Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Strong, solid sequel to the Hustler ......
This is a great sequel to the Hustler. Paul Newman returns older, more experienced, wiser, and jaded. Tom Cruise is young, cocky, and Flaky. His flakiness is part of what makes him so good. Elizabeth M. is sexy, confident, and intelligent. These three actors combine to support and move along a very solid storyline that is never boring and always entertains. Again,...
Published 13 months ago by JT

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stay away from this release!
This might be the worst transfer I've ever seen on a blu-ray. This is no better then the dvd, so stay away from this release until a new transfer comes out.
Published 1 month ago by Derek Lauzon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stay away from this release!, June 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Color of Money: 25th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This might be the worst transfer I've ever seen on a blu-ray. This is no better then the dvd, so stay away from this release until a new transfer comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strong, solid sequel to the Hustler ......, June 22 2013
By 
JT (RIchmond, BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great sequel to the Hustler. Paul Newman returns older, more experienced, wiser, and jaded. Tom Cruise is young, cocky, and Flaky. His flakiness is part of what makes him so good. Elizabeth M. is sexy, confident, and intelligent. These three actors combine to support and move along a very solid storyline that is never boring and always entertains. Again, like the Huster, the pool shooting scenes are just great. This one of course was shot in color, so there is some old nostalgic movie loss.

But still, this is a great, strong sequel to the Hustler. Best watched one right after the other. Could also be enjoyed alone, because I think that both movies can stand on their own as individual stories. Anyway, lots of fun, and if you can pick it up in the eight to ten dollar range, worth it and then some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars He's Back!, Aug. 5 2003
This review is from: Color of Money (VHS Tape)
Paul Newman's back as Fast Eddie Felson, crackshot pool hustler. This is the sequel to the 1961 classic "The Hustler" (a film I still have to see.) Fast Eddie is back 25 years later; wiser, sharper, and better-looking than ever... This time, he's mentor to a naive, yet obnoxious, Tom Cruise. He finds out from Eddie he still has a lot to learn. The two make a cool pair. No wonder Newman won the Oscar for this one, although he should've won years earlier. One of his best performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my favorite movie of all time, July 14 2003
By 
Scott Taylor "hound in dudeskin" (Clayton, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is my favorite movie ever (chased closely by Apocalypse Now). I have watched it dozens of times, and i never seem to get sick of it. I am an avid pool player, but you don't have to be one yourself to appreciate this masterpiece, which IMO rivals anything else Scorsese has done in his long distinguished career. The whole movie exudes style from start to finish, and Paul Newman is quite simply the epitome of cool. His performance is intense and laid-back at the same time, and he never over-acts (the most widespread chronic disease in Hollywood). Cruise is great as the young cocky upstart, Mastrantonio does an admirable job as his tough girlfriend, and the movie is sprinkled with a whole host of really great supporting performances, including one by Forrest Whitaker as the hustler who out-hustles the master, and a great (quick) one by Iggy Pop of all people in a barroom scene. The movie flows and is filled with energy, the cinematography is spectacular (in particular in a scene where the camera follows closely behind the pool balls as they scatter all over the table). Newman is as classy as he's ever been, and was wholly deserving of the Oscar for this performance. The plot is riveting, and takes us from ex-legend Fast Eddie Felson's discovery of a new prodigy (Cruise's character Vincent) through Vincent's initiation into the Art of Hustling and a whirlwind tour of east coast bars and poolhalls, all the way through to the stirring conclusion as the Master battles the Student in a winner-take-all final game of 9 ball. Perhaps my favorite scene is when, in the midst of an ongoing moral dilemma, Eddie looks down to take his shot and sees his reflection in the 8-ball. He pauses, then straightens up, unscrews his cue and forfeits the match, unable to face himself. The movie is funny, highly dramatic and inspiring all at the same time, and Martin Scorsese gives it his usual tough, no-frills, occasionally violent personal stamp to make it one of the most watchable pieces of cinema you will see in a long time. Maybe I'm biased since I grew up in New Jersey (near NYC), but I don't think so. The movie is a lot of fun, has a whole slew of fabulous performances, and is a must-see...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best pool movie ever!, Jan. 18 2003
By 
Marcus D. Corning (Langhorne, Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Color of Money (VHS Tape)
Paul Newman and Tom Cruise, some of the greatest actors of all time team up to play of pool. And Paul Newman takes Tom Cruise to pool tables for lots of pool tournaments. Newman won an Oscar for the betrayal of a pool shark who trains a hotshot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Awesome, Dec 27 2002
By 
T. Harmer "mad_movie_fan" (Sharon Hill, Pa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Color of Money (VHS Tape)
Just a classic movie and made during the prime of the 80's. I love this movie, it's inspired me to be great pool player. This also inspired me to play 9-ball like crazy. This is right there with Aliens, Godfather II, T2 as the best sequel of all time. I first saw this movie in school for Film Class, didn't think much of it at first, but after I got done watching it I said to myself was great movie. This is one of those movies ya take out every now & then, sit on the recliner or sofa, eat your favorite snack and enjoy watching. Newman's performance alone is one the best I've seen of him. Cruise & Masterontonio give notable performances as well. One movie that should be on everybodys TOP 10. After watching Scorsese's great job directing Raging Bull (he is my favorite director by the way) he equaled that with The Color of Money, just look at some of the pool shots he got, classic cinematography from one of best directors ever. Even if you don't like 9-ball or Pool, get this movie and you'll have a new found understanding of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feels Like A Guilty Pleasure, July 5 2002
This is one of my all time favorite movies, but I'm always a little embrassed by that. It's Tom Cruise afterall. It should be packed with Cheese, and not the good "Big Trouble In Little China" kind, more like the "Cocktail" kind. But, it works. It's the old pro and the eager kid and stuff about hustling, and making a quick buck, and competetion, and men and women and men and their Dads (if Paul Neuman isn't Tom's dad-symbol, I failed out of psychology 101), and so on. It's not so much about the plot as the people. If you want action and special effects, move along, this movie isn't for you. If you aren't into guy movies, move along. The subject of machismo is never mentioned, but it's present, not in a chest beating way but in a strong competetive learning-to-be-a-man sort of way, so if that doesn't work for you, wait for the ya-ya sisterhood to come out on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pool movie for Pool Sharks, June 6 2002
By A Customer
Being the greatest pool player west side of Needles and East side of Barstow California, I must say, this is one helluva movie for billiard snakes. Trick shots, great acting, and more trick shots. Although the ending wasn't very spectacular, the portrial of a pool shark is as real as it gets. Speaking from a pool shark's point of view, I have to say, this movie is for reals. If you'd like to get into the billiards, rent this movie and learn a thing or two first!
The cue used in this movie is a Balabushka, too bad they didn't have Minnesota Fats "The Hustler" Graphite Cues.
ay of irvine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This DVD is as good as a 9 ball snap on the break!, May 25 2002
Okay take away the great stars, great story, great sets, great music, and great acting, and your still left with some of the best trick shots I have ever seen.
Newman is flawless in this film and being a pool player myself, I could relate to his slump that he was going though. I found his preformance brilliant thoughout the film.
Tom Cruise plays the cocky student who plays pool better than his teacher (Newman), while being backed by Newman's cash he must learn that the art of hustlng does not mean you win all the time. Cruise being a cocky and brash kid loves the bragging rights associated with winning so learning to dump is not something he likes doing. Cruise's preformance was great as well. In the begining of the film he makes small change at pool, but by the end he is hustling some of the world's finest players for major cash. His attitude change from start to end is well done.
The movie comes together well and the script is terrific. The DVD version of the film comes together nicely with Digital sound and crisp images. However don't look for much in the way of extras on the DVD.
*Personally I like that the end did not show the game between Fast eddie and Vincent, it leaves a lot to the imagination. Remember the movie was about Fast Eddie getting back what he lost, and the cockiness of being great from Vincent, not about which was the better player.*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the Color of Money, March 27 2002
By A Customer
Not your average film stars Tom Cruise and Paul Newman. The film follows "Fast" Eddie Felson (Paul Newman) as he looks for a new person to stakehorse. While peddling liquor in a bar, he notices Vincent, the young, slick, pool player with his "sledge-hammer break". I loved this movie in the sense that it really isn't your average movie. It's a kind of movie that we never really get enough of--pool movies. It has very good acting, especialy from Newman (who actually won his FIRST Academy Award with this one). Both Cruise and Mastrantonio are also exellent. Of course the type of slow burn drama may not be for everyone, but that is it's only flaw. The DVD is ok, but there isn't even one special feature for such a fantastic movie. The DVD was released earlyer, but Touchstone is re-releasing it (with the same DVD!). Fans of the stars will also apreciate this film even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Color of Money: 25th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 15.99 CDN$ 9.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews