Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kung fu panda
Très bon film, autant pour les adultes que les plus jeunes. La version commandée sur Amazon.ca est le doublage français de France, mais c'est la version que les cinémas québécois ont utilisée, donc pas de surprise au niveau des voix.
Published 21 months ago by Lysanne

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars entertaining
well,i liked the movie.the story was interesting,and the action scenes
were good.the voice acting fit well with the characters.i gotta say
though,that,i never laughed once.maybe it's just me,or maybe you have
to be in a certain mood.still,i thought it was a good movie.it moves
along at a good pace,and it's certainly never boring.it reminded me of...
Published on May 27 2009 by falcon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better movies from the DreamWorks Stables!, July 23 2013
By 
John Thomas Anderson (Southern Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
When it comes to DreamWorks Animation, I've always considered their "Monsters vs. Aliens" as #1, the original "Shrek" as #2 and "Kung Fu Panda" as a pretty strong contender for the #3 spot! Why is that you ask?

Well first, the CGI animation is one of their better products with great attention to detail and it comes in a true theatrical 2:35.1 widescreen format which is always an extra point for me. Be it the large crowd scenes when choosing the Dragon Warrior, the deep dark dungeons or the simplest valley vistas; this movie really shines in the 1080P Blu-ray version. Then back this up with a very good audio track that really brings out the bass during the fight scenes (English 5.1 Dolby True HD, Dolby Digital 5.1 in French, Spanish & Portuguese) and technically, this film is a definite winner.

Then add in a wonderful storyline about an overweight Panda that has to become the legendary Dragon Warrior whether he wishes it or not and a Master who has to accept the fact that this student is indeed "THE ONE" and you have a movie that will appeal to adults as well as the kiddies. The subtle interplay here between Jack Black as Po and Dustin Hoffman as Master Shifu is truly at the heart of this movie.

Finally add in a great combination of action scenes juxtaposed with comedy and where even the ending has animated stills scrolling through the entire ending credits including an epilogue and this is a movie that you will want to watch right from the very first second right up to the very last one! That's always a plus for me as well. So overall, I'd rate it a strong four in the DreamWorks stable.

J. A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big hit at our house, May 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu Panda (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Everybody at our house loves this movie (except Grandma who thinks it is too violent). It is very funny and has a really good message, I think, (if I understand it correctly) which is basically: if you love it, keep trying! Po is an unlikely Kung Fu master, but he keeps at it, even when it is painful and difficult and even when others mock him. He just loves Kung Fu! My 2 yr old son loves this movie, although we usually only watch the first 20 minutes or so... this is the really funny part and then it gets a little serious and sad when it gets to the prison scenes. I would have given it 5 stars except that there are a few dark parts that make me a little sad. Overall, it is a wonderful movie and I'm glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kung fu panda, Dec 3 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Très bon film, autant pour les adultes que les plus jeunes. La version commandée sur Amazon.ca est le doublage français de France, mais c'est la version que les cinémas québécois ont utilisée, donc pas de surprise au niveau des voix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars philosophy is great, June 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
the turtle knows all. Listen to the turtle :) Visually awesome! Lacks female character prominence, but moving in the right direction for animated films for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, Dec 26 2013
By 
Mandy - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu Panda (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
It's a good movie. pretty much what you'd expect of Jack Black, but great for kids. My son loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Aug. 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu Panda [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Entertaining, very funny and overall a great movie (especially if you like Jack Black). Pixar always looks great on blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, Nov. 15 2008
By 
Sam (British Columbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kung Fu Panda (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Kung Fu Panda was a hilarious movie to watch, about a panda who only thought about eating, until one day his life changed...

Definitely watch this once in your life. Children will especially enjoy this animated movie featuring so many animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not giving up and believing in yourself makes Kung Fu Panda one of the best movies this year, Oct. 7 2008
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kung Fu Panda (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie was surprisely fun to watch and Paramount Pictures is having a Summer to remember at the box office this year. First it was "Iron Man" then came "Indiana Jones and The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull." Both films were the weekend box office champions in their respective released week. Each one collecting more that $100 millions dollars in their opening weekends. Now the turn is for Kung Fu Panda to match those numbers, which is reachable for this furry, funny and cute big panda.

The visual aspect of the movie is golden and the animation is one of Dreamworks' best. An attempt to put to use new technology into the most dramatic scenes, the sound was a big match and that's what this film delivers. It is easy to see the detailed work in cinematography when an ancient Chinese town is well illustrated as well as the Jade Temple and surroundings uncovering memories of the many martial arts Chinese movies for some of the old crowd and for the young exposing them to new lands and frontiers.

Jack Black and Dustin Hoffman voices' in this film were just right. Each one giving strong life to their characters, especially Jack Black who provided that special touch that only he can give to his characters. The rest of the cast (Angelina Jolie, Jackie Chan and Lucy Liu ) were ok. The biggest problem is that the script didn't provide supporting characters enough dialogue for these actors to expand their talents. On the other hand, children get to know "the legendary furious five" kung fu masters which as animals use their animal characteristics to fight the evil Tai Lung.

This cute, furry and funny film is set to get all audiences crazy about a little more than the Panda dance and that is to "be your own hero". It is just full family entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars entertaining, May 27 2009
This review is from: Kung Fu Panda (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
well,i liked the movie.the story was interesting,and the action scenes
were good.the voice acting fit well with the characters.i gotta say
though,that,i never laughed once.maybe it's just me,or maybe you have
to be in a certain mood.still,i thought it was a good movie.it moves
along at a good pace,and it's certainly never boring.it reminded me of
the movie Beverly Hills Ninja,starring Chris Farley from 1997.the main
character is pretty much the same type of character,except in that
one,our hero is a human being,and in this one,of course,he's a
panda.the other difference is i actually found Beverly Hills Ninja
pretty funny.but that's neither here nor there.as for Kung Fu Panda,i
was entertained throughout.i just didn't laugh.for me Kung Fu Panda is
a 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kung Fu Panda, Jan. 5 2012
By 
Duchess "Duchess" (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: NEW Kung Fu Panda (DVD) (DVD)
My husband and I think this is a fun movie to watch. It has a good story line and we liked it enough the first time to have it in our library to watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kung Fu Panda (Widescreen) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 15.99 CDN$ 4.88
Usually ships in 7 to 13 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews