Customer Reviews


1,147 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,082)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top-notch television, grounded before its time.
If you're not a science fiction fan, you may be looking at the endless string of rapturous reviews for "Firefly" and rolling your eyes. While "Firefly" certainly doesn't lack in geek appeal, its sharp writing, excellent cast and often-striking visual style elevate it into the ranks of Just Plain Great Television. After a somewhat bumpy start, this series found its groove...
Published on Oct. 14 2003 by Nathan Alderman

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Price Discrepancy
Don't get my wrong, I love, love, love this series! I would love to buy this series but I have limited funds. It makes me very annoyed that the very same DVD series is being sold on Amazon.com for $12.99. I am so tired of Canadians being ripped off. I won't buy this on principal. As a matter of fact, that is why I rarely buy on Amazon.ca.
Published 1 month ago by Misha


‹ Previous | 1 2115 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top-notch television, grounded before its time., Oct. 14 2003
By 
Nathan Alderman (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you're not a science fiction fan, you may be looking at the endless string of rapturous reviews for "Firefly" and rolling your eyes. While "Firefly" certainly doesn't lack in geek appeal, its sharp writing, excellent cast and often-striking visual style elevate it into the ranks of Just Plain Great Television. After a somewhat bumpy start, this series found its groove with remarkable speed, and began cranking out hour after hour of compelling drama as if it had been on the air for years.
The Fox network employed a novel strategy to introduce Firefly to audiences in the fall of 2002-- sidelining its brilliant two-hour premiere in favor of a dumbed-down and hastily-written successor, airing the series out of order (with all its least compelling episodes up front), and frequently pre-empting the show in favor of the world series. Fox then proceeded to throw up its hands in feigned amazement when the series tanked in the ratings. While fans of writer/producer/creator Joss Whedon do tend toward fanaticism, in this case it's more a testament to the quality and intelligence of "Firefly" that the series has enjoyed eye-popping pre-orders on DVD and new life as a feature film.
Standout episodes include "Serenity," the series' haunting, dryly funny pilot; "Our Mrs. Reynolds," a sly mix of screwball comedy and crime caper; and "Objects In Space," a nail-biting, beautifully shot game of cat and mouse between the series' most mysterious heroine and one of the more memorably whacked-out villains in recent TV memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Firefly’s glow is a warm one and comes highly recommended to all, Oct. 10 2012
By 
Jamie MacDougall "Film/TV Addict" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Firefly: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
There have been few science fiction series in past memory that are as warm and memorable as Firefly. A perfectly cast crew of loveable characters (that you actually care about), well-written stories, beautiful sets, music, wardrobe and special FX blend into an intoxicatingly brilliant series. It’s a wildly fun-filled tale with wit, action, adventure and humor.

It’s a real shame that Firefly never stood a chance due to the network’s meddling and total lack of faith in the project from before it even made it to air. Thankfully the show developed a quick and loyal cult following of fans that fought valiantly to save their beloved series. In the end their passionate efforts did not resurrect the series, but instead rewarded us with Serenity, a motion picture I also highly recommend.

Regardless of if you’re a fan of the science fiction genre or not, I recommend the series to everyone. This Blu-ray is a must have for old and new fans alike and should find a place in everyone’s collections as it provides a solid upgrade from the previous DVD release of the show. The set also boasts an array of extras, including a partial cast reunion segment and an additional episode commentary exclusive to the Blu-ray release. You won't regret picking this one up. Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FOX SUCKS!!!!, June 10 2004
By 
C. Antal (Strongsville, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think there's enough 5 star reviews for this show that me continuing to rave about it would serve no purpose. So instead I choose to berate and chide the "brainiacs" who first decide to bring the master storyteller Joss Whedon to their network only to drop his show before the tale could fully be told. IDIOTS!! Do these people not know Joss Whedon? Have they not seen Buffy or Angel? Do they not know that Joss is all about big story arcs that pay off wonderfully in the end? To just kill the show was an absolute crime! If it were up to me, I would take all the people involved in cancelling Firefly, lock them in a room, and make them watch American Idol or Joe Millionaire, or whatever the latest reality garbage show is on, over and over and over again until they choke on the filth they've created and pandered to the public. That wouldn't quite be justice, but pretty close.
Well I guess its the fans that showed them. The sales of this dvd set are through the roof and after reading several reviews, its clear that anybody who's watched this show loves it. Can't wait for the movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can see why this is a fan favourite! It has everything science fiction should have and unexpected extras!, July 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Firefly: The Complete Series (DVD)
Funny, creepy, sad, desperate, grubby, horrible and honourable, honest and deceptive, sweet moments , incredible courage, betrayal and redemption, it beats all the "civilised" Star Treks and Star Wars to pieces. The "Reivers" are the most terrifying villians ever created! As an Isaac Assimov fan, I became instantly hooked and cannot believe the foolishness of the network to cancel it. May they rue the day! MJ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why this series was cancelled after 1 season is a mystery!, May 14 2013
By 
Script Animal (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Firefly: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Amazing! acting 5 starts, best writing I have seen in a series in a long time and I don't even like sci-fi! I am now a newly minted "browncoat"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watched Serenity first, Nov. 7 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I watched serenity about 20 times before finally breaking down and watching the complete Firefly series (14 episodes, 2002-2003). You can see my Serenity review for more details on the movie.

This series has all my favorite characters from the movie. The series was of course made before the movie. The series has most of the same characters and loosely the same base story. I can see where the series closed down too soon.

Some space ship, some cowboy, and a lot of people to people situation interaction. Each episode brings in a new problem and we see how our characters are to solve the problem or at least leave us with the thought of what we would do if we were there.

I saw the complete series on Blu-ray DVD as I wanted more control over the display and repeated viewing without having to subscribe to a service. The extras were disanointing and there was no voiceover commentary. Some of the scenes ware a tad grainy; however this does not distract from the presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cancelled way to Soon., Oct. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of the best sci fi series to be cancelled, it was never given a chance. Great characters and story, wonderful script and a must see for any fan of this gendre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Une excellente série pour les amateurs de Science Fiction., Oct. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Firefly: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
À voir absolument !
Digne de l'appréciation qu'on lui fait.
À savourer du début à la fin.
La trame française de cette version est en DD2.0 seulement. Si vous possédez la sonorisation adéquate, il faut l'écouter en version originale (Anglais).
Sur un écran de grande dimension (110") la qualité vidéo est légèrement déficiente mais c'est quand même convenable.
Même si cela ne répond pas à toutes les questions, heureusement qu'il y a le film Serinity pour conclure car la série elle-même n'a pas de fin étant donné qu'elle a été arrêté par la FOX après la première saison (Quelle idiocie !).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly entertaining, April 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Firefly: The Complete Series (DVD)
This show was pure fun. I liked all the characters. They had a great way with words. This is a program to just sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy!, April 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Firefly: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
In a series that was cut short, Firefly will always be in my top 10 for greatest shows. Very few shows can pull off multiple genres without confusing the audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2115 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8a525d0)

This product

Firefly: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 49.99 CDN$ 27.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews