Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Movie - Mr. Smith Goes to Washington
One of my all-time favourite movies -- Oh so good! Love the sincerity and genuineness - a purity of devotion to country, and to God.

LOVE IT.

BUY THIS -- WATCH THIS!

Lois
Published 5 months ago by Lois MacKenzie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie; bad release!
I recently decided to view this version on one TV and the earlier release on the other. I really didn't think that there would be much a difference, but the Columbia classics release had a sharper picture than the Sony release. I switched teh DVDs and tried again to see if maybe the TV or the DVD player was a factor. I got the same result! My advice.. if you REALLY...
Published on Jan. 7 2010 by James Dickinson


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie; bad release!, Jan. 7 2010
By 
James Dickinson "Front" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (DVD)
I recently decided to view this version on one TV and the earlier release on the other. I really didn't think that there would be much a difference, but the Columbia classics release had a sharper picture than the Sony release. I switched teh DVDs and tried again to see if maybe the TV or the DVD player was a factor. I got the same result! My advice.. if you REALLY love this movie, pay extra and get the Columbia classics release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Movie - Mr. Smith Goes to Washington, Feb. 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (DVD)
One of my all-time favourite movies -- Oh so good! Love the sincerity and genuineness - a purity of devotion to country, and to God.

LOVE IT.

BUY THIS -- WATCH THIS!

Lois
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Smith Goes to Washington, Dec 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (DVD)
Mr, Smith goes to Washinton to learn schoolbooks do not teach real government. Real senators are bought not committed dreamers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's the ending......, Aug. 5 2013
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (DVD)
Mr.Smith Goes to Washington(released Oct/39)stars,among others,Jean Arthur,James Stewart,Claude Rains and Edward Arnold.Nominated for an outstanding 11 times,it only won one OSCAR in the writing category.1939 was a great year for film making,so it is not too hard to imagine why it did not win more.
The story finds Stewart/Smith as a down home boy who finds himself suddenly taking over the senate seat in his state,after its occupant decides to kick the bucket.Soft spoken,but as honest as Abe Lincoln,Stewart meekly and humbly accepts the position.Unbeknownst to him,the people behind the appointment are a group of corrupt and hardened politicians led by Arnold.One of the members of the group is Rains who also has been kept a Senate seat in order to push through graft after graft.Rains was a former friend of Stewarts father and Stewart has very high regard for him.
Once in Washington Stewart is given a secretary(Arthur)who soon learns that this naive young man is in for the ride of his life,in the rough and tumble political world there.Stewart is awestruck at the look and feel of Washington,with its' innumerable monuments to politicians long gone and to the hallowed words written there.Back in his office Stewart is chomping at the bit to get going but doesn't know where the gas pedal is.He consults his friend Rains,who suggests he introduce Stewarts idea as a bill,to start up a boys camp in his state.With Arthur's help this is exactly what he does,even though Arthur warns him of the numerous hurtles he will encounter.
When the corrupt bunch of politicos find out that the camp Stewart wants to create lies smack dab on the property that they have been planning to build a dam on,they jump into action.Rains is reluctantly pressured to come down hard by Arnold,who starts a vigourous smear campaign back home against Stewart.
Meanwhile Stewart has started to get an awful taste of how things really work,and he doesn't like it,nor does he know what to do.When his good friend Rains stands up in Congress and tells the floor that Smith is corrupt and should be removed from office,it's a gut wrenching blow.Arthur has temporarily fled Washington and quit her job.She decides to come back and help the lug get his ideals and kahonies back.Stewart decides to stand and fight for what he knows is right.He starts a filibuster in the Senate and for 24 hours tries to tell everyone present exactly what has been going on.Near the end Stewart briefly succumbs to a fainting spell,from exhaustion. Rains re enters the chambers and is allowed to bring in sacks full of letters from supposedly outraged voters in the state.Stewart knows they're all lies,and when he comes to he approaches Rains calmly and appeals to his decency one more time,his voice almost gone.Rains leaves the floor temporarily and a shot rings out soon after.Rains tried to shoot himself but was stopped.He re enters the floor and finally tells the truth to everyone,that it should be him shunned,not Stewart.That is where the film ends.That's one for the good guy.
This is the part that has always got me about the film.It ends too abruptly,as if someone in the editing room suddenly decided that it was time to go for lunch,and hurriedly snipped the frames together as is and left.There are two ways of looking at it,I suppose.One,is that the film continues on and shows a triumphant return of Stewart to his hometown and his proposal of marriage to Arthur,or two,leave them wanting more.Capra,et al,chose the latter.I'm sorry,but I have always thought the film screamed for more.
This film also has a cast of supporting players the likes of which you rarely see together,folks like HB Warner,Guy Kibbee,Thomas Mitchell,Eugene Pallette,Beulah Bondi,Ruth Donnelly,William Demerest,Jack Carson and many,many more.The film was made before the opening of WW2 and the sentiments it speaks of such as life,liberty and freedom of speech,was a kind of shout out to the world at large.So when WW2 broke out about a month before its release,it was ever the more meaningful.
Technically speaking this print is in its original a/r and I must say it needs a clean up.The opening credits tells us the film was restored by the Library of Congress,along with the help of other film institutions.That is all well and good if the film looked like it had been restored to a more acceptable level.The first reel is the most affected,with film deterioration and other defects front and center.Extras include commentary and an interview with Frank Capra Jr.,an advert gallery and the original trailer.Speaking of the latter,you will notice a parade sequence in there that isn't in the film.I can't help but speculate whether that was filmed as part of another ending,maybe Stewart's hometown return,as I would have preferred to have seen? Just wondering.
All in all this film still packs a major punch as a political noob goes up against the staid and corrupt state and Washington politics.Stewart does a bang up job and is ably supported all around by a great cast.But that ending.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Point of Order, Mr. Speaker..., Dec 15 2003
By 
Harvey M. Canter (tarzana, ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (DVD)
My first inclination was to complain that this DVD is like way overpriced and has not come down in price in some time. Yes, it is a truly great movie, and the DVD has some extra goodies, but there is no reason why it still should be way over $20 in price. That being said, there are few films that might be worth it and this is one of them. It still captures the essence of what being an American is--or what it should be. The lone man voicing his ideas against the machine, reminding us of what sanity is, of what priorities should be. At no time in American history is such a voice needed more than now: we want to send nearly $100 Billion to our enemy while people here will starve today. If that isn't the "Taylor machine" I don't know what is. This film speaks to the real war on terror--the grip that power and greed have on this country at any given time. In movies, especially Frank Capra movies, it all comes out ok in the end, even though many of his films have a suicidal crisis in them at some point. Meet John Doe, Mr. Deeds Goes to Town, It's a Wonderful Life, and Mr. Smith all have a suicide that nearly happens. Why would that be,in the films of Frank Capra, considered the "feel good" director of all time? Because at some point life can become not worth living when all of its better values have been perverted, when it seems hopeless and that there is no way out of the madness,when one cannot bear all the tension and contradiction.(Gee, sorry for such a downer review). It might have something to do with the fact that the country was in the "Great Depression", economically and psychologically in the group sense, and that things really were pretty bleak. In Capra films, the response to despair is hope (that the badness will relent) and kindness (the kindness of others towards the unfortunate). And maybe that is the answer for our time as well. Where will we find it? Anyway, all this malarkey aside, Mr. Smith is a great movie, full of laughs, drama, and telling satire, a landmark performance by Jimmy Stewart, and well supported by a great cast all around--Claude Rains, Thomas Mitchell, Jean Arthur, Harry Carey, Edward Arnold. One of the most enjoyable films you will ever see and worth the high price you will pay for the DVD. And now, my filibuster ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An All-American Film, July 4 2004
This movie is perfect for July 4th..in fact, I watched this movie for the first time on this day! If you want to see how a bill is passed, what the Senate consist of in the government, how people in politics are after, great monuments like the Capitol and Lincoln, and a great storyline, this is the movie for you.
Jimmy Stewart played Jeff Smith, a Boy Scout ranger who loves America, was picked as a Senator. His honesty and rookie nature made him a ruse for the experienced Senators who are out to get him and throw him out of office with their lies. Meanwhile, he did find a friend who went with him all the way...his secretary, Clarissa (who falls in love with him). You will have to find out the rest of the movie what happens when people found out that Smith was telling the truth all along, and the bad guys.
This is a great movie!! Go watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The movie will not yield., May 10 2004
By 
David C. Roller (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Frank Capra captures the heart of american patriotism without ever becoming preachy. Mr. Smith is equal parts civics lesson, romance, tense drama and at its heart: the perfect fish out of water comedy.
Jimmy Stewart is fantastic as Jefferson Smith an honorory senator who accidentally stumbles on corruption. Stellar performances were turned in by Jean Arthur, Claude Raines, Edward Arnold and Thomas Mitchell, but it is Stewart who dominates this film.
The phrase Capraesque gets bandied about with too much regularity these days when describing recent films. I would strongly reccomend Mr. Sith goes to Washington as Capra at his most Capraesque.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic in every sense of the word, Feb. 2 2004
This review is from: Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (DVD)
I would have to agree with everyone else here, that there is no better performance in film history than Jimmy Stewart and Jeff Smith. He put his heart and soul into the role, and a masterpiece came out. I would like to correct magellen's review, in that Stewart did not win for his performance in Mr. Smith. He won the following year for his role as Mike Connor in "The Philadelphia Story". Many believe Stewart was given this as a payback for the Academy overlooking him for his "Mr. Smith" role. He was nominated for his performance in "Mr. Smith" and was given the New York Film Critics Award for Best Actor (1939). Great film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great classic that has stood the test of time, Oct. 26 2003
By 
magellan (Santa Clara, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (DVD)
Amazingly, I only just rented this movie and saw it for the first time this week, and I was pleased to see how well this legendary Frank Capra and Jimmy Stewart classic had held up. Stewart won the Academy award for best actor in 1939 for his performance as the idealistic young senator from Montana who triumphs against dirty politics and overwhelming odds--including the collusion and corruption of those who he admired and thought to be his friends--such as his fellow Senator Paine, played by the great Claude Rains. I was equally impressed by Rains's part, and his dramatic reversal of his position toward Stewart at the very end and confession in the Senate chamber about his cooperating with the corrupt Taylor political machine has to be one of the most moving, climatic scenes in cinema--except that Stewart had just passed out from exhaustion after his marathon filibuster--so he didn't get a chance to witness it himself.
I was discussing the movie with someone who knows more about film than I do, and they said that the movie showed what tremendous range Stewart had, from joy to despair, from energetic exhuberance to exhaustion, and from his initial naive idealism about Washington to his quickly wising up about the realities of politics. They said Stewart really never had a chance to show as great a range of emotion during much of the rest of his career, since he was often cast in light-hearted and humorous roles after that. I thought this was an interesting comment about one of America's most famous and loved actors, as his part in Rear Window was certainly a very serious role, but again, I'm not an expert on film history so I offer this comment for what it's worth.
Overall, still a great classic that has stood the test of time, and a must see for fans of old movies, especially Jimmy Stewart, Claude Rains, and Frank Capra fans. And I can't forget to mention the rest of the supporting cast--Jean Arthur, Thomas Mitchell, Edward Arnold, and Guy Kibbee--are also superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must see, Sept. 17 2003
By 
"stuckinwi" (Milwaukee, WI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (DVD)
I was shown this movie by my 12th grade government teacher, Mr. Jones. Now that I am a teacher, I find this to be a great resource for students. It puts an entertaining spin on a subject that high school students sometimes find tedious and tough to understand, our government. In addition to the above mentioned qualities, I find that watching this movies allows me to believe that our Representitives, at one time, stood for what they belive in and govern in a responsible and ethical manner. Congress should have to sit and watch this on a monthly basis, just as a reminder :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. Smith Goes to Washington
Mr. Smith Goes to Washington by Frank Capra (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 11.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews