Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Moneymoneymoney
Why didn't this make the top hundred best films ever made list? Any film that flogs a dead Frenchman is alright by me.
Published on Aug. 23 2002 by Gary

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars My explanation for this movie's plot
We don't get to find out whether Closeau is ever found again or not because Edwards had a sequel (Curse of the Pink Panther) coming up just around six months later and the point of that movie was to find the missing inspector. I admit the film gets weak in the second half with reporter Lumley trying to find a Clouseau-story but the film stiil was richly entertaining and...
Published on May 19 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars I Hope You Enjoy The 3,000 Pounds Of Jell-O!, July 14 2004
By 
This review is from: Trail/Pink Panther (VHS Tape)
Some people have entertained this as a tribute to Peter Sellers, and I don't want to judge the motives of Blake Edwards and crew, but for the record I am highly suspect when it is asserted that this wasn't a quick money grab.
The first part of the film is a rehash of some scenes from earlier "Panther" movies and outtakes cleverly edited to try to resemble a story. The truth be told, there are some individually hilarious clips in the first half, which is why I gave the film two stars.
Hands down the best scene in the movie involves a nightmare that Herbert Lom has regarding a birthday present from Clouseau, and his attempts to swim in it. In fact, the only truly great moments in the film all star Lom, the most gifted of any of the "Panther" co-stars. I was also amused that the name of Hercule's (Seller's friend and regular of the series, Graham Stark) boat was "The Moth", of course pronounced "Muuuth" as homage to Sellers.
The second half (after Clouseau's plane disappears...) is devoted to annoyingly self-important reporter Marie Jouvet, played by the pretty but untalented Joanna Lumley, looking for clues about Clouseau's disappearance. She takes the opportunity to interview Dreyfus and Cato, and as well as Sir Charles and Lady Litton (David Niven and the late Capucine, who, the back story reveals are now married), and most embarrassingly of all Clouseau's "father" and nanny. The scene with Clouseau, Senior and "Nanna" is utterly painful to watch and is nothing but a bad caricature of Sellers. The childhood flashbacks which follow are even more wretched, particularly the dismal "Good, Bad, and the Ugly" parody of Clint Eastwood with a cap gun. Finally, to add insult to injury, the friendly reporter tangles with the mafia in a pointless plot cul-de-sac and fights with Cato, in what may have been the worst single idea in an otherwise artistically bankrupt movie.
This film is now available as part of the "Pink Panther" DVD set, so I would watch it if only for Dreyfus in the Jell-O, but I wouldn't seek it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars WHICH ONE WAS PETER SELLER'S LAST MOVIE?, May 21 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Trail/Pink Panther (VHS Tape)
The Fiendish Plot of Dr. Fu Manchu or this blob of bloopers? That is the question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars My explanation for this movie's plot, May 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Trail/Pink Panther (VHS Tape)
We don't get to find out whether Closeau is ever found again or not because Edwards had a sequel (Curse of the Pink Panther) coming up just around six months later and the point of that movie was to find the missing inspector. I admit the film gets weak in the second half with reporter Lumley trying to find a Clouseau-story but the film stiil was richly entertaining and lumley makes a pretty good leading lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing Panther, March 10 2004
By A Customer
Make no mistake, I am a Peter Sellers fan and I enjoy his Clouseau character in particular, but this entry was a real letdown. It did have some amusing moments but overall, I simply didn't appreciate The Trail of the Pink Panther. One of the silliest things about this movie is that there is no plot; the Pink Panther is stolen, Clouseau is sent to find it and goes missing. After that both him and the diamond are forgotten and all we see after that is a bunch of interviews with people who knew Clouseau. Aside from that, the old footage is, for the most part, not particularly funny. The only outtakes I laughed aloud at were a few from The Pink Panther Strikes Again. Blake Edwards should have waved the white flag after this movie but instead he goes on to make 2 more Panthers. It's too bad that Peter Sellers last appearance in the Pink Panther series was such a poor film. Stick with the original five films only. Forget this episode, as well as the next 2 movies and the Inspector Clouseau movie. They aren't worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Why, why why?, Jan. 20 2004
By 
This review is from: Trail/Pink Panther (VHS Tape)
Way back before DVD's made deleted scenes and outtakes must-see experiences for many, Blake Edwards patched together a "new" Panther film from scenes left over from previous films. These scenes would have been great extras on DVDs for other Panther movies. Some of them are quite funny in an outtake kind of way. However, there's no way that this patchwork constitutes a real movie. And the half-hearted attempt at making this a "tribute" to Sellers in the credits comes across as exceptionally false when one considers that Edwards continued to make two dreadful Panther films without Sellers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The saga continues., Aug. 25 2002
This review is from: Trail/Pink Panther (VHS Tape)
"Trail" is a whole mish-mosh of things. Including outtakes which are pretty hysterical. Peter Sellers was a master. Quite disapointing that this was the first Pink Panther film I saw. The first half of the film was all right, but the second half it's kind of bland. David Niven's role has been reduced to almost a cameo part. He's so old, and Rich Little is dubbing his voice. A little on the bland side at some points, but I can get a few laughs out of it. We'll miss you, Peter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moneymoneymoney, Aug. 23 2002
This review is from: Trail/Pink Panther (VHS Tape)
Why didn't this make the top hundred best films ever made list? Any film that flogs a dead Frenchman is alright by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More of a tribute, May 26 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Trail/Pink Panther (VHS Tape)
I wouldn't call this a "Panther film" cause its simply trying to blend a story together by linking old material. All though the story is terrible the added scenes are quite enjoyable. I loved the scene in whcih sellers tries to put out a fire in his office. There are much better pink panthers films than this (A shot in the dark, return of the pink panther)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Cut and paste on a third grade level!, Aug. 19 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Trail/Pink Panther (VHS Tape)
Trail of the Pink Panther VHS~ David Niven shows that when the star of the Pink Panther series died,i.e., Peter Sellers; then one can not ignore the obvious and try to cut and paste a movie with leftovers. I honestly first thought that the movie was another in the Pink Panther series: the scenes with Sellers are quite amusing. However, when it comes painfully apparent that this is merely a cut and paste job; then suddenly the movie looses its charm and in fact becomes a bit macabre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a few badly written scenes, but otherwise, it's okay., June 4 2000
This review is from: Trail/Pink Panther (VHS Tape)
I wouldn't nessecarily say this is a BAD film. Just a rushed one. Some of the dialouge is either extremly badly acted (mostly from the mafia bosses wife) or just badly written, as if the writer wrote it when he was sleep walking. A\On the other hand, the Peter Sellers footage, both the unused stuff and the flashbacks, light up the entire film. One scene that is not with Sellers is majorly note worthy:
Dreyfus dreams that Cleuseau put 3,000 pounds of Jello in his swimming pool, then wakes up and dives into the pool cover!
this is not a bad film. It is just not for people who expect it to be the same as the other Panther movies.
P.S. The scene where the Pink Panther diamond is stolen, is the CHEAPEST robbery scene I have ever seen, and it is used AGAIN in "Curse of the Pink Panther"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews