Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman has no limits
In "Batman Begins," Christopher Nolan managed to do what few directors could do -- create a dark, gritty atmosphere around an all-too-human Batman, who fights for the oppressed with quiet intensity.

That moody murk is only intensified in the breathtaking, harrowing "Dark Knight," which fills itself with blasts of action, psychological twists and a shocking...
Published on Oct. 9 2008 by E. A Solinas

versus
37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars let`s forget about the movie for a moment...
...and let`s talk specifically about the DVD
I love the movie and i would pretty much buy any cool merchandise about it, but that`s not the case
I got this 2 disc special edition, and i can say i feel pretty ripped off
This is sure 2 disc, but in no way "special" or collector driven

They`re selling the bluray and the DVD as the same thing, with...
Published on Dec 11 2008 by Hugo Dourado


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Everything it's cracked up to be, Dec 12 2008
By 
Jack Blatant (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dark Knight (2-Disc Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
My word... this film really does deliver. The action is intense, the settings are dark and gloomy, the cinematics are fast and slick... but when push comes to shove, the shove that brings this film over the top is characterization.

Christian Bale delivers another solid performance, as does the seemingly eternal Michael Caine. Aaron Eckhart is perfectly cast as Two-Face, with earnest Mr. Smith Goes To Washington written all over him until things turn sour. Maggie Gyllenhaal strikes the right combination of romantic and remote, Gary Oldman plays a haunted Commissioner Gordon... and then there's Heath Ledger.

Forget all the hype and the inevitable backlash to the hype. Heath Ledger is the best Joker the screen has ever seen. I'm going to go ahead and call him the best Joker, film or page, of all time. He owns the role. His performance takes the entire film a level beyond. Yes, I am most fulsome in my praise. But he is that good.

Well worth the viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary stuff, Jan. 17 2010
By 
Simply a tour de force. There is nothing I would want in an action movie that is not here in spades. GREAT soundtrack and visuals, amazing performance by Ledger. This movie makes you think afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray or No Way, July 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is The Dark Knight, you HAVE to see it in its digitally enhanced sequence. The colors are more vibrant, the action is more real. It's just phenomenal, truly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Knight Batpod Giftset, Feb. 11 2009
By 
Norm Dussault - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Shipping time was excellent 4 days to Alberta. Batpod is too cool as it sits on top of Entertainment Unit, and Blu-ray Discs rock the room. I would totally recommend it to any Bat Enthusiest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good...but not great, Feb. 9 2009
I thought this movie was somewhat overrated. It was very depressing and quite formulaic. Heath Ledger was amazing in it, but overall the movie was hum drum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Night Blu-ray Top Notch!, Jan. 10 2011
By 
Bill Wilkat "Golfnut" (QC. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Dark Night is definitely worth getting o Blu-ray, and is highly entertaining on all levels. Chris Nolan's work and ideas are impressive, and thus he gets positive results from those who work with him. The special features are also great on this 2 disc set, and now I guess I'll have to get Batman Begins soon too. I've seen it, but I am sure it's much better on Blu-ray as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Took a long time to ship but great Blu ray disc, Feb. 8 2010
By 
L. Yow "you r terminated" (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazon.ca took forever to ship, but once it went out the door, it reached me pretty quickly.

The Dark Knight has one of the best picture quality I have seen on the Blu Ray format. This version switches between the IMAX view (full screen) and letterbox view(bars on top and bottom) throughout the show. The best part is - you can't switch it off. Some people are bothered by this feature, but I think it works fine for me. Overall, great purchase but I wish Amazon.ca would ship faster next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Why so serious?", Dec 11 2008
By 
H. Atwal - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The greatest movie of the year finally makes it's debut on bluray. And it's definitely living up to the hype.

I've seen this movie in theatres, it was freakin' amazing. The storyline is at the mind games level for you "intellectuals", and at amazing IMAX bluray full 1920x1080 5.l truehd batman battles for you eye candy holics. One of the best looking bluray's I own, if not the best. I won't mention anything about the storyline, everyone knows it was amazing anyways. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies ever made, Feb. 13 2010
By 
Janine Bolton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dark Knight is a wonderful film! It was my very first BluRay movie and worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Better Class of Criminal, Oct. 11 2008
By 
Neurosky "neurosky" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
You've heard all the hype, and that the film does live up to its reputation, but you haven't seen it yet, thinking it's just another stupid superhero movie. You're wrong. This is a masterpiece of filmmaking which just so happens to feature a guy crazy enough to don a creepy bat guise to scare thugs in the night. It's intense, witty, emotionally powerful, thought-provoking and consistently shocking. It's also a very adult rollercoaster ride of action and character exploration united, facing the social/societal issues which most films ignore as to avoid controversy. But as this one is set in a fictional city, they found the courage.

And if you're thinking all the hype surrounding Heath Ledger's performance is only because he died young and suddenly from a drug `overdose' (mixed dose, really) then you are also mistaken; Ledger gives a performance every iota as powerful and disturbing as Malcolm McDowell's performance in "A Clockwork Orange" and yet as dramatically believable as Anthony Hopkins in "Silence of the Lambs." And he does this while delving deeper into an already heavily explored character, expanding his world and even giving him a witty mock Chicago accent. Ledger leapt into the well-developed Joker version of the Nolan brothers' sensational script, and simply brought it to life with a powerful presence which shook actors and crewmen alike to dominate the film in every way possible. It is by far Ledger's best acting performance, and in my opinion one of the great acting performances in the history of cinema. Again, this isn't hype talking, it's fact.

So what is this film then if it's not merely a superhero-ish blockbuster? It's a dark mystery, a legal drama, an edge-of-your-seat thriller, a horror film and a sharp political commentary. It's everything you loved in graphic novels like "Watchmen" but never believed you'd see on the big screen. It's also a sequel to "Batman Begins", the film which began Nolan's take on the Batman saga, retelling it the way he thought it should be told. "Batman Begins" isn't a necessary watch before this one, if you are at least somewhat familiar with the central characters and Gotham city. But it would be a wise choice, since this one picks up where the last one left off; with Gotham in shambles, Scarecrow on the loose and a new serial killer in town with a "taste for the theatrics."

Excellence shines through this dark gem at every turn; its solid writing, directing, acting, costume design, set design, lighting and shadowing, cinema photography (some scenes shot by Imax camera), music and sound, and the little adlib moments that stay with you long after the film's end. Don't be troubled by its length (roughly two and a half hours) because it goes by so fast you barely notice, and the final sequences are more than worth the extra space. It's difficult to talk about this film without raving, it's simply a fantastic story, excellently executed, capable of taking you by surprise at every twist and turn, and afterwards leaving you wanting to savour the experience again, and again.

Needless to say, on DVD it will also break records.

But this is not a film for the kids, or for the faint of heart, and if I haven't made it clear yet I'll say it now; it's more intense than most R-rated movies out there, so be warned.

Can't wait to watch it again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Knight (2-Disc Special Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 24.98 CDN$ 8.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews