Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting DCD album
Any DCD fan will want this album. It's also not everyone's cup of tea since it's hard to pinpoint the genre. A bit new age, folk with electronica that sounds like ancient musical instruments.
Published 3 months ago by Pierre Coach

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Moody and tres goth
This album is so-so as compared with amazing CDs such as "Aion" or "Toward the Within". Missing here are any songs with the driving beat or rhythms which makes so much of their music a trip to hear. This album is all slow and moody and goth...not bad, but no where near as good as later efforts by this duo.
Published on Jan. 7 2000


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting DCD album, April 12 2014
By 
Pierre Coach (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Within the Realm of a Dying Sun (Audio CD)
Any DCD fan will want this album. It's also not everyone's cup of tea since it's hard to pinpoint the genre. A bit new age, folk with electronica that sounds like ancient musical instruments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece!, March 12 2004
By A Customer
I've been reading some of the comments about this album. Most of them are purely based on personal feelings and preferences. So is mine, I believe. However, at some point, I think a work of art should no longer submit to personal opinions, rather it should enter the constellation of everlasting monuments to mankind's ability to create Beauty.
In fact, no matter what the opinions are, this is a monument, "Within ..." is a landmark in music creation. And only if the name of the band wasn't so ... dark, perhaps more visibility would be available to both Perry and Gerrard.
The evolution of the compositions in this record are the perfect settlement to this collection of art; each and every title is placed exactly where it should, and no superfluous sound is recorded. You will find it very difficult to point out any kind of mistakes in this record, appart from wether you like it or not.
And of course, as a band, DCD works out just close to perfection. The sublime Perry's lyrics and the supernatural Lisa's voice. It's all in there.
If you ever go to Paris, don't miss a visit to Père Lachaise cemetery. There you will find the tomb displayed on the cover. I was there but only found that afterwards!
An aboslute masterpice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If Heaven had a Dark Edge to it,MILK, Sept. 22 2003
This album is the sound of Gothic Dream Pop,Yeah this is mostly World Music but it does have a Gothic Edge to it.It's not Goth rock,it's what the Milkbaby likes to call Symphonic Dream Goth.This album takes you into a dream a dream of a dark haunted Castle,or a cold night in a cemetary.This music if you let it can transport you to another place and time.A place that existed long ago and Time that is no more,this album is very haunting and etheral especially the vocals of the beautiful Gothic sounding Lisa Gerrard.Brendon Perry's vocals remind me of a dark fairy tale/musical.
All of the tracks s are pure gold on here but if I had to pick one it would be"summoning of The Muse" which has Lisa Gerrard's vocals,it sounds like a vampire movie set in the 1700's or any real good horror movie set in a older time period.The Sound is really hard to describe but i'll say this If Heaven were drenched in Black and the angels had a gothic edge to them I believe this is what it would sound like.Think classical but with a dark edge meshed with etheral vocals and think of it as a soundtrack to good Vampire movie.We'll the Milkbaby hopes this review was helpful,Mes has to go now.MILK,PINKY WAVE,BABYLAND FOREVER,YAY,GOODBYE,YAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, Aug. 11 2003
By 
JASON D BORJA (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL United States) - See all my reviews
I had all of the dead can dance cd's up to into the labrinth(musical taste's had changed), and ended up trading a bunch of cd's at the local music trader. This album was the only one I kept. I just couldn't get let this one go. All of there albums are great, but this is my personal favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is it, July 1 2003
This album takes everything you know and completely devastates you with what you'll never know.
This Band makes you yearn for a soft place with a lover you'll never have.
This music enters your soul and burns it to a crisp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thistlelip, May 7 2003
By A Customer
quite simply wonderful in its depth and richness. nothing in the music industry has produced anything since and quite doubt that anyone can even touch their insight and beauty in the way that they have. some say morbid, i say real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DCD at their grandest, Feb. 17 2003
By 
N. Clarke (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While Dead Can Dance's music was always more baroque and eclectic than the 'goth' label might suggest, _Within the Realm of a Dying Sun_ is certainly one of the more brooding entries in their back catalogue. Of their early material (which is to say, before the more overtly 'ethnic' stylings of _Into the Labyrinth_ onwards), this is by far the best. Making superb use of Lisa Gerrard's astonishing vocal range, it runs the full gamut from dark-and-langourous to soaring inspiration. As usual, Perry's vocal contributions take a little longer to get used to; 'Xavier' sounds like 80s pop, albeit DCD-style.
It also contains 'Cantara', which for me is Dead Can Dance's best single track, and a reason to buy the album in itself: a glorious, undulating kaleidoscope of sound that just begs you to turn up the hi-fi...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an album!, Dec 13 2002
I love everything I've ever heard from DCD. Being a extreme metal head, I believe I discovered this band after seeing that Trey from Morbid Angel had thanked them in the liner notes of some Morbid Angel album. Trey is basically god, so I decided I needed to check out this band. I guess I was expecting to find a metal band, but I was wrong! This is incredibly atmospheric music with amazing vocals from Lisa and Mr. Perry. This is probably my second favorite DCD album, the first being 'The Serpents Egg.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A transcendent and chilling piece of musical genius, Sept. 5 2002
By 
M. Haswell (Tulsa, OK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I must confess that I was quite late in becoming familiar with Dead Can Dance, and missed their glory days by a longshot. Considering that I was listening to a number of their stylistic contemporaries, I'm not sure how I missed out for so long. It's very unfortunate that Lisa Gerrard and Brendan Perry are no longer making music together, but the material that they did create easily stands among the finest and deepest in the past couple decades. To me, Within the Realm of a Dying Sun represents their first true (and arguably purest) masterpiece. Everything they made from Spleen and Ideal onwards was unique and rich both in melody and content, but this particular album sends shudders down my spine like few others can. Although this is far from being a bright and pretty work, the growth between it and their rather unexceptional, Goth-style debut in 1984 is really quite an extraordinary shift.
The arrangement of the songs is a bit peculiar from the very first listen; this is the only album in which Brendan and Lisa evenly split the vocal/songwriting responsibilities, and - in particular - each respectively get one half of the album. As awkward and unnatural as it may sound, it works perfectly, with the two halves complementing each other like they were meant to fall in that order. Still, there is a heavy medieval and Gothic tinge to the songs, intensifying more and more as the album progresses. The atmosphere is only charged further by the addition of strings, tympani and horns, which accent the music beautifully. Brendan's songs are dark, but not quite depressing, with lyrics focusing more on a spiritual and philosophical plane than a dreary and nihilistic one. Each song of his seems to be part of a gradual crescendo, slowly becoming more urgent and intense. It all comes to a head on "Dawn of the Iconoclast," a downright unsettling piece that heralds Lisa's entrance as the primary vocalist. The tension loosens a bit with the beginning of "Cantara," but thunders up again after a minute into the song, continuing until the chimes and orchestra of "Summoning of the Muse" take its place. The grand finale is "Persephone," which begins with Lisa's incredibly rich lower register, moving into a stirring string section that then segues into a thoroughly beautiful vocal performance. Her singing becomes increasingly powerful, building the song up more and more before finally letting it collapse down into a bittersweet and disquieted ending.
Within the Realm of a Dying Sun is probably not the easiest introduction to Dead Can Dance's work (try Aion or Into the Labyrinth), but it is likely one of the most rewarding after repeated listens. The subsequent effort, The Serpent's Egg, begins a steady shift away from their heavier and darker work, so in a way this release marks the final climax of their early period. It is without a doubt one of their finest moments, however, and should not be neglected in any fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, Lament!, June 25 2002
By 
Philippe Landry (Louisiana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album has to be THE most dramatic, romantic, gothic(not goth) piece of work i have ever heard. It's so beautifully over-the-top and strong in composition. "Anywhere Out Of The World" is a gloomy and decadant starter with eerie melodic belltones, dark and forboding strings, a pulsing synth bass and, best of all, Brendan's woeful croon. I think Lisa's best moment is during "Summoning The Muse", an engulfing piece with a chorus of angels mourning the loss of everything young and beautiful, causing the sky to just rain down in perfect misery. The whole album is solid, each song keeping a perfect place with in the album, nothing too dull or underworked. This record is a MUST for the passionate, brooding sort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Within the Realm of a Dying Sun
Within the Realm of a Dying Sun by Dead Can Dance (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews