Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you listen to fools...!
The entire Dio-era catalogue of Sabbath has now been reissued so many bloody times. First there was the original CD issues, then the Castle remasters in 1996, then the Dio years boxed set, and now these deluxe editions. I'm feeling lightly pillaged. But buying these is optional...unless you're a die-hard like me. If you're not, stick to the Dio box. If you are a...
Published on Feb. 22 2011 by LeBrain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars NO OZZY-NO DIO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I cannot believe all this ozzy bashing!!!!! What is wrong with you people? You must not realize without ozzy dio would probably be singing the blues! How can you put a review about "black sabbath" and bash the man who made it what it is? You are all posers! And i'm mainly talking about the idiot from tallahasee fl. you must still be a kid and not understand...
Published on May 10 2004 by NECROSHINEGUY


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you listen to fools...!, Feb. 22 2011
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The entire Dio-era catalogue of Sabbath has now been reissued so many bloody times. First there was the original CD issues, then the Castle remasters in 1996, then the Dio years boxed set, and now these deluxe editions. I'm feeling lightly pillaged. But buying these is optional...unless you're a die-hard like me. If you're not, stick to the Dio box. If you are a die-hard, plunge forward.

The big reason to buy this box is the Live at Hammersmith bonus disc. Folks, when Rhino announced this live album I jumped on it immediately. It was sold out immediately, a handful of copies. Limited and numbered, even if it sucked it was bound to be worth a fortune in the future right? Well not necessarily. Now it's been included as a bonus disc. So, for me this sucks -- my Rhino issue is no longer as desirable to collectors. For you, it's awesome. Now you can have this blistering live album, way better than Live Evil!

All the other expected perks are here, including bonus tracks (the soundtrack version of the title track, and a B-side from a 12" single) and liner notes. Throw in some photos and a great remastering job, and you have (hopefully!) the last copy of Mob Rules that you will ever need to buy.

Mob Rules itself is very much a brother record to Heaven & Hell. You have that big dramatic epic ("The Sign of the Southern Cross") the speedy opener ("Turn Up The Night") and everything else in between ("Voodoo"). It's not quite up to the lofty standards of H&H, although it does try to follow the blueprint quite closely. I find the closer ("Over & Over") to be the weak link in an otherwise pretty damn strong chain.

Pick it up to help complete your Sabbath collection, and to hear the awesome Live At Hammersmith.

5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black Sabbath lives, June 30 2004
This review is from: Mob Rules (Audio CD)
1st of all like someone already said, how do you replace Ozzy Osbourne? Well luckily Dio is a legend, he's been around forever. I was never nuts about the Elf stuff, but I did like his Rainbow material. I thought this release was a breath of fresh air, the last sabbath release "never say die" was weak. It had 2 good songs maybe, never say die & johnny blade.
The 1st half of The Mob Rules is great, all fast past heavy songs, the next half imo is all filler material. Turn up the night, voodoo, sign of the southern cross, & E5150 are instant classics.
No one has mentioned the cover of this cd, look at the bloody cloth closely....it's a demoms face. Cool huh???? One last thing why are people saying E5150 is way out of character for sabbath?? It's not, Ever heard the song "Who are you"?? Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Heaven And Hell, but still excellent, May 27 2004
This review is from: Mob Rules (Audio CD)
Mob Rules (1981.) Black Sabbath's tenth album.
Many fans of Black Sabbath, and possibly the band members themselves, must have thought that Ozzy's departing the band would have ruined them for sure. Obviously, many fans instantly rejected the incarnations the band that lacked Ozzy. But those fans of the band who had open minds quickly discovered that Ronnie James Dio was a great vocalist, and that he was every bit as talented as Ozzy was - a point he beautifully demonstrated in his last band, Rainbow, and on his first album with Sabbath, Heaven And Hell. For the second album with Dio, drummer Bill Ward left the band. He was replaced by new drummer Vinnie Appice (brother of the legendary Carmine Appice, of Vanilla Fudge and Cactus fame.) How does the band's second effort with Dio, Mob Rules, measure up? Read on and find out.
Is Mob Rules as good as Heaven And Hell? Not in my eyes, although there are many fans of the band that would beg to differ. I think that this is an EXCELLENT album, but Heaven And Hell is a masterpiece of unparalleled quality. Still, Mob Rules is no slouch in the quality department. Turn Up The Night is the kind of fast-paced hard rock you'd expect Ronnie James Dio to shell out. In all his years of music, Dio has proven that he can do songs like this better than just about everyone else out there. He'd continue to prove this point tirelessly in his solo career, which was just around the corner. Another excellent rocker present is Voodoo, on which Tony Iommi shells out some damn fine riffs - but would you expect anything less from this guy? But, by far, the masterpiece of this album is the lengthy and melodic Sign Of The Southern Cross. With their reputation as the "first real metal band", it's not surprising that fans overlook the stuff that isn't as heavy. And that's a real shame. I pity the people that overlook this stuff; it's some of the band's best material. And, of course, who could overlook the awesome title track? The title track on a Sabbath album is, more often than not, one of its best tracks of all, and on Mob Rules, there's no exception to the rule. You may be wondering why I only gave the album four stars instead of five. The answer is simple. Some of the songs just fall below Sabbath's usual standard. For example, E5150 is just weird electronic stuff - WAY out of character for Sabbath. Likewise, the last few tracks on the album, while good, aren't up to the quality of some of the masterpieces the band has released over the years. In the end this is a solid album, though.
THE TEXT IN THIS PARAGRAPH REFERS EXCLUSIVELY TO THE WARNER BROS. AMERICAN REISSUE OF THE ALBUM. Warner Bros. did a fine job remastering and rereleasing the Black Sabbath catalogue, as did they several other artists. Unfortunately, they didn't really do anything outside of improving the sound quality. You don't get expanded liner notes, interviews, bonus tracks, or anything. It's kind of a disappointment, but it doesn't change my views on the album itself.
No, Mob Rules isn't as good as Heaven And Hell. But, of course, what is? Through and through, though, this is a solid album. Following its release, the band would release a live album entitled Live Evil, but a dispute over its mixing would lead to Ronnie James Dio and Vinnie Appice leaving the band to start up Dio's solo band. Drummer Bill Ward would return, and the band would recruit new vocalist Ian Gillan of Deep Purple fame. Should you buy Mob Rules? For lack of a better word, yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of old memories and emotions, July 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mob Rules (Audio CD)
Lots of old memories with the powerful voice of Ronnie James Dio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect! As Good As Heaven And Hell!, April 14 2008
By 
Customer from Quebec (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mob Rules (Audio CD)
Fantastic follow-up of Heaven And Hell. Mob Rules, Sign of The Southern Cross, Falling off the edge of the World, Over And Over, Voodoo... Do I need to continue? CLASSIC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Metal Albums!!, May 28 2004
This review is from: Mob Rules (Audio CD)
Awesome metal album i Sabbath Keeps it up with or without Ozzy is fine with me!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars NO OZZY-NO DIO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, May 10 2004
By 
NECROSHINEGUY (Greenville, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mob Rules (Audio CD)
I cannot believe all this ozzy bashing!!!!! What is wrong with you people? You must not realize without ozzy dio would probably be singing the blues! How can you put a review about "black sabbath" and bash the man who made it what it is? You are all posers! And i'm mainly talking about the idiot from tallahasee fl. you must still be a kid and not understand music! Yes this is a great album but nothing beats sabbath with the father of metal! Ozzy is the king! Elvis WHO????????????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best of Black Sabbath!, April 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mob Rules (Audio CD)
Don't waste your time looking at "Ozzy" or "We Sold Our Soul For Rock And Roll" or even "Paranoid"! If you know that you like Black Sabbath and/or have been a true fan, admit it, this and H&H were their best album(s) ever.
Dio's vocals cover the band and makes the music shine! Ozzy compared to Dio sounds like an opera singer on their last legs! Seriously, listen to H&H or Mob Rules then listen to any Ozzy album. The contrast is immense, Dio wins and I think if either Black Sabbath or a solo Sabbath band could recreate its original hits with the Dio spin, it would literally kick rock ---!
Anthony Iommi, in this album, releases his soul into his music. You'd seriously think he was Zakk Wylde! But no, it's not Eric Clapton, still Tony Iommi cna hold his ground with licks like this!
Geezer-I got into rock and roll because of this veteran. I also started bass guitar because of Butler (I salute him!). Now I "Turn Up The Night" every night after school. *Check out Geezer on AOL search!* H&H and Mob Rules licks for Bass guitar are as legendary as Grand Funk Railroads, or even Queen.
Finally, the drums can't change in Black Sabbath. However, the spirit is always theirs. Vinney Appice sounds like Keith Moon~! Gotta love those combos!
Overall, Black Sabbath started Metal like Elvis started Rock. No one can change it, they only try to do better. Get Mob Rules and please support the group with Dio!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ~Black Sabbath The Legacy~, March 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mob Rules (Audio CD)
At least listen to "Danger Zone" and "Time Machine" first. I started Bass Guitar because of songs like that by Black Sabbath. Pick up from leaving off with "Time Machine" and now jam into "Turn Up The Night". I am once again, falling in love with Geezer Butler's Bass Guitar. I think you'll enjoy it too!
I liked H&H, and thought it was ok. But this is like the bonus disc. I think Mob Rules would have made H&H better if they were a set. I seriously think that H&H and Mob Rules should be two cds as a set pack. That way you won't have a hard time looking for the best of the band.

This is what the band has hidden behind Ozzy. Although I never really liked Ozzy. If only they could redo the Black Sabbath Classics with Ronnie James Dio....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not As Good As Heaven And Hell, Feb. 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mob Rules (Rm) (Audio CD)
I can't understand how some reviewers can consider this album superior to Heaven and Hell. Not only are the instrumental arrangements more simplistic, the recording quality of this album is pretty low. As far as lyrics, although Dio is notorious for his elusive poetics, a lot of the lyrics here are just lame such as with Country Girl. Half the songs on this album just suck. Voodo, Turn Up The Night, Sign of The Southern Cross, and The Mob Rules, and Falling Off The Edge Of The World are the only songs worth listening to. Unlike Heaven And Hell where every single song is dynamic, this album is rather crude instrumentally and in terms of sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mob Rules
Mob Rules by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews