Customer Reviews


1,146 Reviews
5 star:
 (730)
4 star:
 (118)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (55)
1 star:
 (203)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breathtakingly beautiful and unique love story
I absolutely love Moulin Rouge. I have never seen anything at all like this movie; it is nothing short of indescribable. Previews and descriptions offer only the smallest glimpse into the epic world of intense human emotion, amazing sets, and incredible music that is Moulin Rouge. The setting is Paris in 1900, where the Moulin Rouge is the place to be, a spectacularly...
Published on June 20 2006 by Daniel Jolley

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Moulin Rouge is.....
....a chick flick in the most negative sense of the term. It uses a shallow plot (that's baby-pool-shallow, folks) as the infrastructure to carry out the murder of an array of classic rock and roll songs, songs which clash jarringly with the prewar-Paris setting of this musical. The film appears to be intended as a sensory feast, both visually and aurally. For me, the...
Published on Feb. 23 2003 by Mark Borchers


‹ Previous | 1 2115 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breathtakingly beautiful and unique love story, June 20 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moulin Rouge (DVD)
I absolutely love Moulin Rouge. I have never seen anything at all like this movie; it is nothing short of indescribable. Previews and descriptions offer only the smallest glimpse into the epic world of intense human emotion, amazing sets, and incredible music that is Moulin Rouge. The setting is Paris in 1900, where the Moulin Rouge is the place to be, a spectacularly unreal world wherein inhibitions are left at the door and beauty, truth, freedom, and love are pursued on an epic scale. Ewan McGregor plays Christian, a young, idealistic, penniless poet who has come to Paris to embrace the bohemian spirit flourishing there. He soon finds himself writing songs for a lavish production alongside a truly unforgettable cast of characters led by Toulouse Lautrec (John Leguizamo). His new friends are awestruck by the lines and lyrics he comes up with, all of which are drawn from the pop culture of our own modern day. A shot of absinthe and a vision of the Green Fairy (played by the lovely Kylie Minogue) later, he finds himself inside Moulin Rouge. Harold Zidler (Jim Broadbent) leads the way for one of the most lavish musical production numbers ever created on film, topped off by the appearance of Satine (Nicole Kidman) on a huge swing above the amazingly enthusiastic audience. Despite the odds, Christian and Satine fall in love, but they must keep their love hidden because the club's wealthy patron, The Duke (Richard Roxburgh), wants Satine for himself and is willing to make her the real actress she longs to be in return for her affections. I was rather surprised to discover such a deeply emotional tale at the heart of this movie; it is a beautiful but tragic love story that outshines even the incredibly lavish production numbers for which this film is most famous.

I love musicals, but I had come to doubt the ability of modern moviemakers to make one worth seeing. What director Baz Luhrmann has done is to actually reinvent the musical as audiences know it. It sounds strange to say that the music for a movie set in 1900 consists of modern pop, opera, hip-hop, and other songs of the late twentieth century, but it really works beautifully and draws the modern viewer more deeply into the world of "real artificiality" Luhrmann succeeded in creating. If you had asked my thoughts on having two guys who look like David Spade and Rip Taylor singing Madonna's Like a Virgin in a movie, I would have laughed you out the door, yet it actually works in Moulin Rouge. Each of the terrific songs included here does serve rather than detract from the story itself. Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman do actually sing their own songs, it is important to note, and I was amazed to discover that Kidman's singing voice is as beautiful as she is herself. Dialogue alone could never manufacture the power unleashed by the music of Moulin Rouge, and the great tragedy of the story is made even more poignant by songs such as the haunting Come What May. Don't think this movie uses its garish production numbers as a means of hiding a weak story because the love story of Christian and Satine is nothing short of breathtaking, heartbreaking, and somehow wondrously beautiful all at the same time.

A terrific movie deserves a terrific DVD release, and Moulin Rouge features more extras than I could even watch all at once. When you watch the movie, you will marvel at the sets and costumes and wonder how on earth this movie was made. There are features on just about every aspect of the making of Moulin Rouge included on Disc Two. I love the commentaries and interviews, but what I really love are the uncut dance sequences. The dance numbers in this movie are just beautiful and beyond amazing, but they cannot be shown uncut in the film itself because things are happening story-wise at the same time and those scenes take precedence over the dances. Here, not only can you watch each of these musical production numbers in its completeness, you can even watch each one from multiple camera angles.

I know there are some people who dismiss this movie out of hand because it is a musical or because the hedonistic themes revealed in the movie previews give the impression of gaudiness over substance. This is not a musical in the traditional sense of the word, and the sets, while opulently lavish, are actually less stunning than the plot itself. This is a love story for the ages, sprinkled with comedy but dominated by the deepest of human emotions. Even though I was interested in this movie from the time it was released, I myself did not expect story itself to be as powerful and moving as it is. Moulin Rouge is, in almost every conceivable way, one of the best motion pictures I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And I'm not even a fan of musicals, March 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moulin Rouge [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A great package. The music is reworked fantastically to fit right in with every scene. The scenes, backgrounds and colours are spectacular and the storyline is sad but brilliantly conveyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars moulin rouge, Nov. 29 2010
This review is from: Moulin Rouge [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Romance, two of the hottest leading actors of their time, and extravagant sets that remind one of the golden days of hollywood. Songs are well-chosen. I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey Mikey, I liked it!, April 15 2004
By 
Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor embark upon a dangerous love story in "Moulin Rouge." A courtizan and penniless writer, the two must battle for their love, defying men at the nightclub, a jealous duke, and a fatal illness. Their love story is enveloped within extraordinary musical performances and tantalizing dance scenes, and the lovers' songs live on long after the movie has ended. I think the work as a whole is phenomenal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This was a great movie!, Jan. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moulin Rouge (Bilingual) (DVD)
I absolutely loved this movie (Moulin Rouge) I would recommend it to all. Great acting. Great story. Don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars moulin rouge, Sept. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moulin Rouge [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
excellent movie, a very good copy, the colors and audio are excellent done, to bad there are very few good musicals today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Drama and Romance, June 7 2013
This review is from: Moulin Rouge (Bilingual) (DVD)
Moulin Rouge was not what I expected, in the good way. It had been recommended to me for years, but I only recently watched it - I can't believe I waited so long. The music is entertaining, adding drama or excitement to every scene. Ewan Mcgregor will make your heart break (and has a surprising set of lungs.) The bohemians are hilarious and provide great comic relief.
They give away the ending at the beginning, but the style of the movie allows you to forget that, (hoping for the best) and still get the surprise of the ending.
I love this movie. You should watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, April 18 2012
This review is from: Moulin Rouge (Bilingual) (DVD)
Une vraie histoire d'amour avec des chansons que j'adore et bien interpréter, surtout par Ewan McGregor. Sooo Cutee Histoire tragique = Larmes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Moulin Rouge is....., Feb. 23 2003
By 
Mark Borchers (The Woodlands, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
....a chick flick in the most negative sense of the term. It uses a shallow plot (that's baby-pool-shallow, folks) as the infrastructure to carry out the murder of an array of classic rock and roll songs, songs which clash jarringly with the prewar-Paris setting of this musical. The film appears to be intended as a sensory feast, both visually and aurally. For me, the musical aspect simply does not work, although I know many people who really enjoyed the soundtrack. The visual bombardment is technically well-done, and if you like frenetic and gawdy light and color superimposed on a Paris cabaret movie set which NEVER attempts to convince you that it is anything more real than a set on a sound stage, then you may well find the movie an exciting and stimulating experience. Fans of maudlin filmmaking will enjoy the climactic tragedy of the affair between the poor young musical poet and the courtesan whose armored heart is finally breached by love, an affair that is doomed to end amidst a flood of tears gushing out from beneath the pancake makeup of the cabaret cast of the Moulin Rouge. Heck, I don't know, maybe this movie is really somewhat faithful to the Bohemian pseudo-life of Paris nightclubs back in the day. I sure did not like it much, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Romantic Fantasy, Simply Brilliant, June 8 2004
Most people I know either love or hate MOULIN ROUGE. People who are sticklers for accuracy probably won't like this DVD because it doesn't portray either Paris or Montmarte's "Moulin Rouge" accurately. That was fine with me. I loved the fact that MOULIN ROUGE is a fantasy and a very romantic one at that.
MOULIN ROUGE is the story of Christian (Ewan McGregor), a penniless writer who dreams of penning a play that will be performed at the "Moulin Rouge." It is Toulouse-Lautrec, himself (John Leguigamo) who gets Christian an interview with Satine (Nicole Kidman), the "Moulin Rouge's" star. When Christian meets Satine, he falls in love immediately, but even though Satine returns his love, everything isn't sweetness and light for this star-crossed pair. Christian isn't the only man vying for Satine's love. A wealthy duke (Richard Roxburgh) has promised the "Moulin Rouge's" owner, Zidler (John Broadbent) that if he wins the hand of Satine, both Zidler and the "Moulin Rouge" will have nothing to worry about ever again. And, even if Satine weren't under pressure from Zidler, she's not entirely healthy.
Despite some over-the-top special effects (like Christian and Satine dancing in the clouds in the midst of stardust), the love story that forms the plot of MOULIN ROUGE is both believable and touching, due to the first-rate work of McGregor and Kidman. Both play young lovers with such a wistful romanticism that it's impossible not to love them and their singing and dancing were not so elaborate as to look "forced." Kidman, especially, shines, and I think her role as Satine has been her best to date.
It's impossible to comment on this DVD without commenting on the music (and MOULIN ROUGE is a musical). Lurhmann has incorporated "modern" songs into the film, such as "Your Song" and "Roxanne." I know people who hated this aspect of the film, but because it's a fantasy, I loved it and I thought it worked wonderfully.
Despite it's ending, which I didn't mind and, which I think, is inevitable, I think MOULIN ROUGE is a lot of fun. It's a gorgeous, stylish fantasy and yes, there are excesses, but fantasy sometimes requires excess and I think MOULIN ROUGE did. Its production numbers are infused with an energy and love for life that's missing in so many other films, most notably CHICAGO.
Nicole Kidman was so good as the tuberculosis stricken Satine, I would have loved it if she had received her "Best Actress" Oscar for this film rather than for THE HOURS, in which she was equally brilliant, but in a much smaller role.
If you love Paris, fantasy and romance, then you'll probably love MOULIN ROUGE just as I did and definitely want to own it. If, however, you like your DVDs "reality based," then MOULIN ROUGE probably won't be the DVD for you. Whether you like MOULIN ROUGE or not, it really is a brilliant, and brilliantly conceived, film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2115 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb567bc6c)

This product

NEW Kidman/mcgregor/broadbent - Moulin Rouge (Blu-ray)
CDN$ 10.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews