Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hop on the Express
I think everybody with a funnybone salivated a bit when the preview for Pineapple Express was released as a bonus feature on the Superbad DVD. James Franco and Seth Rogen together again? The freaks from Freaks & Geeks (only Jason Seagal is missing) are back. That scene where they're lighting the "cross-joint" to create a perfect "trifecta" of smoking experience was only a...
Published on Oct. 1 2010 by LeBrain

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'd sooner watch a pineapple being run over by an express train
Not a single joke in this that works. It just comes across as a bad shoot-'em-blow-'em-up. The script is hideous. The story, which I thought would be about stoner humor, is more about guys getting shot and not dying, getting shot again, not dying...etc., etc., ad infinitum. The only laughs are the pratfalls and those tire after the first two.

How bad is this...
Published on Aug. 24 2009 by Brian Maitland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hop on the Express, Oct. 1 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I think everybody with a funnybone salivated a bit when the preview for Pineapple Express was released as a bonus feature on the Superbad DVD. James Franco and Seth Rogen together again? The freaks from Freaks & Geeks (only Jason Seagal is missing) are back. That scene where they're lighting the "cross-joint" to create a perfect "trifecta" of smoking experience was only a taste, but it didn't really hint at what Pineapple Express was going to be.

Pineapple Express is a rare breed, a stoner action movie. Seth Rogen is Dale Denton, and James Franco is his drug dealer. When Rogen witnesses a brutal murder while smoking a joint, he panics, tosses the joint and takes off for Franco's place. The only problem is the joint -- made from a a very rare strain of weed called pineapple express. Franco's the only guy in town who sells it. And Rogen's the only guy who bought it. It takes them a while to put 2 + 2 together (they are stoners, after all) and soon they are on the run.

A surprise for me in this film was Danny McBride. I'd never seen him before and he is one funny dude. You'll remember him from such films as Tropic Thunder as well. Gary Cole was also awesome as the evil murderous drug dealer. Look for a cameo from Bill Hader and Joe Lo Truglio as well.

When you get two stoners running from gangsters, you can guarantee that they get nothing right and everything goes wrong. This happens in the most hilarious of ways. In my humble opinion, it is Franco who steals the show. Interestingly, Rogen and Franco were originally cast in opposite roles -- they switched, and it works.

DVD extras are your usual fare: Deleted scenes, making-ofs, and whatnot. Most very good and rewatchable.

If you want to see something like you've never seen before, a unique stoner comedy with oodles of blood, car chases, explosions, guns and action, this is the movie for you. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hop on the Express, Feb. 4 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pineapple Express (Unrated, Single Disc Version) Bilingual (DVD)
I think everybody with a funnybone salivated a bit when the preview for Pineapple Express was released as a bonus feature on the Superbad DVD. James Franco and Seth Rogen together again? The freaks from Freaks & Geeks (only Jason Seagal is missing) are back. That scene where they're lighting the "cross-joint" to create a perfect "trifecta" of smoking experience was only a taste, but it didn't really hint at what Pineapple Express was going to be.

Pineapple Express is a rare breed, a stoner action movie. Seth Rogen is Dale Denton, and James Franco is his drug dealer. When Rogen witnesses a brutal murder while smoking a joint, he panics, tosses the joint and takes off for Franco's place. The only problem is the joint -- made from a a very rare strain of weed called pineapple express. Franco's the only guy in town who sells it. And Rogen's the only guy who bought it. It takes them a while to put 2 + 2 together (they are stoners, after all) and soon they are on the run.

A surprise for me in this film was Danny McBride. I'd never seen him before and he is one funny dude. You'll remember him from such films as Tropic Thunder as well. Gary Cole was also awesome as the evil murderous drug dealer. Look for a cameo from Bill Hader and Joe Lo Truglio as well.

When you get two stoners running from gangsters, you can guarantee that they get nothing right and everything goes wrong. This happens in the most hilarious of ways. In my humble opinion, it is Franco who steals the show. Interestingly, Rogen and Franco were originally cast in opposite roles -- they switched, and it works.

DVD extras are your usual fare: Deleted scenes, making-ofs, and whatnot. Most very good and rewatchable.

If you want to see something like you've never seen before, a unique stoner comedy with oodles of blood, car chases, explosions, guns and action, this is the movie for you. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you have not watched this movie by now there is something wrong with you., May 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pineapple Express (Unrated) (DVD)
Do you like non-stop comedy and action? NO? Then turn off your computer and go play in traffic. This is an awesome fun filled film. You will watch this DVD over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME MOVIE!, April 9 2009
By 
Natalie Leblanc (London, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
AWESOME MOVIE! Really great for a good laugh! I rented Pineapple Express and liked it so much I decided to buy it. I bought the 2-disc edition which has loads of fun bonus stuff compared to the single disc one.

Seth Rogen and James Franco are HILARIOUS! Actually, the whole cast is hilarious.

This movie is really good in that its a comedy but alos a good action movie with good effects, not your everyday low budget comedy.

Pineapple Expess is now my favorite comedy ! I can watch it over and over again without getting tired of it, just keeps getting better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Nov. 12 2014
only complaint, it says it has a digital copy, but the digital copy comes expired
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An epic stoner adventure, Jan. 14 2009
By 
Matthew King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pineapple Express (Unrated, Single Disc Version) Bilingual (DVD)
This is easily the best stoner movie since "Harold and Kumar go to Whitecastle". It's got laughs galore, gross-out humour, but it's not just a comedy but also a genuine action flick with shoot-outs, kung-fu, even some over-the-top gore thrown in for good measure. Seth Rogen and Judd Apatow continue their winnning streak. This one's already a modern classic in my opinion, worth buying rather than renting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD Gift, Jan. 15 2010
By 
D. Varley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pineapple Express (Unrated, Single Disc Version) Bilingual (DVD)
This DVD was delivered quickly and was in good condition - just what was needed to give as a gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'd sooner watch a pineapple being run over by an express train, Aug. 24 2009
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pineapple Express (Unrated, Single Disc Version) Bilingual (DVD)
Not a single joke in this that works. It just comes across as a bad shoot-'em-blow-'em-up. The script is hideous. The story, which I thought would be about stoner humor, is more about guys getting shot and not dying, getting shot again, not dying...etc., etc., ad infinitum. The only laughs are the pratfalls and those tire after the first two.

How bad is this movie? I started fast-forwarding the entire thing after about an hour of "the writers had to have been high to even remotely think this mess was funny" as I attempted to watch this dreck of a train wreck.

Sorry, I don't get Seth Rogen at all. Yet another non-movie of his. Plus Rosie Perez? Seriously? That should be a clear indicator this movie should never have been green lit.

Don't believe the box office, hype or reviews. This is no Harold and Kumar by a long shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pineapple Express (Unrated, Single Disc Version) Bilingual
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews