countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
779
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 23, 2016
I bought this for someone who had never seen a star wars movie. (she's 54) It was great to be able to watch the whole trilogy all at once. While we didn't watch all the extra stuff... it did come with a lot of extra stuff. There were two extra CD's with all kinds of out takes, behind the scenes and making of stuff to watch also. a good package with hours of entertainment and the complete star wars story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2014
Star Wars IV-VI classics are as enjoyable as always. We watched the three over a period of a month, and it was still a lot of fun. One problem with this collection is that it has the "digital graphic upgrades" - these were added in the video re-releases in the 80s/90s. These "upgrades" mainly include digital creatures that add zero value to the story or plot... they merely make you take notice as to how distracting and out of place they are... and how crude the graphics were (otherwise 5 stars).
Episode IV is still by far the tightest movie with the best script and execution!
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2016
I am a big Star Wars fan, and this is not my first viewing of the Star Wars Trilogy. So, for anyone out there who has never experienced Star Wars, you will probably figure it out - that because I'm purchasing the same movies for the second time, that I really recommend them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon April 22, 2014
This Blue Ray+ DVD release contains 6 discs....3 Blue Ray & 3 DVD discs

Each blue ray is presented in 2:35:1 Aspect ratio with black bars on top and bottom. It is not presented in 1080p, but instead AVC 31mps for The Empire Strikes Back, and Return Of The Jedi, and AVC 33mps for A New Hope.

The Audio for the Blue Ray discs is presented in 6.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, English 5.1 Descriptive Audio, Spanish 5.1 Dolby Digital, French DTS 5.1, & Portuguese 5.1 Dolby Digital. Subtitles are in English SDH, Spanish, French, And Portuguese. The DVD versions are presented in their original DVD release formats. I guess the only reason companies release Blue Ray & DVD combos together is in case Blue Ray goes out of style and disappears.

The only Extras you will get on this set are Audio Commentaries with George Lucas, Cast & Crew taken from archival interviews. Their are no featurette's or behind the scenes or anything like that......just audio commentaries.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon September 2, 2007
Why did George Lucas made those "special editions" of the original Star Wars trilogy?The films were good as they were,but Lucas first made changes to them with the "special editions" back in 1997 on the VHS boxed saying it was his ultimate version of the first trilogy but he couldn`t stop as he once again made changes to the movies for the 2004 DVD boxed set.Then this 2005 DVD set comes,its the same as what was released in the 2004 boxed set,without the bonus discs and an alternate box,for a cheaper price.

You don`t mess with the past,and Mr.Lucas doesn`t seem to know that!Those changes made,some can be minor others are more important weren`t necessary and the movies on this DVD set should have been released as they were in theaters back in 1977,1980 and 1983 in order to please fans.

Even with all the changes those first three movies "IV:A New Hope","V:The Empire Strikes Back" and "VI:Return Of The Jedi" are still enjoyable but if you want the originals,you came to the wrong place.

OVERRAL:The movies themselves are all 5 stars and greats films but this DVD boxed set is just another special edition,if you don`t mind the changes made to the movies this seems like a pretty good buy as this is the most unexpensive DVD set of the original trilogy,for more you can buy the other set wich is basicly same as this but with the bonus discs with special features.Or another option is buying the 2006 separate versions of the movies in a two discs set wich contains the original versions without any changes made and the special editions.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2016
All I had until now were worn vhs tapes in 4:3 aspect ratio, now I have the full picture in bright colors! However, since the original source was not digital, the image is not as sharp as in the I-II-III bluray package. You will notice it at first sight. But it is still a nice buy, if you want to watch these movies for the years to come! And the sound is great.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2010
As of this writing, october 20th 2010, the 'Product Description' on Amazon.CA for this product is misleading because it
describes another version, so just ignore it.

This review is for the Star Wars Trilogy box set ( ASIN: B001EX9YJ0 published in Canada) with Vader's mask in the background,
X-wing/Ties on one side,
Millenium falcon/Ties on the other side,
Luke's shadow and Vader's shadow fighting in the center.

The set contains 6 discs with 2 versions for each episode( IV, V and VI ).
I must point out that these are the widescreen limited editions( 19XX & 2004 ) that you can also buy individually.
( for ref, ASINs: B000FOPZUG B000FOPZV0 B000FOPZVK )

3 discs are the movies digitally remastered with added footage and special effects,
Widescreen enhanced for 16:9 television, 2.35:1 ratio.
Sound options: English dolby 5.1, English dolby 2.0, French dolby 2.0, Spanish dolby 2.0
Subtitles options: English
Commentary in english by George Lucas, Ben Burtt, Dennis Muren and Carrie Fisher.

The 3 others are the original theatrical releases in all their unmodified glory.
Don't expect magical post filtering to remove the NORMAL graininess of the film,
which was shot with good old analog cameras.
Those are presented in 4:3 letterbox,
or in other terms 2.35:1 film with black bars above and under to give it a 4:3 ratio.
Again to be clear, you get the entire frame, as it was shown in theatres.
Sound options: English dolby 2.0, French dolby 2.0, Spanish dolby 2.0
Subtitles options: English
Another nice surprise, the menu backgrounds for those 3 DVDs are
the original hand drawn movie posters. How sweet is that!
For example, the episode IV image has the Star Wars logo outlined in thick red, without the "a new hope".
I had never seen that poster, and it looks really good.
And let's not forget the art on the casing and discs.
Presentation is just great for this set.

The last set I owned was the THX remastered VHS tapes, so this one is the holy grail of sets.
Whether you're a nostalgic like me or you prefer the improved versions, everyone should be happy here.
Thank you Mr Lucas for these movies.
0Comment| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2015
Great picture. Great Sound. Some extra scenes here and there, I'm not obsessed enough to notice them. Should have won several Oscars starting in 1977 as ground breaking and brilliantly imaginative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2008
If you buy this DVD set you will get both the original Star Wars movies and their re-mastered versions. Unfortunately, you will not get the special edition versions (that version has probably been incinerated) that were Lucas' first attempt at editing his magnum opus. Also, the original versions of the film have not been cleared up in any way. I don't mind that so much because I actually like watching a movie that has a movie feel to it (audiences today have been ruined by expecting perfection and have absolutely no taste for atmosphere). The real problem with this set is that there is no new material here. It was all released just two years ago. This DVD set is just another attempt by Lucasfilm to cash in. They are one company that is excellent at getting people to buy the exact same thing of something they already have.

The only reason to buy this DVD set is if you don't own the original Star Wars trilogy on DVD. Otherwise, keep your cash and stop giving it to George until he offers something worthwhile.
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2016
Fast Shipping/A+ Seller/Present For The Old Lady.She Loves Star Wars And Darth Vader And Ewoks And Jabba The Hut And Yoda And Chewbacca And R2D2 And C3PO And Well You See What I'm Getting At.Thanks :) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse