Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious
One of the funniest movies I have ever seen. If you have not seen it, you should. :)

Tom Cruise's performace alone is worth it.
Published 12 months ago by Alex C

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Stay Away
A terrible film by three of America's worst actors. lack of plot, acting and ability really hurt this one. DOA
Published 7 months ago by rotoron


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Stay Away, Jan. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tropic Thunder (DVD)
A terrible film by three of America's worst actors. lack of plot, acting and ability really hurt this one. DOA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, Aug. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tropic Thunder (DVD)
One of the funniest movies I have ever seen. If you have not seen it, you should. :)

Tom Cruise's performace alone is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Tropical-, Dec 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TROPIC THUNDER (DVD)
A Must See, along with Team America, World Police- Robert Downey Jr. is terrific playing a black man- I'm surprised that the NAACP didn't create a stink about this one-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stiller finally hits a home run, May 18 2009
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Ben Stiller is one of the most unfunny comedic actors out there but sometimes he is able to make himself mildly interesting (Zoolander, Starsky & Hutch and Dodgeball). On this, though, he hits the thing out of the ballpark. From the opening fake commercials and movie trailers to the entire script, casting and total laughfest (if you know your Apocalypse Now and Platoon scenes, you're in for a treat), Stiller proves that given total control he can do the job.

The DVD extras are classic as Robert Downey, Jr., stays in character on the commentary track.

Also, as this is the first Blu-Ray disc, all I have to say is...uh, there's not much difference in quality with Blu-Ray, folks. Sure it looks great but as do ordinary run-of-the-mill DVDs so what was all the fuss about?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Crude Classic, Jan. 15 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tropic Thunder (DVD)
Since buying Tropic Thunder, I have watched it probably a dozen times or more. Crude and innovative with an all-star cast, Tropic Thunder never gets dull. Read on.

Tropic Thunder is the tale of a fake movie based on a fake book based on Vietnam. It begins with four fake ads and trailers to introduce our main stars (as well as some surprise cameos):

* Rapper Alpa Chino (Brandon T. Jackson), who is hawking his "energy drink" Booty Sweat.
* Australian Academy Award winning method actor Kirk Lazarus (Robert Downey Jr.).
* Star of "The Fatties" comedy franchise (an obvious reference to the Nutty Professor series), and drug addict, Jeff Portnoy (Jack Black).
* Action star Tugg Speedman (Ben Stiller) who has found his last few films to be duds at the box office.

Take these four guys, each of whom have their own issues and agendas, stick them in the middle of the jungle with a rookie director (the hilarious Steve Coogan) and newcomer Kevin Sandusky (Jay Baruchel of Undeclared and Knocked Up), and you have a recipe for disaster.

Things go wrong on the first day of shooting in the jungle. The director has no control over his actors, and an over-enthusiastic pyro guy (Danny McBride, who steals every scene he is in) has just cost the film a boatload of money. Producer Les Grossman (I won't say who plays him, you'll have to see for yourself) and his lackey (Bill Hader) are angry beyond all belief. The orders are clear: get this movie back on track.

Vietnam vet John "Four Leaf" Tayback (Nick Nolte), who wrote the book on which this film is to be based, has an idea: Stick those actors in the jungle, let them fend for themselves, and film the spontaneous results. If you can get past this somewhat ridiculous premise, then you are well on your way to enjoying the funniest film of 2008. If you can't, then stop reading and do not purchase Tropic Thunder.

Tropic Thunder might be most famous for two things: The fact that Robert Downey Jr. was nominated for Best Supporting Actor for playing a white guy playing a black guy, and the controversy about some rude jokes in the film regarding "Simple Jack".

First, Downey: Yes, he was hilarious, and yes, he deserved the accolades. Everybody knows how talented Downey is, but if you didn't know it was him playing Kirk Lazarus playing Sergeant Lincoln Osiris, you'd never have guessed. The makeup job was outstanding and he did a great job. Since Lazarus "never breaks character until the DVD commentary", he stays Osiris most of the film.

Second, Simple Jack. I can understand being offended. Some people felt that the whole Simple Jack sub-plot took cheap shots at those with mental disabilties. I do not agree, I believe that the film took cheap shots at Hollywood types who are too dumb to know what is offensive. The whole movie, in fact, is one long cheap shot at Hollywood types. The character of Les Grossman epitomizes this. However, as I said, I can understand those who were offended and if you're someone who is sensitive about such issues, stay away from Tropic Thunder.

That aside, I believe Tropic Thunder really was the funniest movie of 2008. I've heard it called stupid, offensive, and boring. To be truthful you have to enjoy movies with vulgarity. Do you enjoy Jack Black? That is a good barometer to deciding whether to buy Tropic Thunder or not.

The DVD extras are scant, pick up the two disc edition for the real cool extras.

Personally I have always enjoyed these film-within-a-film stories, and Tropic Thunder adds extra dimensions. With a cast this good, this film could never be anything but a smash.

Enjoy. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Crude Classic, Nov. 23 2009
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Since buying Tropic Thunder, I have watched it probably a dozen times or more. Crude and innovative with an all-star cast, Tropic Thunder never gets dull. Read on.

Tropic Thunder is the tale of a fake movie based on a fake book based on Vietnam. It begins with four fake ads and trailers to introduce our main stars (as well as some surprise cameos):

* Rapper Alpa Chino (Brandon T. Jackson), who is hawking his "energy drink" Booty Sweat.
* Australian Academy Award winning method actor Kirk Lazarus (Robert Downey Jr.).
* Star of "The Fatties" comedy franchise (an obvious reference to the Nutty Professor series), and drug addict, Jeff Portnoy (Jack Black).
* Action star Tugg Speedman (Ben Stiller) who has found his last few films to be duds at the box office.

Take these four guys, each of whom have their own issues and agendas, stick them in the middle of the jungle with a rookie director (the hilarious Steve Coogan) and newcomer Kevin Sandusky (Jay Baruchel of Undeclared and Knocked Up), and you have a recipe for disaster.

Things go wrong on the first day of shooting in the jungle. The director has no control over his actors, and an over-enthusiastic pyro guy (Danny McBride, who steals every scene he is in) has just cost the film a boatload of money. Producer Les Grossman (I won't say who plays him, you'll have to see for yourself) and his lackey (Bill Hader) are angry beyond all belief. The orders are clear: get this movie back on track.

Vietnam vet John "Four Leaf" Tayback (Nick Nolte), who wrote the book on which this film is to be based, has an idea: Stick those actors in the jungle, let them fend for themselves, and film the spontaneous results. If you can get past this somewhat ridiculous premise, then you are well on your way to enjoying the funniest film of 2008. If you can't, then stop reading and do not purchase Tropic Thunder.

Tropic Thunder might be most famous for two things: The fact that Robert Downey Jr. was nominated for Best Supporting Actor for playing a white guy playing a black guy, and the controversy about some rude jokes in the film regarding "Simple Jack".

First, Downey: Yes, he was hilarious, and yes, he deserved the accolades. Everybody knows how talented Downey is, but if you didn't know it was him playing Kirk Lazarus playing Sergeant Lincoln Osiris, you'd never have guessed. The makeup job was outstanding and he did a great job. Since Lazarus "never breaks character until the DVD commentary", he stays Osiris most of the film.

Second, Simple Jack. I can understand being offended. Some people felt that the whole Simple Jack sub-plot took cheap shots at those with mental disabilties. I do not agree, I believe that the film took cheap shots at Hollywood types who are too dumb to know what is offensive. The whole movie, in fact, is one long cheap shot at Hollywood types. The character of Les Grossman epitomizes this. However, as I said, I can understand those who were offended and if you're someone who is sensitive about such issues, stay away from Tropic Thunder.

That aside, I believe Tropic Thunder really was the funniest movie of 2008. I've heard it called stupid, offensive, and boring. To be truthful you have to enjoy movies with vulgarity. Do you enjoy Jack Black? That is a good barometer to deciding whether to buy Tropic Thunder or not.

The DVD extras are quite good. There's a skit from the MTV Movie Awards that I found funny, and the movie itself is an extended director's cut. There is even an audio commentary where Downey performs as Osiris (remember, he stays in character until he's done the DVD commentary). There's also an alternate ending featuring a different fate for Matthew McConauhey (who performed admirably and hilariously, filling in for Owen Wilson who had just attempted to commit suicide).

Personally I have always enjoyed these film-within-a-film stories, and Tropic Thunder adds extra dimensions. With a cast this good, this film could never be anything but a smash.

Enjoy. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tropic Thunder, Sept. 28 2009
By 
Maxisback (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A fun romp with a terrific cast! Robert Downey Jr. steals the show! This is a film that can be watched over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, Jan. 16 2009
By 
D. Hards "Slipperysalmon" (Vancouver) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tropic Thunder (DVD)
I enjoyed this movie so much I watched it twice and I will watch it again. The performances by Stiller, Downie, Black and Cruise are just fabulous. I have to say that I did not even recognize Cruise until near the end! I had no idea he was in this movie and I think its one of his best performances. Like the other reviewer said, dont rent it, buy a copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The only thing missing would be for them to burst into song, Nov. 6 2008
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tropic Thunder (DVD)
It's hard to really capture the essence of this "terribly," good movie. It's hardcore, adult comedy like on the comedy circuit except it's in the form of a full length feature film with special effects. The dialogue is raw and rough like straight out of the R-Rated Las Vegas comedy strip. I really do enjoy Stiller's sense of humor, but until now I really thought that he wasn't capable of making a complete film. Usually the humor dies out half way through, the plot becomes boring, and I just want the film to end - having not regretted seeing the first half.

Director Ben Stiller generates amazing performances from his lead actors including himself, Jack Black, Downey, Brandon T. Jackson, and Nick Nolte. Jack Black especially stuck out to me as having done excellent in this film, very convincingly (read: amusingly) portraying a drug addict going through withdrawal. Ben Stiller was good too, but he didn't really seem to stick out as extraordinary. Robert Downey Jr. stole the show as I expected, with his character being a hilariously confused actor stuck in all the roles he had played. But the surprises are the big name supporting actors like Matthew McConaughey as Tugg's agent Rick Peck and of course Tom Cruise.

While this new film doesn't achieve anything "great" it is, finally, a complete film that succeeds from beginning to end. the direction was obviously open ended enough to get a lot of good work out of the actors... the plot, while not spectacular, provides a good vehicle for the humor from beginning to end. As a satire the film succeeds better in some areas than in others... near the end there are some particularly difficult scenes that are reminiscent of "Apocalypse Now" "Platoon" and "The Prisoner" that actually succeed somewhat. It is in this area that I find that most modern comedies fail completely, but Stiller and Co. manage to pull it off - just enough.

"Tropic Thunder" will offend virtually everyone. Stiller and crew have written bold biting comedy blind to elements of conventional taste that mercilessly mocks the egos at play in the world of celebrity and entertainment. If you like this film, I also recommend "The Party" as they are very similar in some ways (though The Party is more subtle) and I can't help but think that "The Party" was a bit of an inspiration for this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy dream-team combine to create something special, Nov. 27 2008
By 
Matthew King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tropic Thunder (DVD)
I'm convinced that Tropic Thunder is one of the funniest movies of the decade. The cast is to die for, starring Robert Downey Jr, Jack Black, Ben Stiller, and unforgettable cameos by Nick Nolte, Matthew McCaunaughey and especially, Tom Cruise. A lot of the movie is hilarious toilet humour but there is also a dark undercurrent of humour about spoiled hollywood actors. An amazing film, recommend for fans of gross-out comedy, war movies and just about anything else. Don't rent, buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tropic Thunder
CDN$ 12.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews