countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 4, 2016
The movie itself is quite good, but this edition is rather disappointing. The reason I bought this edition is because I wanted the blu-ray version of the movie AND the three short films that come with it. Imagine my disappointment when I discovered the three short films are not included on the blu-ray, but on a separate DVD. That's right. A DVD, not blu-ray. Not to mention the sticker on the slip cover tore off part of the ink when I removed it, leaving a large black mark on the front. The only upside is that it was only $8. Still, I feel like I got ripped off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2016
The DVDs sold here could be formatted to 1.33 : 1, not the widescreen version of 2.35 : 1. Though at the product details it was mentioned, I thought it was one of those mistakes since I did not know they still marketed the full screen format in 2008. I requested them to update its product details adding " Format : Full Screen " and they did. An unhappy purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon October 7, 2008
This movie was surprisely fun to watch and Paramount Pictures is having a Summer to remember at the box office this year. First it was "Iron Man" then came "Indiana Jones and The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull." Both films were the weekend box office champions in their respective released week. Each one collecting more that $100 millions dollars in their opening weekends. Now the turn is for Kung Fu Panda to match those numbers, which is reachable for this furry, funny and cute big panda.

The visual aspect of the movie is golden and the animation is one of Dreamworks' best. An attempt to put to use new technology into the most dramatic scenes, the sound was a big match and that's what this film delivers. It is easy to see the detailed work in cinematography when an ancient Chinese town is well illustrated as well as the Jade Temple and surroundings uncovering memories of the many martial arts Chinese movies for some of the old crowd and for the young exposing them to new lands and frontiers.

Jack Black and Dustin Hoffman voices' in this film were just right. Each one giving strong life to their characters, especially Jack Black who provided that special touch that only he can give to his characters. The rest of the cast (Angelina Jolie, Jackie Chan and Lucy Liu ) were ok. The biggest problem is that the script didn't provide supporting characters enough dialogue for these actors to expand their talents. On the other hand, children get to know "the legendary furious five" kung fu masters which as animals use their animal characteristics to fight the evil Tai Lung.

This cute, furry and funny film is set to get all audiences crazy about a little more than the Panda dance and that is to "be your own hero". It is just full family entertainment.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When it comes to DreamWorks Animation, I've always considered their "Monsters vs. Aliens" as #1, the original "Shrek" as #2 and "Kung Fu Panda" as a pretty strong contender for the #3 spot! Why is that you ask?

Well first, the CGI animation is one of their better products with great attention to detail and it comes in a true theatrical 2:35.1 widescreen format which is always an extra point for me. Be it the large crowd scenes when choosing the Dragon Warrior, the deep dark dungeons or the simplest valley vistas; this movie really shines in the 1080P Blu-ray version. Then back this up with a very good audio track that really brings out the bass during the fight scenes (English 5.1 Dolby True HD, Dolby Digital 5.1 in French, Spanish & Portuguese) and technically, this film is a definite winner.

Then add in a wonderful storyline about an overweight Panda that has to become the legendary Dragon Warrior whether he wishes it or not and a Master who has to accept the fact that this student is indeed "THE ONE" and you have a movie that will appeal to adults as well as the kiddies. The subtle interplay here between Jack Black as Po and Dustin Hoffman as Master Shifu is truly at the heart of this movie.

Finally add in a great combination of action scenes juxtaposed with comedy and where even the ending has animated stills scrolling through the entire ending credits including an epilogue and this is a movie that you will want to watch right from the very first second right up to the very last one! That's always a plus for me as well. So overall, I'd rate it a strong four in the DreamWorks stable.

J. A.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2009
well,i liked the movie.the story was interesting,and the action scenes
were good.the voice acting fit well with the characters.i gotta say
though,that,i never laughed once.maybe it's just me,or maybe you have
to be in a certain mood.still,i thought it was a good movie.it moves
along at a good pace,and it's certainly never boring.it reminded me of
the movie Beverly Hills Ninja,starring Chris Farley from 1997.the main
character is pretty much the same type of character,except in that
one,our hero is a human being,and in this one,of course,he's a
panda.the other difference is i actually found Beverly Hills Ninja
pretty funny.but that's neither here nor there.as for Kung Fu Panda,i
was entertained throughout.i just didn't laugh.for me Kung Fu Panda is
a 3/5
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2008
Kung Fu Panda was a hilarious movie to watch, about a panda who only thought about eating, until one day his life changed...

Definitely watch this once in your life. Children will especially enjoy this animated movie featuring so many animals.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2012
Très bon film, autant pour les adultes que les plus jeunes. La version commandée sur Amazon.ca est le doublage français de France, mais c'est la version que les cinémas québécois ont utilisée, donc pas de surprise au niveau des voix.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2010
I bought this movie for my nephew and he had me sit down and watch it with him. SOOO funny!! Jack Black is a comedic genius in this movie. Playing the role of Poe, the kung-fu panda, he is what makes the movie such a huge hit! The writing, the characters and the comedy... all 100% in my books! I will be buying myself a copy! Very enjoyable for kids and adults alike!!!! 100% recommended!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2015
A unique animated comedy that's as enjoyable for adults as it is for kids, one you're sure to rewatch many times over and still love as much as you did the first time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2014
the turtle knows all. Listen to the turtle :) Visually awesome! Lacks female character prominence, but moving in the right direction for animated films for kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse