have created the real Tony Stark. He is the rowdy billionaire responsible for building weapons of mass destruction and selling them to the enemy who then turns into a reluctant and then powerful `Iron Man'. The cinematography is stunning in Blu-ray and the scenes starting from Afghanistan to Los Angeles's skies are over-whelming. The action is intense, funny, witty and true to the character of the comic book character. Plus, it is all believable. Robert Downing, Jr. playing around with his Iron Man invention is nothing short of hilarious and thrilling. Gwyneth Paltrow is a bit underused as his assistant, but she supplies some killer one-liners. Jeff Bridges plays a role that truly threatens Iron Man, but that's all I'll say. The effects are fantastic, the storyline is fast and clever and it is no small wonder it broke box office records. On Blu-ray disc, it is just as good as being in a movie theater - the details, color and sound are that amazing! Tony Stark IS `Iron Man'.

All Blu-ray discs are set up differently according to their theme, but for Iron Man, I'll describe the imagery. The initial PLAY/SCENES board is a colorful statue of Iron Man with colorful, comic book scientific looking diagrams. Audio is available in English 5.1 Dolby TrueHD, French 5.1 Dolby Digital and Spanish 5.1 Dolby Digital. Subtitles are in English, English SDH. French, Spanish and Portuguese. There are some great extras like the `Hall of Armor' showing all four Iron Man designs, `the Invincible Iron man' and deleted scenes. These deletions are great, inclusion "I Am Iron Man', `Visuals Effects of Iron Man', `a fantastic `Robert Downey Jr. Screen Test'. "The Actors Process' (Downing and Bridges get down with some real improvisations), a semi-spoof trailer from `The Onion' on Iron man,' Theatrical Trailers, Galleries, Credits and Subtitles. Not to leave anything out, more extras include six mini features such as `friends and Foes' and "Demon in a Bottle". If you're really into Blu-ray, try connecting to the Internet for BD-Live capability. This is one of the Blu-ray features that put it so far and above regular DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars more than an action movie, Dec 13 2008
this is one movie that was way better than i thought it would be.it's
not just an action movie.it's also a smart,cleverly written movie,with
some great dialogue.it also incorporates real global problems,serving
as a sort of commentary on our times.it's not preachy,it just shows how
far we've progressed.or maybe regressed as a society.there is also the
theme of redemption in the movie.i mentioned the good dialogue.an
example of that is the witty banter between Tony Stark(Robert Downey
Jr.)and his assistant Pepper Pots(Gwyneth Paltrow).beyond that
though,Stark is generally witty.i liked the origin story of the
film,though i can't say whether or not it's accurate to the comic
book.naturally,there are some great action sequences,especially the
flying scenes and the combat scenes.and that suit is very
impressive,both in looks and functionality.as to the cast,Downey is
very good as Stark/Iron Man.Paltrow is very likable as Pepper
Potts.Terrance Howard is good as Stark's military friend Rhodey,but i
feel he was underutilized.oh well,maybe the sequel will rectify that.i
heard that Howard is being replaced in the sequel by Don
Cheadle.nothing against Cheadle,but i think they ought to stick with
Howard,since he originated the character in the film.but the best actor
in the bunch,in my opinion is Jeff Bridges,who gives a William Hurt
type performance,understated,yet simmering with passion and
charisma.that's just my opinion.anyway,,the movie is fun and
engaging,but it's no empty headed action movie.not that there's
anything wrong with that.no,this is a smart movie with heart and
soul.my vote for Iron Man: 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I am Iron Man, Nov. 24 2008
By 
D. Chandon "Dems" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think 2008 was the year of the good comic-book movie, and I have to admit that Iron Man was and is a great treat. Originally, I thought that this would be nothing more than Batman light, with similar characters the whole rich, playboy industrialist, Tony Stark, with an alter-ego. And although Iron Man does suffer a little from the similar theme, Robert Downey Jr. (RDJ), makes it a great role for himself with Tony Stark, and the movie works even though the script and story are extremely obvious as far as direction goes.

Tony Stark is the usual spoiled genious rich kid grown up and made weak by the many excesses sexual and substance. But Tony Stark is forced to see the truth of what his family's company has been doing for the past few years, and in an attempt to save his own life from injury that ironically and obviously comes at the hands of his own weapon, so out of self-preservation Tony uses his engineering know-how to construct a life-sustaining and enhancing appartatus and eventually a suit to become Iron Man.

The movie itself is well acted and progressed well, for a movie based on a comic-book. It is a must see to any fan of RDJ and Iron Man, or even fans of the comic-book film genre. I would be very interested in seeing the sequel and how it works with the Incredible Hulk franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovin on Iron Man, Sept. 23 2013
By 
Rebecky - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iron Man (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I love Iron Man because hes just a regular guy. It gives the idea that anyone could become this.
Great hero movie full of action and adventure, and obviously a bit of love, because whats a hero without his lady?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man, Oct. 4 2008
This review is from: Iron Man (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Terrific movie! Finally a movie that is somewhat pertinent to today's issues. It has great actions, great acting, and great set design. I mean, what more could you ask for?

Robert Downey Jr. is amazing in this roll and like "the New Yorker" I agree that they could not have casted a better person for the role. It is nice to see that Robert Downey Jr. has turned his life around. He has always been a great actor and I am sure you will enjoy watching this movie part-in-part because of him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You've got to have heart, Tony Stark does/did/does, Oct. 11 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) military/industrial weapons mogul just finished demonstrating his newest rocket in the Middle East, when he is purloined by ruthless locals with dirty faces and a penchant for power. Who could be behind the dastardly deed? Of course everyone knows it is the last person you would suspect as in any good mystery.

Well as luck would have it, in Starks efforts to escape he invents the fundamental technology for, you guessed it, Ironman. In the process he inadvertently gives the world a new weapon. How can he correct his faux pax?

In his quest for the answers he solicits the help of his very efficient and devoted assistant Pepper Potts (Gwyneth Paltrow.)

For those enthralled in the Ironman comics, nothing has changed; except maybe the storyline. O.K the era in which how superhero exists. Well maybe a tad more gratuities sex. O.K. I guess I could go on for a few more paragraphs but you get the picture that we can not rely on the comic book character to be anymore than an inspiration for this movie.

For people that are more music orientated, among the popular background songs they included the original theme from the animated series.

It has all the formula and characters for today's super hero movies. By not making it a period piece we get to incorporate all the latest technology and social attitudes.

Only saw the Blu-Ray version. Had the standard extras and flexibility. I am pretty sure future versions will add more insight or at least more footage.

Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow (Widescreen Special Collector's Edition)

Tron (20th Anniversary Collector's Edition)

The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie!, Nov. 6 2009
By 
Gams (MIssissauga, ON) - See all my reviews
After just buying a blu-ray player I looked up online the best movies to watch in high definition and this movie certainly didn't disappoint.

Even my wife who normally doesn't like this type of movie really enjoyed it.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Man (Widescreen) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 15.99 CDN$ 14.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews