Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 Years Old Already?
The Matrix Ultimate Collection is an ideal addition to your blu-ray collection. This set is essentially the same as the more expensive US version.

The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray]

There is no French language on the packaging, and the 7-disc set is packaged in 5 slim cases.

1) The Matrix and digital copy.
2) Matrix...
Published on March 23 2009 by Steven Aldersley

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Contents not as promised
The contents of the disks were not clear. I bought this set with the assumption that there would be a digital copy as mentioned in on of the reviews. I could not find one on any of the discs.

There are also issues with running the software from the bonus DVD on my Windows 7 system. The player would not work, so we were not able to access these features.
Published on Jan. 14 2012 by CaBenko


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 Years Old Already?, March 23 2009
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Matrix Collection (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Matrix Ultimate Collection is an ideal addition to your blu-ray collection. This set is essentially the same as the more expensive US version.

The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray]

There is no French language on the packaging, and the 7-disc set is packaged in 5 slim cases.

1) The Matrix and digital copy.
2) Matrix Reloaded
3) Matrix Revolutions
4) Animatrix
5) The Matrix Experience (2 additional discs of special features)

The blu-ray transfer falls just short of reference quality, but it's close. All three parts of the trilogy are currently ranked in Tier 1.75 on the AVS forum. Animatrix is in Tier 2.0.

If you like these movies, this set is not to be missed. While $100 is expensive, I was able to pick this up for $51 in a recent Amazon sale. There may be other sales in the future as the three main movies are all due to be released individually.

Many people argue that the first installment is the only movie worth watching. If you agree, then you can buy that individually on March 31, 2009. I thoroughly enjoy all three movies and see it as one long story. To see The Matrix and not watch the other parts would be like watching The Fellowship of the Ring and skipping The Two Towers and The Return of the King.

Perhaps the novelty of seeing something totally new elevates The Matrix above the other two installments for some people? I see Matrix Reloaded as an excellent sequel with even more action than The Matrix. The conclusion in Matrix Revolutions shows that the lives of an entire community are at stake, rather than those on one ship. It gives us an idea of who these people really are. But each to their own.

As well as stunning visuals, the trilogy comes with a Dolby TrueHD 5.1 soundtrack. This completes the experience and adds so much to scenes such as the car chase in Matrix Reloaded.

To sum up, if you like this trilogy, you need this set. If you only want the first movie, that option will be available eight days from now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just a Correction Notice, Nov. 23 2004
By 
C. Gates - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well, the DVD probably isn't worth getting if you already have all the DVDs, which I do (other than revisted and the new disc). The Matrix was great, but it sure fell apart intellectually with the second movie, then entirely on the last one. Still, it's a worthwhile and entertaining trilogy.
To get to the point, Jeff claimed that there were new transfers. There are not. The only remastered movie is the original Matrix, and the differences are likely not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See what happens when you take the RED pill??, Sept. 23 2004
By 
Jeff (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
OK, people are angry about 'double-dipping' the 'milked' DVD market. There's nothing worse than if you buy a DVD, all of a sudden: WHAM! A better one comes along. I usually either just get the 1st 'edition' or if I know that there's gonna be a mega-set (Lord of the Rings, Kill Bill) I'll wait it out. There, that's my rant. Anyway, on to this. first of all, let me say that the only DVDs here that are already out is the Matrix Revisited and the Animatrix. Everything else is brand new. the films themselves haven't changed, just better transfers, etc. What you get in here is 10 DVDs that take you pretty much to the bottom of the rabbit hole. Bottom line: if you don't have these movies, or you do have them but want "THE ONE" and only set, go for this. It's a pretty good price considering what you get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Contents not as promised, Jan. 14 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Matrix Collection (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The contents of the disks were not clear. I bought this set with the assumption that there would be a digital copy as mentioned in on of the reviews. I could not find one on any of the discs.

There are also issues with running the software from the bonus DVD on my Windows 7 system. The player would not work, so we were not able to access these features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enough to watch for sure, Dec 16 2011
By 
Gis A. Bun (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Matrix Collection (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
While there is plenty to watch and the movies are excellent [OK, #2 was just a bit beflow excellent and Animatrix wasn't incredible], I do have a few thoughts:

Why does tyhe packaging say 35 hours of extras. There clearly isn't unless they are including the commentary audio [which few consider it to be "extras"].

Why are the additional discs created as DVDs and not a Blu-ray [where clearly 2 DVDs can fix on a Blu-ray]. One less disc, less packaging. As it is extras, I wouldn't care if it is or is not in high definition but some of the material was done specifically for this package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Over priced, Nov. 28 2011
Way over priced. Only $60 at Future Shop. I suggest you shop around and save some money. I saw another comment about the price, checked Future Shop's site and found Amazon overpriced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Matrix-revolutionary, Feb. 8 2005
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The review is for the new Matrix Box set.
With the Matrix series we have an original and most enjoyable concept in the science fiction genre.
The first movie was a total smash(and rightly so) at the box office.It's special effects were quite revolutionary(no pun intended) and many films have copied them and its' style vigorously since then.
The second movie went down from the first one due to a bit of a shaky plot which resulted ultimately(again no pun intended) in a two parter which led into the third and last of the series which although more satisfying than the second still couldn't quite reach the dizzying heights of the first one (it's admittedly hard to top something as spectacular as that-a very hard act to follow indeed!).
This set contains more material than the passing Matrix fan could ever want and enough to satisfy even the most rabid fan.
The set also contains a disc(The Animatrix) which is strictly animated shorts and either give a different perspective on the series and/or fill in gaps in the movie story lines,the latter of which I found to be most helpful in rounding everything out.
In conclusion if you like Sci Fi and want something original,exciting and as entertaining as anything released in quite a while then I highly recommend this series and box set for you.You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting twist on the extras, Dec 8 2004
By 
B. Salomons "8r4d" (Edmonton, AB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you read the first few pages of the insert booklet that is stuffed in the package along with all ten DVDs, you'll read an interesting story about how the Wachowski brothers pitched the idea of running dual commentary tracks with the trilogy. Apparently the studio was fine with having philosophers Dr. Comel West and Ken Wilber act as scholarly interpretters overtop the movie, but hiring three critics (Todd McCarthy, John Powers, and David Thomson) to rip the story to shreds in a separate but parallel commentary track was beyond the realm of anything anyone had ever done before. Yes, we all know the surprise was gone by the time the second and third movies made an appearance. But hold that glittering green and black box in your hand and tell me that encompassed within ISN'T one of the wildest and most cohesive multi-medium (video games, comics, movies, animes) of this century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's all of the movies..., Jan. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Matrix Collection (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Packaging is lacking (all standard slim cases). I haven't figured out if it's missing content from the original DVD set (which I had and sold when I ordered this) but the discs look like garbage. All standard 'single disc' prints, one directly ripped from the Ultimate DVD set (original) which now doesn't match ANY of the other discs and a blank/no print disc...no graphic whatsoever. If the box didn't look nice on the shelf and the movies themselves weren't good (say what you will about the sequels, but the Animatrix cannot be denied) then I would have scored this lower
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it, Dec 13 2004
By A Customer
Back in the day when the Matrix DVD came out, I heard rumors of a sequel, and since it was a pretty big thing, I decided to wait it out and get the big boxed set. Well here I am 5 years later and let me tell you, all the waiting was worth it. The cost of this is so low, your basically getting 7 DVD's for free. I bet that buying each movie separately would take you to about $60. Plus you get tons of special features, the Animatrix which is a good link between the first and second movie and answers alot of questions, and 2 new comentaries for each film. (one of which is the philosopher duo, the other the critics). A worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Matrix Collection (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
The Ultimate Matrix Collection (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] by Lana Wachowski (Blu-ray - 2008)
CDN$ 129.99 CDN$ 78.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews