Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 Years Old Already?
The Matrix Ultimate Collection is an ideal addition to your blu-ray collection. This set is essentially the same as the more expensive US version.

The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray]

There is no French language on the packaging, and the 7-disc set is packaged in 5 slim cases.

1) The Matrix and digital copy.
2) Matrix...
Published on March 23 2009 by Steven Aldersley

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Contents not as promised
The contents of the disks were not clear. I bought this set with the assumption that there would be a digital copy as mentioned in on of the reviews. I could not find one on any of the discs.

There are also issues with running the software from the bonus DVD on my Windows 7 system. The player would not work, so we were not able to access these features.
Published on Jan. 14 2012 by CaBenko


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 Years Old Already?, March 23 2009
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
The Matrix Ultimate Collection is an ideal addition to your blu-ray collection. This set is essentially the same as the more expensive US version.

The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray]

There is no French language on the packaging, and the 7-disc set is packaged in 5 slim cases.

1) The Matrix and digital copy.
2) Matrix Reloaded
3) Matrix Revolutions
4) Animatrix
5) The Matrix Experience (2 additional discs of special features)

The blu-ray transfer falls just short of reference quality, but it's close. All three parts of the trilogy are currently ranked in Tier 1.75 on the AVS forum. Animatrix is in Tier 2.0.

If you like these movies, this set is not to be missed. While $100 is expensive, I was able to pick this up for $51 in a recent Amazon sale. There may be other sales in the future as the three main movies are all due to be released individually.

Many people argue that the first installment is the only movie worth watching. If you agree, then you can buy that individually on March 31, 2009. I thoroughly enjoy all three movies and see it as one long story. To see The Matrix and not watch the other parts would be like watching The Fellowship of the Ring and skipping The Two Towers and The Return of the King.

Perhaps the novelty of seeing something totally new elevates The Matrix above the other two installments for some people? I see Matrix Reloaded as an excellent sequel with even more action than The Matrix. The conclusion in Matrix Revolutions shows that the lives of an entire community are at stake, rather than those on one ship. It gives us an idea of who these people really are. But each to their own.

As well as stunning visuals, the trilogy comes with a Dolby TrueHD 5.1 soundtrack. This completes the experience and adds so much to scenes such as the car chase in Matrix Reloaded.

To sum up, if you like this trilogy, you need this set. If you only want the first movie, that option will be available eight days from now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just a Correction Notice, Nov. 23 2004
By 
C. Gates - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well, the DVD probably isn't worth getting if you already have all the DVDs, which I do (other than revisted and the new disc). The Matrix was great, but it sure fell apart intellectually with the second movie, then entirely on the last one. Still, it's a worthwhile and entertaining trilogy.
To get to the point, Jeff claimed that there were new transfers. There are not. The only remastered movie is the original Matrix, and the differences are likely not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Same as the US version., April 1 2009
By 
This review is from: The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I purchased this on sale through Amazon.ca when it was $42 USD. There was some confusion as to if it would be the same as the US version that was selling for so much more. After receiving the Blu-ray set, I noticed it was the US version with a new UPC sticker over the old US one. The discs, content and packaging was the same. Great movies too and look amazing in 1080p goodness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1080p goodness!, July 28 2009
By 
Erps (Toronto, CANADA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I bought this awhile back when Amazon had it for $50. The fact you get all 3 Matrix movies as well as the Animatrix AND a bonus supplement disc...$50 ain't so bad.

The quality is just superb and I just am thankful for the slim packaging they used as it reduced quite a bit the space these movies took on my shelf.

I enjoyed these movies and the fact these are all of them in Blu Ray for $50...I'm happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enough to watch for sure, Dec 16 2011
By 
Gis A. Bun (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
While there is plenty to watch and the movies are excellent [OK, #2 was just a bit beflow excellent and Animatrix wasn't incredible], I do have a few thoughts:

Why does tyhe packaging say 35 hours of extras. There clearly isn't unless they are including the commentary audio [which few consider it to be "extras"].

Why are the additional discs created as DVDs and not a Blu-ray [where clearly 2 DVDs can fix on a Blu-ray]. One less disc, less packaging. As it is extras, I wouldn't care if it is or is not in high definition but some of the material was done specifically for this package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Contents not as promised, Jan. 14 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
The contents of the disks were not clear. I bought this set with the assumption that there would be a digital copy as mentioned in on of the reviews. I could not find one on any of the discs.

There are also issues with running the software from the bonus DVD on my Windows 7 system. The player would not work, so we were not able to access these features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See what happens when you take the RED pill??, Sept. 23 2004
By 
Jeff (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
OK, people are angry about 'double-dipping' the 'milked' DVD market. There's nothing worse than if you buy a DVD, all of a sudden: WHAM! A better one comes along. I usually either just get the 1st 'edition' or if I know that there's gonna be a mega-set (Lord of the Rings, Kill Bill) I'll wait it out. There, that's my rant. Anyway, on to this. first of all, let me say that the only DVDs here that are already out is the Matrix Revisited and the Animatrix. Everything else is brand new. the films themselves haven't changed, just better transfers, etc. What you get in here is 10 DVDs that take you pretty much to the bottom of the rabbit hole. Bottom line: if you don't have these movies, or you do have them but want "THE ONE" and only set, go for this. It's a pretty good price considering what you get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Sci-fi carrying a powerful metaphor, Nov. 24 2007
The Matrix Trilogy must be one of the most significant films of our time, and is likely to go down as an all time sci-fi classic along with the likes of Blade Runner. It is obviously laden with symbology fished from a variety of sources, but I wonder if the Watchowski brothers realised just exactly how powerful a metaphor for our reality they were creating.

The central premise that our lives are not 'real' but are steeped in illusion in order that our life force may be fed upon whilst we are enfenced unwittingly like cattle - this is a relevant and powerful message on many levels. It can easily be seen that this is true on a superficial level, with the rampant rise of ultra-aggressive capitalist consumerism, whereby everyone is 'sold a dream' in order to siphon off all income to profit the few, but it goes deeper than that, and can be used to catch a glimpse of some ideas on the true nature of reality. The overlap with material such as Castaneda is remarkable, with stories about the archetypal predator who is invisible, and feeds on us because he has 'given us his mind'. In all, it is a striking metaphor for the human condition.

Of course the great thing is that, even if you don't want to explore things to those levels, taken at surface value as a piece of entertainment, the Matrix is still a fantastic sci-fi/action trilogy, with colourful characters, awesome visuals, and a solid original plotline. Taken as a trilogy, this is a fantastic piece of film-making artwork, and this is the best way to enjoy it. For me, like the Lord of the Rings Trilogy, this amazing piece of entertainment should be enjoyed whole, with the complete epic story all in one package.

This is an incredibly cheap way to get hold of all three films AND many extras, but more importantly, the several mini-film 'featurettes' which flesh out the background story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reloaded for a media Revolution!, Oct. 31 2007
By 
Joseph Kayne (Victoria, B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
Highly anticipated, and well worth the wait. This collection is a triumph to the filmmakers, and a welcome boon to the fans of great movies and High Definition.

The benefits of this collection are too numerous to mention. Everything you want is here. Special features galore. So many, they nearly drip from the packaging. In-Movie experience, commentaries, behind the scenes, Making of's, interviews, etcetera, etcetera. Nothing is ignored.

The High Definition sound and picture quality are off the charts. Bullet-time slow-mos, and Sentinel death swarms erupt out of the screen. The sound-scape is totally engrossing and immersive.

I found only two complaints to the otherwise perfect experience that is "The Matrix: The Ultimate Collection [HD DVD]".

1) The often mentioned lackluster ending of "Matrix: Revolutions"

and

2) In some instances the 1080p transfer is TOO clear. On occasion you can detect blue-screen edging that was concealed in past poorer quality SD transfers to DVD. Though a tribute to the quality of HD DVD, it is somewhat jarring to see on an otherwise perfect image disrupted by a clumsy special effect shot.

My complaints here are minor, and only contribute to the loss of 1 star. This collection remains one of the best arguments for HD DVD. "The Matrix: The Ultimate Collection [HD DVD]" is a worthy addition to any movie fan's library.

4 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Matrix-revolutionary, Feb. 8 2005
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The review is for the new Matrix Box set.
With the Matrix series we have an original and most enjoyable concept in the science fiction genre.
The first movie was a total smash(and rightly so) at the box office.It's special effects were quite revolutionary(no pun intended) and many films have copied them and its' style vigorously since then.
The second movie went down from the first one due to a bit of a shaky plot which resulted ultimately(again no pun intended) in a two parter which led into the third and last of the series which although more satisfying than the second still couldn't quite reach the dizzying heights of the first one (it's admittedly hard to top something as spectacular as that-a very hard act to follow indeed!).
This set contains more material than the passing Matrix fan could ever want and enough to satisfy even the most rabid fan.
The set also contains a disc(The Animatrix) which is strictly animated shorts and either give a different perspective on the series and/or fill in gaps in the movie story lines,the latter of which I found to be most helpful in rounding everything out.
In conclusion if you like Sci Fi and want something original,exciting and as entertaining as anything released in quite a while then I highly recommend this series and box set for you.You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 129.99 CDN$ 37.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews