Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Hugh..
Hugh Jackman was amazing. And it's was interesting to know more of his life before and after. Seen it in the theater and wanted the whole x-men set.
Published 4 months ago by Lisa Derouchie

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars X-men Origins Indeed; Overall Fun Sueprhero Flick
Little James was born in the 1800s, always sick. His family background . . . well, he didn't have much of one, at least, one that cared. Except for his friend, Victor. One night, during a drunken upset with his later-to-be-found-out father, James learned he could produce bone claws from his hands and defends himself, killing his father.

That night, James and...
Published on Sept. 8 2010 by A.P. Fuchs, author of The Axio...


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars good movie, Jan. 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
love the superhero movies this one wasn't the greatest but its still prett ygood so I gave it four stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hugh.., Dec 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine (DVD)
Hugh Jackman was amazing. And it's was interesting to know more of his life before and after. Seen it in the theater and wanted the whole x-men set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, Nov. 2 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine (DVD)
I and my wife just loved the X-Men series so had to get this one too, well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars X-men Origins Indeed; Overall Fun Sueprhero Flick, Sept. 8 2010
Little James was born in the 1800s, always sick. His family background . . . well, he didn't have much of one, at least, one that cared. Except for his friend, Victor. One night, during a drunken upset with his later-to-be-found-out father, James learned he could produce bone claws from his hands and defends himself, killing his father.

That night, James and Victor are on the run, and promise to always stick together. The years go by and the two find a great outlet for their rage: war. Victor (Liev Schreiber) also has a special ability and he is more animal than man, with claws coming out of his fingers. The two are very similar and age very slowly. War after war goes by, and the two eventually end up working with a secret team run by William Stryker (Danny Huston). While on one mission, James-now calling himself Logan (Hugh Jackman)-feels Victor has gone too far in his attack on an innocent and walks out on the group.

Years later, the group's been disbanded and Stryker comes to warn Logan that Victor is behind the recent string of deaths of its former members. The only way Logan will be strong enough to fight the always-stronger Victor is to undergo a special experiment of Stryker's own design: graft the indestructible adamantium to his bones. Logan agrees.

But there's something Stryker hasn't told him about what's been going on and when Logan finds out, he's furious and wages an all-out one-man war against Stryker, Victor and anyone else who stands in his way.

On the action: cool fight scenes and neat concepts. However, it seemed to me Logan was a little too acrobatic and was able to survive way more and take way more pain than even a mutant with a healing ability could.

On the story: works for me, in that we knew Logan had a history going in. He was the star of the X-Men movies after all, and X2 especially focused on Logan's origins as much as they were able without detracting from the main story. I did like seeing what really went on and, more specifically, how Logan lost his memory. I was under the impression that he lost it because of the adamantium experiment and not after it. Doesn't matter, but I did feel for the guy when the love of his life wasn't all she was cracked up to be.

On Deadpool, because, you know, it has to be covered: the whole story involving the secret ops group Logan was a part of made for fun action. Deadpool's origin, hey, why not. To be honest, I don't know if they followed the comics or not because I'm more a DC guy than a Marvel one and don't know too much about Deadpool other than he's the "merc with a mouth." His transformation from normal-looking Wade Wilson (Ryan Reynolds) to disfigured Wade-good stuff.

Was this a perfect movie? No, unfortunately. It felt too cartoony as opposed to carrying with it the realistic tone the other X-movies had, namely the first two.

Will I see the sequel? Absolutely. I'm a saga guy so I want to see what happens next.

Check this film out if you're the superhero-movie-completist type like me.

A.P. Fuchs
Canister X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite up the X-Men standard, March 16 2010
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine (DVD)
for me,this is the worst movie i have seen connected with the X-Men franchise.it's certainly watchable,but it's not up to the X Men standard.i found it slow at times.also,there are some continuity issues regarding this Wolverine and the Wolverine we see in the later X-Men movies as well as with the events themselves and how they play out in the later movies.Hugh Jackman was Fine as Wolverine,as he always has been.Liev Schrieber is good as Victor Creed.and i really liked Ryan Reynolds as Deadpool.i just wish he had a bigger role.as for the movie as a whole,it is above average,but as i said,not up to the X-Men standard.for me, X-Men Origins: Wolverine is a 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wolverine, X-Men Origins, Dec 29 2009
By 
Wing Wing (Rimbey, AB CA) - See all my reviews
This movie ties up all the loose ends. It is well worth viewing many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of the X!, Oct. 31 2009
went to see this movie opening weekend and it was amazing... the dvd version does the theatrical release justice... the special effects are astounding, as well as seamless... the collector's edition has tons of extras, enough to keep any x-men fan happy...

the "extra" ending that many did not stick around in theaters to see (after the credits) is available in the bonus features, and a different scene was put in its place...

all that aside, the movie is well worth the price, and would make a worthy addition to any movie collection...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wolverine, Oct. 8 2012
By 
koolz03 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine (DVD)
Not very good. There is a lot of action which will please action buffs, but there is little to nothing here. All of the supporting characters are forgettable because they only get five seconds of screen time each and their mutant powers are boring. His girlfriend was robotic and uninteresting. The script is just plain awful and laughable and cliche. The special effects aren't that special. Hugh Jackman was the only good thing about this film. And as to why Ryan Reynolds was cast in this film is questionable. I will watch the sequel due out summer 2013 however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars -- This movie has claws!, May 26 2011
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine (DVD)
While I read X-Men comics when I was a kid, I did not read them religiously. I picked them up every once in a while so I was familiar with characters like Wolverine and Professor X. However I know nothing about their origins, beyond what was covered in the movies. I have no idea if this film is faithful to Wolverine's origin in the comics so bear with me.

I don't know who this Gavin Hood guy is, but I'm surprised a bigger name director wasn't called in to elevate this movie to a higher level. The direction style is nothing special particularly where drama is concerned. For action, he's pretty good. It was great to watch Logan and Victor throwing each other all over the place, causing mayhem, ripping things to shreds. I'm sure there was a lot of wire work done and it looked fine.

Storywise, I'm not sure why some people found the plot confusing. It seemed pretty straightforward and simple to me, a couple hiccups here and there. I think the biggest weakness is that the movie really assumes that you already know Wolverine -- if this was your first X-Men film, I could imagine that you'd have no idea why this kid can't seem to be hurt and has bone claws coming out of his hands. Consider it a prequel in the truest sense -- it makes more sense to watch this movie last rather than first.

Acting-wise, there were a lot of big names here. Most notably, Liev Shrieber and Ryan Reynolds. Shrieber was fine, this was a pretty different role for him. He wasn't anything special, pretty cheesy. Hugh Jackman, to me, owns the Wolverine role, although his work here is inferior to his work in the first two X-Men films. He didn't have a lot of great dialogue to work with here, but he has become Wolverine and I can't imagine anybody else playing him. The guy I really liked though was this Danny Huston guy as Stryker. How have I never heard of this guy, a son of John Huston? With DNA like that he was bound to be great, and he was. Best of all, he resembles Brian Cox's Stryker just enough to look familiar.

There are lots of geek-out cameos too. Keep your eyes peeled.

I don't want to go into the storyline too much, I think it's best to leave the surprises to the viewer. Suffice to say, Logan is old, very old, and has been around a long time. He has spent many decades wandering from conflict to conflict, putting his unique skills to work. Upon meeting Stryker and his special team of unique individuals, Logan chooses to draw a moral line in the sand, and go his own way. He seeks a quiet life of peace and quiet, but it is not long before his half-brother Victor comes looking for payback. There are story elements ripped off from stories such as Watchmen, others are common archetypes. If you are looking for an original story, forget it. It's not happening here. If you're looking for a fun ride that fulfills a lot of fanboy dreams, climb on board.

Blu-ray is loaded with bonus features. It also came with a DVD and a digital copy (which I don't care so much about) but there's lots here to plow through.

3.5 stars. Very imperfect, but also underrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just plain bad, Feb. 18 2010
By 
David Hiebert "Mad Dog" (Edmonton, AB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I generally like films based on comics, but haven't been very impressed with the execution of any of the X-Men films. However, this one is, by far, the worst. If you like a story to make sense, don't see it. If you like action, yes, its got that. But if you like the X-Men, give this film a pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8a525d0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews