Customer Reviews


250 Reviews
5 star:
 (183)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Cranson!
You fellas been doing a bit of boozing, have you? Suckin back on grandpa's old cough medicine?
You keep your mouth shut if you know it's good for ya, buddy!
Published 15 months ago by Kevin Wong

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bother Trying To Figure This One Out
I dont really understand the real point in this movie other than the slapstick and the goofy bathroom and bedroom humor. They couldn't of picked to better goofballs for this flick. I mean, yeah Jim Carrey was a great choice but I thought Chris Farley could have done a better job as the other guy. I dont know when this was made so I dont know if he was living at the time...
Published on Jan. 1 2004 by Bendr1985


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Cranson!, June 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dumb and Dumber: Unrated [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
You fellas been doing a bit of boozing, have you? Suckin back on grandpa's old cough medicine?
You keep your mouth shut if you know it's good for ya, buddy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilariously funny comedy classic!, July 14 2004
This review is from: Dumb and Dumber (Bilingual) (DVD)
I was absolutely appalled at how horrible the prequel "When Harry Met Lloyd" was when released in 2003 so I went back to the original from 1994 and let me tell you, it is still a really funny and witful comedy classic.
Jeff Daniels and Jim Carrey are an amazing team starring as two really low-wealth bums in the run-down slums of the east coast rustbelt and when Lloyd Christmas (Jim Carrey) is a taxi driver at the airport, an attractive woman (Lauren Holly) accidentally leaves behind an important suitcase with important material and now Harry along with his longtime dim-witted friend Harry Dunn try to compete to win her heart over and go all the way to Aspen, Colorado to return the suitcase to her but they are unaware that they are being persued by a criminal couple involved in a criminal crime ring.
This movie is just plain funny and while certainly not a masterpiece by any means, it is nonetheless a memorable movie by both of the lead actors and Daniels and Carrey are a wonderful comedy duo team and a pity taht Derek Richardson and Eric Christian Olsen could not take notice of how well the former two did on this original movie.
This is a movie that warrants taking off the thinking cap for a while and get out the soda and popcorn and share a laugh with your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just hilarious!, June 18 2004
By 
P. Woods (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dumb and Dumber (Bilingual) (DVD)
By far Jim Carrey's best film he has ever done in his entire life. Even if you can't stand him, you can't help laughing in this. The film is about Lloyd (Jim Carrey) and Harry (Jeff Daniels, who is equally as funny). Lloyd is at his Limo driving job and he picks a woman up to take to the airport. But he falls deeply in love with her, and when he drops her off, she forgets to take her briefcase and Lloyd chases after her... but he just misses her (an excellent scene!). So, he doesn't know what to do with the case. He persuades his friend Harry to go out in their car to find her and give it back to her. Harry soon says: "ok" and they headto Aspen to return the case. But the case isn't what the seem it is to be, and they could be the wrong guys to have hold of it.
The film has just so many out-ragious scenes, including a scene in a restaurant were they fill this guys' bruger up with spicy peppers and he heats up when he takes a bite. The film does come to one of those endings were the villain shows up and it gets less funny and more serious.
So, right from the very minute this starts you'll be laughing. Any words that come out from Harry or Llyod's mouth is just so hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's supposed to be dumb, people!, Feb. 28 2004
This review is from: Dumb and Dumber (Bilingual) (DVD)
I don't why many movie critics from the past and the present critically panned this film. It's freakin' hilarious! It paved the way for disgusting comedies like THERE'S SOMETHING ABOUT MARY and SCARY MOVIE. By the way, the Farrelly brothers, who masterly directed this film, also did MARY.
Anyway, DUMB & DUMBER will leave in hesterics! Jim Carrey and Jeff Daniels are amazingly stupid as characters Lloyd and Harry. The two lovable losers from Rhode Island go cross country to Aspen, Colorado to return a loaded briefcase to a woman named Mary (Lauren Holly), whom Lloyd is in love with. But the two dimwits don't know that assassins are on theyre' tail to retrieve the briefcase! Ok, everyone know's the storyline, so let's talk about the humor in the film.
One of my favorite scenes in the film is when a cop pulls Harry and Lloyd for a speed ticket, and unknowingly drinks a beer bottle with Lloyd's yerin in it. Funny! And when the dipstick Harry sticks his tongue to a frozen pole (borrowed liberally from A CHRISTMAS STORY) and experiences horrible diahorea. Sounds crude, but it's movie magic at its best. Oh yeah, the scene where Lloyd accidently killing a endangered snow owl, and saying the line "Boy this party really died", is a classic Carrey moment.
If your a fan of Carrey and the Farrelly Brothers, or like disgusting comedies, or just simply a moron, you'll love this film! One of Carrey's best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest comedies ever made!!!, Feb. 24 2004
This review is from: Dumb and Dumber (Bilingual) (DVD)
I simply love this movie.
Delivering exactly what its title promises, this celebration of stupidity was Jim Carrey's 1994 follow-up to Ace Ventura: Pet Detective and The Mask. The film pairs the rubber- faced wacky man with Jeff Daniels as the not-so-dynamic duo of Lloyd and Harry, dunderheads who come into the possession of a briefcase containing ransom money that is intended for Mob-connected kidnappers. Lauren Holly costars as the woman who lost the briefcase, and with whom Carrey falls in love (both in real life and as his moronic on-screen character). As Lloyd and Harry make a mad dash to return the briefcase (never aware of its contents), the bumbling buddies attract Mobsters, cops, and trouble galore. This lowbrow laugh-a-thon scores some solid hits for hilarity.
The movie is funny period and is one of the funniest movies ever!
This folks is a dvd you should keep in your collection.
This is also the most original comedies ever made. This dvd is original by all means with good quality and the whole ganangra.
Jimm carey and Jeff Daniels should of got nominated for this comedy. I first saw this movie when it came out and still Im not bored with it cause its the funniest movie ever made!
Its so studpid youll love it!
GO GET THE DVD NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic DVD and movie!, Jan. 12 2004
By 
Eric (El Sobrante, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dumb and Dumber (Bilingual) (DVD)
Dumb And Dumber is FUNNY! I have seen this movie enough times to remember some of the lines, and it just gets funnier and funnier. It never gets old. The story follows around two duffess named Lloyd Christmas, and Harry. These two live in Vermont doing odd jobs: Lloyd being a limo driver, and Harry being a dog cleaner, and are trying to start their own business: a worm store called 'I got worms'. Now Lloyd is brought to a clients house, the woman is Mary Swanson: played by Jim Carrey's first wife Lauren Holley, and Lloyd falls in love with her from first site. Mary is going to Aspen, and Lloyd replies 'Oh, California.' When Lloyd drops her off, he discovers that she left her briefcase, and tries to deliver it to her, but fails.
Harry is late delivering one clients dogs, and now he gave them some food, and they are messed up with ketchup and mustard, and so he is fired, along with Lloyd. So as they head to their apartment, they are being watched by two people who were supposed to get the briefcase; they are kidnappers of Mary's husband, and in the briefcase is a million dollars for his release. Now as they drive around, they get no jobs 'unless they want to work 40 hours a week.' and they decide to go to Aspen and give Mary the briefcase, not knowing what is inside. So as they head to Aspen, Lloyd then making a wrong turn, and they end up in Nebraska, Lloyd then trades in the van for scooter, and they FINALLY get to Aspen, now they are stuck because they dont know where Mary lives; she is not listed in the phone book, they looked. So now as they get warm by a drum fire, Lloyd and Harry get into a fight, and they discover the money. So with the money, they agree that they are going to spend a few bucks and put the receipts in the briefcase so they can pay them back: they get a Presidential Suite, they buy a Lambourghini, they buy at least $20,000 worth of clothes, and they spend money like it was water. The movie is funny, and I am not going to spoil the ending, but funny though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bother Trying To Figure This One Out, Jan. 1 2004
By 
Bendr1985 (State College, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dumb and Dumber (Bilingual) (DVD)
I dont really understand the real point in this movie other than the slapstick and the goofy bathroom and bedroom humor. They couldn't of picked to better goofballs for this flick. I mean, yeah Jim Carrey was a great choice but I thought Chris Farley could have done a better job as the other guy. I dont know when this was made so I dont know if he was living at the time to take the role (I'm pretty sure he was)
They recently made a sequel to this movie, I havent wasted my time watching it but I'm pretty sure my mom will randomly rent it over the summer. Dont bother buying it either, because they play it all the time on tv, it's on of those PG-13 movies they can get away with without editing it.
I'm not quite sure but I think this movie is about two guys that are losers trying to return this briefcase back to its owner and in the meantime they spend alot of the money that is in it. They have some crazy adventures while doing it like pissing in beer bottles or driving that crazy dog car or selling the car for a little motorbike.
If you like Jim Carrey or just really silly senseless humor watch this, TBS likes to play this movie often either that or rent it I wouldn't buy it unless you are a die hard Jim Carrey fan cause this is one of his better movies that he is well known for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's fun to laugh at the idiots, Nov. 27 2003
By 
Michael Gordon "Michael Gordon" (Los Angeles, Ca) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dumb and Dumber (Bilingual) (DVD)
I'll admit: When the plot was presented to me, I thought, why would I find an interest of a movie like this?
The main reason is the way the acting was presented. Dumb and Dumber is a reflection on the idiots we meet in our daily lives--the people who do things so irredembably dumb, we are unable to comprehend that people of this sort exist. Yet, Harry and Lloyd certainly do. The plot presents material related to things that we do on a daily basis that appear naive and dumb. But from the perspective of a movie watcher, we are able to see how dumb we really are. When we engange in these dumb behaviors, we rarely are even aware that it is, in fact, dumb, pointless, silly, and without value.
Take a look at Harry and Lloyd, however. They don't appear to notice their careless errors. They are imbeciles--idiots. They don't know any better. They are dumber than Mr. Gadget ever was. But the humor--especially the bathroom scenes intended to strike a laugh from the worst within us--were funny. Why? Mainly because we all are cought up in terribly embarassing moments, and it's fun to laugh. Fun to laugh at the real idiots for a change.
Michael Gordon
Los Angeles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Pills are good, Pills are good.", June 16 2003
By 
M.C (out there in la la land) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dumb and Dumber (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is one movie that lives up to it's title boast, that's for damn sure. The "plot" hinges on Lloyd (Jim Carrey), a seriously.... well, I guess stupid is the nicest word I can think of. He drives a limo, and one day, falls for a girl named Mary Swanson (Lauren Holly, Jim's then-wife). He's so curteous as to grab the briefcase she leaves behind in the airport, but fails to catch her plane (in one of the funniest scenes in the movie.) So he and his roommate/best friend/intellectual peer Harry decide to head to Aspen to return it to her.
But they're both oblivious to the fact that it contains millions of dollars, and was left in the airport by Mary in the ariprot as ransom for her kidnapped husband. Now the bad guys are out to get Lloyd and Harry.
This was the Farrelly Brothers first movie, and let me tell you, they show no mercy. They have Lloyd raise $25 in loose change by taping the head of a decapitated parakeet on and selling it to a blind kid. And ohhhhh, that scene in the toilet with Harry will make you wanna have a pottie.
It's kinda difficult to pinpoint which of the two "heroes" falls under the DUMBER slot. Lloyd, at one point in the road trip, heads east and detours the duo by "a sixth of the way across the country. Harry, by contrast, gets his tongue frozen to a pole when tries to lick the frost off. But these two guys just blur the line between DUMB and DUMBER. Lloyd thinks it's a good idea to swap a van for nothing more than a scooter. And Harry's skill with a gun (or lack thereof) would make the NRA shudder.
I like the movie because it delivers what it promises:stupidity and comedy in equal measures, often (in fact, always) intertwined. There's one scene where Lloyd is being shaven, and suddenly grabs his throat, and it appears his throat has beeen slit when the red liquid comes out. Or, could it be ketchup?
Movies like this aren't for everyone, but (based on the amount of money DUMB AND DUMBER made), alot of people do enjoy toilet humor. The perfect test to determine how much you migght enjoy a movie is one I invented, called the E.N.D. test, and you apply it to this movie like this:if you've EVER felt compelled to do what Lloyd does when he needs to pee but can't stop the car, if youv'e NEVER had the accident Harry has at the gas station, and if you DON'T think that the samsonite label on a briefcase refers to it's owner, then this is your movie.
As you can see, I passed the E.N.D. test with flying colors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Pills are good, Pills are good.", June 16 2003
By 
M.C (out there in la la land) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dumb and Dumber (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is one movie that lives up to it's title boast, that's for damn sure. The "plot" hinges on Lloyd (Jim Carrey), a seriously.... well, I guess stupid is the nicest word I can think of. He drives a limo, and one day, falls for a girl named Mary Swanson (Lauren Holly, Jim's then-wife). He's so curteous as to grab the briefcase she leaves behind in the airport, but fails to catch her plane (in one of the funniest scenes in the movie.) So he and his roommate/best friend/intellectual peer Harry decide to head to Aspen to return it to her.
But they're both oblivious to the fact that it contains millions of dollars, and was left in the airport by Mary in the ariprot as ransom for her kidnapped husband. Now the bad guys are out to get Lloyd and Harry.
This was the Farrelly Brothers first movie, and let me tell you, they show no mercy. They have Lloyd raise $25 in loose change by taping the head of a decapitated parakeet on and selling it to a blind kid. And ohhhhh, that scene in the toilet with Harry will make you wanna have a pottie.
It's kinda difficult to pinpoint which of the two "heroes" falls under the DUMBER slot. Lloyd, at one point in the road trip, heads east and detours the duo by "a sixth of the way across the country. Harry, by contrast, gets his tongue frozen to a pole when tries to lick the frost off. But these two guys just blur the line between DUMB and DUMBER. Lloyd thinks it's a good idea to swap a van for nothing more than a scooter. And Harry's skill with a gun (or lack thereof) would make the NRA shudder.
I like the movie because it delivers what it promises:stupidity and comedy in equal measures, often (in fact, always) intertwined. There's one scene where Lloyd is being shaven, and suddenly grabs his throat, and it appears his throat has beeen slit when the red liquid comes out. Or, could it be ketchup?
Movies like this aren't for everyone, but (based on the amount of money DUMB AND DUMBER made), alot of people do enjoy toilet humor. The perfect test to determine how much you migght enjoy a movie is one I invented, called the E.N.D. test, and you apply it to this movie like this:if you've EVER felt compelled to do what Lloyd does when he needs to pee but can't stop the car, if youv'e NEVER had the accident Harry has at the gas station, and if you DON'T think that the samsonite label on a briefcase refers to it's owner, then this is your movie.
As you can see, I passed the E.N.D. test with flying colors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dumb and Dumber: Unrated [Blu-ray]
Dumb and Dumber: Unrated [Blu-ray] by Peter Farrelly (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 14.98 CDN$ 4.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews