Customer Reviews


217 Reviews
5 star:
 (131)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars super trippant, je l
super trippant, je l,adore.
Published 11 days ago by claude

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Martin Scorsese down fall begins here.
This is where it all happen for the great Martin Scorsese. His take on the origin of Las Vegas is not only a step back for the director but a bad reflection on Robert Deniro himself. He is good in this movie but he is saddle with a over acting Sharon Stone ( which is good but she goes a bit too far), and a tepid Joe Pesci. The movie is a bit too long for its own good, and...
Published on Feb. 22 2004 by Giles Desmon


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars super trippant, je l, July 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casino (Widescreen) (DVD)
super trippant, je l,adore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, June 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casino (1995) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great true story, April 3 2014
By 
Kevin Barton (Whitby, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Casino (1995) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a great movie to watch with so much dramatic action. This is great to get on Blu-ray as my preference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, April 16 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie has it all. Drama, romance,suspense. Great all star cast! A good watch,,the first movie is always the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CAsino, Jan. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is an instant Classic, the cast is all amazing with a great story behind it, and thank you for not making a part 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Scorsese Masterpiece., June 28 2004
This review is from: Casino (Widescreen) (DVD)
'Casino' is a dominant film which is based on the true story of how Las Vegas was transformed from a simple gambling mecca into a place that has as much personality and colour as Disney World. Robert De Niro stars as a casino owner who is on the ground-level of the city's change. He is a high-class crook who's able to turn profits with the help of the mafia and crooked gaming practices (a norm for all casinos). Joe Pesci is on hand as the mob assassin with the short fuse who is De Niro's right-hand man. However, no one stays on top forever and De Niro's demise is partly due to his ex-prostitute wife (Sharon Stone, in her Oscar-nominated role). Bad decision-making, shady dealings, and questionable alliances will also be key factors in his ultimate downfall. Once again Martin Scorsese has created a film that is so multi-layered and smart that the viewer is completely engrossed for the entire 182 minutes.
'Casino' is a crime epic, in close contrast with 'The Godfather' series of films. Scorsese accomplishes what he did with 'Raging Bull' and 'GoodFellas'. Once again De Niro and Pesci shine with his direction and the unrelenting screenplay. Sharon Stone does the best work of her career. She does not necessarily shine brighter than De Niro and Pesci, but she holds her own and never lets either of them steal her thunder and lightning. Another great thing about 'Casino' is the supporting cast: Don Rickles, Kevin Pollak, James Woods, and Joe Bob Briggs all add great elements of both comedy and drama to this outstanding winner which has been overlooked on Scorsese's list of credits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not bad. not bad at all. much better than goodfellas., May 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Casino (VHS Tape)
Sharon Stone should have won an award for her role as Ginger McKenna. I think her performance showed a lot of character, with the problems she developed with cocaine and liquor, and her great acting really was exposed when she was feuding with DeNiro, and she looked good for 42. She slept with a childhood friend of her husband, Joe Pesci's character Nick Santoro, so she was made to look like. . .well, you know. Even when she married someone that was a professional gambler, she never became addicted to gambling herself, and that's a testament to the movie, because that would have been the predictable thing to do. I also liked the way the casino in Las Vegas was viewed, in DeNiro's narrating of all of the staff members, and the secret rooms in the casino. This was all based on a true story, so the viewer is learning what it's like inside a real casino. Complaints that I've read have been about the really disgusting violent scenes, especially the one where the guys head is in a vice. I'm actually surprised, because I read those reviews before I watched the movie, and there were a lot more gross scenes (a man being stabbed to death, two people being buried alive in the same grave). But, I wasn't grossed out because it's really hard to tell the story accurately without including this. I don't like how some people complain that this movie has Joe Pesci swearing too much. The premise called for it. There was no way this could be a fairy tale.
Anyhow, the 70's and the 80's were brought back nicely. There was a part where, either Joe Pesci or Robert DeNiro, narrating, talked about something that happened &quote; back home, years ago &quote; and then you see on the screen at the beginning of the next scene, "BACK HOME, YEARS AGO." It was funny. This was a really great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scorcese and De Niro together again!, April 22 2004
By 
James R. Mckinley (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casino (Widescreen) (DVD)
Casino is nothing less than a Scorcese masterpiece, based primarily on the true story of the violent life and death of Tony "The Ant" Spilotro, who was the mob's chief enforcer during the early 70's, while protecting the mob's gambling interests run by Frank "Lefty" Rosenthal. As someone interested in the development of the American mafia, Casino is a brilliant translation of the building of Bugsy Siegel's vision in the desert up to the gaudy haven for high rollers that it was during the 70s. This movie brings the dusty pages of Las Vegas history to life. Spilotro was the real thing; Joe Pesci gives us only a taste of how brutal he really was. His death in a mid-west cornfield was the final act of this particular chapter in Las Vegas history. This is perhaps Scorsese's most underrated film, Casino contains one of De Niro's finest performances--his Sam Rothstein is controlled, nuanced, quiet, contemplative, depressed, ambitious, and furious. De Niro plays all these sentiments at once, and he ultimately creates a character that may not be Scorsese's most likable but is certainly his most mesmerizingly believable. The film's rare dual voiceover is so well executed, as Pesci and De Niro's characters fight for control over the storytelling just as they battle for power over Vegas. This film is flamboyantly stylized-In many ways it is about style. There are as many flashy whip-turns and ironic soundtrack selections as there are peach blazers and white pantent leather loafers. If you want a film that is at once great entertainment and moving art, watch Casino, and let Scorsese transport you back to a rare moment in American history: "The last time tough guys like us we're ever given anything that 'effing' valuable."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Casino, Oct. 6 2009
It's an awesome movie - my husband can almost site it word for word - we've seen this movie many times and enjoy it every time we've watched it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, March 6 2005
This review is from: Casino (VHS Tape)
this, along with goodfellas, is scorsese's answer to copolla's godfather. like goodfellas casino takes the opposite tack of godfather, eschewing myth and bigger-than-life storytelling and characters to give us instead the real dirt on the gangsters and the casinos they looted, er, i mean operated. casino isn't quite as tight as goodfellas - after a fast start the story meanders a little in the middle. but it does have some fine acting by the 3 principles, especially stone. de niro plays a staid, 2-dimensional character but gives his usual fine performance. pesci reprises his goodfellas character and he's even more reckless and nasty, if that's possible. and you have to see what happens to him at the end!
an enjoyable film, not quite as tight as its close cousin, goodfellas, but very much worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Casino (1995) [Blu-ray]
Casino (1995) [Blu-ray] by Martin Scorsese (Blu-ray - 2008)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews