Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars L.A. rockers hit stratosphere on fifth release
By C.S.
Hair metal 1980's style is often criticized but filled a carloads of individuals who have little or no knowledge of the genre.
One of the bright spots on a seemingly mythical dark tale that is often told about 80's rock are the Los Angeles, California outfit known as Ratt.
With so much competition in the area - Motley Crue Dokken,and the already...
Published on Feb. 9 2004 by cssuperstar2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A solid album
Ratt's fourth full-length album--1988's Reach for the Sky--is good. It sports worthy songwriting, tight musicianship, and crisp sound quality. The material is in a straight-ahead hard rock musical direction. Stephen Pearcy's vocals are unique, magnetic, and ambitious. Of the ten tracks, there is one power ballad--"I Want to Love You Tonight," a song which...
Published on June 14 2004 by sauerkraut


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars possibly their worst during their hayday..., June 7 2006
By 
R. J. Plante (windsor, ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reach for the Sky (Audio CD)
i am a big ratt fan and have been for 20 years and i just can't agree with these other reviews. i have owned this album in the past (note the past tense) and i was left considerably disappointed with the overall feel of it. i am not knit-picking the album, it just doesn't have many (if any) of the characteristics that made ratt stand out in their day. the best/catchiest songs on the album are the singles "i want a woman" and "way cool jr.", and after that the selection really gets thin. absolutely nothing else stands out on the album (in my opinion only). this album would have been their swan song had they not recovered so well on their next effort "detonator". this is not the ratt album to start your collection, it is the one to end it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A solid album, June 14 2004
This review is from: Reach for the Sky (Audio CD)
Ratt's fourth full-length album--1988's Reach for the Sky--is good. It sports worthy songwriting, tight musicianship, and crisp sound quality. The material is in a straight-ahead hard rock musical direction. Stephen Pearcy's vocals are unique, magnetic, and ambitious. Of the ten tracks, there is one power ballad--"I Want to Love You Tonight," a song which features a pretty guitar intro and smooth background vocals. Though I like all of the tunes, my favorites are "I Want a Woman" and "Way Cool Jr." The fun, energetic "I Want a Woman" exhibits a memorable, engaging refrain, tasteful rhythm guitar work from Warren DeMartini and Robbin Crosby, and a nice guitar solo from DeMartini. "Way Cool Jr." features cool singing from Pearcy and a notable, pleasing chorus; also, this cut contains brass instrumentation. Other compositions that I enjoy are "Bottom Line" and "What's It Gonna Be." "Bottom Line" presents an attractive refrain and a gratifying main guitar riff, while "What's It Gonna Be" has a likeable chorus. Even though the CD insert does not include the song lyrics, there is a color photo of the band. The album cover artwork is interesting. The disc is just over 39 minutes. Reach for the Sky is a recommendable piece of work from Ratt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars L.A. rockers hit stratosphere on fifth release, Feb. 9 2004
By 
"cssuperstar2003" (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reach for the Sky (Audio CD)
By C.S.
Hair metal 1980's style is often criticized but filled a carloads of individuals who have little or no knowledge of the genre.
One of the bright spots on a seemingly mythical dark tale that is often told about 80's rock are the Los Angeles, California outfit known as Ratt.
With so much competition in the area - Motley Crue Dokken,and the already established Van Halen to choose from and to rock out to,it would seem impossible to gain a foothold of originality in this over- crowded marketplace.
With the cannonfire like drum beat and sound of Bobby Blotzer, the raspy and rough vocals of Stephen Pearcy, the dual guitar attack of Robbin Crosby (rhythm) and Warren De Martini (lead) combo and the penetratingly solid bass playing of Juan Crouchier (a former Dokken memeber),Ratt created a balanced metal sound .
The bass like tonation of Blotzer and Crouchier work in poisionous tandem with Crosby and De Marini on "Reach" and they strike a smooth balance - no one group of musicians overwhelm the other in the playing and recording process, making 'Reach For he Sky" a gem based on production alone.
Blotzer begins the assault with a funk -filled double bass-drum beat that fuels "City To City", while De Martini sprinkles the ingredients of wailing guitar riff on top of Pearchy's opening screams and Crosby's vicious co - lead on "I Want A Woman".
The next track "Way Cool Jr" is record company driven, elementary school pop all the way as a early resting point after the fast start created by the opening tracks..
The band step back into the club after a couple of drinks and set the tempo again with Blotzer opening up the floodgates for the reamaining musicians to jump over and in with his potent snare drum poops, slick cymbal/ hi- hat work, and stop on a dime breaks in pace on "Don't Bite The Hand That Feeds "
"Playing to the female auduence that fuels the industry, the boys hit the ballad button on "I Want To Love You Tonite".In stark comparison to the blatant commercialism of "Way Cool", the polished harmonies, smooth beat and polished craftiness of De Martini's solo over a tone setting rhyhtm riff by Crosby make for a more honest representation of how the band can work it's magic in slow- down mode.
"Chain Reaction is "Reach For The Sky's version of "Communication Breakdown" with it's Motley Crue like break neck tempo capped by Pearcy's suggestive line- "the only thing that sets me off will bring you to your knees"
If unconvinced or partially sold on the merits of Ratt the funky 'No Surprise" with it's backing vocal intro. heavy De Martini riff and avalanche of an intrusion by Blotzer with his opening beats make a strong case for crowd favorite in tandem with the stop and go,hard edged flow of "Bottom Line" where Blotzer fills in space beautifully around the exploits of his talented bandmates and wakes up the neighbors with his cymbal crashes and snap of the wrist drum rolls on " What's It Gonna Be" hi- lighted by the army of guitars gathered up by Crosby and De Martini that make for an rock- anthem flavored closing solo.
Though Pearcy and the gang may always be regarded as little or nothing songwriters, the pieces fall in place on "Reach For The Sky" in smoother symmetry than the spotty hit and miss nature of the previous LP "Dancing UnderCover".
This is Ratt N' Roll arguably at it's best, making 'Reach For The Sky" one of their top two or three albums and a worthy five star ranking.
C.S.
2-9- 04
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great album........, Feb. 2 2003
By 
Elite (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reach for the Sky (Audio CD)
Well, this is the one that got me into Ratt. I was 12-13 when this came out and I heard "Way Cool Jr." and I loved it. Then I went and bought the tape and didn't really care for the rest of it except for "City To City" and especially, "I Want A Woman". Then the more I listened to it, I liked this album. I then went out and got the rest of their tapes (at the time) and found out what all the fuss was about. There is very few filler songs here. And this doesn't just recycle the same sound that was found in their first three albums. This one tends to get a bad rap, but I think it's excellent. It's WAY better than "Dancing Undercover". In addition to the songs I already mentioned, "Don't Bite The Hand That Feeds", "Chain Reaction", "Bottom Line", & "What I'm After" are great cuts. And Ratt even did their first ballad for this one. "I Want To Love You Tonight" is a nice tune. I must admit, when this came out it did seem like Ratt was trying to get more commercial (hence the ballad and the more radio friendly sound), but who cares? It's good music and that's what counts. Buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sleaze Factor High!, July 24 2002
By 
kingratt82 (Fortuna, California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reach for the Sky (Audio CD)
Ratt's fifth release (fourth on major label), "Reach For the Sky," continues their swaggering style, their sleazy LA-style lyrics, and the Ratt sound forward through the end (*sniff*) of the 1980's. While some songs take a bit of a musical twist on typical Ratt stuff, this album is still distinctly, undeniably RATT in all of their glory.
Actually, I like the amount of sleaze in this release more than I do in their '85 album "Invasion of Your Privacy," and this album is neck-to-neck in competition with their 1986 "Dancing Undercover" for sexual inuendoes and lyrical sleaze. DeMartini's guitar also continues to blister, ingiting your stereo with "I Want a Woman," "Don't Bite the Hand That Feeds," and "City To City." "Chain Reaction" is fast, driving, and heavy, and "Bottom Line" is probably one of the best tracks on this album.
While I wouldn't recommend this CD to a beginner looking to experience Ratt, this IS a solid release, and established Ratt fans won't have a problem wearing out their stereos with this album.
For the Ratt experience, I recommend in this order: 1) "Out of the Cellar," 2) "Invasion of Your Privacy," 3) "Dancing Undercover", then 4) "Reach For the Sky." Their fifth major release, "Detonator," has its good moments, but doesn't stack up to their 80's releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pure RATT, July 8 2002
By 
Da Peace Dogg (Hollywood, California - livin' humble) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reach for the Sky (Audio CD)
Don't let the bizarre imagery of this album's cover fool you; Ratt haven't gone transcendental on us or anything. The music behind the cover is still filled with tons o' Ratt-styled sleeze, for which they are world famous. This album came out in '88, and it's easily one of their top three recordings. Songs like "City to City," "Way Cool Jr." and "What I'm After" jam dirty and hard. Pure RATT! I used to groove hard to this tape when I was in high school, but I doubt high school kids today listen to such stuff. Nowadays it's Limp Bizkit and Staind.
Well, hope this review has helped.
Catch ya' on the flipside...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTED, July 16 2001
This review is from: Reach for the Sky (Audio CD)
Sorry, but I can't agree with the others on this one. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE Ratt. They were (and still are) one of my favorite bands, but this album is weak. I saw the video for Way Cool Jr. and went right out and bought this album. Sadly, that is the only real good song on here. Some of the other songs are ok at best. Ratt picked it back up on Detonator. If you have never really listened to Ratt, buy 8191, Detonator, or Out of the Cellar. Leave this one for the bargain bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good solid rocker!, Nov. 29 1999
By 
Bryan S. Sampsel (Colorado Springs, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reach for the Sky (Audio CD)
Ratt may not have been a top-40 metal band but they never ceased to put out good music (except for some Detonator tracks)...
Reach For The Sky is just a good, solid album with lots of hooks, great lyrics, and unique among the Ratt albums. The first few albums were very similar in style...though I love them lots still...and this album is different.
"Don't let your dreams be clouded, Aim your sights high, Search your true feelings, And Reach For The Sky." - Ratt, Reach for the Sky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Ratt albums, Jan. 9 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Reach for the Sky (Audio CD)
Ratt put out three very good CD's and this is one of them. Along with "Out Of The Cellar" and "Detonator", REACH FOR THE SKY has a musical quality that most hard rock bands can't produce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reach for the Sky
Reach for the Sky by Ratt (Audio CD - 2008)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews