march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars18
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 10, 2010
It is obvious hard to decide when you don't know what is in a package, so let's start with a full list of the included movies:

One Night in the Tropics (1940)
Buck Privates (1941)
In the Navy (1941)
Hold That Ghost (1941)
Keep 'Em Flying (1941)
Ride 'Em Cowboy (1942)
Pardon My Sarong (1942)
Who Done It? (1942)
It Ain't Hay (1943)
Hit the Ice (1943)
In Society (1944)
Here Come the Co-Eds (1945)
The Naughty Nineties (1945)
Little Giant (1946)
The Time of Their Lives (1946)
Buck Privates Come Home (1947)
The Wistful Widow of Wagon Gap (1947)
Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948)
Mexican Hayride (1948)
Abbott and Costello Meet the Killer, Boris Karloff (1949)
Abbott and Costello in the Foreign Legion (1950)
Abbott and Costello Meet the Invisible Man (1951)
Comin' Round the Mountain (1951)
Lost in Alaska (1952)
Abbott and Costello Go to Mars (1953)
Abbott and Costello Meet Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1953)
Abbott and Costello Meet the Keystone Kops (1955)
Abbott and Costello Meet the Mummy (1955)

Now, this may not be every movie the comedic duo starred in but it is their complete run while working with Universal Studios. The quality is excellent considering the lower quality of film releases during the war years. Regular skits and new alike, slapstick, witty banter and double-talk; what more do you want? How about a calculated price of under well $5.00 per film? (at initial release; price subject to change) Hours of entertainment that we will never see the like of again all wrapped up in a fun "steamer trunk" package.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2009
if you want a good laugh, you can get it with this set. while pricey due to its size, it's actually not bad on a per movie basis, just watch the amazon pricing though. after i bought mine the price changed twice, first lower by $6 then up to lower by 4. the little history booklet included is a nice touch and better yet is the inclusion of the movie ' IT AIN'T HAY' which is the reason for my purchase as i had never before seen it. a good comprehensive fun set that even the children here enjoy!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 28, 2015
This box has all 28 films ABBOTT AND COSTELLO made at UNIVERSAL studios 1940-1955.The 8 missing were at MGM or WARNER.We also have as bonus three documentaries:the first one released in 1965 was merely a selection of clips with very little narration;the two others:SEINFELD meet ABBOTT AND COSTELLO and ABBOTT AND COSTELLO meet the monsters are more interesting;we even see home movie clips.Considering the fact that the duo made 36 films,few of them were duds(Am i being ironic?).HERE COME THE CO-EDS and GO TO MARS are two of their worst. The famous WHO's ON FIRST number is on THE NAUGHTIE NINETIES chapter 12.If you like old movies in black and white,this collection is worth every dollar and will provide you hours of fun.You also have in the package a nice booklet with the posters and an overview of their careers,story lines of the movies and comments from children who wrote anecdotes about their famous fathers.Those guys spend a lifetime entertaining us.Everybody has a favorite ABBOTT AND COSTELLO film ,and also unfortunately a favorite dud.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2012
Years ago been robbed and wondered if I could buy those magnificent films again. It is a real fine source of information about the burlesque period. Not to mention that I discovered plenty of informations about their career and what kind of persons Bud Abbott and Lou Costello were in real life. These films are a beautiful hommage to their work and their time. They still make me laugh out loud. Excellent quality!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2014
one of my favorite comedy shows, have watched the movies on tv and thru vhs, all my grandchildren have gone thru the movies, and they have their favorites, a very good set to purchase for grandchildren and myself, a senior,,,, love it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 14, 2015
Purchased as a gift for a true fan of slapstick. He LOVES this set, and has been watching a different film each day. The sound and film transfer quality is excellent, especially considering how old all of these films are. I loved Abbott & Costello movies as a kid, and now I can pass on the enjoyment to the next generation. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
I have only watched a couple of their movies but really did enjoy them. They were very good together and the other actors are outstanding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2014
Great quality DVD, I loved watching these guys on television reruns as a kid. It's nice to watch some of the episodes I missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2013
Timeless comedic acts that transend throughout time. Full of laughs and giggles and makes a dull day fun. Great for the kids
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2013
what fun movies to have. no bad language, nudity or valance. great for my kids and family. thank you so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse